Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hairy heifers, zero-grazing :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

What kind of money are those type heifers making at the minute bob ? I have a few that i was going to keep for bulling but half thinking of not keeping them now at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Muckit wrote: »
    Great grass there Timmaay.

Is it just the picture or does the tank seem to be below the trough? would it flow better if the tank was reversed in from the top side? :)

Yeh, hasn't been grazed sense last Sept/Oct. In terms of the tank, maybe the bottom is afew inches under the top of the trough, not really a big problem, I just tip up the tank to get all but the last few litres out. Holds about 1000L, had to make 3 trips today with it. The cows did run dry in the early afternoon, as I was off the farm for afew hours. I don't send them over there at night, too far and I'd have to be up at 3am drawing water :P. I thought about using the slurry tanker, but would be a massive job to try get it clean enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yeh, hasn't been grazed sense last Sept/Oct. In terms of the tank, maybe the bottom is afew inches under the top of the trough, not really a big problem, I just tip up the tank to get all but the last few litres out. Holds about 1000L, had to make 3 trips today with it. The cows did run dry in the early afternoon, as I was off the farm for afew hours. I don't send them over there at night, too far and I'd have to be up at 3am drawing water :P. I thought about using the slurry tanker, but would be a massive job to try get it clean enough?

Don't mind them timmaay. They're like my ould lad, finding fault with everything.

moy83 wrote: »
    What kind of money are those type heifers making at the minute bob ? I have a few that i was going to keep for bulling but half thinking of not keeping them now at all

eleven hundred ish, average around the 500kg mark

Would that be a good price for both buyer and seller?

i would hope to sell for a bit more and buy for a bit less:D,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭red bull

Would have made more than that in Tuam Mart last week, was looking for a few,too dear up to1300

red bull wrote: »
    Would have made more than that in Tuam Mart last week, was looking for a few,too dear up to1300

How dare you contradict that man :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Has Spring sprung????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

delaval wrote: »
    Busy

Is that a blue cow in the middle of that photo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Tipp Man wrote: »

She used to be black and white but she was left out in the rain too long:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

well did you sell??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭Munster Magic

well did you sell??

Sorry, meant to say sale is this Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Has Spring sprung????

Great grass for them ....
    I wont see that green colour for another 3 weeks id say .
    Is the brown one a jersy ???

well did you sell??

Any idea why my post was taken down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

no idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Probably because advertising is against the fourm charter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Sorry, we can't allow advertising. If you want to pay for advertising, contact one of the admins

reilig wrote: »
    Sorry, we can't allow advertising. If you want to pay for advertising, contact one of the admins

Fair enough. Only one of the heifers were my own, just thought I would throw up a few pictures

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Yes we have about 6. They are not BB probably a throw back to Shorthorn. We always try to serve with aa white or red bull to get a blue. We had no blue born this year or last

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Great grass for them ....
    I wont see that green colour for another 3 weeks id say .
    Is the brown one a jersy ???
    Yes Jex we have about 60% xbred

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

For some of ye lads who live outside of the West. These odd shaped objects called stones have littered our land for centenaries and have to be arranged in organised piles (walls). Sometimes they fall.

Step 1: Horror

[IMG][/img]WP_000035_zpsfc9fd825.jpg

Step 2: Acceptance and clearout

[IMG][/img]WP_000036_zpsc702ea66.jpg

Step 3: Off to Pub.

WP_000058_zps8e38a2a3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

munkus wrote: »
    For some of ye lads who live outside of the West. These odd shaped objects called stones have littered our land for centenaries and have to be arranged in organised piles (walls). Sometimes they fall.

Good job...the wild goats are forever knocking the walls around here:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Nicely rebuilt, probably one of my least favourite jobs. Some of the stones in my walls, you'd wonder how people ever managed to move them. Big chunks of that blue granite (or whatever it is, it's bloody heavy).

often got step one and two completed and headed to the pub to comtemplate how much work will be involved in doing step 3.

nothing like stone walling to calm the mind. Back in the days of the onset of the BSE crisis 96 we as good as went to the wall (business wise and literally:D), having no money to stay on the road buying animals we worked around the land to fix things up. Must of built a mile of stone walls that still look great to this day. great satisfaction in the job

munkus wrote: »

Brilliant job. We don't have round here TG. I often wondered would the stone not be more valuable as a road way and use electric fence as a fence......,,,.,or have I asked a dumb question??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Brilliant job. We don't have round here TG. I often wondered would the stone not be more valuable as a road way and use electric fence as a fence......,,,.,or have I asked a dumb question??

Interesting question. That is a boundary wall on our farm that was built around 1840. I think the Landlord, Gregory in Coole, Gort, commissioned for much of this in the south Galway area. The original sections that are still standing have phenomenal stonework, it's like they cut the stone.

As to the question of roadways, there's so much of the stone around that over years of ploughing them up and reclaiming land you could pave most farms with it. Well built walls are probably a better barrier than a fence in any case. You'd also have to get it crushed to be suitable for roadways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

They're very handy as shelter for stock. Other than that, not handy in the slightest :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

The clearout stage is a great job . Im usually lazy and tell myself that it will be grand to start about a foot up on top and you know how that ends up . Start all over again starting properly this time