Groping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah happened to me once years ago, tbh I thought nothing of it at the time.

I see the general response of women seems to be to give him a slap or a thump into the rocks.

If the situation was reversed and a man did that he would be up in court, I'm not defending the groper but if a man came on here and posted that he thumped a woman who groped him he would be taken apart on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Yeah has happened a few times over the years, and when you turn around it's always pure munters. Guess they're not gonna pull so they get ****faced and suddenly think it's okay to cop a feel of whoever's passing by. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

It has happened to me before. There was a hen party in the pub i was in. One asked if she could get a picture with me so i obliged. Next thing theres more of them over trying to pull my clothes off.
    I just thought imagine if this was a girl with a group on a stag party. There would be outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Real Life wrote: »
    It has happened to me before. There was a hen party in the pub i was in. One asked if she could get a picture with me so i obliged. Next thing theres more of them over trying to pull my clothes off.
    I just thought imagine if this was a girl with a group on a stag party. There would be outrage.

Outrage Joe , outrage.

A few years ago herself , myself and her family were having a few drinks in a hotel we were staying in.

Mrs Mattjack was on the phone in the hotel lobby and as I walked by on the way to the toilets I pinched her arse.

On the way back a hotel manager and some 'ol bat were standing waiting for me.

Turned out the 'ol bat seen me pinching my wife's arse and thought I was some random arse pincher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭anto3473

Once slapped the wrong womans arse in Dicey's... Honestly thought it was someone else...I apoligised and she was cool with it.... awkwarrd though :(

And twas some slap... The aim was to leave a 2nd handprint on my freind because her and her mates held me down and ruined me with hickies earlier :(

wished the ground woulda just opened up and swallowed me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Lima Golf wrote: »
    Kidding...I gave him the stink eye and kept walking

Stink eye. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

I see the general response of women seems to be to give him a slap or a thump into the rocks.

If the situation was reversed and a man did that he would be up in court, I'm not defending the groper but if a man came on here and posted that he thumped a woman who groped him he would be taken apart on here.
    Well that didn't take long for a thread on groping to turn to how hard men have it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I been in TURKISH markets., never so much as a nudge.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Festy wrote: »
    Have you been a victim of this crime on a night out ?

Happened to me last night :mad:

You bloody loved it you did ... :P

But seriously, I have been - and why is it double standards when it's a bloke getting his ass groped by a girl ?

if I returned the "Favour" I'd be kicked out of the bar - but the girl, she's just havin' a laugh like ... grand no bother.

the_monkey wrote: »
    You bloody loved it you did ... :P

But seriously, I have been - and why is it double standards when it's a bloke getting his ass groped by a girl ?

if I returned the "Favour" I'd be kicked out of the bar - but the girl, she's just havin' a laugh like ... grand no bother.

I've been groped plenty of times, including a guy who stroked/touched my vagina while I was stuck in a crowd unable to move away - he wasn't kicked out. I didn't even tell the bouncer because I knew it would be futile.

Yes, girls get away with it. So do men. I don't know why everything has to be divided into male/female. Some PEOPLE get away with it, some PEOPLE return the grope with violence, and some PEOPLE don't kick out the person who's violent. The same way some PEOPLE have the opposite reaction to all those things, regardless of gender.

Edit: And by 'vagina' I don't mean crotch, I mean actually at my vagina - if he had put any more force into it it would have been finger rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I was once in a club and was making my way to the bar, some guy in front of me copped a feel of a girl as he passed by.... she turned around and started shoving me while everyone gave me dirty looks!!:eek:

So make sure you slap/shove the right guy, ladies...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I've been groped plenty of times, including a guy who stroked/touched my vagina while I was stuck in a crowd unable to move away - he wasn't kicked out. I didn't even tell the bouncer because I knew it would be futile.

Yes, girls get away with it. So do men. I don't know why everything has to be divided into male/female. Some PEOPLE get away with it, some PEOPLE return the grope with violence, and some PEOPLE don't kick out the person who's violent. The same way some PEOPLE have the opposite reaction to all those things, regardless of gender.

Edit: And by 'vagina' I don't mean crotch, I mean actually at my vagina - if he had put any more force into it it would have been finger rape.

Well thats inexcusable ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Staff Infection

Was in Coppers (I know, what was I thinking) anyway I was crossing the dance floor as my friends were on the other side. As I was making my way across the packed floor I have the unusual (for me anyway) experience of having my balls squeezed (not gently or anything, no no it was like a vice).

When I made it across the floor my mates were laughing their heads off as apparently I pulled one hell of an odd face when the "incident" occurred. I never understood why the squeezer thought that was an acceptable attempt at courtship, what lad wants his janglers pulverized?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I seriously have to give this coppers place a try...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Walking into a pub, a large group of girls were standing in the doorway smoking. Pushed in past them and got a pinch on the arse for my troubles. Probably should have said something but a large group of loud, half drunk women scare me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Happened again last night :mad: I didn't make a complaint because if I did I would be called gay * Shakes Head"

ofc it's a great laugh for the ladies :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Vagina? Isn't that some form of chest pain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Happened again last night :mad: I didn't make a complaint because if I did I would be called gay * Shakes Head"

gay * Shakes Head"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Last night, you should have asked yourself, what would Pat Bateman do in a situation like this???
    He would go bananas

inmyday wrote: »
    Last night, you should have asked yourself, what would Pat Bateman do in a situation like this???
    He would go bananas

*Grabs Axe *

Hey inmyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

Agricola wrote: »
    Walking into a pub, a large group of girls were standing in the doorway smoking. Pushed in past them and got a pinch on the arse for my troubles. Probably should have said something but a large group of loud, half drunk women scare me!

the sad thing with that scenario is it seems acceptable for women to grope men but if it was a group of lads pinching a woman's arse they would all likely get served with a sexual assault charge or a slap in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

the sad thing with that scenario is it seems acceptable for women to grope men but if it was a group of lads pinching a woman's arse they would all likely get served with a sexual assault charge or a slap in the face

Why do people seem to think this? :confused: It clearly is acceptable for men seeing as it happens a ridiculous amount of times and nobody sees it as a big deal. Every single time I go out to a club it happens at least once, I get my ass or tits groped and same as my other female friends. You turn around to give out to the guy and he's there with a bunch of friends laughing - and I've seen a bunch of guys and girls in the same group and the girls laugh it off as well. It clearly isn't taken seriously by the majority of men or women in clubs.

The difference is if you made a complaint to security they would most likely throw his ass out of the club,but if a bloke made a complaint the security staff would just laugh at him.Double standards when it comes to groping I'm afraid.

How do you know this?

Whenever I've been groped it's never seemed to me that a complaint would be taken seriously. I really don't think it would be.

If I was in Coppers, and someone in the crowd pinched my as while I was passing, do you really think I could just go up to a bouncer and say "He pinched my ass, throw him out"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Really when you think of it the level of offence taken is all relative to the attractiveness of the groper. If he's seriously fugly - highly indignant. Cute - (and accompanied by cheek wink) ah feck it these things happen :)

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Really when you think of it the level of offence taken is all relative to the attractiveness of the groper. If he's seriously fugly - highly indignant. Cute - (and accompanied by cheek wink) ah feck it these things happen :)

Not me to be honest, when I feel a pinch or a grope, and I turn around to give them a dirty look (the bad kind), I've already decided before I look at the guy that he's a creep, it doesn't matter if I see a chisel-jawed tower of muscle or a decrepit oul fella, there's no chance I'll think they're attractive.

In line with the "it's alright if he's a ride" aspect, I also don't think it's suddenly okay if it's another woman, or a gay guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

As a man i'll admit I love when I get groping on a night out. I think deep down every guy is almost flattered when someone pinches their bum. Niiice ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

This is what we're up against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

As a man i'll admit I love when I get groping on a night out. I think deep down every guy is almost flattered when someone pinches their bum. Niiice ;)

I'm heading out to the pub tonight I live in hope I might get groped. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

If that's the case, then you're not offended by being groped at all.

What offends you is "fugly" looking men.