If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Croke Park II preliminary Talks started today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,759 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

noodler wrote: »
    Fair play to the Government for standing up to them.

Its a game of bluff at the moment between the PS and the Govt.
    Neither side will give in and again the public will suffer when the strikes begin.
    No winners, only losers and that's you and I who are part of neither side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,002 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Its a game of bluff at the moment between the PS and the Govt.
    Neither side will give in and again the public will suffer when the strikes begin.
    No winners, only losers and that's you and I who are part of neither side.

Not being on one side or another is certainly not the impression you give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

The time for belt tightening has not ended and it is appropriate to say that. However, there is not a crisis, there is a chronic problem. The government must cut, but in a discerning way. The aim should be to move to a sustainable model for public revenue and expenditure, measures that move toward stabilitymust be done, but stunts that move in the opposite direction are not needed and should be shunned. Unfortunately discernment and management are not words that Irish politicians understand and commentators be there in this forum or in newspapers etc are mostly only interested in point scoring rather than moving the State towards a long term model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,759 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not being on one side or another is certainly not the impression you give.

I have little time for this Govt.
    They are putting their people to the sword in an effort to be the poster boy of Europe. It seems to me to be about personal praise with them, trying to please Europeans at the expense of their own. They are over-doing the austerity and there is no need to have so much in so short a period.

What I meant earlier was that we are not part of the PS but will suffer too by being effected by strikes. I don't blame them for striking as someone has to stand up to this shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭vinylbomb

ardmacha wrote: »
    The time for belt tightening has not ended and it is appropriate to say that. However, there is not a crisis, there is a chronic problem. The government must cut, but in a discerning way. The aim should be to move to a sustainable model for public revenue and expenditure, measures that move toward stabilitymust be done, but stunts that move in the opposite direction are not needed and should be shunned. Unfortunately discernment and management are not words that Irish politicians understand and commentators be there in this forum or in newspapers etc are mostly only interested in point scoring rather than moving the State towards a long term model.

Great post.
    But I would argue that discernment and management are not watchwords for many union leaders and some members also.
    I'm not for cutting PS numbers, but there must be some reduction in expenditure in order to close the deficit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Fair play to the Government for standing up to them.

The Government have done no more than make threatening noises. Let us see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

vinylbomb wrote: »
    Great post.
    But I would argue that discernment and management are not watchwords for many union leaders and some members also.
    I'm not for cutting PS numbers, but there must be some reduction in expenditure in order to close the deficit.

Yes there must be a reduction in Expenditure but this must be in the correct areas. I see on Welfare.ie the statistical information for 2011 says expenditure on this was €20.96 billion making up 39.7% of gross current government expenditure.

How much was the PS pay bill for 2011 and does anyone have the figures for 2012?

When was the last time Social Welfare was cut? And how much do these transfer payments cost each year in fraud

There is an easy way to fix Social Welfare especially for the won't work brigade.

Leave it as it is for those who will sign up to do 20 hours per week cleaning up estates of rubbish, cleaning chewing gum off pavements, cleaning graffiti off walls or cutting grass etc.
    Those who won't work should be cut down to 100 euro a week.
    The country has been too easy on lazy layabouts.

People who genuinely lost their jobs are a different matter and should be given help with bills etc until they regain employment.

donalg1 wrote: »
    Yes there must be a reduction in Expenditure but this must be in the correct areas. I see on Welfare.ie the statistical information for 2011 says expenditure on this was €20.96 billion making up 39.7% of gross current government expenditure.

How much was the PS pay bill for 2011 and does anyone have the figures for 2012?

When was the last time Social Welfare was cut? And how much do these transfer payments cost each year in fraud

http://per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/Analysis-of-Exchequer-Pay-and-Pensions-Bill-2007-20121.pdf

The paybill was €14.4 bn in 2012, down from €14.6 in 2011 (Table V on page 11 of the link).

In the boom years, public service pay and social welfare were roughly equal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 425 ✭✭Dreamertime

vinylbomb wrote: »
    Great post.

Careful. Your yellow pack jealousy is showing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭vinylbomb

Careful. Your yellow pack jealousy is showing...

I've really got your goat, haven't I?

Don't worry sweetie, I've the skills to pay the bills out in the real world too.

Godge wrote: »
    http://per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/Analysis-of-Exchequer-Pay-and-Pensions-Bill-2007-20121.pdf

The paybill was €14.4 bn in 2012, down from €14.6 in 2011 (Table V on page 11 of the link).

In the boom years, public service pay and social welfare were roughly equal.

Is that 14bn gross or net my phone won't open it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Is that 14bn gross or net my phone won't open it.

Gross

woodoo wrote: »
    Gross

So 8 or 9 net then if not less. Makes me wonder why all the hate and vitriol is directed at public sector wages when there are far bigger areas of expenditure that have remained virtually untouched for years now,especially when there are some in receipt of this money that have never contributed anything to society or government revenue.

Seems some areas need reform before others but for some reason this is almost taboo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Makes me wonder why all the hate and vitriol is directed at public sector wages when there are far bigger areas of expenditure that have remained virtually untouched for years now

All of those bomb disposal officers, paramedics, computer science lecturers, tax auditors, forensic analysts, maths teachers, care workers and the rest of them are not the sort of people many people want in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

So 8 or 9 net then if not less.

The entire pay and pensions bill goes from €18.4b gross to €16.9b net, a difference of €1.5b

You're being wildly optimistic if you think you can take 5 or 6 billion (or more!) of the pay bill alone.

Edit: And since the companion pensions figure to the €14.4 billion one is €2.5b that strongly implies €14.4b is the net not gross figure even though I don't see it explicitly called out.

Good to see our President Michael D. Higgins speak out against the austerity policies. He has more balls than the rest of the Labour party put together.

sharper wrote: »
    The entire pay and pensions bill goes from €18.4b gross to €16.9b net, a difference of €1.5b

You're being wildly optimistic if you think you can take 5 or 6 billion (or more!) of the pay bill alone.

Edit: And since the companion pensions figure to the €14.4 billion one is €2.5b that strongly implies €14.4b is the net not gross figure even though I don't see it explicitly called out.

The figure of €14.4 bn is net of pension levy but gross before PRSI, income tax and USC. Not entirely clear whether it is gross or net of superannuation contributions.

Applying an average 25% (conservative estimate for PRSI, income tax and USC) tax slice to that figure gives you a net paybill of around €10.8 bn.

The net social welfare bill (only a small amount is taxed) would come in around twice that.

P.S. The confusion between net and gross should be understood by those who did even simple accounting as you had gross profits before interest, depreciation, tax etc. and various net figures after that.

Either way there have been far more savings to the public sector wage bill compared to the Social Welfare bill, and if they were the same during the boom then surely the Social Welfare bill should have been reduced in the same way.

Yet it remains untouched, and there is never any mention in the media or by government or anyone else for that matter about the need to overhaul, reform and reduce this bill. And at the same time you cant open a paper or turn on the news or radio without another attack on the PS.

I think its about time that those on SW for the last decade or more are asked to make a contribution, I think its time the whole SW system is overhauled and made a bit harsher but also fairer, if you have worked for x amount of years you receive x amount of payments in line with your contribution, if you have never worked then see you later.

Stop the attacks on the people trying to make a living, and start focussing on those that have never contributed a thing.

Yet it remains untouched, and there is never any mention in the media or by government or anyone else for that matter about the need to overhaul, reform and reduce this bill.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/unemployment-falls-as-kenny-seeks-end-to-dole-dependency-29236785.html
    TAOISEACH Enda Kenny has warned Ireland could no longer afford to tolerate a "passive" welfare system that consigned large numbers of people to welfare dependency.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/eu-warns-government-over-need-to-reform-welfare-system-1.544170
    THE Government has been warned about the need to reform the welfare system to eliminate poverty traps and broaden the tax base. The call in a European Commission report came as controversy continued over the introduction of a property tax next year as part of the EU-IMF programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

and if they were the same during the boom then surely the Social Welfare bill should have been reduced in the same way.

Why?

A lot of lip service but no real action it seems, I mean two months before the last budget the Government were saying SW wouldnt be touched.

I dont think it takes a genius to realise the system of SW here in Ireland needs major overhauling, yet nothing ever happens, instead its attacks on those in employment, reduce them until they are better off on SW seems to be the aim of this lot.

Nobody in full time employment should be better off on SW yet this is the case for many in Ireland today.

sarumite wrote: »
    Why?

Well why not? What cuts have been made to Social Welfare?

Cut those in employment but not those in long term unemployment instead, doesnt make sense to me seems a little bit backwards, almost as if people are being encouraged not to work but to sit at home collecting SW for decades.

A lot of lip service but no real action it seems, I mean two months before the last budget the Government were saying SW wouldnt be touched.

Well you could say the same in relation to public sector pay and allowances too.

Yes social welfare needs to be reduced, aside from the cost it's unfathomable to me that a large number of people are essentially working for free or close to nothing since the comparable social welfare package rivals their earnings (minus costs of getting to/from work). I also find it bizarre that benefits increase rather than decrease over time.

You'll find many of the same arguments used to defend public sector pay are used to defend social welfare - "They spend that money in the domestic economy", "They're not responsible for the crisis", "Why do you hate the unemployed", "Why not just increases taxes instead", "I'm barely getting by as it is, I can't take another cut".

And so on.

Well you could say the same in relation to public sector pay and allowances too.

Yes social welfare needs to be reduced, aside from the cost it's unfathomable to me that a large number of people are essentially working for free or close to nothing since the comparable social welfare package rivals their earnings (minus costs of getting to/from work). I also find it bizarre that benefits increase rather than decrease over time.

You'll find many of the same arguments used to defend public sector pay are used to defend social welfare - "They spend that money in the domestic economy", "They're not responsible for the crisis", "Why do you hate the unemployed", "Why not just increases taxes instead", "I'm barely getting by as it is, I can't take another cut".

And so on.

Yes there are similarities between the two but one main difference in that those working are providing a service in return whereas those on Social Welfare provide nothing in return, hence the term "transfer payment".

I too do find it unfathomable that people can work full time and be worse off than those that never work, and why oh why cant they reduce SW after x amount of time on it, certainly would provide more of an incentive to come off it, instead like you say it tends to increase the longer you are on it.

Why if I leave school and work for 20 years and am made redundant do I get the same rate as someone that has left school and been unemployed for the same 20 years, hardly seems equitable to me.

The worst part about it is that we can all see the problems with SW, yet nothing is done about it year after year after year.

Well why not?

It was your statement, so I am just asking you to justify what you said. "Why not?" isn't a particularly persuasive justification.

but since you ask, in financially good times one could reasonably expect people to be more financially independent. In economic downturns, where the population will become more financially constrained, it makes sense that they will rely more and more on external funding such as a government funded welfare system. An obvious indicator of this is the unemployment rate which has increased dramatically in the current downturn.

Yes there are similarities between the two but one main difference in that those working are providing a service in return whereas those on Social Welfare provide nothing in return, hence the term "transfer payment".

Well as argued by a number of people here:

1. Performance management in the public sector is mostly non-existent and poorly implemented in general, we don't really know what service is being provided by many employees.

2. The cost of that service cannot be set arbitrarily, it has to be supportable by the domestic economy. Paying €100 for a mars bar obviously makes no sense even though you do get something for your money.

3. Pay is only one component of providing a service and protecting pay is not necessarily the way to ensure quality or availability of service.

Try to discuss any of the above and you'll hear more about people not being afford further cuts etc

sarumite wrote: »
    It was your statement, so I am just asking you to justify what you said. "Why not?" isn't a particularly persuasive justification.

but since you ask, in financially good times one could reasonably expect people to be more financially independent. In economic downturns, where the population will become more financially constrained, it makes sense that they will rely more and more on external funding such as a government funded welfare system. An obvious indicator of this is the unemployment rate which has increased dramatically in the current downturn.

I have already outlined my reasons why I think SW should be cut before the PS pay is cut again.

Also in relation to your 2nd Paragraph in financially good times why was SW being increase, why was it not being reduced then when there were 1000's of jobs around. Yes more people are dependent on the state today than during the boom and they are more than entitled to aid from the state.

However my argument is those that have been on SW for over 7 years now that havent worked in up to 40 years should not be receiving the same payment as those that have lost their jobs in the last 5 years. That is where the reform needs to be and the cuts need to be made.

Well as argued by a number of people here:

1. Performance management in the public sector is mostly non-existent and poorly implemented in general, we don't really know what service is being provided by many employees.

2. The cost of that service cannot be set arbitrarily, it has to be supportable by the domestic economy. Paying €100 for a mars bar obviously makes no sense even though you do get something for your money.

3. Pay is only one component of providing a service and protecting pay is not necessarily the way to ensure quality or availability of service.

Try to discuss any of the above and you'll hear more about people not being afford further cuts etc

Well in fairness they are providing a service, you will always have people saying they do nothing blah blah blah, but those on SW that I am referring to are definitely doing nothing for the money they receive.

Obviously the costs of that service have to be supported however in many instances the services provided are charging a fee as such, we dont pay the Guards if they call out to us when our house has been burgled, and this is why the State must provide this service. If the costs of the service could be covered by charges and fees then the private market would be taking care of this service and there would be no need for the Government to provide it.

There are some that genuinely cant afford more cuts and shouldnt get them especially when you consider that there are those on SW better off than them and not facing more cuts.

However my argument is those that have been on SW for over 7 years now that havent worked in up to 40 years should not be receiving the same payment as those that have lost their jobs in the last 5 years. That is where the reform needs to be and the cuts need to be made.

No, this was your argument (well, more a statement than an argument, which was the reason I asked you "Why?" in the first place).
    and if they were the same during the boom then surely the Social Welfare bill should have been reduced in the same way.