anyone return back to Ireland from abroad?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Yes I came back to drone on about how much I learned while travelling, and how it opened my mind, and tell people about the amazing experiences I had and how things are so much better abroad, and how Irish people can be soooo close-minded.

Of course I actually just spent 2 years drinking the hoop out of it with my GAA jersey on in a Irish bar in Sydney.

I'd love to meet some of these mythical a*seholes people in AH keep banging on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I'd love to meet some of these mythical a*seholes people in AH keep banging on about

Yeah, and I notice that AH never describes them as wearing provincial rugby, or soccer jerseys.
    Just GAA ones.

Facebook must be lying to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Came home in mid-2008, stayed for 2 and a half years, got a job offer in Tokyo, so returned to Japan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

Didn't you know, every Irish person who wants to travel is an a*sehole?

Who do yous think you are, too good for Ireland? Just stay in your hometown forever goddammnit :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

5 years home from the States now after living there for 7 years – I found it very hard to adjust at first when I moved home to be honest, but I'm still glad I made the decision. Came back just before the whole country tanked but managed to get a job which I've held onto since. There are definitely things I still miss from the States... but overall I'm happy to be home. I've good friends here and as my folks get older it’s nice to be nearer to them :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Yes I came back to drone on about how much I learned while travelling, and how it opened my mind, and tell people about the amazing experiences I had and how things are so much better abroad, and how Irish people can be soooo close-minded.

Of course I actually just spent 2 years drinking the hoop out of it with my GAA jersey on in a Irish bar in Sydney.

Returning home from London tonight after 6 months here and 2 years in Geneva before that. I moved to those places for work and now i'm moving home for work. Yes I did learn alot living away from home and yes I did intergrate and get on with the locals in both place but I also did mix with the Irish in the irish bars. I have learned alot and I have a new appreciation for Ireland because of my travels. I don't however miss the stupid begrudgery that comes from the Irish when they feel threatened as shown in your post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

I came home for a few brief months at the end of 2012.

Stayed long enough to do a few short FETAC courses and other informal upskilling, and apply for CAO 2013 as a mature student.

Also tried a few different business ideas, but nothing took off.

I'm now back in Madrid (where I should have stayed in the first place) and making a few quid for college in Aug/Sept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭berrecka

I was made redundant in Dublin in 2008. I moved to London for a job immediately. I absolutely loved living there, but after 4 years was ready to come home. I’ve been lucky enough to make that happen and am working away here, while studying for qualifications in my changed career. My partner though hasn't been so lucky, he can’t catch a break (having studied while we were in the UK so is really looking for a graduate job in his mid-30s - employers don't seem keen) and will probably have to leave again – this time probably further away than the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

We came back from England in 2007 and I hate it here. Will definitely be getting the hell out of here at some point in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

smurgen wrote: »
    Returning home from London tonight after 6 months here and 2 years in Geneva before that. I moved to those places for work and now i'm moving home for work. Yes I did learn alot living away from home and yes I did intergrate and get on with the locals in both place but I also did mix with the Irish in the irish bars. I have learned alot and I have a new appreciation for Ireland because of my travels. I don't however miss the stupid begrudgery that comes from the Irish when they feel threatened as shown in your post above.

Yes its obviously just begrudgery, nothing to do with the fact that listening to lads droning on about Lawwwdawwn and Sydney like they travelled to Mars is very tedious.

I've lived in plenty of places myself, from the Middle East, to Central Africa, to the US and central America. I just don't feel the need to bang on about it like I'm some modern day David Livingston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

My two cents worth - We all moved back 3 years ago, having been away for 14 years. I must say though, all really settled back.
    I get angry at the way the country is being run, but really like being nearer to family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

To the people who found it difficult to adjust on returning to Ireland - in what ways?

Not a defensive question, BTW, I am genuinely fascinated. :)

smurgen wrote: »

Excellent post...

but...
    Yes its obviously just begrudgery, nothing to do with the fact that listening to lads droning on about Lawwwdawwn and Sydney like they travelled to Mars is very tedious.

This does happen too, unfortunately. Not that much, thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

To the people who found it difficult to adjust on returning to Ireland - in what ways?

I was excited about coming home but it isn't long until everything becomes about employment. Even some of the nicest people I know will start up a conversation with things like 'Any work going?' or 'How's the job search?'. Even though I'm not particularly unhappy about my situation, the references to it end up dragging me down eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

I think it is really sad to watch a nation bleed and people seeing their adult children leave, and grand children, families all strewn all over the place, seats in the classroom empty because someone said goodbye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

It’s a mix of things really – things have changed obviously since you’ve been away and your friends are leading different lives (as they should) since you left and you have to adjust to that. You also have gotten used of another type of lifestyle and you have to readapt again when you come home. I’ve actually found the working environment hard to get used to also – in the States things are done very differently and I actually still find that hard. Depending how long you’ve been away you’ve also left good friends behind in the move home. There is also the weather which is hard to adapt to again – so if you’ve lived away somewhere where the weather is much sunnier for example, then that definitely takes a little getting used to again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I come and go these days, nothing changes in small Meath towns. Same old, same old. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    I come and go these days, nothing changes in small Meath towns. Same old, same old. :)

That's what you think! Des Kelly Carpets recently got a new soap dispenser in their staff toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Speaking of which, I'm from a relatively small town in North County Dublin and my dad always sends me a detailed email about all the changes that have happened in the town: "The Dunnes in number 26 have got new blinds, Mr Shields has painted his front door red, Hogan's are selling German beer now, Mary's Cafe has extended out the back and Lovely Lady Beauty Salon are doing spray tans...and Asumpta Murphy is pregnant!" and everytime I come home, he brings me for a drive round the town to point out all the changes. It's very cute, bless him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Speaking of which, I'm from a relatively small town in North County Dublin and my dad always sends me a detailed email about all the changes that have happened in the town: "The Dunnes in number 26 have got new blinds, Mr Shields has painted his front door red, Hogan's are selling German beer now, Mary's Cafe has extended out the back and Lovely Lady Beauty Salon are doing spray tans...and Asumpta Murphy is pregnant!" and everytime I come home, he brings me for a drive round the town to point out all the changes. It's very cute, bless him.

Asumpta Murphy's pregnant again??? will that women ever learn:rolleyes:

jaja321 wrote: »
    I’ve actually found the working environment hard to get used to also – in the States things are done very differently and I actually still find that hard.

Interesting. How so?

I was excited about coming home but it isn't long until everything becomes about employment. Even some of the nicest people I know will start up a conversation with things like 'Any work going?' or 'How's the job search?'. Even though I'm not particularly unhappy about my situation, the references to it end up dragging me down eventually.

Yes, it's a nightmare being unemployed in Ireland for that very reason. It piles the pressure on. I've been there. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Several of my Irish coworkers spent a good number of years in other countries (well beyond something like the J1 visa). The ones I've spoken to about it seem to agree that, financially, they were better off abroad, but returned to raise their children/be close to their elderly parents.

It's pretty sad that anyone should have to choose between a better lifestyle and being with their family.

I also guess it's a lot easier to emigrate when you are young, educated/skilled and ready to work; but it's next to impossible to bring your extended family with (even assuming they'd want to go).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Two words should sum this up nicely so here goes: Fcukin weather

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭Albert E. Arkwright

I've lived in plenty of places myself, from the Middle East, to Central Africa, to the US and central America. I just don't feel the need to bang on about it like I'm some modern day David Livingston

Precedes the statement by banging on about the places he has lived.

Rofl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

kupus wrote: »
    Two words should sum this up nicely so here goes: Fcukin weather

Am I the only one who loves the weather in Ireland?

I've been here for three winters now and I still don't own a snow shovel. I've never seen a single road closed due to snow. I've never had to chisel away the layers of snow and ice to get into my car or deal with anyone getting stuck in the snow.

The summers are even better than the winters. I've been to some of the 'so called' summer destinations, with fancy beaches and hot weather....and it's hot. Too hot. You either sit inside with the air conditioning on for 14 hours of the day, or you sit outside in a pool of sweat. I used to pack a lunch during the summer because, if I left to get food, I'd come back and look like I'd run a marathon! And the garden was nothing but mud, unless you could afford the huge hit on the water bill to keep the grass growing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

UCDVet wrote: »

I've been here for three winters now and I still don't own a snow shovel. I've never seen a single road closed due to snow. I've never had to chisel away the layers of snow and ice to get into my car or deal with anyone getting stuck in the snow.

The summers are even better than the winters. I've been to some of the 'so called' summer destinations, with fancy beaches and hot weather....and it's hot. Too hot. You either sit inside with the air conditioning on for 14 hours of the day, or you sit outside in a pool of sweat. I used to pack a lunch during the summer because, if I left to get food, I'd come back and look like I'd run a marathon! And the garden was nothing but mud, unless you could afford the huge hit on the water bill to keep the grass growing.

Where do you come from?

I haven't been away from Ireland. I graduated just as the boom turned to bust/dust and have always had work during the recession. It was during the boom (and college) that I had difficulty finding work, ironically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

This thread prompted me to research some stats :) And its quite depressing. :(

To sum up, there are less people aged 15-30 in this country in 2012 than there were in 2006, I calculate about 120,000 less :eek: (other age groups increased, see page 7)
    http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/releasespublications/documents/latestheadlinefigures/popmig_2012.pdf

What I see is the older generation returning at their time of choosing while the young adults are forced to emigrate to find work, a generation gap is occurring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

UCDVet wrote: »

There are lots of other places on the planet to live in, than the Artic Circle and the Equator. You do realize that don't you? ;)

Just because we don't get extremes of hot and cold weather here, doesn't mean that our weather isn't shyte. :o

I moved back here 2 years ago. For family reasons mainly. I don't have to worry about work thankfully, as I am self employed and all I need to do what I do is a lap top and an internet connection. Don't think I can take another Irish winter and total lack of Spring time to be honest. Month after month of days when it gets dark at 4, rain that never seems to go away, cold damp drizzle that just gets into your bones, no matter how many layers of clothing you wear, is just depressing as heck. Living where I did, I got used to being out of doors a lot, 12 months of the year, and actually enjoying being out of doors. You just can't do that here and I find it very, very hard to deal with, and depressing as heck, so I doubt if I'll stay. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Thanks UCDVet at last !!!

Weather heere is very mild even with the longer Winter this year, it wasn't a bitterly cold winter like 2 years ago.
    Yes, hot weather is dull and wears you out.
    Plus mosquitoes are the most horrible animals that God made.