Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nights out without alcohol

• 28-04-2013 3:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭

How do you find it? I usually need a few JD's before I am able to have a good time. Most of my friends are the same way. I haven't finished a night out sober since I was 15 maybe? Can anyone relate?

Do you need alcohol to have a good time? 269 votes

I don't drink
    0%
    Makes no difference to me
    15%
    sunbeamcantdecide3rdDegreeianobrienboomerangcallaway92twinytwo[Rasta]MrPain[Deleted User]HigginsJBen HadadTskTskNTMKMiss Lockhartplay4fun1Prodigiousthebull09QuiteInterestinDoylers 41 votes
    I have a better time when I drink
    26%
    neilmdonspeekinglesh[Deleted User]R0otm5ex9oqjawdg2iShenshented1[Deleted User]anna.fundbrockshockwavedfx-listermintSlideyollie1Jen Pigs FlyHead_HunterthegolferDeliriumusername123 71 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    58%
    Graysontony 2 toneRabiesomahaidchrismonweemcdjesus_thats_grebassyYurigustafobikoLiam90Snake PliiskenpoisonatedmayotomJelloDuffOisinjmciano1Poxyshamrock 157 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Of course you can have a good night without alcohol.

Having a few drinks is good too.

However, being the only sober one when everyone else is drinking? That's horrible!

Yea, it's possible to have a nice sober night if everyone is in the same mood.. But if everyone is on a night out, it's horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You don't have an addiction, love life and stray from such silliness, or else succumb to it, you stupid clown. You idiot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SicklySweet

Been sober tonight while group of friends got smashed. As long as the DJ plays a few of the songs you like. Not the fooking Saturdays every other song. Grrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

just smoke some crack and you'll not worry about not drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Atari Jaguar
    MrStuffins wrote: »

However, being the only sober one when everyone else is drinking? That's horrible!

Drunk people are annoying loud idiots. But great fun if you've had a couple too. Walking through templebar at midnight when you're sober is a scary experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 lizwex88

I wouldn't mind being sober or drunk for a night out but really depends on the company. If everyone around you is pissed and talking ****e its hard to listen while sober!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

If for whatever reason, I was going to be on the dry for the weekend, I'd much prefer going to the cinema or bowling, which I'd enjoy and I know I'd have a good time.

Going out, staying sober, being walked and slobbered on by drunk idiots and **** music, sticky floors and filthy toilets is my idea of hell. I go out to get drunk, not always wrecked, but having a few drinks kind of acts like a barrier to the morons I'm forced to share oxygen with on a night out. I would rather go home than not drink

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

Atari Jaguar
    Get drunk or die tryin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

One of the most horrendous experiences must be walking into a niteclub stone cold sober. It really is one of the worst places to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I went off alcohol for a few weeks and didn't drink again for over ten years. Going out sober and enjoying yourself is easily done, yeah you get people who can't understand why your not drinking or those who think if you stop drinking it must be because you have a problem with it.

However, just don't pay attention to idiots like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

I dont drink used to but havent in 2 years beacause i was pregnant and plus couldnt ne bothered really have a good time without, i went to a wedding last year didnt drink everyone thought i was taking something lol just had a hreat night, you dont need alcohol to enjoy ur night and i hate the way people try to pressurise you a go on one wont hurt f off its my choice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭aSligoDub

You can talk to your friends anytime. Why go to the boozer and not drink? thats like going to the cinema and keeping your eyes closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Pubs are places for drinking, if you don't drink it's really a pointless exercise to go to one.

It's like going to the cinema blindfolded and with earplugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I stopped drinking for ages a few years ago, no particular reason aside was on meds for a while so couldnt drink, came off them and liked the lack of hangovers and having moar monies so just stayed off it for a few months. Had some fun nights in pubs, but yeah, nightclubs are awful sober, your awareness is much higher of how many utter fcukwits are surrounding you, bumping into you, talking absolute waffle, acting the arse for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Atari Jaguar
    I admire people who don't have to drink to enjoy themselves, but I actually could not tolerate a nightclub with no sauce on me. Really grim prospect, I'd rather stay in than have to be around drunk people acting like drunk people for four hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

St.Spodo wrote: »
    I admire people who don't have to drink to enjoy themselves, but I actually could not tolerate a nightclub with no sauce on me. Really grim prospect, I'd rather stay in than have to be around drunk people acting like drunk people for four hours.

Yeah I've done it a few times, it gets boring after a while. Although I find clubs get boring after a few hours even when I'm drunk. You can only drink and dance so much. I enjoy myself more when I have a few drinks, as opposed to geting completely wasted. The problem is, most people can't stop after a few.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

At least when you are sober you always remember the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

mconigol wrote: »
    Pubs are places for drinking, if you don't drink it's really a pointless exercise to go to one.

Not when it's Ireland and the pub is one of the only places to go to be social. I've often gone to the pub and not had any drink and had a great time because of the company.
    But as another poster said, nightclubs are a different story altogether!

mconigol wrote: »

Not true at all. I would go to the local at the weekend with my friends for a few games of pool, cards and the laugh of spending time in their company and have done this the past half dozen years without the need for drink.

Atari Jaguar
    Not true at all. I would go to the local at the weekend with my friends for a few games of pool, cards and the laugh of spending time in their company and have done this the past half dozen years without the need for drink.

It depends on the place. A village pub on a tuesday night can have say 10 people and none are getting locked. But that pub on a friday night when everyones in full swing can be a different matter.
    I've gone into my local midweek and ordered a coffee. But on a friday or saturday night, everyone's locked and it's a completly different apmosphere.

It's one of the main reasons I'd like to see cafe-bars open. They provide an alternative where you don't have 200 people crammed into a space that holds 150 normally.

• Administrators Posts: 54,421 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

You can have a night out, drink, and not get drunk.

I like the taste of beer so I enjoy drinking it the same as I enjoy drinking Coca Cola. I don't view as a means to an end (i.e. just drinking it to get drunk).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

How do you find it? I usually need a few JD's before I am able to have a good time. Most of my friends are the same way. I haven't finished a night out sober since I was 15 maybe? Can anyone relate?

No, sorry, I can't.

I might have a pint on a night out, if I fancy it, but I rarely ever have more. I find on the rare occasions I go for a second one, I don't finish it.
    I like beer for that taste of it, but I find that I just like the taste of the second a whole lot less than the taste of the first, for some reason.

I used to drink a little more when I was in my twenties, 3 or 4 pints on a night out, but even back then I couldn't really stand the feeling of being drunk.

St.Spodo wrote: »

In all fairness, I've always detested nightclubs to begin with, so that never really was an issue. Never really saw the point of them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I tend not too drink, why bother spending loads of money only to be tired and sick the next day, it's like knowing eating a bit of chicken costing 40e will make you sick with food poisoning the next day and you eat it anyway.

I rather my money on hookers and coke :D;) :pac: you get more bang for your buck

Grayson wrote: »
    It depends on the place. A village pub on a tuesday night can have say 10 people and none are getting locked. But that pub on a friday night when everyones in full swing can be a different matter.
    I've gone into my local midweek and ordered a coffee. But on a friday or saturday night, everyone's locked and it's a completly different apmosphere.

It's one of the main reasons I'd like to see cafe-bars open. They provide an alternative where you don't have 200 people crammed into a space that holds 150 normally.
    I would not normally go near a pub on week nights myself and my local is a small enough old pub so it would not be like it's party central or a first stop on a night out for the young heads who just go out to get smashed drunk. That said at €4 for a pint of coca-cola i would nearly be better off drinking the hard stuff again. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

jubella wrote: »
    Not when it's Ireland and the pub is one of the only places to go to be social. I've often gone to the pub and not had any drink and had a great time because of the company.
    But as another poster said, nightclubs are a different story altogether!

It's not though. So many people have this attitude and it's ridiculous. My brother is a big movie fan and goes to the cinema about 4 times a month with another friend of his who is also a big movie fan. It's a great social thing for him, because he doesn't drink. If you want to find other social outlets do your research. I'm a member of several sports clubs, and also a meetup group for LGBT people. There is tons of stuff to do other than drink in Ireland.
    awec wrote: »

I like the taste of beer so I enjoy drinking it the same as I enjoy drinking Coca Cola. I don't view as a means to an end (i.e. just drinking it to get drunk).

We're a rare bunch awec :pac: Especially amongst the 20s crowd, people don't understand why you would possibly drink beer like you would Coca Cola. If I have a beer at lunch cue my mates going off on one "ah she's on the booze now, you're a mad one starting drinking at this hour". Umm no, I'm just going to have one beer. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Atari Jaguar
    wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I tend not too drink, why bother spending loads of money only to be tired and sick the next day, it's like knowing eating a bit of chicken costing 40e will make you sick with food poisoning the next day and you eat it anyway.

I rather my money on hookers and coke :D;) :pac: you get more bang for your buck

That bit of chicken won't enhance your night out, which alcohol does for most people. So that logic makes zero sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

awec wrote: »

There's a pub up the road from me that does great food, often went up there on an evening and had a pint with some grub, but I know people who'd see having just one or two pints as a waste of time. now I can understand paying for a cab into town and home again if you just have one drink, you'd be as well to drive and save yourself twenty quid , have done that myself but this you either go mad or dont drink anything thing I dont get. or just drink nicer beer, stuff that is actually worth drinking and isnt purely to get bladdered on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Atari Jaguar
    MrStuffins wrote: »

This exactly. Nothing is worse than being surrounded by your friends who have never seemed as idiotic, never talked as much sh!t, never been as ignorant before. And the worst thing is that you know if you had a few drinks in you, everything would be great.

Go to a cafe with a few friends and sit around talking - can be a great time. Get outside and do something active - great fun.

But for many people, the only thing to do with friends is head to the pub (or drink at home).

baz2009 wrote: »
    That bit of chicken won't enhance your night out, which alcohol does for most people. So that logic makes zero sense.

I see it as wasting money, drinking until you get sick and for what? So you can go to work or to your mates on Monday and say you spent your Sunday dying sick.

It's not though. So many people have this attitude and it's ridiculous. My brother is a big movie fan and goes to the cinema about 4 times a month with another friend of his who is also a big movie fan. It's a great social thing for him, because he doesn't drink. If you want to find other social outlets do your research. I'm a member of several sports clubs, and also a meetup group for LGBT people. There is tons of stuff to do other than drink in Ireland.

That's why I said ONE of the only places. It's all well and good when your friends share the same interests and hobbies as you, but I have friends who wouldn't be into the same movies as me, and wouldn't be interested in many of the same activities, but I still get on with them very well. So if I want to spend time with them the norm seems to be to go to the pub. That's just the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Atari Jaguar
    wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I see it as wasting money, drinking until you get sick and for what? So you can go to work or to your mates on Monday and say you spent your Sunday dying sick.

Who says you have to drink until you get sick? It's easily done to drink just enough so that's you're in great form, but not vomiting everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

I don't really drink anymore. I find an energy drink like Lucozade or Monster does the trick if you have to go to a nightclub. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Blue Ribbon Bunny

osarusan wrote: »
    This exactly. Nothing is worse than being surrounded by your friends who have never seemed as idiotic, never talked as much sh!t, never been as ignorant before. And the worst thing is that you know if you had a few drinks in you, everything would be great.

Go to a cafe with a few friends and sit around talking - can be a great time. Get outside and do something active - great fun.

But for many people, the only thing to do with friends is head to the pub (or drink at home).

Can you give an example of "talking ****"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Blue Ribbon Bunny

Some of the most interesting conversations I've head where had where all parties concerned were well lubricated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I don't really go on night outs anymore but when I used to, I would leave by 1am cuz by then everyone would be just too drunk to have any decent conversation and a good time.

Now I just like to drive around with my mates to nice places, have a nice dinner or play playstation at their place. Lot more fun than going to some messy nightclub full of drunk knackers or men acting like knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

jubella wrote: »
    That's why I said ONE of the only places. It's all well and good when your friends share the same interests and hobbies as you, but I have friends who wouldn't be into the same movies as me, and wouldn't be interested in many of the same activities, but I still get on with them very well. So if I want to spend time with them the norm seems to be to go to the pub. That's just the way it is.

Yeah, you said ONE of the ONLY social outlets in Ireland. But that ONLY list is very very long. The pub doesn't need to be anywhere in your list if you don't want it to be.

If your friends don't share the same interests than go out and make new ones. I had no LGBT friends whatsoever until I put myself out there and went to meetups, joined clubs etc. and now I have a good set of close friends who I can go to gay bars and other events with.

That doesn't mean you ignore your other friends, you can make new friends to go do the activities you enjoy while still hanging out with your old friends. Besides, I am sure your friends have more than one interest in the whole world (going to the pub). I'm sure you have some friends who like sport/exercise - why not go to the park for a bit of footie now that the weathers picking up? I'm sure you're friends like food (who doesn't? :pac:); meet up for lunch/dinner rather than drinks - if they can aford the pub they can afford a bite to eat. Music? Go to gigs. etc. etc.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Who says you have to drink until you get sick? It's easily done to drink just enough so that's you're in great form, but not vomiting everywhere.

And many can do that, but many others cannot. Nothing nicer than having a few, but so many can't stop or don't know their limit, or what really fascinates me, going out with the intention of getting shítfaced!!! It's their own choice, but I see it as a waster of time of money really.

Atari Jaguar
    I would not normally go near a pub on week nights myself and my local is a small enough old pub so it would not be like it's party central or a first stop on a night out for the young heads who just go out to get smashed drunk. That said at €4 for a pint of coca-cola i would nearly be better off drinking the hard stuff again. :)

There was a quiet bar in my town. It closed down two months ago because no-one went there :D

During the week i wouldn't have more than a pint or two. I can't function with a hangover. Well, that's not true. i can. It's just not worth the effort.

It is stupidly expensive for softdrinks. And I don't think they've lowered the price since the downturn. I know some bars have lowered the price of alcohol, but it's still the same for coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Atari Jaguar
    Some of the most interesting conversations I've head where had where all parties concerned were well lubricated.

Why you talking to yourself?

Atari Jaguar
    Yeah, you said ONE of the ONLY social outlets in Ireland. But that ONLY list is very very long. The pub doesn't need to be anywhere in your list if you don't want it to be.

If your friends don't share the same interests than go out and make new ones. I had no LGBT friends whatsoever until I put myself out there and went to meetups, joined clubs etc. and now I have a good set of close friends who I can go to gay bars and other events with.

That doesn't mean you ignore your other friends, you can make new friends to go do the activities you enjoy while still hanging out with your old friends. Besides, I am sure your friends have more than one interest in the whole world (going to the pub). I'm sure you have some friends who like sport/exercise - why not go to the park for a bit of footie now that the weathers picking up? I'm sure you're friends like food (who doesn't? :pac:); meet up for lunch/dinner rather than drinks - if they can aford the pub they can afford a bite to eat. Music? Go to gigs. etc. etc.

Did you just prove yourself wrong? ;)

Atari Jaguar
    Id be out in average twice a week and I'd have no interest at all in going out without drinking, sure isn't the drink one of the main reasons for going out. I have gone out sober a very odd time but haven't done it for years now, I'd rather stay at home or go to the cinema, watching everyone else having the craic while sitting there sober, no thanks.

I've got an honest question for everyone who would consider that they cannot have fun without alcohol : When you see people (Irish or possibly not) having a good time, lots of laughs and banter, without a drop of alcohol, does that not surprise you? How do you think they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Atari Jaguar
    I don't need alcohol to have a good time, but I don't like being surrounded by very drunk people when I'm sober. Its incredibly annoying. So if I know my friends are going out and its going to be a hard night on the sauce and everyone is going to be hammered but for whatever reason I can't drink, I'd probably stay at home. But if the plan is just to have a few quite ones then I'd go even if I can't drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Atari Jaguar
    I do go out the odd time sober. I'd never last a full night clubbing. Usually in at 9 and drive home by 1 at the latest. It's an annoying situation though because out of a group of 15 of us only 1 or 2 won't drink. You can have a good time but you know it would be better with a few beers.

I'm not a heavy drinker though anyways. Would never have more than 6 pints on a night out. I wouldn't drink vodka or whiskey these days. I enjoy a few beers without having a hangover the next day.

I'm perfectly happy with the friends I have though. Not that I don't like meeting new people, but I don't feel the need to actively seek them out right now.
    I wasn't complaining, merely stating that for me and my friends, it'a one of the only options suitable for us all to spend time together. It's local and convenient, and we have fun. It's not like we never do anything else, but the pub is the default option for a lot of people, me included.
    And back to the topic at hand - just because it's the default option doesn't mean we drink all the time. We just go to be social, a lot of the time there's always someone not drinking.

Atari Jaguar
    Shenshen wrote: »
    I've got an honest question for everyone who would consider that they cannot have fun without alcohol : When you see people (Irish or possibly not) having a good time, lots of laughs and banter, without a drop of alcohol, does that not surprise you? How do you think they do it?

I don't know how people can regularly go out and enjoy nights while sober, no matter how good the night was it would be better with drink imo.

As I said I'm usually out twice a week and I honestly couldn't see myself going out more than once in a blue moon if I couldn't drink.

Atari Jaguar
    Shenshen wrote: »

I don't think anyone said you can't. just that in certain social situations (like a city centre pub) you're better off drinking because otherwise it;'s a horrible experience.

Tell me, when you see people drinking do you look at them and think that they're incapable of having fun without it? Or do you think that it's a valid choice that they made and they are enjoying an oppertunity?

Think of it like sex. I enjoy it. But i don't need it to enjoy myself. It's just another way of having fun.