Are you excited about the Fibre rollout on May 22nd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

MajorMax wrote: »
    This annoys me.

We live in a country with a third world health service, a justice system that has no justice and Fianna FAIL sold us to ze Germans and people are bleating that their DSL is slow

Pity about ye

Decent internet is an essential for a lot of people for various reasons, its a valid complaint as any, doesnt mean nobody cared about other issues too. there's a million threads on here complaining about all the stuff you mentioned too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

This annoys me.

We live in a country with a third world health service, a justice system that has no justice and Fianna FAIL sold us to ze Germans and people are bleating that their DSL is slow

Pity about ye

Get up the fcuking yard will ye,

3rd world health service my bolix, go to a third world hospital and come back and tell me ours are the same.

There is justice in the justice system, but its flawed, like most countries, but the benefit of the doubt is given, unlike other countries where your head/hands/legs could be taken from you for fcuk all, without any evidence.

Nobody sold me buddy, or you for that matter.

Also, its a thread about broadband, not the stuff you're bolixing on about, there's plenty appropriate threads you can pour your bleeding heart into.

I hate this constant poor me poor us, better slag the banks and fianna fail, if you dont like it that much, either fcuk off outta the place or do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

krudler wrote: »
    Hands down the worst company in Ireland to deal with. between their ridiculous IVR system, their pig ignorant staff and their shady practices I'll never be with them again, I'd rather have no broadband.

Ah, I won't have that! Vodafone are worse. I had the same argument about what constitutes a contract with both Eircon and Vodafone, and got a debt collection agency involved. Baxtards of the highest order.

Fun and games with both are on the Talk to threads :

http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2056895700/1

http://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2056834307/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Just did a speedtest. I got 0.23Mpbs download.

Sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Since getting UPC 150meg broadband, my right paw has developed into a rigid claw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

There still has to be a story about a lad with a JCB to ruin it for a few weeks

That'll be John Jo. I give it two weeks max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

No I'm not because I don't live in an area where I will ever get fibre and well UPC have been providing this service for years so its not like its an exiting new technology.

Also if Eircom were offering 100meg bb in my area for a tenner a month I still wouldn't go with them, they suck on every level and I would rather eat my own face than sign a contract with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    No I'm not because I don't live in an area where I will ever get fibre and well UPC have been providing this service for years so its not like its an exiting new technology.

Also if Eircom were offering 100meg bb in my area for a tenner a month I still wouldn't go with them, they suck on every level and I would rather eat my own face than sign a contract with them.

Simply go with another provider,I'm with Vodafone and I'm getting fibre next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭kingtiger

delighted the fibre is coming

but its nuts that we have to pay line rental :confused:

even if you don't want a landline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

zerks wrote: »
    Simply go with another provider,I'm with Vodafone and I'm getting fibre next month.

I live in a rural area, I highly doubt that I will be getting fibre anytime before I get 4G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

I live in a comms black hole too. I'm 5 miles from the biggest town in the county and all I can get is a very dodgy 3G mobile broadband service from 3. Vodafone and O2 won't work. We are on an Eircom exchange which wasn't (and never will be by the looks of it) upgraded for broadband. I get about 10 minutes surfing time before my connection falls over, the modem has to be rebooted and can be used again for another 10 minutes.

Thank God we have fibre broadband at work so at least I have some proper Internet access. Eircom should really sort out their crappy customer service and upgrade the rest of their exchanges before they start trying to play with the big boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

Get up the fcuking yard will ye,

3rd world health service my bolix, go to a third world hospital and come back and tell me ours are the same.

There is justice in the justice system, but its flawed, like most countries, but the benefit of the doubt is given, unlike other countries where your head/hands/legs could be taken from you for fcuk all, without any evidence.

Nobody sold me buddy, or you for that matter.

Also, its a thread about broadband, not the stuff you're bolixing on about, there's plenty appropriate threads you can pour your bleeding heart into.

I hate this constant poor me poor us, better slag the banks and fianna fail, if you dont like it that much, either fcuk off outta the place or do something about it.

Well "Buddy"
    you clearly haven't spent any time recently in either an emergency or court room. I have in both and what I saw and experienced beggars belief. (Off topic -I didn't know horse worrying was still a crime)
    You saying that you haven't been sold is naive at best and ignores all evidence. Our children and our children's children will be paying the mortgage for our country for decades to come and like any mortgage, until you've paid it off the bank owns your house. Anything elde is wishful thinking
    Stay lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

God i hate that term "rollout"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'll get excited when 'unlimited' broadband packages are exactly that.

kowloon wrote: »
    I'll get excited when 'unlimited' broadband packages are exactly that.

think ours is 500gb, have come close a few times but even at that your average user will never go near that. I dunno how people survive on mobile allowances, 15gb? I'd use that in a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭John.Icy

krudler wrote: »
    think ours is 500gb, have come close a few times but even at that your average user will never go near that. I dunno how people survive on mobile allowances, 15gb? I'd use that in a day

Whole family on 10GB a month and have never come near it. That's with several smartphones, laptops and a desktop.

Think somebody needs a life... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Got a letter from IOL today, getting cut off from 'Surf No Limits'. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Einstein wrote: »
    No waiting here! Already got it thanks to Magnet BB :)

Eircon should concentrate on making even the 1MB BB available to all customers....

The fact that there's still people in this country, that can't access Broadband because of their location is an absolute joke.

Not really if you choose to live in the sticks you should accept that its make no financial sense for any company to kay fibre optics to your door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

kingtiger wrote: »
    delighted the fibre is coming

but its nuts that we have to pay line rental :confused:

even if you don't want a landline
    If your not going to rent the line, then who will pay for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

John.Icy wrote: »
    Whole family on 10GB a month and have never come near it. That's with several smartphones, laptops and a desktop.

Think someone needs to realize the amount of porn that has to be downloaded :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Think someone needs to realize the amount of porn that has to be downloaded :D

Hope you use lotion

Somebody hasn't discovered torrents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

If that shower of cúnts could actually offer me a fiber connection, Id probably tell them to shove it and stick with my 10mb rural wireless service. It might not be the fastest thing in the world but at least I get problems solved in double quick time and I can speak to people who actually A) know what they are talking about and B) Give an actual **** when I have a problem.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Well "Buddy"
    you clearly haven't spent any time recently in either an emergency or court room. I have in both and what I saw and experienced beggars belief. (Off topic -I didn't know horse worrying was still a crime)
    You saying that you haven't been sold is naive at best and ignores all evidence. Our children and our children's children will be paying the mortgage for our country for decades to come and like any mortgage, until you've paid it off the bank owns your house. Anything elde is wishful thinking
    Stay lucky!

right which are you - housewife or taxi driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I got UPC installed in my place. When I called I ordered the 50mb package. That's the basic package.

The girl on the phone tried to upsell and asked if I wanted the 100mb line. I said, nah, 50 will be grand. She said it's only €5 a month more expensive. So I said fcukit, yeah I'll take it. Then she asked if I wanted the 150mb line for an extra fiver again. I couldn't do it. It's not the cost (It's only a fiver). It's just that 150mb seems so extravagent. My last computer didn't even have a network card that fast. And wireless taps out at 50mb/s.
    I'd feel like a glutton having 150mb to myself.

So, everyone on eircom. Sorry you're still living with your 1mb line that has a 2387576566/1 contention ratio.

Good for you, people's internet use varies,I get all my tv shows online and use netflix and youtube or spotify a lot so my usage is from movies and music. one episode of Game Of Thrones is over 1gb in size so its easy to plough through data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I spent a day in one when I got sick backpacking

Plus side: I waited 5 minutes to see a doctor. But to be fair it was a small country hospital.

Negative side. Animals ran through the ward (I'm serious). And when my xray was taken, the radiographer stood about 10ft from me, smoking a cigarette with no shielding. He's either going to die of cancer or he was recharging his super powers.

BTW, this small town had a pretty fast broadband connection in the local internet cafe.

A neighbour of mine has relatives in a small village in the arse end of nowhere in Eastern Europe and they get a minimum of 20Mb as standard,she laughs at the quality service we get here.

Considering this is a country that has the offices of Google,Ebay etc. the standard of broadband is shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

zerks wrote: »

Considering this is a country that has the offices of Google,Ebay etc. the standard of broadband is shocking.

We have great internet connectivity coming into the country just no way of connecting it to most peoples houses. This has been the case for a long time now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Fiber is really good for you. Keeps your bowel healthy and reduces the risk of you getting colon cancer.

I say everyone needs to have fiber!!