Garda Commisioner now admits he had penalty points wiped out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Pendu

washman3 wrote: »
    Very important indeed..:D actually so important that the Irish taxpayer pays him more the the USA pays their president Barack Obama.!! incredible.

He should be sacked, immediately. how can a guy like this propose to uphold the law.:mad:

Seriously ??

We'll never git rid a the gombeen culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

washman3 wrote: »
    Very important indeed..:D actually so important that the Irish taxpayer pays him more the the USA pays their president Barack Obama.!! incredible.........

US President Salary: $400,000. That's €306,536.80 at today's exchange rate.

Commissioner's Salary (as at 01/01/10) : €204,386.

Bit of a difference, still quite a nice wage though.

Of course that's not including the US President's $170,000 annual expense account, use of Air Force One, limo, round the clock security team, living rent free in the White House etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,648 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I see sky have a documentary about the emergency services around the world about doing heroic amazing recue's etc.. It shows the irish gardai with their debut on it, " He's doing 123kmhr!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I don't understand why people keep making threads about this

We know a lot of people had their penalty points erased, from average Joe to maybe senior politicians. The guards did it for their friends and not for money. They were disciplined. What do you want? criminal charges?

We know about it now and it won't happen again, that's the important bit. Let's just move on now?

In fairness, that's nothing compared to what some ejits do on Finglas Road

When were they disciplined? In fact apparently the Garda investigation into this corrupt practice which cost the taxpayer an estimated €8,000,000 has led to no action being taken against any guards except for the persecution of the whistleblowers.
    And yes criminal charges for perverting the course of justice would be a good start, then perhaps we could have some faith in your claim that it wont happen again.

We know a lot of people had their penalty points erased, from average Joe to maybe senior politicians. The guards did it for their friends and not for money. They were disciplined. What do you want? criminal charges?

We know about it now and it won't happen again, that's the important bit. Let's just move on now?

When were they disciplined? In fact apparently the Garda investigation ( thats right, they investigated themselves..lol) into this corrupt practice which cost the taxpayer an estimated €8,000,000 has led to no action being taken against any guards except for the persecution of the whistleblowers.
    And yes criminal charges for perverting the course of justice would be a good start, then perhaps we could have some faith in your claim that it wont happen again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Corkbah

So... are you trying to say that its ok for a Garda to break the law if they are doing it for their friends/family ?

if they have been disciplined the general public have not seen or heard any punishments - so if it has happened it must have been internal....if so, did they get punished for the crime or punished for getting caught ? (you can understand that the general publics perception is that nothing is done if they do not see/hear of someone being brought to task on the matter)

Did anyone loose their job over abusing the law ? I doubt it very much !!

as for your last comment about
    thats simply trying to claim its ok because someone else did something worse .... does that mean that this breach of the law by some members of the gardai is nothing compared to what others have done ? (I should mention the mcbrearties or frank short as examples)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I had penalty points wiped out too ............:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

i dont trust anyone who hasnt had penalty points wiped out.

S28382 wrote: »
    I had penalty points wiped out too ............:cool:

Not taking the bait.
    Ok , was it for a genuine and honest reason (work related, rushing a sick patient to hospital etc), or was it just like so many others in the force, because they see it as a perk of the job?

Not taking the bait.
    Ok , was it for a genuine and honest reason (work related, rushing a sick patient to hospital etc), or was it just like so many others in the force, because they see it as a perk of the job?

Well to be honest the reason was that i know a fella who is in a position to have them wiped out. I wasnt speeding or it wasnt for use of a mobile it was for driving alone as an L driver :eek:....i know shocking stuff i should be jailed for driving without a fully licensed driver....but hey that was a few years ago im now a proud holder of a pink piece of paper. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AlanG

However no one knows the importance of the commissioners meeting,

He has a Garda driver and official car so almost never drives himself to official meetings. He is not an operational Garda so does not respond to emergencies. Therefore he should have taken his punishment.

This attitude is very similar to the one that got the drunk garda waved through a checkpoint at Camden street some years back, after which he duly ploughed into the front of the bleeding horse an killed a young lady.

Your defence of him is moronic.

Well to be honest the reason was that i know a fella who is in a position to have them wiped out. I wasnt speeding or it wasnt for use of a mobile it was for driving alone as an L driver :eek:....i know shocking stuff i should be jailed for driving without a fully licensed driver....but hey that was a few years ago im now a proud holder of a pink piece of paper. :cool:
    you, sir, are evil.

driving alone. next youll be saying its ok to drive at night!

folan wrote: »
    you, sir, are evil.

driving alone. next youll be saying its ok to drive at night!

Sh*t sometimes i work nights am i actually not meant to drive to work :D i feel so dirty now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

I for one am very interested when those who "uphold the law" are just petty crooks when it comes right down to it. This guy should be fired, to prove, if nothing else that there is at some integrity left in this cesspool.

A little OTT don't you think, it's easy for everyone to say they would not do it but reality is different, majority of people would accept a favour in cancelling penalty points.

I don't see why people keep going on about penalty points anyway, it's not sch a big deal imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Can we just clear something up. It doesn't matter if Guards are responding to an emergency or going to a meeting. If they are ON DUTY, then they are exempt from the road traffic act (or most of it). No matter whether they are commisioner or garda.

(Maybe not relevant in this case, but people keep on asking the purpose of his journey)

Not taking the bait.

It is a perk of the job, same as lots of jobs, why are you surprised at this? It's human nature to get favours done.

Do you think nurses/doctors don't get favours done for their friends/family?

HondaSami wrote: »
    It is a perk of the job, same as lots of jobs, why are you surprised at this? It's human nature to get favours done.

Do you think nurses/doctors don't get favours done for their friends/family?

A friend of mine works in a hospital his missus had to visit a different hospital few times he could still ring up and have her put to the top of the waiting list for any appointment or whatever, tis the way of the world i suppose it might not be right but it sure does happen.

Like i said human nature, there are very few people who would not get penalty points cancelled if they could.
    It's not right but it's life, people need to move on and get over it. Some people who post here must be saints or they like us to believe they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Like i said human nature, there are very few people who would not get penalty points cancelled if they could.
    It's not right but it's life, people need to move on and get over it. Some people who post here must be saints or they like us to believe they are.
    This doesn't make any sense. You feel that its not right, yet you want no action taken against it. :confused:

Phoebas wrote: »
    This doesn't make any sense. You feel that its not right, yet you want no action taken against it. :confused:

What action should be taken? you think he should be sacked from his job?

It isn't anywhere near serious enough for a sacking, but some lesser form of discipline might be appropriate.

So why do you feel that we should just 'move on' from something you think is wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,604 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It isn't anywhere near serious enough for a sacking, but some lesser form of discipline might be appropriate.

So why do you feel that we should just 'move on' from something you think is wrong?

I said it's not right but it's life, we all get favours done. It's not a big deal imo.

That's what confused me. You think its not right, but your happy enough for it continue. Weird that.

I also think its not right but it will continue no matter what we say and do and im happy if it does as long as it benefits me coz im selfish and pointless :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

It is all right getting the nod and the wink when it involves the head honcho, but it was a different story when Ming pulled one.

in all honesty, when i get favours done, they're never illegal.

Commisioner used his place of authority to do himself a favour and wipe records of his breaking the law.

If the Commisioner doesn't respect the law, why should anyone trust him to protect us from those who don't. he should, at a very minimum, face a large fine, loose his position and be suspended indefinitely until he has been investigated independently to see if or what other abuses of his position have occurred.

of course, I know none of the above is posible, so instead ill make jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭shootermacg

The problem, as I see it, is nothing to do with a meeting or how important is is. The problem is that this guy would seem to have coerced a fellow force member into committing what I would see as a crime.
    If the core is rotten then that will always filter out to the ranks and file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Corkbah

A little OTT don't you think, it's easy for everyone to say they would not do it but reality is different, majority of people would accept a favour in cancelling penalty points.
    there's a difference between accepting a favour and having them removed due to your own position (I'm not saying this is what was done but I doubt someone offered a favour without ever being asked - I'd love if some co-worker offered to do me a favour and break the law for me)
    I don't see why people keep going on about penalty points anyway, it's not sch a big deal imo
    you dont think that the boss of law enforcers being linked to breaking the law and covering up the fact that the law was broken is such a big deal ??

Let me put it this way ....if penalty points were not given the person who has broken the law is still allowed to stay on the roads (assuming that a bad driver will rack up enough points to be forced off the road), if penalty points were wiped then the person who wiped them is potentially responsible for road deaths.

The point of penalty points is to remove habitual bad drivers from the roads, if penalty points are wiped or not given then a habitual bad driver will not be taken from the roads and increases the risk of someone dying in an accident (in its simplistic form), I understand that its only 2 points that this guy had wiped but what about other drivers who had points wiped, how many have had 12points wiped or transferred to another driver over a 2yr period ?

Pity you had to resort to lying.
    As you will see from the linked list of Penalty Point Offences published by the RSA that offence does NOT carry any points!
    http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Licensed-Drivers/Penalty-points/Types-of-offences/