Maggie Thatcher death discussion thread - Mod rules in first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭md23040

Happyman42 wrote: »
    How willing are you people to open your eyes? Three little words that her lovers will ignore... NORTH SEA OIL.

When she came to power North Sea tax revenues where 565 million, as they came on line they jumped to 2.3 Billion in one year, the year she came to power...rising to 12 billion in 1984. Yet she managed to impoverish the North of England and Scotland (where the oil was) by using that revenue to fund her get rich quick schemes and tax cuts.
    Compare simiar oil bonanzas in Norway, who used them to invest long term in the economy and now have a massive sovereign wealth fund to enrich all of it's citizens.
    It is no joke for Britain that revenues from North Sea Oil are now begining to fall.

So lets see - UK tax yield is about £500bn and North Sea Oil is responsible for the massive debt cut in GDP terms in your opinion?

Peak oil extraction was 6 million bpd and national debt spiked and peak gas extraction was 2001 and rose ever higher as a percentage of GDP (both under Labour).

Please you bandy figures around from Socialist Unity or whatever as if they mean something in the scale of the UK economy. Yes oil helped, but not as much as other variables between 1979 and 1991 - i.e. financial industry 30% tax revenue contributor, combine this along with a growing economy/wealth per capita and spending cut as a percentage of GDP over the ten year term contributed to the 50% cut in national debt.

You cite Sweden etc, and it is unfortunate this approach was taken though to the economy.
    K-9 wrote: »
    Oddly enough Ireland managed even better between 87 and about 02 under various Taoiseach and Finance Ministers, I doubt any of them will get eulogised like a North Korean Communist leader!

Yes this was very impressive in the late 1980's Irelands economy grew yoy at over 5% from admittedly a low base.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

So I believe the water canons were unleashed last night on several anti Margaret Thatcher parties in Belfast. 

That was quick.

How long was it before they were unleashed on the scumbags who tore up Belfast City Centre because their 'flegs' were removed from the city hall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ...................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

md23040 wrote: »
    So lets see - UK tax yield is about £500bn and North Sea Oil is responsible for the massive debt cut in GDP terms in your opinion?
    Please read and absorb what is being said and not just by me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

SamHall wrote: »
    So I believe the water canons were unleashed last night on several anti Margaret Thatcher parties in Belfast. 

That was quick.

How long was it before they were unleashed on the scumbags who tore up Belfast City Centre because their 'flegs' were removed from the city hall?

There has also been rioting every night in Londonderry since baroness Thatcher died, including trying to burn protestants out of their house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Please read and absorb what is being said and not just by me.

Lol, hi Pot, meet Mr Kettle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

gallag wrote: »
    There has also been rioting every night in Londonderry since baroness Thatcher died, including trying to burn protestants out of their house.

Where:confused:

You're talking about Derry I presume?

That is the official name of the city lest we forget. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

gallag wrote: »

Can you back that up with a link please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

SamHall wrote: »
    Where:confused:

You're talking about Derry I presume?

That is the official name of the city lest we forget. ;)

"The names of the city, county, and district of Derry or Londonderry in Northern Ireland are the subject of a naming dispute between Irish nationalists and unionists. Generally, although not always, nationalists favour using the name Derry, and unionists using Londonderry. Legally, the city and county are called "Londonderry", while the local government district is called "Derry".["

incorrect

Lol, hi Pot, meet Mr Kettle.

Says the sniper on the sidelines who can't bring himself to say what he really and obviously feels. Hats have got to doffed, mustn't be seen agreeing with the republican rabble. :rolleyes:

I'm looking forward to the next year or so, a quick glance at google using various Thatcher terms shows that tongues are starting to wag with freedom already. are the Rotschilds getting nervous about that, one wonders. Who was manipulating the Thatcher puppet one wonders? I shall buy in the popcorn safe in the knowledge that the truth will out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

[Not so, I know many of what you would perceive as Unionists and when in ordinary conversation (or even writing it down)will use the name 'Derry'! The only time L'Derry is used is to make a political point:)

Sorry couldn't get the quote thing to work - is my pc or Boards I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'm looking forward to the next year or so, a quick glance at google using various Thatcher terms shows that tongues are starting to wag with freedom already. are the Rotschilds getting nervous about that, one wonders. Who was manipulating the Thatcher puppet one wonders? I shall buy in the popcorn safe in the knowledge that the truth will out now.

Whats this bollocks now?

Says the sniper on the sidelines who can't bring himself to say what he really and obviously feels. Hats have got to doffed, mustn't be seen agreeing with the republican rabble. :rolleyes:

Ive said what I feel many times on this thread, the trouble is you dont actually read anything anyone says, you just keeping regurgitating the same sensationalist factless bull****.

It is coming across as obsessive.

Nodin wrote: »
    Whats this bollocks now?

The lizard people are leaving now their leader is dead.

Whats this bollocks now?

Just remembering how anxious Maggie was to supress/censor Peter Wright's book Spycathcher in which he claimed that Lord Rotschchild was Maggie's advisor. He aso claimed that he was responsible for secret service appointments and for getting the Director General of the BBC sacked, the last properly independent DG of that organisation. There has aso been consistent rumours that it was he that aid out the 'vision' for a Poll Tax.
    Fascinating connections between them all, but I wouldn't put much faith in the establishment press to investigate.

Ive said what I feel many times on this thread, the trouble is you dont actually read anything anyone says, you just keeping regurgitating the same sensationalist factless bull****.

It is coming across as obsessive.

the last man/woman to claim that is still missing from the thread since they where asked to point out what was 'factless'.
    Same question to you Fred, what is 'factless' about what I said about what the oil revenues where used for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Just remembering how anxious Maggie was to supress/censor Peter Wright's book Spycathcher in which he claimed that Lord Rotschchild was Maggie's advisor and had laid out the 'vision' behind the Poll Tax. He aso claimed that he was responsible for secret service appointments and for getting the Director General of the BBC sacked, the last properly independent DG of that organisation.
    Fascinating connections between them all, but I wouldn't put much faith in the establishment press to investigate.

Why would they? It's a matter of public record - he was a senior security advisor. The book was suppressed for other reasons.

Yes, and now both are dead we might see how cozy the relationship was without the spin.
    Since when do security advisors get to fire DG's of the BBC? I'm not a conspiracy theorist per se, but it is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Have we decided yet what crossroads we're going to bury Bertie at?
    It'll have to be somewhere near a mains electrical supply as traditionally these things have to be carried out at midnight.
    On second thoughts....burning torches might be more appropriate!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crossroads_(mythology)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

It'll have to be somewhere near a mains electrical supply as traditionally these things have to be carried out at midnight.

I wouldn't poison the soil with that cúnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Throw him in the Liffey .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

md23040 wrote: »
    There is no problem with the cost funeral IMO cost considering over the ten years of her premiership the level of national debt was cut by nearly 50% in GDP terms.

It's not just the cost of the funeral, it's the fact that having the taxpayer pick up the tab for her funeral was totally at odds with her own ideoligy.

It's a hypocritical as Ahern proclaiming himself to be a socialist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

Zebra3 wrote: »
    It's not just the cost of the funeral, it's the fact that having the taxpayer pick up the tab for her funeral was totally at odds with her own ideoligy.

Her family are paying for part of the cost of the funeral. The cost of policing the event is like the cost of policing the US presidents visit or the Popes visit or a big football match or the olympics - something the police are paid to do anyway. Much of the money the police get is recirculated in the economy.

What is noteworthy is that people who applauded Mrs T. yesterday outnumbered the protestors 50 to 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,687 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

true wrote: »
    The cost of policing the event is like the cost of policing the US presidents visit or the Popes visit or a big football match or the olympics - something the police are paid to do anyway. Much of the money the police get is recirculated in the economy.

Does this come from the money tree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Her family are paying for part of the cost of the funeral. The cost of policing the event is like the cost of policing the US presidents visit or the Popes visit or a big football match or the olympics - something the police are paid to do anyway. Much of the money the police get is recirculated in the economy.

What is noteworthy is that people who applauded Mrs T. yesterday outnumbered the protestors 50 to 1.

Fair play to you for qouting the point I made, and then totally ignoring it. :rolleyes:

And the bill for policing a big match in England costs nowhere near 10 million sterling.

You haven't a clue what you're on about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

Zebra3 wrote: »

And the bill for policing a big match in England costs nowhere near 10 million sterling.
    neither did the bill for her funeral :cool:

The bill for the Popes visit to the UK was more....and it ( the catholic church, with assets of hundreds of millions ) contributed not a penny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Rascasse wrote: »
    So you'd rather comment first without actually knowing what your talking about?

There's a few glaring error's in this post, such as;
    The way Scargill and some of the militant miners acted was appalling. Striking without ballot. Refusing to end the strike when it was clear that it was a lost cause, instead they kept going, driving their members into poverty as the union didn't have the money to pay them. Then there is the killing of David Wilkie and the two miners.
    Well there were talks and possibly an offer (that was allegedly rejected by the IRA)
    Let's also remember that internment was done away with a good few years before Thatcher became PM.
    They are just that, allegations. All of the independent inquiries have never found a state conspiracy to arm Loyalists. Instead all the findings show the army and RUC intelligence were acting on their own.
    This has been done to death. She did impose sanctions and she was one of the most important figures in bringing apartheid to an end.
    I know nothing about the US invading Nicaragua. Backed how? With troops?

Anyway, too busy to go through other posts.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/cameron-apologises-for-thatcher-apartheid-policies-413569.html

http://m.guardian.co.uk/world/2000/jan/09/cambodia

http://bristolnicaragua.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/remembering-those-who-died-as-a-result-of-the-thatcher-government-foreign-policy/

http://m.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/oct/15/uk-arms-northern-ireland-loyalist-massacre

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/columnists/article-259406/Dole-coal-cost-Thatchers-victory.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

apparently, and your point is? maybe people feel it disrespectful to protest at someones funeral even if they hated hthem? just because all the little tory rich boys and girls were out there cheering doesn't mean that many many people had nothing but contempt for her

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Those in the North devastated by her weren't going to travel to London just to stand on the street and abuse her. Those in Scotland, those in NI. Those in Englands industrial heartland.