If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just 1 more trying to go sub 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

I went out for 5 miles there and headed back after 3. Felt desperate and dizzy after 20 mins running for some reason. The house is sick here but I feel okay again after a shower. Putting it down to a bad night at the office.

Still not feeling 100% but not too bad at the same time, I think it might be some form of pre-race mini-taper madness / nerves.
    I'm avoiding herself and the little fella like the plague at home, this running lark turns you into a right selfish p*ick! She's lying on the couch feeling all miserable and sorry for herself and my only worry is using a mug that she hasn't drank out of - despite the fact that it's been washed. I think I may be murdered before Sunday. Jesus what will I be like before Cork. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Sorry to hear you’re feeling a bit under the weather Beef, hopefully you will be ok by Sunday. Taper madness is the worst, I was like a lunatic before Dublin last year. The constant dreams about the marathon being the worst! Try not to worry too much about Wexford, even if you’re not 100%, it isn’t your goal race. I know it would be great to get a good result and would be a great confidence booster before Cork, but don’t beat yourself up if you’re not feeling tip top. Best of luck on Sunday, I’ll be wearing a Boards AC t-shirt, so come over and see hello if you see me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Beef wrote: »
    Jesus what will I be like before Cork. :)

If you haven't got access to a spare room I'd advise looking for alternative accommodation (not the dog house because he/she won't put up with you either:D:D:D) a tent ???

& don't forget your poor work colleagues,unless there runners, they'll probaly think your insane:eek::eek:

But it's all part of the fun of marathon running :D:D:D

& wait until your converted to P&D, then be prepared for total madness;);););)

It's looking like the tent tonight never mind come marathon taper time. :)
    Couple of lads in work are runners and 1 is doing the marathon too so hopefully I'm covered there! Oh God P&D will have to wait I think. Between 3 hours in the car every day along with 8 (at least) in work, a missus who already thinks I'm nuts and a hyperactive mildly autistic 4 year old I'm pushing it as it is to get through the training plan I have. Maybe I could get up a little bit earlier if P&D was to happen... :D

Know that feeling,used to have a 3hr commute & like you was never guaranteed to finish on time,cue text messages/phonecalls when will you be home,if only I had a crystal ball to predict traffic etc;-);-).

I have an austistic son too so know the extra demands it can place on a family, trying to make midweek appointments,doing courses etc.
    Sometimes I have to admit to being greedy in getting out for a run but for me running is a great way to clear the head & tackle any challenges/problems that are thrown at me but sometimes those that are not into running don't really understand the other benefits of it.

Yeah it can be tough going alright doc but like you running is a great release. Any problem doesn't seem quite so bad after an hour on the road. How old is your son?

Up all fecking night with said child and down to the doctor at 9 this morning. I better get some (a lot) sleep tonight! :)

You have my sympathies Beef with the lack of sleep,we know that feeling here only too well,especially when they can't tell you whats wrong & your trying to second guess the symptoms
    .My little man is 5 1/2 now,so I'm slighlty ahead of you(age wise anyways) but it doesn't make the work any easier but the rewards can be so much greater(that's not being disrespectful to any other parent or child but Beef or any parent to a child with special needs will know exactly where I'm coming from).

The only good thing(I try to take positives where possible) is trying to run when tired will stand to you for the marathon training,it's kinda what P&D does to you,have you tired & then run some more.... Easier said than done though.
    Speedy recovery to your little man & fingers crossed for a few hours sleep tonight

Thanks Doc - little man is much better and even gone to school today - he bounces back so quickly, I'd love to be like him!

Wexford half - 1:48:25 - 8:15mpm
    On to Wexford and I finally got the 1:50 time beaten and got my pb in Wexford. Early start, up at 6:30 and down for some porridge with my eyes still closed. I didn't sleep at all well with pre-race nerves which is a first for me - I normally wouldn't be nervous at all but tbh I was kind of buzzing from it and feeling good. We got to Wexford nice and early and parked near the finish but got soaked jogging up to the registration area and I was starting to worry about pb'ing on the day with such ****e weather. Luckily it cleared up just in time for the race. The first mile was a disaster - I started in the pen about 20 yards behind the 1:45 pacers and the amount of people I had to pass just to run at 1:50 pace was unreal - my first mile was 08:52 and I was seriously panicked! The next couple of miles didn't do much to calm my nerves either because it was a long drag and the hills seemed never ending. There was also a guy running right behind me and I mean REALLY right behind me - I was worried he was going to clip my ankles or put a saddle on me or something! I tried running around people, speeding up etc but he was sticking to me like glue and it took me about a mile to get rid of him. I'll have to wear different after shave for the next race I think :).
    The first water station almost saw me wiped out. A woman running (with her ipod) didn't know I was behind her and darted across the field to get a water bottle, meaning I had to make a serious swing to get out of her way and went over on my ankle. Luckily I didn't do any damage but that first water station was a disaster and not too many people knew it was coming up. Up into the castle which was a lovely scenic spot but it was very up and down and the gravel section was tough going. When I came out of the castle I felt I could finally open my legs up a bit and the downhills were very much welcome! Pretty uneventful race from here on in - the demons were in my head at about mile 10 but I told them to feck off and kept running under my target 8:22 pace. I latched onto a woman around here and tried not to push on too quickly so that I didn't blow up at such a late stage (like in my last half marathon where I did so spectacularly). After about a mile I went ahead of her and decided to push for home. Ran the last 2 miles in exactly the same time as each other (7:56) so I'm happy with how I paced myself. Overall I probably wouldn't go back to Wexford for this race as I didn't feel it was very good value for money. Tee shirt was fine - I have no interest in medals and the goody back was shocking. I know petits are sponsors but I'm not gonna do a weeks shopping in there to avail of the €5 off after a half marathon, maybe the locals will appreciate it... :) The soup and roll was grand but at smaller club events you get so much more at the finish line I feel, and for less money too. All in all a good day out and happy to finally go under 1:50. Onwards and upwards towards Cork!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Great confidence booster for Cork yesterday.....sub 4 looking good ;)

Congrats on a great PB Beef, sorry I didn’t get to meet you afterwards, I think you managed to meet some of the other guys. Sounds like you had a great race and paced it perfectly. I did LOL at the guy sticking to you like glue, that can be seriously off putting alright! Your thoughts mirror mine exactly about the race, it was ok but didn’t offer value for money and didn’t live up to the hype. Clonmel HM is a great race in August, it was only something like €25 last year, great goody bag, t-shirt, medal and post race feed and a nice course (I personally thought it easier than yesterdays) so that could be one to consider if you’re planning to do DCM.

By the way, I did an almost identical time in Clonmel last year and managed a 3:57 in Dublin, so I think you should have no fear about getting your sub 4 in Cork. All your hard work is really paying dividends!

You'll have no bother doing sub 4,I headed into the Waterford marathon last year with a PB for a HM of 1:51:52 & manged 3:48 in the marathon(& that was after going out waaaaaay tooooo fast for the first half).

Glad to hear the little man is on the mend:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Great run beef, sub 4 is on!
    Good to meet u :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Nice work Beef, especially at the finish! You're in good nick with 6 weeks to go, keep it up!

My quads were very sore still last night (from that 'flat' course :)) so I was half thinking of bailing on the run - especially with Champions League football on. Didn't get home from work until half 7 and was trying to find any excuse not to put the runners on and go. I think I was hiding my socks from myself at 1 stage.
    Anyway, finally found the will to go and had a lovely run out by the lake in Clonmel. T'was almost like being in a different country considering the weather we've had since Christmas. Nothing too hectic - 4 and a bit miles @ 08:50 pace and the legs feel way better this morning. Probably won't get out this evening as I have to drive to Kilkenny after work so it will be tomorrow morning and then my LSR on Saturday.
    Should I do 20 or 21???

Have you run 20 miles already Beef? Do you have another 20 mile run in the plan?

If it’s your first time running 20, then I would leave it at that for this weekend. There’s a big difference between even 18 miles and 20 miles, so I would get a 20 miler under your belt first. And also, you’re bound to be still a bit tired after Sunday, so I wouldn’t be adding any miles into the plan this week.

Then if you have another 20 miler planned in a couple of weeks, maybe add a mile on to that and do 21. I think it is a nice confidence boost to have over 20 miles done in training.

Thanks N. I did a 20.25 mile run (instead of the prescribed 19) on the Saturday before Wexford - so I'd like to do 21 this coming Saturday. Then next week I have a stag weekend on the Aran islands so running won't exactly be top of the agenda (although I do hope to get at least a 10 miler in - it's a step back week anyway).
    I have a couple of spare weeks as I started the plan early to allow for injury so I'm hoping to get at least 1 more 20 mile run in after this weekend before taper starts...

Hmm, being Ms Cautious, I would say a 20, followed by a HM the next week followed by a 21m the week after that sounds like a lot! You will have earned your stepback week! Maybe go out with 20 miles in mind this weekend and if you’re feeling strong you could push on for another mile. Then for your final 20 miler, you could do 21/22.

You really are flying for Cork, I only did one 20 miler before DCM, those three 20+ mile runs will really stand to you on June 3rd.

Okay so 20.5 ;) tomorrow it is then! This week wasn't hectic for me training wise - I did 1 run on Tuesday and another yesterday which means I skipped one 5 mile run on Wednesday. I had a good reason though, after coming home from Cork I had to drive to Kilkenny to visit my father after his hip replacement. He keeps telling my I'm headed for 1 next if I keep up this running lark... :)
    Yesterdays run was 7 instead of 5 so I only missed out on 3 miles really. Hope tomorrows run goes okay - I have to say I'm very tired today.

Also - according to my computer it's 5.4285714286 weeks to the marathon. I'm going to vomit.

20.1 miles instead of 21, I prob could have gone on another bit but I was so near home it was too tempting. Quads were sore during the latter part of the run and they were killing me last Monday after the race. Not too bad now though but I might go for a walk later or in the morning. Glad to have it out of the way now! :)

That's great going Beef, it's totally normal to be sore once you get to 20+ miles. I think even the fittest people start to get aches at that mileage. It's so hard to go on further when you're close to home, but I think you're flying to have two 20 miles done already. How long did it take you?

Thanks ncmc I'm glad to have 2 done already but a bit annoyed I didn't push on for the 21... Never happy! :)
    Did it in 3:18 so I was taking my time alright. Averaged at about 9:52 I think. Did the last mile at marathon pace or thereabouts.

When's your pmp run?

Good stuff Beef, you're flying. Doing my pmp run in the morning. Was going to do it this evening but kept pushing it out. I am being seriously lazy this week. Only 3 runs eek!

Day|Distance|Pace|Comments
    Tues|5miles|8:23|No ill effects from LSR
    Weds|7miles|8:28|Felt tired this morning doing this
    Thurs|5miles|9:XX|Gonna take this easy
    Sat|12 maybe||Stag weekend :eek:

So after the LSR on Saturday I did nothing since until Tuesday where I went for a lunchtime run with 2 lads from work. Started slow and finished with a 7:10 ish mile and then a quarter of a mile walk to cool down. Good to blow the LSR cobwebs away.
    This morning I was hoping to go out for 1 easy mile and then run the next 5.5 at HM pace before a 1/2 mile warm down. 1 easy mile became 2 and I only managed about 4 at HM pace after finding my rhythm to some degree. Not too upset over it, I think the long run might still be in the legs a bit and I have to say I feel tired now. I'll take tomorrows run easy and might have to take the gear on the stag wknd with me and get a run in before the drink starts flowing.

Anyone know any good routes on inis mór? :)

Day|Distance|Pace|Comments
    Tues|5miles|8:23|No ill effects from LSR
    Weds|7miles|8:28|Felt tired this morning doing this
    Thurs|5miles|9:XX|Gonna take this easy
    FRI|10||Stag weekend :eek:

I've decided to bring forward the 12 10 mile run from the weekend to tomorrow evening because in reality I probably won't be fit for walking, never mind running over on Craggy Island. This is the last blowout before a "Guinnessless" Taper so I can't wait for the weekend. Slight pain in my foot this morning so I'll be icing later and hoping it's not the Plantar returning in anger. There's been a dull feeling of it in my foot since it flared up a while back but not enough to cause any real concern. I find if I wear thinner socks (like on yesterdays run) it gets a bit more tender afterwards. There's fine margins in this running craic.

I think that's a wise idea Beef, with the best will in the world, it's tough to get out for a run when you're away for a weekend, especially with a bunch of lads. This way, you can go away on your stag guilt free and enjoy those pints of Guinness!

Hope your foot turns out to be nothing serious, it's annoying to get any niggle at this stage. The couple of days rest over the weekend should help.

So the Stag weekend was a major drinking session and I'm feeling as guilty as fook today... I did go for 4.5 very hungover miles on Sunday morning and I think I actually did more harm than good. :)
    Foot is still sore - so I'm gonna book a physio session for later in the week and get it properly rubbed out.
    All these DNF's from Limerick have me freaked out completely though, but 4 weeks to flush out all that Guinness (and fags :o) is surely enough.
    Think I'm going to constantly drink water between now and then...

So the Stag weekend was a major drinking session and I'm feeling as guilty as fook today... I did go for 4.5 very hungover miles on Sunday morning and I think I actually did more harm than good. :)
    Foot is still sore - so I'm gonna book a physio session for later in the week and get it properly rubbed out.
    All these DNF's from Limerick have me freaked out completely though, but 4 weeks to flush out all that Guinness (and fags :o) is surely enough.

Sounds like you were getting in some sneaky practice for the party after the marathon:D:D Although rumor has it only Murphys or Beamish will be availble :P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

If I were you Beef I'd change to Heiniken between now and the marathon as that Guinness is far more filling and will start repeating on you around 23 miles :)