Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cyclists, rules of the road, a bit of cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,042 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Had an uncomfortable experience a few years ago getting a taxi across Dublin with the OH. Hopped into the back of a people-carrier sized taxi we had flagged down, and the driver did a U-turn as we were pointed in the wrong direction. This U-turn took him into the cycle lane on the opposite side of the road, cutting off an oncoming cyclist, who was rightly livid. He roared abuse and banged on the taxi as we sped off, our driver shouting in his native tongue.

Anyway, up ahead was a set of lights, where we stopped and the cyclist caught up with us. A shouting match ensued between driver and cyclist as we sat in the back. Our driver was quite angry, judging by the speed at which he took off when the lights turned green. The cyclist caught up with us again at the next lights, where our driver hopped out and the two roared abuse at each other. The driver finally returned, and we had a longer run to the next red light. Just as it turned green the cyclist flew past and kicked off our wing-mirror. The cyclist then disappeared but our driver went off the deep end, gesticulating wildly, ranting away and switching lanes incredibly dangerously with no wing mirror. We got to our destination in one-piece, mercifully. Obviously, we should have bailed at the first sign of trouble but it was one of those frozen to the spot situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

This cyclist seemed to do nothing wrong and still got a few clatters.The van driver just got a warning.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2316501/White-van-man-beat-cyclist-let-police-road-rage-attack-caught-victims-helmetcam.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Save reading the Daily Fail

The cyclist was a bit of a softie in this situation,yer man is about 4 foot nothing.I'd have knocked him out if he'd done that to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

no sympathy for the cyclist, these guys with the cameras on their helmet are nothing more than s**tstirrers, trying to invoke a reaction from other road users, like he did when beeping at this motorist twice for a perfectly legal overtake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

no sympathy for the cyclist, these guys with the cameras on their helmet are nothing more than s**tstirrers, trying to invoke a reaction from other road users, like he did when beeping at this motorist twice for a perfectly legal overtake.

So by that logic, we can excuse the van driver of assault then, no?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Lol. he provoked that did he? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,285 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I am seriously considering getting a camera for my bike due to the reckless nature of many drivers. You would be shocked by how aggressive people are towards bicycles.

Interesting somebody sees such cameras as provocation. I am guessing if that is what one person see others will see the same.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I am seriously considering getting a camera for my bike due to the reckless nature of many drivers. You would be shocked by how aggressive people are towards bicycles.

Interesting somebody sees such cameras as provocation. I am guessing if that is what one person see others will see the same.

Have a gander at the dashcam thread in Motors and you'll see the standard of driving in this country.I nearly had 2 crashes this morning due to eejits not realising that traffic comes from both directions and pulling out in front of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

zerks wrote: »
    Have a gander at the dashcam thread in Motors and you'll see the standard of driving in this country.I nearly had 2 crashes this morning due to eejits not realising that traffic comes from both directions and pulling out in front of me.

Yeah, I was going to mention the dash cam thread in motors - cyclists with helmet cams are "....nothing more than s**tstirrers" but motorists see them a valuable driving aids......go figure :confused:

Saying that - I have one in the car, but wouldn't wear one on the bike, but my attitude to them (on the bike) is changing........despite my best efforts the near misses are getting nearer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

BX 19 wrote: »
    So by that logic, we can excuse the van driver of assault then, no?

No that still assault and has been dealt with but you can't ignore that the cyclist created the situation
    why?
    for been overtaken by the van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

these guys with the cameras on their helmet are nothing more than s**tstirrers, trying to invoke a reaction from other road users,

Could this post be any more ironic ?

Someone please kill this thread.

Jester252 wrote: »
    No that still assault and has been dealt with but you can't ignore that the cyclist created the situation
    why?
    for been overtaken by the van

So it's the cyclist's fault for not being fast enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Jawgap wrote: »
    So it's the cyclist's fault for not being fast enough?

No the cyclist shouldn't have reacted the way he did when overtaken.
    Image what the roads would be like if everyone blew their horns when overtaken.
    Why can't a cyclist be overtaken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The cyclist beeped the van for over taking him and not indicating? Seems a bit petty to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

srumball wrote: »
    No car user had the intention of goin out an causing an accident, purposely breaking lights, road signs etc. But cyclists do ALL the time.

rant over

Every time I get on my bike I think to myself "I wonder how many accidents I can cause to day". Unfortunately, my personal best is still 0. I know I know, I am doing my fellow cyclists no favors here with that kind of record.

Van guy should get done for that crap. Hope he did. You don't follow somebody and beat them like that for beeping. Big deal, get over it.
    zerks wrote: »
    The cyclist was a bit of a softie in this situation,yer man is about 4 foot nothing.I'd have knocked him out if he'd done that to me.

Sure you would, and I would have just turned the van upside down with him in it. Easy peasy.

Jester252 wrote: »
    No the cyclist shouldn't have reacted the way he did when overtaken.
    Image what the roads would be like if everyone blew their horns when overtaken.
    Why can't a cyclist be overtaken?

I'm not saying he can't but he felt the pass was a bit close he might have felt justified in sounding a warning. As sometimes happens when you're driving if someone is a bit close (pedestrian, cyclist or another motorist) you might give an "I'm here" blast.

In the video on the Daily Heil site it looks like the reaction of the cyclist is to try and get away and he's chased.

Imagine what the roads would be like if every time someone blew their horns it started a digging match :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It looks to me (no speakers in work) like the cyclist checked behind him twice coming up to a line of parked cars which he knew he'd have to move right to avoid, and the van overtook quite close to him, the cyclist then making a 'what are you like?!' gesture with his hand. Getting out of your car and thumping the cyclist seems excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Imagine what the roads would be like if every time someone blew their horns it started a digging match :pac:

We should make it legal for pedestrians to lamp cyclists provided certain conditions are met. Be a bit like an extreme traffic calming measure

Bambi wrote: »
    We should make it legal for pedestrians to lamp cyclists provided certain conditions are met. Be a bit like an extreme traffic calming measure

....and what might those conditions be? Just so I know for the spin home.

While not advocating violence - cycling on the path or jumping red lights are two areas where a more robust approach could be more beneficial - but I'd prefer fixed penalty notices dished out rather than slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

but I'd prefer fixed penalty notices dished out rather than slaps.
    They would make an absolute fortune if they had fines for breaking laws pertaining to roads. Jaywalking is so rife & tolerated that many do not even know we actually have laws against it.

Does anybody think we should similarly be allowed beat up jaywalkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,285 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I recently started a new route and was surprised by some of the cycle paths on route. There is some odd counter flow paths that are dangerous to get to and use but the one that surprised me was the ones that cut out lights.

There are cycle lanes specifically for the cyclist to avoid the red light and turn straight on to the road. This is pretty much the same as breaking the lights but allowed due to the markings on the road. Kind of funny that so many people go on about the dangers of breaking any red light on a bike yet some routes it is actively encouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Ush1 wrote: »
    The cyclist beeped the van for over taking him and not indicating?
    No, according to the description in the video, he beeped him for overtaking too close to the bike. You are meant to leave space for a cyclist in case a car door opens or a pothole in the road forces the cyclist to swerve. Alternatively the van driver was also very close to the car on the opposite side of the road, if the door had opened on that, the driver would probably have swerved into the cyclist. It was a stupid place to overtake, especially considering how quickly the road widened out a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Knasher wrote: »
    No, according to the description in the video, he beeped him for overtaking too close to the bike. You are meant to leave space for a cyclist in case a car door opens or a pothole in the road forces the cyclist to swerve. Alternatively the van driver was also very close to the car on the opposite side of the road, if the door had opened on that, the driver would probably have swerved into the cyclist. It was a stupid place to overtake, especially considering how quickly the road widened out a bit.

But what was the point of beeping after the fact? The overtaking was done and it wasn't like the driver was un aware of the cyclists presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

....and what might those conditions be? Just so I know for the spin home.

While not advocating violence - cycling on the path or jumping red lights are two areas where a more robust approach could be more beneficial - but I'd prefer fixed penalty notices dished out rather than slaps.

In some areas cycling on the path is essential. Try competing for road space with an 18 wheeler. Law or not, I don't believe a cyclist should have to risk his/her life in these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

But what was the point of beeping after the fact? The overtaking was done and it wasn't like the driver was un aware of the cyclists presence.
    the point was, i suppose, to indicate his displeasure at van man's fancy driving...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

But what was the point of beeping after the fact?
    People beep all the time to admonish others for taking illegal or dangerous actions. More than once I've seen somebody beep at a pedestrian crossing the road, without making any effort to slow down or anything like that. I often see people beeping at somebody they know, just to get their attention and wave. Occasionally I hear people in a wedding procession going absolutely nuts on their horns. People are pretty liberal on what they will beep at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

That youtube vid was awesome . If there was ever a lad that needed a slap, it was a that lad. Why would ya blow an air horn? Why would ya carry a video?
    He gestured to the lad in the white van from the start when he undertook him. The van was letting him out. He then held the van up . Loved it.
    I cycle everywhere myself these days .
    In some areas cycling on the path is essential. Try competing for road space with an 18 wheeler. Law or not, I don't believe a cyclist should have to risk his/her life in these cases.

Agreed, but common sense is vital .
    If there are people using the footpath either cycle very slow giving priority to pedestrians at all time or get off and push. If there are many people. Walk. You will piss everyone off if you dont.
    I cycle with my 9 year old boy every day nearly, and I would prefer the safety of the path when dealing with faster traffic. He is more precious to me than people opinions on bending the rules a little.

Simple answer - change your route. You're not entitled to the shortest, quickest or most direct route from A to B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

rubadub wrote: »
    They would make an absolute fortune if they had fines for breaking laws pertaining to roads. Jaywalking is so rife & tolerated that many do not even know we actually have laws against it.

Does anybody think we should similarly be allowed beat up jaywalkers?

Pedestrians are princes of the city, walking around as nature intended, doing no harm to no one. They should be given right of way in all circumstances.

Cycling on footpaths should be a lamping offence for sure. Constitution may need to be altered for that to happen though :(