If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just 1 more trying to go sub 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Sounds like you were getting in some sneaky practice for the party after the marathon Although rumor has it only Murphys or Beamish will be availble

Then I'm going home straight after the race - I'm not drinking that dirty Cork stuff! :p
    If I were you Beef I'd change to Heiniken between now and the marathon as that Guinness is far more filling and will start repeating on you around 23 miles

I take it back - I'll drink the dirty Cork stuff before that other filth passes my lips. ;)

My feckin foot is still niggling away at me. I have 5 miles tonight and 5 tomorrow then a 21 miler planned for Sunday - before taper kicks in. I need to get to physio next week or I fear it will blow up completely. I was icing all last night and didn't go running but I need to get moving tonight for sanity.

Did 10K at an average of 8mpm tonight and the feet feel okay. Still niggly but I'll struggle on till Monday. Nothing but rest tomorrow and I've rejigged my weekend schedule in order to do the 21 mile LSR on Saturday. If I can just get this last LSR over me I can begin to rest up the feet and get more physio sessions into the legs/feet during taper. First phsio session booked for Monday.

Splits were 8:17 | 7:56 | 7:42 | 7:19 | 8:01 | 8:32
    and the last bit was 8:39.

Felt good to have a bit of a proper run after last weekends carry on and my Betty Ford clinic sluggishness afterwards.

Last week
    Day|Distance|Pace|Comments
    Tues|5miles|8:23|No ill effects from LSR
    Weds|7miles|8:28|Felt tired this morning doing this
    Thurs|5miles|9:XX|Gonna take this easy
    Fri|10 miles|9:05|Stag weekend :eek:

This week
    Sun | 4.5 miles | 9:25 | probably still drunk
    Tues|5miles|9:00|Still shaky from stag weekend
    Weds|0miles|X:XX|Sore feet - iced up and did nothing
    Thurs|10KM|8:00|Weekend finally out of the system
    Sat|21 miles|9:XX|Last LSR! :)

I have another question for ye Marathon Veteran's... tomorrow is my last LSR ahead of Cork - how many miles of that should I do at PMP? And should I do them all together in a block or in between slower miles? Thanks!

21 X 10mpm Long Slow Run done and dusted. Taper me up!

Found this incredibly difficult at times especially around the 10 mile mark after a series of hills. It got as bad as the old "1 foot in front of the other" mantra to myself between miles 10-12 but once I got going again I wasn't too bad. Feet were cramping on and off so the acid test regarding the Plantar Fasciitis will be tomorrow morning when I step out of bed. Glad to have that over me - I can say to myself that that the hard work is done now. Even if I don't quite believe it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Well done on pushing through when the going got tough,it will stand to you.

Enjoy your taper madness & hopefully the dreaded PF will stay away.

Thanks Doc - I feel grand again now and the feet feel okay. Working all evening must have taken my mind off things.

Congrats on another pb last night too btw. You're going to have to save the P&D brigades' honour all by your lonesome it seems, what with poor Ste in the wars now too.

Gavlor will have a field day with ye... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good man beef sounds like you ran this well. Bit envious!

Ps don't be writing me off just yet ;)

Beef wrote: »
    Thanks Doc - I feel grand again now and the feet feel okay. Working all evening must have taken my mind off things.

Congrats on another pb last night too btw. You're going to have to save the P&D brigades' honour all by your lonesome it seems, what with poor Ste in the wars now too.

Gavlor will have a field day with ye... ;)

Aaaah, I has a plan,I was just checking the rules of Cork & I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere about bicycles acompanying us to give us a hand with special water etc;);) being illeagal, I was gonna ask gavlor (as he does like a bit of cycling) to tag along but afraid of what he might put into our drinks:D:D .

I'm just wondering who is gonna try & be the party animal afterwards & try & smash gavlors marathon 12 hour pub crawl?:p:p

Steroo wrote: »
    Good man beef sounds like you ran this well. Bit envious!

Ps don't be writing me off just yet ;)

Thats good to hear,nothing like a bit of positivity:)

I wouldn't dream of it! I've full faith in you to get right and rip it up in cork. I meant the 3:30 brigade really but I won't put that beyond ye either. Poor choice of words maybe. I need to start digging up the way... :)

An absolutely hectic few 13hr days with work (anyone in the IT game will know about software releases and supporting them afterwards) so I've been absolutely shattered the last few days. I also spent all day yesterday driving to the Mater and waiting around for the missus to get her annual cardiology MOT - so another day gone which means I've only managed 1 6mile run since the LSR on Saturday. I don't care what time I get home tonight - I'm going running. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

An absolutely hectic few 13hr days with work (anyone in the IT game will know about software releases and supporting them afterwards) so I've been absolutely shattered the last few days. I also spent all day yesterday driving to the Mater and waiting around for the missus to get her annual cardiology MOT - so another day gone which means I've only managed 1 6mile run since the LSR on Saturday. I don't care what time I get home tonight - I'm going running. :)
    That's exactly one more run than I've managed since my LSR on Monday! And I can't even use the excuse of hospital visits or work :o. Don't worry too much about a missed run, life gets in the way sometimes. At this stage, best to forget about it rather than trying to shoe horn miles in.

Managed to get out this evening straight after work. In the door, gear on, out the door. Did 3 laps of Powerstown Park race course. Going was good to firm ;)

4.2 miles at an avg of 8:30 mpm. I had promised I'd bring the young lad for a spin so I had to then dash back home and get showered/have dinner quickly. Tomorrow I'm doing a practice run of the last 12 miles of the Cork Marathon. No idea where I'm going but I've a guide in work to show me the way. Tis all starting to get very feckin real... :)

Managed to get out this evening straight after work. In the door, gear on, out the door. Did 3 laps of Powerstown Park race course. Going was good to firm ;)

4.2 miles at an avg of 8:30 mpm. I had promised I'd bring the young lad for a spin so I had to then dash back home and get showered/have dinner quickly. Tomorrow I'm doing a practice run of the last 12 miles of the Cork Marathon. No idea where I'm going but I've a guide in work to show me the way. Tis all starting to get very feckin real... :)

Well done on getting out Beef,while missing a few runs now isn't going to make too much of a difference to the overall scheme of things its still good to get out even just for a few miles just to put the head at ease(says he who doesn't stop thinking/planning on how to fit in a run around family life:o,think at this stage the OH is just sick of running,well marathon running/talk anyways:D)
    Enjoy the run tomorrow,it'll be so much easier with a guide on hand.

Still gonna fit in that run I missed on Sunday I think. Rest day either side of it so a good time to get it done. Then sit down and watch the football for the evening.
    Weather is looking good now in Cork for the run later. I won't know what to do if I'm not being battered by driving wind/hailstones. :)

Still gonna fit in that run I missed on Sunday I think. Rest day either side of it so a good time to get it done. Then sit down and watch the football for the evening.
    Weather is looking good now in Cork for the run later. I won't know what to do if I'm not being battered by driving wind/hailstones. :)
    That's a nice route you're doing too, if your guide follows it exactly, you'll be starting by the marina and then out to Turners Cross/Wilton/Bishopstown in the straight road (boring bit!) and then up by the Mardyke, through the park opposite there and along the Quays. If I had my gear with me, i'd be tagging along like an unwanted bad smell!

Well we're not going till 5 so you've plenty of time to get your gear!

Fraid not, my gear is in Kilworth, I'm in Cork and I work until 5:30 :( next time maybe!

Last week
    Tues|5.7miles|8:55|Uneventful
    Thurs|4.2miles|8:30|race course - lovely evening
    Fri|11miles|9:18|Latter stages of marathon course
    Sun|5.4 miles|8:41|Lovely morning for running

So we're heading into the final 2 weeks and I'm really getting giddy about the race now. Friday's run, around the last 11 miles of the course has me twice as jittery, the freshly painted mile markers on the road making things seem even more real. It was great though, to see what lies ahead and there are a few sneaky pulls and hills that I would have had no clue about. Plenty of downhills too to make up for them to be fair. I'm not looking forward to the step back in miles this week or next - I'll have to take up knitting or something.
    It's going to be a long 2 weeks in my house for the wife and child I think. :)
    Physio again today but just for a maintenance rub down. The lower milage has meant my feet are no longer sore and seem to be healing up nicely. Also - the lack of beer has me feeling in great form and as healthy as I've been for a long while. Although I probably did eat enough jellies yesterday to equate to the same number of calories as my usual Sunday pints.

This evening I did 4 miles up in the race course again, this time with the wife and child in tow. He had a great time running around the track, playing in the sand and generally having a laugh. I had a great time running around in circles and trundling down the big hill on the course - I'm a bigger child than him. Lovely evening for it but I need to stop coming home eating chocolate...

Tues|4 miles|8:04|Powerstown Park
    Weds|3 miles|x:xx|
    Thu|4 miles|x:xx|
    Sat|8 miles|x:xx|

Tues|4 miles|8:04|Powerstown Park
    Weds|3 miles|9:00|
    Thu|4 miles|8:47|
    Sat|8 miles|8:55|

So running (pace wise) this week has been a bit of a disaster - I did almost everything neither fast nor slow - all sort of hovering in or around race pace which I struggled to stray away from. I'm not sure what was going on but my head is demented with thoughts that I'll never be able to run the marathon at my goal pace. I gather this is quite normal for taper madness but I just hope this week goes quickly. I felt like a boiled shíte this morning when I woke up and there's a coldsore on the way so I may be a bit run down. It'll be vitamin c and water for the week and a diet of carbs/protein I think. I ended up working most of the day yesterday too - just to tread water as work has been so crazy this past few weeks. :mad:

In summary, is it the 3rd of June yet? ;)

Edit - may as well stick this up now as I've seen other people do it. I've been training for the marathon pretty much since I
    came back from honeymoon in January. I did 20 weeks instead of the 18 on HH2 - the extra 2
    weeks being a buffer to allow for any injury etc.

Activities: 72
    Distance: 489.63 mi
    Time: 70:08:02 h:m:s
    Avg Speed: 7.0 mph
    Avg Distance: 6.80 mi
    Avg Time: 58:27 h:m:s

What you're feeling is totally normal Beef, I hate to break it to you, but this week is going to drag for you and you can expect to be about as productive as a chocolate tea pot in work. You'll spend the week alternating between obsessively checking boards every five minutes to not wanting to go online at all cos it's making you too nervous! Ah happy times! Don't worry, we'll all be just as bad :)

4 more sleeps!

Felt better today after being at the doc yesterday and went for a 2 mile run tonight at PMP. Legs felt very good and the pace felt comfortable. Just need to do that run + another 24miles with it... Sounds so easy. :pac:
    It's the first time I've run that route in a long time and while I was half way round - I realised it was the first run I ever did to start off this running lark. I fell asleep that night absolutely shattered on the couch because I had let myself get terribly unfit. Amazing to think I'm shooting for my first marathon now. :)

Just back from physio, this week has been never ending!
    As I mentioned above did a short run thurs night and felt great. Woke up yesterday and felt tightness in my left calf/Achilles. Defo a bout of taper madness says I and off to work I went. It was niggling on and off all day but I stretched and iced it last night. Up this morning and no change so I text physio and managed to get in for 3pm. He wasn't too keen to go 'into' it so near the race but gave me a rub and said to call him in the morning. It's gonna be RICE for the night I think but I should be fine. Never rains but it pours! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good luck beef!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Steroo wrote: »
    Good luck beef!

+1 Best of luck Beef, you'll be grand. See you on the sub 4 bus. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Best of luck Beef, really try to enjoy it.

Thanks folks, got up this morning and the leg feels much better! I owe the physio several pints. Starting to really feel the buzz now - I can only imagine what I'll be like tomorrow morning! :)
    Having my dry run breakfast of porridge, toast and a banana. Haven't felt anything like this since the missus was in labour. :eek:
    Mixture of anxiety and nervousness - the only slight difference being that at the time she was the one with all the pain to go through... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Best of luck tomorrow :)

Thanks career_move! Signing off now till after the race cos I can't be dealing with the nervous excitement...
    If I'm coherent I'll stick something up on my phone after the race tomorrow.

Jesus, the excitement! :)