Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Been raining here for hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

pakalasa wrote: »
    I just did 3 nights in a row. Family wedding. Of course cow bulling this morning for AI.

Hope your AI man was minding himself over the weekend!
    Brewers droop could be costly :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

let a few cows and calves out this morning, they trot over road from yard into field not a bother, im a bit too pleased with myself and just closing gate when 2 calves turn around and come straight for gate at full tilt, i swing it shut and they veer to the side and go straight thru a mesh wire fence like its not even there, by the time i get them back into field 2 others are missing :(
    for a finish ive half the gates in the place left open and let them figure it out them selves, i should have known it wouldnt be so handy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

let a few cows and calves out this morning, they trot over road from yard into field not a bother, im a bit too pleased with myself and just closing gate when 2 calves turn around and come straight for gate at full tilt, i swing it shut and they veer to the side and go straight thru a mesh wire fence like its not even there, by the time i get them back into field 2 others are missing :(
    for a finish ive half the gates in the place left open and let them figure it out them selves, i should have known it wouldnt be so handy :p

What we have done the last few years was load the calves into box.drive out to field and let cows follow when you let them out they don't go.running as they're trying to get reunited, first.time out does be in a field with 4 ditches and wire around ditch so after a couple of days of licking the.surrounding fence they know what it is, worked well here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 IPFree

Hi. I've a bizarre one for ye. Heard about it couple years back and tried it last two seasons letting calves out for first time. I drive the jeep around the field about 5-8' from the fence, twice. Making good marks on the grass leaving two parallel lines. Let the calves out and I kid you not, they all would not cross the two lines even running as a bunch. They did the full lap around, but didn't cross the lines. Freaky and coincidence I dunno. My neighbor was with me this year cpl weeks back and can't believe it either.
    I suppose too I was lucky to have that paddock with enough grass to leave a line!
    I've heard they use a single painted line in some factories in the us and the wilder I handled cattle will not go near it?!? Anyone ever come across it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

IPFree wrote: »
    Hi. I've a bizarre one for ye. Heard about it couple years back and tried it last two seasons letting calves out for first time. I drive the jeep around the field about 5-8' from the fence, twice. Making good marks on the grass leaving two parallel lines. Let the calves out and I kid you not, they all would not cross the two lines even running as a bunch. They did the full lap around, but didn't cross the lines. Freaky and coincidence I dunno. My neighbor was with me this year cpl weeks back and can't believe it either.
    I suppose too I was lucky to have that paddock with enough grass to leave a line!
    I've heard they use a single painted line in some factories in the us and the wilder I handled cattle will not go near it?!? Anyone ever come across it?

no but i must try it the next time i let out some, they are all back together now but 2 calves went s bit blind, the cows were about 50 ft away from them calling them and they wouldnt go near them for a good start, anyway all settled down now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

IPFree wrote: »

I have heard it all if that works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Had a big pour of beer last nite. Last miute decision to go out with the lads. Haven't been out in 6 weeks. I can feel my pulse through my eye balls. Getting too old for this craic. .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Had a big pour of beer last nite. Last miute decision to go out with the lads. Haven't been out in 6 weeks. I can feel my pulse through my eye balls. Getting too old for this craic. .....

Yep I am with u there. Went out a for a few. Today is not going to be productive. Hot allot done Saturday so don't feel too guilty.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

At least it's only your eye balls you can feel a pulse in:p

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That was me yesterday morning :D Up til half5 in residents bar at wedding. 'Never again' (Now where have I heard that one before?!?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Muckit wrote: »
    That was me yesterday morning :D Up til half5 in residents bar at wedding. 'Never again' (Now where have I heard that one before?!?)

Good work muckit, will be me next Friday as have wedding too, was it ocean sands hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Yes ocean sands. Watching the atlantic waves rolling in as night turned into day out the windows of residents bar. I spotted the diamond coast coming in from Ballina. I thought it was an airport! Spotted a bit of zero grazing next door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Muckit wrote: »

Yeah, never again. Hmmmm. Had to check the cattle and walk the grass today as my father is in hospital. I tryed moving one group of bullocks into fresh grass but they weren't too interested. I said fcuk it, left them where they were. In no condition to be running after them today

Anyone got the jarmet sprayer , is it good to go when you unload first, apart from a couple valves to be fitted, there is a valve to go in centre of adjustable rail what is that, spent last hour trying to figure it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    Anyone got the jarmet sprayer , is it good to go when you unload first, apart from a couple valves to be fitted, there is a valve to go in centre of adjustable rail what is that, spent last hour trying to figure it out

Any chance of a picture ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

have cows in silage ground, its a fair trek, this morning the heat time system said 68 out of 98 cows with collars on where in heat, i'd say the ai company would love me if it was true

td5man wrote: »
    Any chance of a picture ?

Will get one later, just havin spuds now

whelan1 wrote: »
    have cows in silage ground, its a fair trek, this morning the heat time system said 68 out of 98 cows with collars on where in heat, i'd say the ai company would love me if it was true

Imagine a poor bull in that field, :D 68 females all wanting the same thing, like copper face jacks on a sat night:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

whelan1 wrote: »

have you much silage ground closed so far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

f140 wrote: »
    have you much silage ground closed so far?
    had 100 acres, now 80

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

What litre sprayer did you get Hugo , and are the booms painted or galvo??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I cut the lawn for the first time today, up to now it was grazed, magic day must have arrived:pac:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Imagine a poor bull in that field, :D 68 females all wanting the same thing, like copper face jacks on a sat night:D
    How things have changed, years ago when I was there it was a case of 680 males wanting the same thing;):D

it was only a very fair day down here in cork. was neither here nor there. almost too cold for a t-shirt and too warm with a light sweater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

blue5000 wrote: »
    I cut the lawn for the first time today, up to now it was grazed, magic day must have arrived:pac:
    Cut the lawn for the second time yesterday! God it's gotten very rough. A lot of moss, weeds and rough grass coming up through it. There were even some rushes! I think I might give it a sprinkle of lime, that should do the trick:cool:

just do it wrote: »
    Cut the lawn for the second time yesterday! God it's gotten very rough. A lot of moss, weeds and rough grass coming up through it. There were even some rushes! I think I might give it a sprinkle of lime, that should do the trick:cool:

ya I have mine cut 3 times but only because for some reason this year I had to stay up one level because the moss was after getting bad and seemed to be blocking the lawn mower when the blades were catching it. So spread a bag of 7-5-17+ suplher last Saturday on it. It needs to be cut now but I can still see some of the fert lying on the ground so want to leave that wash in rather than go up the shoot of the lawnmower.

just do it wrote: »
    How things have changed, years ago when I was there it was a case of 680 males wanting the same thing;):D

Last time I was there was when sligo rovers won cup and I was that drunk I didn't know where I was never mind how many people were there;)

Richk2012 wrote: »
    What litre sprayer did you get Hugo , and are the booms painted or galvo??

Got the 300l one, galvanised booms, it's still not been used, was going to give it a whirl today but ground still a bit wet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Got the 300l one, galvanised booms, it's still not been used, was going to give it a whirl today but ground still a bit wet

Did you get a self fill pump? I bought a 400l one last year and still didn't figure out how to use the self fill.