Ulster bank to start charging €4 per month for account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭FamousSeamus

I've an ulster bank account but I might make the 3,000 in the account mark but not the 3,000 lodged mark but say I've only 2,000 in the account, could I take out the max daily amount and then re lodge it back in (out at the ATM walk in to lodge it) would this count as reaching the lodgement criteria?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

I've an ulster bank account but I might make the 3,000 in the account mark but not the 3,000 lodged mark but say I've only 2,000 in the account, could I take out the max daily amount and then re lodge it back in (out at the ATM walk in to lodge it) would this count as reaching the lodgement criteria?

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

smash wrote: »
    AIB and BOI do this. I think it's 20c and 27c respectfully unless you have a min €3k in your account at all times. They add it up and hit you with a quarterly bill! Fcukers.

Even online transactions between your own accounts are considered too.

BOI is 28c.
    And indeed, every month my DD from my current account to my BOI savings account gets this 28c.
    It is basically every line you see on your (on line) statement is 28c.

Wish i could get my employer to pay me in cash and i would never use a bank again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Well I'm moving banks...prob is I don't know which bank would be best to move to :D

Very good Question Famous.

Whatever happened to the staple saving mechanism of Ordinary Irish Folk ....The Post Office Savings Bank ?

IF,and its a BIG if,our Government was actually concerned about getting Irish folk to be more financially prudent,then providing them with a basic FREE...yes...FREE Banking system would be a good start.

However,as we are now firmly in the grip of Boucher & Co,these shysters cry Jump !....and our Government produces a Ministerial Order establishing the legal minumum height.

If this is the best Ulster Bank can manage then perhaps they need to take their fleg's and head back home.

I would suggest that the Plain People of Ireland were somewhat more financially astute when young folks got their own Post Office Book with their communion money.....most managed to see the benefits attached to it.

Then suddenly,the Post Office had to become a Post BANK(;)),with diverse Financial PRODUCTS (;) ;)) to sell us all....that was that for commonsense......next up.....The Financial Adviser......(We really DO need a Facepalm Smiley !!)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭FamousSeamus

summerskin wrote: »
    Yep

Sweet, will complicated this is exactly what I'll be doing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Yeah, the check of them charging for thier services. I had to buy a coffee this morning, the bastards wouldnt give it to me for free.

inforfun wrote: »
    BOI is 28c.
    And indeed, every month my DD from my current account to my BOI savings account gets this 28c.
    It is basically every line you see on your (on line) statement is 28c.

Wish i could get my employer to pay me in cash and i would never use a bank again.

Excellent point inforfun.

In the boomtimes our Government managed to squirrel in leglislation emasculating the original Truck Acts,which guaranteed workers payment in cash.

In my own case,we were offered coloured beads and trinkets as well as a years Free Banking with AIB to surrender our Truck Act rights......:rolleyes:

To my discredit,and as a callow youth,I took the soup,but I have belated great respect for the few (By Now) oul fellah/s who did'nt,and who resolutely queue up each Thursday for their Wages in Cash....RESPECT,you lads...RESPECT !

At some point the Irish Banking Sector will have to be taught a lesson,as currently,following on from it's usurption of Irelands Civil Power,Irelands Banking Elite are once again smelling themselves and getting back to normal.......That should simply never be allowed.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Yeah, the check of them charging for thier services. I had to buy a coffee this morning, the bastards wouldnt give it to me for free.

They are charging me for Services I am forced to use.

Today,I wish to be paid in Cash,however I signed away this right,under blandishment,some 20 years ago and as a result became a tied-customer of this creepy institution known as the Irish Banking Sector.

The cheek of them indeed,charging me for storing my own money,as part of some tidy little deal with my employer.

Sure,at the time,it was put down to the Security Risk attached to Cash Transfers on Pay Day's,with the Republican Movement apparently out to reduce us all to poverty long before Sean Fitzpatrick ever swung a club,but now,Today...I want to exercise control over my own Wage Payment....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I blame the bondholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Tazz T

On the day that the government is allowing a 99.8% state owned bank (AIB) raise its mortgage variable rate ahead of a suspected decrease on the european rate by the central bank is another example of rip off Ireland.

I mostly use a UK bank account here as it's cheaper to use than a Irish account in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

lazygal wrote: »
    I blame the bondholders.

We burned them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Anything to be said for another Mass?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I think there banks charges are a scandal!...the banks encouraged us all to go cashless, everything on the card.....we did as asked, now....we are paying for it!

I use my debit card alot as i dislike carrying cash....each quarter i get a bill for €30 which is an outrage!....you try cut down, but its soo damn convient to use plastic.

We own the banks, we have suffered alot....its criminal they are adding these burdens to hard working people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

How anyone could be surprised by this is beyond me, they have been saying there will be fees for nearly a year and 4euro a month is hardly a huge amount.

On a different note I opened an Ulster Bank account last year to avoid AIB charges right before the whole IT mess up, only for my wages to disappear into thin air. They sorted it after a few weeks though and I got a letter from them last week to say they were reimbursing me 120euro for my troubles. Not too shabby as I didn't expect anything more than 20 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

AlekSmart wrote: »
    They are charging me for Services I am forced to use.

Today,I wish to be paid in Cash,however I signed away this right,under blandishment,some 20 years ago and as a result became a tied-customer of this creepy institution known as the Irish Banking Sector.

The cheek of them indeed,charging me for storing my own money,as part of some tidy little deal with my employer.

Sure,at the time,it was put down to the Security Risk attached to Cash Transfers on Pay Day's,with the Republican Movement apparently out to reduce us all to poverty long before Sean Fitzpatrick ever swung a club,but now,Today...I want to exercise control over my own Wage Payment....:confused:

Being paid in cash has/had a cost too, you just didn't notice it because you didn't have to pay it directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭bitburger

ive had an aib student account for as long as i can remember, 6 years out of school and nothing said to me :pac:

went to college this year at least

bitburger wrote: »
    ive had an aib student account for as long as i can remember, 6 years out of school and nothing said to me :pac:

went to college this year at least

I was the same for years but one day they just changed the title on my account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I have an empty account that I left open incase I ever need a ROI account again. Do I actually need to close the account or can I just tell them to feck off if they ever come asking for the €4?

Any thoughts on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

lkionm wrote: »
    Sure, no recession around here so, ye can pay the 4euro, make it a round 5 for the laugh. :D

Well I'm sure married people would, but would single people?

a single person would need to be on around 45k or above. There are actually a lot of single people on 45K+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Any thoughts on this?

You will be charged the 4 euro each month so will go overdrawn. Better to close the account.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

a single person would need to be on around 45k or above. There are actually a lot of single people on 45K+

You'd have to be on 53k to get 3026 a month. Assuming you dont pay into pension etc. Then you'd need to make more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

For every euro I lodge, they can lend out 90c from thin air, and they make interest on that and then they charge me up to 28c for giving them the money...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

AIB upping mortgaage rates by 0.4% now aswell.

Why wont Mr Kenny and Mr Gilmore step in and stop the banks from ripping people off?????

I mean they both talk lots and lots about how the banks need to act propperly,when they stand up in the Dail.

So why dont and wont they step in and stop the banks from ripping people off??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Xpro

Typical rip off country. Poor people will have to suffer again. And those with money dont have to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭7ofBrian

A bank is a business. The charge for a service. What the hell is wrong with that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

7ofBrian wrote: »
    A bank is a business. The charge for a service. What the hell is wrong with that???

What service do they provide??

Security of deposit holders?

Nope- they lost all the deposits and had to bailed out by the public purse.

Their "business" is taking your money and lending it out charging interest.

They should not be charging you to take your money too. And, if you are giving them substantial monies they won't because they need that business. They don't NEED the little people annoying them by having lives and making the bank use resources to process payments for all the little people.

It's a disgrace. Politicians are owned by business and business is owned by the banks.

Pathetic. I think we should all en mass take the hit for ONE transaction a month, a complete withdrawal and put your money in the credit union

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

In return for keeping our money somewhere we can get it all over the country and not living in fear someone will break in and look under our mattresses they get to use our money to give out loans and receive interest.

They are getting to use our money to make them money in return for their services, even then banks have to be one of the most awkward services to use with their opening times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

The problem is that we don't have a choice, it's use a bank or don't get paid. And that is unfair.
    __
    And what is it, with over 60's getting away with everything? ridic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭7ofBrian

Their service is providing somewhere for you to store your money. Somewhere to be paid into. Providing Loans, Mortgages etc. If you dont like it, cut a hole in your mattress and stuff it with your money. :rolleyes: