James Gallagher : Badass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

Would live to hear what John Kavanagh has to say about James. I know how hard working and dedicated this lad is, he's already got gold in European BJJ and is heading to the worlds next month. Great lad, very down to earth and I think he's the one to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭SBG Ireland

BeepBeep! wrote: »
    Would live to hear what John Kavanagh has to say about James. I know how hard working and dedicated this lad is, he's already got gold in European BJJ and is heading to the worlds next month. Great lad, very down to earth and I think he's the one to watch.

Agree with u :)

Reminds me a lot of gunni when I met him first at 17. Now that james lives with me Mon-Fri it means he's living and breathing martial arts 24/7
    Will be back in the cage the end of this year and I've no doubt he's going to reach his full potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,589 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

"Next month i'm gonna be World Champion in Jiu Jitsu"

Awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Great attitude for such a young lad, he will go far and he is a great role model for young kids. Train hard, take it seriously, work with the best and the results will follow.

I have constant arguments with my nephew, he has amazing potential as a GAA player but doesn't have the dedication to give up the ****e and take it seriously. I know from personal experience that he will just end up looking back and thinking 'what if' and regretting not being that dedicated. The problem for most young lads is that by the time they realise what they need to do, the opportunity has passed. This guy has his head screwed on and has the ambition and he is in the right place that will nurture it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Gilbert Grape

BeepBeep! wrote: »

He posted this on fb yesterday https://www.facebook.com/pages/Coach-John-Kavanagh/330004463766331?fref=ts,has high hopes for him and he's not wrong the young fellas a beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

RoboRat wrote: »
    Great attitude for such a young lad, he will go far and he is a great role model for young kids. Train hard, take it seriously, work with the best and the results will follow.

I think James seen that and made the move to Dublin. The MMA/JJ lads here in Strabane could only take him so far (and they did a great job doing that) but SBGi is where he belongs. The kid used to go to school in Strabane and then jump on a bus to Dublin to train (3/4 hours away)...unbelievable dedication. He'll get what he deserves and thats a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

how many people look at that clip and think.... aww man if only somebody had gotten me into BJJ/MMA when I was 14. I know I do. Rugby was fun in school but MMA would've been even better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

how many people look at that clip and think.... aww man if only somebody had gotten me into BJJ/MMA when I was 14. I know I do. Rugby was fun in school but MMA would've been even better!

Yep. I remember hearing about Tank Abbott when I was a kid. My mate got UFC tapes sent over to him from relatives in America and we thought it was the coolest thing ever. But that's as far as it went. We never once even thought we'd be able to actually get involved in the sport.
    If I understood the sport back then the way I do now, I guarantee I'd be a UFC champ by now. :pac:

Great attitude from the young lad and I really hope he does well in the future. Best of luck to him.

I didn't know about it as a kid, but what I did know about was football.

And if I took to MMA like I took to football, I'd be 10 times uglier than I am already from all the beatings I'd have taken over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I didn't know about it as a kid, but what I did know about was football.

And if I took to MMA like I took to football, I'd be 10 times uglier than I am already from all the beatings I'd have taken over the years.

Yeah but chicks dig scars.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Yeah but chicks dig scars.

Unfortunately not emotional scars :'(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

It's great to see kids like this, I'm sure learning all aspects of mma from a young age will mean we'll be seeing guys like jon jones as the norm in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭p to the e

I probably missed it but what weight does he fight at?

It's amazing how much more of these kind of fighters we're going to see. They don't do Karate or Tae Kwon Do or Jiu Jitsu etc. for years and then transition to MMA but rather their first martial art is MMA. I remember Rory McDonald getting a lot of press because of that. He trained only MMA since he was 13/14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,833 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

p to the e wrote: »
    I probably missed it but what weight does he fight at?

According to the results he competed at middleweight at the no-gi euros (BJJ). So I think that's 71kg (158lbs).

• Site Banned Posts: 45 Double decker

does he not go to school anymore?

He's 16. He's not required to go to school anymore.

so no he doesn't go to school.

it's remarkable that gunnar nelson probably has the highest standard of english amongst the ufc bound sbg guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

it's remarkable that gunnar nelson probably has the highest standard of english amongst the ufc bound sbg guys

Oh, you're one of those posters. Good to know. Good lad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Obvious troll is painfully obvious.

Pity your own command of the English language doesn't stretch as far as getting your own terrible grammar and syntax, in criticising others, correct.

lads this thread is about james gallagher and his potential to rise to the top not about grammar, syntax or punctuation, try stay on topic.

It's great to see a kid like that dedicate himself to what he loves. It's funny, but you'll hear some people say negative things about him being young and not being in school etc but if a 16 year old kid gets picked up by the biggest and most successful football club in the country and has an opportunity to become a class footballer then people are all up for it.

Different sports, different attitudes I guess.

I hope he does well. He seems to have the right talent and the right attitude for it.

It's great to see a kid like that dedicate himself to what he loves. It's funny, but you'll hear some people say negative things about him being young and not being in school etc but if a 16 year old kid gets picked up by the biggest and most successful football club in the country and has an opportunity to become a class footballer then people are all up for it.

I hope he does well. He seems to have the right talent and the right attitude for it.

actually if you knew your history you'd know the vast majority of irish kids who go over to england to play football do not 'make it', come back here and often regret not finishing school / concurrently doing school while apprenticing in soccer.

same rules apply here, so please don't put up limp straw men like that. nobody said it was ok for soccer but not ok for mma. you inferred that, you are implying thati s what I said and you are making a straw man argument which is a logical fallacy.

actually if you knew your history you'd know the vast majority of irish kids who go over to england to play football do not 'make it', come back here and often regret not finishing school / concurrently doing school while apprenticing in soccer.

same rules apply here, so please don't put up limp straw men like that. nobody said it was ok for soccer but not ok for mma. you inferred that, you are implying thati s what I said and you are making a straw man argument which is a logical fallacy.

A) History?

B) I never said most make it/don't make it. I was speaking about peoples' attitudes to young guys having such an opportunity.

C) I didn't infer you said anything. Apologies if you felt I was replying to you, I wasn't. I was getting back on topic as you suggested, talking about James Gallagher. I was talking about what I've heard people say about James being Full Time and only being 16 (and others in situations like him).

D) No need for the confrontational attitude. It's just a discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Don't clubs have tutors etc so that they finish school now days??

Fair play to James, yes he might regret not finishing school but he might go and be a world champion too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

Unless you're his patent or his principal I really don't see how this is any of your business. FairPlay to James as was mentioned its a rarity when someone says something negative about someone going to England to play football at 16 and yes for every Robbie Keane there's at least 3 or 4 lads who were in England playing lsl now. FairPlay to James making the move, courageous think to do. And although I've seen very little his talent and work ethic seem undeniable. So really hope it works out for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

The guy is living a dream. Fair play to him

More people should do the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

lot of aggression in mma it seems

Tigger wrote: »
    lot of aggression in mma it seems

It's one of the scoring criteria.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

Wow, I'm disappointed in people's attitude towards this kid not finishing school :(