Nights out without alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Atari Jaguar
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    Of course you can have a good night without alcohol.

Having a few drinks is good too.

However, being the only sober one when everyone else is drinking? That's horrible!

This exactly. Nothing is worse than being surrounded by your friends who have never seemed as idiotic, never talked as much sh!t, never been as ignorant before. And the worst thing is that you know if you had a few drinks in you, everything would be great.

Go to a cafe with a few friends and sit around talking - can be a great time. Get outside and do something active - great fun.

But for many people, the only thing to do with friends is head to the pub (or drink at home).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

baz2009 wrote: »
    That bit of chicken won't enhance your night out, which alcohol does for most people. So that logic makes zero sense.

I see it as wasting money, drinking until you get sick and for what? So you can go to work or to your mates on Monday and say you spent your Sunday dying sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

It's not though. So many people have this attitude and it's ridiculous. My brother is a big movie fan and goes to the cinema about 4 times a month with another friend of his who is also a big movie fan. It's a great social thing for him, because he doesn't drink. If you want to find other social outlets do your research. I'm a member of several sports clubs, and also a meetup group for LGBT people. There is tons of stuff to do other than drink in Ireland.

That's why I said ONE of the only places. It's all well and good when your friends share the same interests and hobbies as you, but I have friends who wouldn't be into the same movies as me, and wouldn't be interested in many of the same activities, but I still get on with them very well. So if I want to spend time with them the norm seems to be to go to the pub. That's just the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Atari Jaguar
    wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I see it as wasting money, drinking until you get sick and for what? So you can go to work or to your mates on Monday and say you spent your Sunday dying sick.

Who says you have to drink until you get sick? It's easily done to drink just enough so that's you're in great form, but not vomiting everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

I have a better time when I drink
    I don't really drink anymore. I find an energy drink like Lucozade or Monster does the trick if you have to go to a nightclub. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Blue Ribbon Bunny

osarusan wrote: »
    This exactly. Nothing is worse than being surrounded by your friends who have never seemed as idiotic, never talked as much sh!t, never been as ignorant before. And the worst thing is that you know if you had a few drinks in you, everything would be great.

Go to a cafe with a few friends and sit around talking - can be a great time. Get outside and do something active - great fun.

But for many people, the only thing to do with friends is head to the pub (or drink at home).

Can you give an example of "talking ****"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Blue Ribbon Bunny

Some of the most interesting conversations I've head where had where all parties concerned were well lubricated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I don't really go on night outs anymore but when I used to, I would leave by 1am cuz by then everyone would be just too drunk to have any decent conversation and a good time.

Now I just like to drive around with my mates to nice places, have a nice dinner or play playstation at their place. Lot more fun than going to some messy nightclub full of drunk knackers or men acting like knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

jubella wrote: »
    That's why I said ONE of the only places. It's all well and good when your friends share the same interests and hobbies as you, but I have friends who wouldn't be into the same movies as me, and wouldn't be interested in many of the same activities, but I still get on with them very well. So if I want to spend time with them the norm seems to be to go to the pub. That's just the way it is.

Yeah, you said ONE of the ONLY social outlets in Ireland. But that ONLY list is very very long. The pub doesn't need to be anywhere in your list if you don't want it to be.

If your friends don't share the same interests than go out and make new ones. I had no LGBT friends whatsoever until I put myself out there and went to meetups, joined clubs etc. and now I have a good set of close friends who I can go to gay bars and other events with.

That doesn't mean you ignore your other friends, you can make new friends to go do the activities you enjoy while still hanging out with your old friends. Besides, I am sure your friends have more than one interest in the whole world (going to the pub). I'm sure you have some friends who like sport/exercise - why not go to the park for a bit of footie now that the weathers picking up? I'm sure you're friends like food (who doesn't? :pac:); meet up for lunch/dinner rather than drinks - if they can aford the pub they can afford a bite to eat. Music? Go to gigs. etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

baz2009 wrote: »
    Who says you have to drink until you get sick? It's easily done to drink just enough so that's you're in great form, but not vomiting everywhere.

And many can do that, but many others cannot. Nothing nicer than having a few, but so many can't stop or don't know their limit, or what really fascinates me, going out with the intention of getting shítfaced!!! It's their own choice, but I see it as a waster of time of money really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Atari Jaguar
    I would not normally go near a pub on week nights myself and my local is a small enough old pub so it would not be like it's party central or a first stop on a night out for the young heads who just go out to get smashed drunk. That said at €4 for a pint of coca-cola i would nearly be better off drinking the hard stuff again. :)

There was a quiet bar in my town. It closed down two months ago because no-one went there :D

During the week i wouldn't have more than a pint or two. I can't function with a hangover. Well, that's not true. i can. It's just not worth the effort.

It is stupidly expensive for softdrinks. And I don't think they've lowered the price since the downturn. I know some bars have lowered the price of alcohol, but it's still the same for coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Atari Jaguar
    Some of the most interesting conversations I've head where had where all parties concerned were well lubricated.

Why you talking to yourself?

Atari Jaguar
    Yeah, you said ONE of the ONLY social outlets in Ireland. But that ONLY list is very very long. The pub doesn't need to be anywhere in your list if you don't want it to be.

If your friends don't share the same interests than go out and make new ones. I had no LGBT friends whatsoever until I put myself out there and went to meetups, joined clubs etc. and now I have a good set of close friends who I can go to gay bars and other events with.

That doesn't mean you ignore your other friends, you can make new friends to go do the activities you enjoy while still hanging out with your old friends. Besides, I am sure your friends have more than one interest in the whole world (going to the pub). I'm sure you have some friends who like sport/exercise - why not go to the park for a bit of footie now that the weathers picking up? I'm sure you're friends like food (who doesn't? :pac:); meet up for lunch/dinner rather than drinks - if they can aford the pub they can afford a bite to eat. Music? Go to gigs. etc. etc.

Did you just prove yourself wrong? ;)

Atari Jaguar
    Id be out in average twice a week and I'd have no interest at all in going out without drinking, sure isn't the drink one of the main reasons for going out. I have gone out sober a very odd time but haven't done it for years now, I'd rather stay at home or go to the cinema, watching everyone else having the craic while sitting there sober, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I've got an honest question for everyone who would consider that they cannot have fun without alcohol : When you see people (Irish or possibly not) having a good time, lots of laughs and banter, without a drop of alcohol, does that not surprise you? How do you think they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Atari Jaguar
    I don't need alcohol to have a good time, but I don't like being surrounded by very drunk people when I'm sober. Its incredibly annoying. So if I know my friends are going out and its going to be a hard night on the sauce and everyone is going to be hammered but for whatever reason I can't drink, I'd probably stay at home. But if the plan is just to have a few quite ones then I'd go even if I can't drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Atari Jaguar
    I do go out the odd time sober. I'd never last a full night clubbing. Usually in at 9 and drive home by 1 at the latest. It's an annoying situation though because out of a group of 15 of us only 1 or 2 won't drink. You can have a good time but you know it would be better with a few beers.

I'm not a heavy drinker though anyways. Would never have more than 6 pints on a night out. I wouldn't drink vodka or whiskey these days. I enjoy a few beers without having a hangover the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

I'm perfectly happy with the friends I have though. Not that I don't like meeting new people, but I don't feel the need to actively seek them out right now.
    I wasn't complaining, merely stating that for me and my friends, it'a one of the only options suitable for us all to spend time together. It's local and convenient, and we have fun. It's not like we never do anything else, but the pub is the default option for a lot of people, me included.
    And back to the topic at hand - just because it's the default option doesn't mean we drink all the time. We just go to be social, a lot of the time there's always someone not drinking.

Atari Jaguar
    Shenshen wrote: »
    I've got an honest question for everyone who would consider that they cannot have fun without alcohol : When you see people (Irish or possibly not) having a good time, lots of laughs and banter, without a drop of alcohol, does that not surprise you? How do you think they do it?

I don't know how people can regularly go out and enjoy nights while sober, no matter how good the night was it would be better with drink imo.

As I said I'm usually out twice a week and I honestly couldn't see myself going out more than once in a blue moon if I couldn't drink.

Atari Jaguar

I don't think anyone said you can't. just that in certain social situations (like a city centre pub) you're better off drinking because otherwise it;'s a horrible experience.

Tell me, when you see people drinking do you look at them and think that they're incapable of having fun without it? Or do you think that it's a valid choice that they made and they are enjoying an oppertunity?

Think of it like sex. I enjoy it. But i don't need it to enjoy myself. It's just another way of having fun.

Atari Jaguar

Personally I feel slightly jealous of people who can have a good time without alcohol.

I wish I could be the same, but the fact is I'm quite tense in social situations bas/nightclubs, and just feel a LOT looser and more relaxed with a few drinks in me.

Sad, but just the way it is. Think it might be something to do with the cold country mentality or something :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

No,it does not surprise me a tall.

How do they do it, simple, they behave like adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭VanishingActs

I find I drink less and less every time I go out. Mostly it's because it's so lovely to wake up the next morning and feel perfectly normal. But I find I have to drink something or I'll be miserable. It's not that I can't have a great time without drink- if nobody else was drinking I'd be grand. But being around drunk people when you're the only one sober is so irritating! The other night I arrived sober at a night out and most other people were drunk already and they were so annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

Atari Jaguar

Drinking alcohol while clubbing doesn't mean people can't have fun without it in other situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I go to nightclubs sober all the time, it's fun because you can f*ck with people the next day and give them the fear when they can't remember anything ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Grayson wrote: »
    I don't think anyone said you can't. just that in certain social situations (like a city centre pub) you're better off drinking because otherwise it;'s a horrible experience.

Tell me, when you see people drinking do you look at them and think that they're incapable of having fun without it? Or do you think that it's a valid choice that they made and they are enjoying an oppertunity?

Think of it like sex. I enjoy it. But i don't need it to enjoy myself. It's just another way of having fun.

I don't think they're incapable of having fun without it - I genuinely hope that they ARE capable of having fun without drink.
    But truth be told, most of the time I would try my best to avoid drunk people as I find most of them very unpleasant to be around, but that's just me really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Atari Jaguar
    I need to be drunk really to be more social, unless im with my own close friends, I think being drunk helps me to be more sociable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Atari Jaguar
    I go to nightclubs sober all the time, it's fun because you can f*ck with people the next day and give them the fear when they can't remember anything ;)

Hate people like you!:P

Atari Jaguar
    I don't think they're incapable of having fun without it - I genuinely hope that they ARE capable of having fun without drink.
    But truth be told, most of the time I would try my best to avoid drunk people as I find most of them very unpleasant to be around, but that's just me really.

I think I said it earlier, but you're right. It's ok if it's just a drink or two. They're still pretty normal. But being in a crowded pub or nightclub or any area like templebar that has lots of drunk people is a very unpleasant experience when you're sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Grayson wrote: »
    I think I said it earlier, but you're right. It's ok if it's just a drink or two. They're still pretty normal. But being in a crowded pub or nightclub or any area like templebar that has lots of drunk people is a very unpleasant experience when you're sober.

Couldn't disagree more with this. Being sober in a room full of completely plastered people is quite possibly the most fun experience known to mankind. :D