Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

James Gallagher : Badass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

Would live to hear what John Kavanagh has to say about James. I know how hard working and dedicated this lad is, he's already got gold in European BJJ and is heading to the worlds next month. Great lad, very down to earth and I think he's the one to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭SBG Ireland

BeepBeep! wrote: »
    Would live to hear what John Kavanagh has to say about James. I know how hard working and dedicated this lad is, he's already got gold in European BJJ and is heading to the worlds next month. Great lad, very down to earth and I think he's the one to watch.

Agree with u :)

Reminds me a lot of gunni when I met him first at 17. Now that james lives with me Mon-Fri it means he's living and breathing martial arts 24/7
    Will be back in the cage the end of this year and I've no doubt he's going to reach his full potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

"Next month i'm gonna be World Champion in Jiu Jitsu"

Awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Great attitude for such a young lad, he will go far and he is a great role model for young kids. Train hard, take it seriously, work with the best and the results will follow.

I have constant arguments with my nephew, he has amazing potential as a GAA player but doesn't have the dedication to give up the ****e and take it seriously. I know from personal experience that he will just end up looking back and thinking 'what if' and regretting not being that dedicated. The problem for most young lads is that by the time they realise what they need to do, the opportunity has passed. This guy has his head screwed on and has the ambition and he is in the right place that will nurture it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Gilbert Grape

BeepBeep! wrote: »

He posted this on fb yesterday https://www.facebook.com/pages/Coach-John-Kavanagh/330004463766331?fref=ts,has high hopes for him and he's not wrong the young fellas a beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

RoboRat wrote: »
    Great attitude for such a young lad, he will go far and he is a great role model for young kids. Train hard, take it seriously, work with the best and the results will follow.

I think James seen that and made the move to Dublin. The MMA/JJ lads here in Strabane could only take him so far (and they did a great job doing that) but SBGi is where he belongs. The kid used to go to school in Strabane and then jump on a bus to Dublin to train (3/4 hours away)...unbelievable dedication. He'll get what he deserves and thats a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

how many people look at that clip and think.... aww man if only somebody had gotten me into BJJ/MMA when I was 14. I know I do. Rugby was fun in school but MMA would've been even better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

how many people look at that clip and think.... aww man if only somebody had gotten me into BJJ/MMA when I was 14. I know I do. Rugby was fun in school but MMA would've been even better!

Yep. I remember hearing about Tank Abbott when I was a kid. My mate got UFC tapes sent over to him from relatives in America and we thought it was the coolest thing ever. But that's as far as it went. We never once even thought we'd be able to actually get involved in the sport.
    If I understood the sport back then the way I do now, I guarantee I'd be a UFC champ by now. :pac:

Great attitude from the young lad and I really hope he does well in the future. Best of luck to him.

I didn't know about it as a kid, but what I did know about was football.

And if I took to MMA like I took to football, I'd be 10 times uglier than I am already from all the beatings I'd have taken over the years.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I didn't know about it as a kid, but what I did know about was football.

And if I took to MMA like I took to football, I'd be 10 times uglier than I am already from all the beatings I'd have taken over the years.

Yeah but chicks dig scars.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Yeah but chicks dig scars.

Unfortunately not emotional scars :'(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

It's great to see kids like this, I'm sure learning all aspects of mma from a young age will mean we'll be seeing guys like jon jones as the norm in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

I probably missed it but what weight does he fight at?

It's amazing how much more of these kind of fighters we're going to see. They don't do Karate or Tae Kwon Do or Jiu Jitsu etc. for years and then transition to MMA but rather their first martial art is MMA. I remember Rory McDonald getting a lot of press because of that. He trained only MMA since he was 13/14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

p to the e wrote: »
    I probably missed it but what weight does he fight at?

According to the results he competed at middleweight at the no-gi euros (BJJ). So I think that's 71kg (158lbs).

• Site Banned Posts: 45 Double decker

does he not go to school anymore?

He's 16. He's not required to go to school anymore.

so no he doesn't go to school.

it's remarkable that gunnar nelson probably has the highest standard of english amongst the ufc bound sbg guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

it's remarkable that gunnar nelson probably has the highest standard of english amongst the ufc bound sbg guys

Oh, you're one of those posters. Good to know. Good lad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Obvious troll is painfully obvious.

Pity your own command of the English language doesn't stretch as far as getting your own terrible grammar and syntax, in criticising others, correct.

lads this thread is about james gallagher and his potential to rise to the top not about grammar, syntax or punctuation, try stay on topic.

It's great to see a kid like that dedicate himself to what he loves. It's funny, but you'll hear some people say negative things about him being young and not being in school etc but if a 16 year old kid gets picked up by the biggest and most successful football club in the country and has an opportunity to become a class footballer then people are all up for it.

Different sports, different attitudes I guess.

I hope he does well. He seems to have the right talent and the right attitude for it.

It's great to see a kid like that dedicate himself to what he loves. It's funny, but you'll hear some people say negative things about him being young and not being in school etc but if a 16 year old kid gets picked up by the biggest and most successful football club in the country and has an opportunity to become a class footballer then people are all up for it.

I hope he does well. He seems to have the right talent and the right attitude for it.

actually if you knew your history you'd know the vast majority of irish kids who go over to england to play football do not 'make it', come back here and often regret not finishing school / concurrently doing school while apprenticing in soccer.

same rules apply here, so please don't put up limp straw men like that. nobody said it was ok for soccer but not ok for mma. you inferred that, you are implying thati s what I said and you are making a straw man argument which is a logical fallacy.

actually if you knew your history you'd know the vast majority of irish kids who go over to england to play football do not 'make it', come back here and often regret not finishing school / concurrently doing school while apprenticing in soccer.

same rules apply here, so please don't put up limp straw men like that. nobody said it was ok for soccer but not ok for mma. you inferred that, you are implying thati s what I said and you are making a straw man argument which is a logical fallacy.

A) History?

B) I never said most make it/don't make it. I was speaking about peoples' attitudes to young guys having such an opportunity.

C) I didn't infer you said anything. Apologies if you felt I was replying to you, I wasn't. I was getting back on topic as you suggested, talking about James Gallagher. I was talking about what I've heard people say about James being Full Time and only being 16 (and others in situations like him).

D) No need for the confrontational attitude. It's just a discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Don't clubs have tutors etc so that they finish school now days??

Fair play to James, yes he might regret not finishing school but he might go and be a world champion too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

Unless you're his patent or his principal I really don't see how this is any of your business. FairPlay to James as was mentioned its a rarity when someone says something negative about someone going to England to play football at 16 and yes for every Robbie Keane there's at least 3 or 4 lads who were in England playing lsl now. FairPlay to James making the move, courageous think to do. And although I've seen very little his talent and work ethic seem undeniable. So really hope it works out for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

The guy is living a dream. Fair play to him

More people should do the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

lot of aggression in mma it seems

Tigger wrote: »
    lot of aggression in mma it seems

It's one of the scoring criteria.

Wow, I'm disappointed in people's attitude towards this kid not finishing school :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

_oveless_ wrote: »
    Wow, I'm disappointed in people's attitude towards this kid not finishing school :(

Despite what you are told finishing school is not the end of the world. He could get his lc and do college later in life if he wishes

Arawn wrote: »
    Despite what you are told finishing school is not the end of the world. He could get his lc and do college later in life if he wishes

No doubt, it's just the standoffish attitude people are having, maybe perplexing would have been a better choice of word.

At the end of the day, he's perfectly entitled to leave school if he wants to. Lots of people do it every day and nothing is said because they're not putting themselves in the public eye. It's nobody else's business tbh.
    And people are missing the main point...he's obviously good enough and got enough potential to make a career of it. If he was no good, I'm sure people would be ensuring he completes his education first. But he is good enough.

This conversation is way off on a tangent anyway. I don't think the discussion of his education has any place in here.
    Why not just focus on the potential of yet another young Irishman? Exciting times ahead for Ireland I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Get back on topic.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Barring some unforseen, earth shattering catastrophe there is no way James doesn't 'make it'. If I could, I'd go out and bet everything I currently possess on it, that's how sure I am. It's not a risk him leaving school and he won't come to regret it.

You'll see.

what's his mma record?
    what's his bjj/grappling credentials ?

He's a very good Mma and Bjj player, has been for a long time

Strabanne trained him very well and deserve great credit-not sure of his record but he won most of his fights at teen level.

When he comes back on the scene he will be fighting at a high level straight away as he's at Mma years and win several Bjj tournaments, I look forward to seeing him compete Mma again as he's a great prospect.

Not sure if he'll go straight in as pro or in with the top amateurs but he'll certainly struggle to get fights apart from that

Keep your eye on this lad as he's the new breed Mma fighter we always talk about who start out as jrs and are bound to reach high levels if dedicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Not sure bout MMA but think hes had somewhere in the region of 50-70 bjj/grappling matches and lost 2.

He's been entering, as a teen, and winning, by submitting most in his path, adult divisions in BJJ tournaments that he enters.
    He's a European champion and will be a world champion next month.
    When he begins fighting again, it'll be a nightmare to match him at amateur as he'll be streets ahead of almost all of them as far as grappling goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

so no he doesn't go to school.

I had to respond to this; I quite honestly don't understand what you're referring to. James was perfectly understandable in that video, he sounded like any other 16 year old lad. McGregor has already shown that his command of English is fine too.

With regards to James, it's tremendous to see this dedication, regardless of the pursuit. I see his leaving school as a personal decision - some leave because they hate school, some leave to pursue work, others to pursue hobbies. It's his loss or gain to make.

At the end of the day, a 16 year old guy who is training hard, eating well, living a healthy, driven and fulfilled life is infinitely better than a 16 year old guy who is in school, eating rubbish, knacker drinking and depressed with life and education. Different strokes for different folks.

What event did he win in euros? White belt teen? What categorY is he entering in worlds? It was blue belt juvenile 2 is he purple now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭nino1

I had to respond to this;

why? everyone else could see it as a troll post and just ignored it which is the best way to deal with it. just like his latest post which should be ignored also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭theboxingclinic

Who cares if he's not going to school, there are many different forms of education and as has been said before he can go back and do it again if he wants.
    There is however fantastic young Mma talent all over the country. Adam caffrey, Hughie o rourke, and a couple down our way as well as youngsters in many other Mma countries in Ireland. The standard is rising fast

Who cares if he's not going to school

me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭theboxingclinic

Why would you care? What's the problem with it?

me?

It's not your business though is it?
    What event did he win in euros? White belt teen? What categorY is he entering in worlds? It was blue belt juvenile 2 is he purple now?

I'm sure he was in the Blue belt adult categorary, if wrong I'm sure I'll be corrected.

He's very good and very experienced for his age, I hope Strabanne get the credit they deserve.

Well, considering James and his parents were the ones that made the decision, why should you care? Just because he's not in formal education anymore, doesn't mean he isn't still being educated and learning about both life and his chosen profession: martial arts.

I shouldn't even rise to any of the bull sh*t you post, but you're making such a conscious effort to de-rail this thread without any commuppence, I just couldn't leave it sit. I've had enough of your faux 'concern'.

You make out like James is some unitelligent 'jock' who can't string a sentence together and is going be to destitute later on. Well, that is NOT the case. He's an incredibly admirable young man both from a maturity standpoint and intelligence wise, as shown in his commitment to achieving his goals and from conversing with him. He's learning skills that will pay his bills well into his dotage and shows incredible commitment to doing just that.

I don't know whether you're prejudiced toward him because he's doing something you never could and so you're projecting your jealousy or inadequacy on him or you are just trolling, but either way: go be a d*ck somewhere people want to listen to you, because that's not here.

none of james gallagher's affairs are my business, or yours. Yet we have an entire thread dedicated to him. I asked a very simple question and people seemed to have somehow got incredibly hurt by it. Why can't we just say that this young man doesn't go to school anymore because he is the pursuing the dream of prize fighting.

Richy06 I'd strongly suggest you read up the words of Freud or Jung because you clearly have no understanding of the concept of Psychological Projection. These are the common mistakes people make when they don't go to school.

Why can't we just say that this young man doesn't go to school anymore because he is the pursuing the dream of prize fighting.

There you go. Turns out you knew the answer all along. Now, back on topic maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

I was training with James recently and he put me through the rinser. I've known him about 2 years now through my club and his strabane club being affiliated. I said to him if the worst happens he can go back to Education as a mature student aged 23.

He said something along the lines of by 23 I'll be in the UFC and won't need to worry about college anyway.

Can't wait to watch this story unfold, because he is going places.