Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭davenewt

Good to see you're trying to slow it down RR - practicing what you preach, hehehe. ;) Good luck with the recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

davenewt wrote: »
    Good to see you're trying to slow it down RR - practicing what you preach, hehehe. ;) Good luck with the recovery!

Ha ha yes indeed.:) We all have to heed good advice from someone at some stage.

Went out with club group this morning for LSR. Ran there as warm up as OH needed car. Had two bananas for breeakfast and brought no water with me. Not the best preparation.

My Garmin died on this run so last bit is estimated based on mapmyrun.

1.79 mi @ 8:56avg warmup

6.81 mi @ 9:18avg LSR (until battery died) I know C_M ! Probably should have been slower but not easy when running in a group;)

2.01 mi @ 9:10 - 9:20 (approx)

1.79 mi @ ? probably 10:30 - 11:00

Total 12.4 miles

Felt a little tired at end run. Probably did more miles this week than originally intended. A bit of a twinge in left hamstring during cool down so had to stop and stretch it but its fine. Problem definitely to do with left glute methinks. THe hamstring that had me out of action recently ie the Right one was absoultely fine.

WTD|38.03
    MTD|53.91
    YTD|288.21

Monday- Rested

Tuesday- 5.5 miles easy @8:32 avg

Bit of a rush job this one as had to be home to let the OH go out so left work early got home, quick change and out the door with very little stretching:eek: as I was on the clock. Despite being on the clock tried to keep it easy but struggled to keep it closer to 9min miles.

16*C tonight, fabulous evening.

WTD|5.5
    MTD|59.41
    YTD|293.71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

How many days do you run with the club?

Darren 83 wrote: »
    How many days do you run with the club?

Just two at the moment Darren. I go out with the "Fit for Life" crew on a Wednesday evening for an easy run and then do the long run on a Sunday morning if I can.There will be a Summer league of races on a Tuesday night starting in June so will probably do these when they start up. I'd go down more if it weren't for family committments. Later on in the year I plan to try out some of the sessions as part of my marathon training.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Just two at the moment Darren. I go out with the "Fit for Life" crew on a Wednesday evening for an easy run and then do the long run on a Sunday morning if I can.There will be a Summer league of races on a Tuesday night starting in June so will probably do these when they start up. I'd go down more if it weren't for family committments. Later on in the year I plan to try out some of the sessions as part of my marathon training.

I was looking at my clubs marathons plans look very hard think I will stick too hals plan, I missed today's session mite do 5k at fast as I can.

At least your club seems to have plans.Nothing like that at ours. Think I'll be following P&D <55 plan myself.

Easy Run tonight at the club. Ran from the house as a nice little warmup. Wet night but wasn't as bad when you were out there as it was when you were at home looking out the window at it.

1.85mi @ 9:07avg

4.84mi @ 8:33avg

Total for today: 6.69 miles

WTD|12.19
    MTD|66.1
    YTD|300.4

BHHA RTE5 Mile race today in Donnybrook. Hadn't run since wednesday and had to work very late last night. In fact started at 8am yesterday morning and finished a 01:15. Back in work at 8.30 til 10 and then down to Montrose for the race where I met a couple of people from work. To say I wasn't on top form for this race was an understatement but I wanted to do it even to test the hamstrings to see what they might be like under a bit of stress.

My PB for 5 miles before today was 40:36 so knew I could take something off this despite the tiredness. Wasn't going to go full tilt either because I'm also running Samsung 10k tomorrow night. Plan was to try hold 7:30 pace for the five miles and see how the hammers stood up.

End result ...New PB 37:09. Delighted with that and I know there is a better time in me than that with better preparation and hamstrings caused no problems whatsoever. Think the massage i had yesterday might have helped with that. When the race was over it was back to work and finished at 8pm.Looking forward to lie-in now tomorrow and see how the legs feel for an assault on my 10k time.

Splits: 7:17,7:31,7:39,7:49,7:38

Avg 7:35

Back was a little sore afterwards but a hot bath helped sort that out. Enjoying the glass(es) of wine now:):)

WTD|17.19
    MTD|71.1
    YTD|305.4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Well done on the PB. Hopefully you can push on from here and stay injury free.

beeduybe wrote: »
    Well done on the PB. Hopefully you can push on from here and stay injury free.

Cheers beeduybe...with the grace of God!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

BHHA RTE5 Mile race today in Donnybrook. Hadn't run since wednesday and had to work very late last night. In fact started at 8am yesterday morning and finished a 01:15. Back in work at 8.30 til 10 and then down to Montrose for the race where I met a couple of people from work. To say I wasn't on top form for this race was an understatement but I wanted to do it even to test the hamstrings to see what they might be like under a bit of stress.

My PB for 5 miles before today was 40:36 so knew I could take something off this despite the tiredness. Wasn't going to go full tilt either because I'm also running Samsung 10k tomorrow night. Plan was to try hold 7:30 pace for the five miles and see how the hammers stood up.

End result ...New PB 37:09. Delighted with that and I know there is a better time in me than that with better preparation and hamstrings caused no problems whatsoever. Think the massage i had yesterday might have helped with that. When the race was over it was back to work and finished at 8pm.Looking forward to lie-in now tomorrow and see how the legs feel for an assault on my 10k time.

Back was a little sore afterwards but a hot bath helped sort that out. Enjoying the glass(es) of wine now:):)

WTD|17.19
    MTD|71.1
    YTD|305.4

Well done on the PB,was going to run myself, but wifey is away.

Be careful on the legs, 2 races in same weekend is normally not a great idea, coming back from injury makes it less of a good idea, although, they are nice long sleeve t-shirts :-)

Go easy(ish)!

(Enjoy the wine)

Well done on the PB,was going to run myself, but wifey is away.

Be careful on the legs, 2 races in same weekend is normally not a great idea, coming back from injury makes it less of a good idea, although, they are nice long sleeve t-shirts :-)

Go easy(ish)!

(Enjoy the wine)

Yes, I know. A friend asked me to run this and I didnt realise it was on same weekend until after I registered.Turns out the friend is now not running :rolleyes:(but another friend is)

I was holding back some today so legs should be ok tomorrow. I'll try not do anything silly tomorrow. They are good tops alright with an added bonus of an arm pocket this year.

Well done on the pb Redrunner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Well done RR great running there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good job red, shows the fitness hasn't suffered too much! Take it handy in that 10k.. What's current PB? Two races in a row is a real risk with recent injury! And I'm sure you'll be chasing a PB regardless.. Be cautious :)

Steroo wrote: »
    Good job red, shows the fitness hasn't suffered too much! Take it handy in that 10k.. What's current PB? Two races in a row is a real risk with recent injury! And I'm sure you'll be chasing a PB regardless.. Be cautious :)

Current PB 47:09.... Based on yesterdays race, that is beatable, whether I should go for it tonight is certainly questionable alright. I'll take the first couple miles out at 7:30 pace and see how the body is reacting. If I'm feeling good I may try push on later but I'm not that worried about PBs tonight just interested in running a good race. A good race wll be ,I have run close to PB time, felt strong throughout, kept an even pace and finish injury free. I'll do a good bit of stretching before I leave the house and allow plenty fo time for a good warmup beforehand. I don't want to wake up tomorrow regretting that I ran the race and beeing injured again because I want to start ramping up the training miles now so I'll keep that in mind when I'm out there.

As long as the "Chi" is flowing I'll be grand!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Steroo wrote: »
    Two races in a row is a real risk with recent injury!

I'd have to agree with this, with your recent injury the last thing you want is to break down again. Take it handy out there.

Well done yesterday too by the way!

Best of luck with the race tonight

Cheers D.

Couldnt resist this post from my mobile...from the pub.....2nd PB of the weekend and no injuries to report...wooohoo! Update later...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

I knew you'd post tonight! Great running, not many people post PB's 2 days in a row!
    Well done.

I knew you'd post tonight! Great running, not many people post PB's 2 days in a row!
    Well done.

Unofficially 3 pbs as i was sub 37 at 8 k :-)....im off for a kebab now

Well done Redrunner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Fair play Red!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭guinang

Super stuff. Well done rr.

Sunday 28th April - Samsung Night Run 10K

So as you will have read from previous posts, went into this race tired due to long working hours in days leading up to it and also running the RTE5 on saturday. Wouldn't normally do two races in one weekend but things just conspired to make this happen. My biggest worry was coming out of it injured so I had a plan. The plan was to have a good race by getting near enough to current PB, keeping good even pace and feeling strong and avoiding injury. So decided I would try keep a 7:30 pace for duration of race and see how I felt.
    Met friend of mine at bag drop, bumped into some work colleagues and then trotted off on a warmup to start. A sudden burst of rainfall and increasing chill factor made me turn around and head back to get my base layer and gloves.
    Decided to join the Red zone starting pen which was 45 mins and under and start from the back of that to avoid congestion. This worked out well I thought though there were a few slower runners who found their way in there. Think I may have seen Rasher_M in the pen in the Green pen next to that . never met you Rasher but you have been pointed out to me from a distance. The distinctive hair makes me think it was you but I wasn't brave enough to go up and say hello. If that was you, I'll say hello next time, promise;)

Anyway, legs were a little heavy so wasn't sure how this one would go and hammies were tightening up just thinking about the pace. Gun went and off we went.Great atmosphere I have to say, much better than last year. Eased into it from the star and tried to find a good pace while feeling comfortable. Felt good right throught the first 5k and it was only at about 6-7k when it started feeling like real effort was required. There were times when I felt myself pushing on and I felt slight twinge in right glute so I would eas back a little and this trend kind of set in, push it a little, ease back to avoid cramping up. Injury management on the run as I like to call it. Hit 8k and knew I was on target for a time close to PB. My garmin showed 36 something. i had enough in the tank to try push it from there but decided why ruin a good experience by getting injured in last k or two so kept the pace as even as possible in order to finish strong and healthy. This I was able to do and was delighted to cross the line in 46:39 according to my Garmin (official time says 46:42 so I'll take that). Had a feeling of deep satisfaction at making two PBs in two days. Previous 10K pB was 47:09 so not a huge reduction but nonetheless a good day a the running office all things considered.

I feel confident that before the year is out I could go sub 45 if I had a good run of training and stay injury free and be able to go into the race fresh.
    So all in all I was delighted with weekend's work and enjoyed a couple of pints afterwards.

It was great to see so many fellow club members out last night marshalling too. Go Shamrocks! You did a great job everyone and thanks for the shouts of support to those who knew me. Now to pick a new race target. Thinking maybe Lucan harriers 5k or Terenure 5mile. First priority though is to get a couple of consistent weeks running and get some mileage in.

So new PB of 46:42 - 6.22 miles

Splits were 7:15,7:24,7:32,7:26,7:44,7:46,(6:55)

7:30 avg

WTD|23.41
    MTD|77.32
    YTD|311.62

Monday 29th April

Rest -Totally Shagged!

Sunday 28th April - Samsung Night Run 10K

So as you will have read from previous posts, went into this race tired due to long working hours in days leading up to it and also running the RTE5 on saturday. Wouldn't normally do two races in one weekend but things just conspired to make this happen. My biggest worry was coming out of it injured so I had a plan. The plan was to have a good race by getting near enough to current PB, keeping good even pace and feeling strong and avoiding injury. So decided I would try keep a 7:30 pace for duration of race and see how I felt.
    Met friend of mine at bag drop, bumped into some work colleagues and then trotted off on a warmup to start. A sudden burst of rainfall and increasing chill factor made me turn around and head back to get my base layer and gloves.
    Decided to join the Red zone starting pen which was 45 mins and under and start from the back of that to avoid congestion. This worked out well I thought though there were a few slower runners who found their way in there. Think I may have seen Rasher_M in the pen in the Green pen next to that . never met you Rasher but you have been pointed out to me from a distance. The distinctive hair makes me think it was you but I wasn't brave enough to go up and say hello. If that was you, I'll say hello next time, promise;)

Anyway, legs were a little heavy so wasn't sure how this one would go and hammies were tightening up just thinking about the pace. Gun went and off we went.Great atmosphere I have to say, much better than last year. Eased into it from the star and tried to find a good pace while feeling comfortable. Felt good right throught the first 5k and it was only at about 6-7k when it started feeling like real effort was required. There were times when I felt myself pushing on and I felt slight twinge in right glute so I would eas back a little and this trend kind of set in, push it a little, ease back to avoid cramping up. Injury management on the run as I like to call it. Hit 8k and knew I was on target for a time close to PB. My garmin showed 36 something. i had enough in the tank to try push it from there but decided why ruin a good experience by getting injured in last k or two so kept the pace as even as possible in order to finish strong and healthy. This I was able to do and was delighted to cross the line in 46:39 according to my Garmin (official time says 46:42 so I'll take that). Had a feeling of deep satisfaction at making two PBs in two days. Previous 10K pB was 47:09 so not a huge reduction but nonetheless a good day a the running office all things considered.

I feel confident that before the year is out I could go sub 45 if I had a good run of training and stay injury free and be able to go into the race fresh.
    So all in all I was delighted with weekend's work and enjoyed a couple of pints afterwards.

It was great to see so many fellow club members out last night marshalling too. Go Shamrocks! You did a great job everyone and thanks for the shouts of support to those who knew me. Now to pick a new race target. Thinking maybe Lucan harriers 5k or Terenure 5mile. First priority though is to get a couple of consistent weeks running and get some mileage in.

So new PB of 46:42 - 6.22 miles

Splits were 7:15,7:24,7:32,7:26,7:44,7:46,(6:55)

7:30 avg

WTD|23.41
    MTD|77.32
    YTD|311.62

Monday 29th April

Rest -Totally Shagged!

Great running RR well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭davenewt

Sounds awesome, well done on the PB's and avoidance of injury RR!