If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,296 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

ivytwine wrote: »
    What a beautiful story :)

There's a lot of beliefs about robins, in that they are omens of death, and one visiting after a bereavement is the departed soul saying goodbye :)

We tell the kids they're Santa's spies keeping an eye on them! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

Where I live is notorious for break-ins, especially in recent times. One evening during the winter it was one of the rare occasions I ended up in the house alone. I was in the sitting room, the dog and cat in the room with me and I hear a noise at the back door.
    I know the sounds of my house like the back of my hand as I've been living in it my whole life and I am 100% is was the door handle being tried. All I could do was sit there stunned and dismiss it.

It was only when my parents came home and I told them about it that i actually got upset as the back door could have been left unlocked with the dog going in and out and that. I'm so thankful it was locked!

Only a while ago I heard a story about a man in the area who woke up in the night to something hot dripping on his chest. He opened his eyes and a masked man was holding a boiled kettle over him and demanding his car keys or he'd pour it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Only a while ago I heard a story about a man in the area who woke up in the night to something hot dripping on his chest. He opened his eyes and a masked man was holding a boiled kettle over him and demanding his car keys or he'd pour it.

I just want to confirm that this is a very real thing. Creeper burglaries, where someone breaks into your house with the intention of stealing your car keys, are on the rise.

My own mother's house was broken into a few years ago. When the cops arrived one of the first things they did was walk to the kettle and put their hand on it to see if it was warm, and it was.

What they do is: one person breaks in, starts the kettle boiling and lets their accomplices in. One will stand at the bottom of the stairs with the kettle to hand. Anyone coming down the stairs to investigate noises will get a kettleful of boiling water flung in their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Whatever_fools

My grandad died 4 weeks ago and on Sunday I went to the graveyard to visit his grave. My uncle is buried in the same grave and he died about 10 years ago so I had been to visit it a few times in the 10 years and had obviously been up only 4 weeks ago. Anyway, it was absolutely lashing and was really windy when I decided to go in. The graveyard is in the back arse of nowhere and is not somewhere I go past all that often so I said I'd go despite the weather. When I arrived I got out of my car and had to walk around for about 10 mins because I couldn't find the right grave. I was in the right place, I just couldn't see it. As I was walking around I couldn't help but notice all the childrens graves that I hadn't noticed before. Eventually I saw my grandads grave and it was pretty much exactly where i'd been looking so I spent a few mins and started to walk back towards the car. At the end of the row my grandad and uncle are buried in there is another childs grave and as I stopped to read the text on the gravestone I heard a terrifying scream that sent goose-pimples down my back. I quickly looked around and there was no-one else in the graveyard with me and there are no houses or anything nearby. I have never run so quickly back to the car and I won't be going up there myself again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I had a pretty horrible of experience of sleep paralysis. Posted it in another thread on here a while back:
    I had my first experience a few weeks ago, it was horrible.

I was sleeping in a hostel and fell asleep pretty quickly. I had a pretty vivid dream where me and my friends were walking around my hometown and we ended up in a fight with another gang of lads. It was so real, I could feel every punch. In the dream, someone knocked me down and I hit my head against the concrete and went into some sort of fit.

At this point, I woke up and really I was having some sort of fit but I couldn't say anything or actually move. I think the fit was just in my mind. Whatever it was, it got the attention of the other people in my room and two of them rushed over and grabbed hold of me, shaking me to snap me out of it but it didn't work. All the people in their beds had got up and were standing around looking at me, asking was I ok but I couldn't reply. I was really panicked and these people were shaking me for about thirty seconds or so.

Then, I remembered that I was the only person staying in my room, all the other beds were empty. I blinked and I was in the room alone, just lying in my bed. It was an absolutely horrible feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Tisserand

I just want to confirm that this is a very real thing. Creeper burglaries, where someone breaks into your house with the intention of stealing your car keys, are on the rise.

My own mother's house was broken into a few years ago. When the cops arrived one of the first things they did was walk to the kettle and put their hand on it to see if it was warm, and it was.

What they do is: one person breaks in, starts the kettle boiling and lets their accomplices in. One will stand at the bottom of the stairs with the kettle to hand. Anyone coming down the stairs to investigate noises will get a kettleful of boiling water flung in their face.

Don't mean to be facetious or anything, but should we be locking up our kettles at night before we go to bed! They'd probably boil the water in a saucepan on the hob though instead, or even in the microwave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Seems like a remarkably ineffective weapon to me. My kettle has no lid, so I'm not sure how you could use it to direct water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

RainyDay wrote: »
    Seems like a remarkably ineffective weapon to me. My kettle has no lid, so I'm not sure how you could use it to direct water.

Direct water? Sure, they're throwing the whole thing over the person (apparently).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

On the subject of robins, not long after my Dad died, my daughter told me a robin had hopped along walls beside her all the way down to school:)
    I've since been told by a psychic that he is always with her.

I was visiting a cousin a couple of weeks ago. She told me that one evening recently, her dog went nuts in her sitting room, growling at the sofa and eventually backing out of the room into the kitchen. Nobody could figure what was wrong, as the dog is normally very quiet. She went out and picked it up, and brought it back in. The dog started to dart backwards and forwards at a spot on the sofa, it's tail wagging.
    Not long after she met someone she knows who is known to be a bit psychic. She ran the story by him, and couldn't believe it when he straight away said that it was her uncle, ie my Dad, paying a visit. He showed her exactly what my Dad was doing to the dog, and I couldn't believe this, my cousin said he started doing jazz hands! My Dad used to drive the dog at home mad, waggling his hands in the air at it:D My cousin would not have known this herself.

For myself, other than having the feeling that I'm not alone at times, nothing really that mad has happened to me directly. I think though it's because I always talk to my Dad for example, in my head, and ask him not to scare me:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Tisserand wrote: »
    Don't mean to be facetious or anything, but should we be locking up our kettles at night before we go to bed! They'd probably boil the water in a saucepan on the hob though instead, or even in the microwave.

After the burglary at my folk's house I started hiding the kettle lead when locking up at night.

Most people's kettles do have lids though. And even in your case if someone flung your hot kettle at you it'd distract you enough for them to get away.

In this thread, is this what people are getting skeptical about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Most people's kettles do have lids though. And even in your case if someone flung your hot kettle at you it'd distract you enough for them to get away.
    It would indeed distract me. Just as throwing a toaster at me would distract me, or throwing a phone at me would distract me. Don't quite see the point of the boiling water.

In this thread, is this what people are getting skeptical about?
    Excellent point. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2013/0306/world/intruders-threw-boiling-water-at-man-224615.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

It's not really the same MO. They woke him up holding knives and a brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

A few weeks ago I was lying in bed and had an episode of sleep paralysis.

I felt numb and I couldn't move a muscle. But what really freaked me out was that I felt like I had some kind of out of body experience where I felt I was outside my house looking down from above and I saw a woman come out of a house across the street, cross the road, come into my house and upstairs to my room. Then she was sitting beside me on the bed holding my hand as though to comfort me. It wasn't a threatening presence but it was still very weird.

I was somewhere between sleep and waking and even though I knew on some level I was dreaming it still really unnerved me. I had serious heebie-jeebies the next day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Tisserand

I had a similar experience last night. I am not sure whether I was asleep or awake but I was paralysed in the bed, I could hear something out in the landing, then somebody coming in and pressing their fingers into my stomach through the duvet! My logical mind was telling me if somebody had broken in, the alarm would have gone off and the dog, sleeping on the end of my bed, would have barked but the experience was very real and very frightening and I am out of sorts today because of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

This just happened to me.

Was walkiing up through the town after being at the gym , when all the power in the town went out. The place was in complete darkness, that coupled with the severe wind and rain made for a very freaky experience. I legged it to the the chipper, rang the mother and had a awkward candlelit conversation with the Sri Lankan who owned the place. The town reminded me of the walking dead, so dark and quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Tisserand wrote: »
    I had a similar experience last night. I am not sure whether I was asleep or awake but I was paralysed in the bed, I could hear something out in the landing, then somebody coming in and pressing their fingers into my stomach through the duvet! My logical mind was telling me if somebody had broken in, the alarm would have gone off and the dog, sleeping on the end of my bed, would have barked but the experience was very real and very frightening and I am out of sorts today because of it!

I was so looking forward to sleeping tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Just reading all the sleep experiences, and it reminded me of something freaky that happened to me a good few years back.
    I was sleeping over at my parents house. I'd just drifted off to sleep, when it felt like I was being pulled up out of the bed to ceiling level, and I was spinning really, really quickly. It then felt like I'd slammed back down into the bed again. This happened about 3 times in total, and I was left absolutely terrified with my heart pounding. This happened 15yrs or more ago, and I've never experienced anything like it since.
    I've read explanations for similar experiences since. It's something to do with the dropping off to sleep process, I can't think of the name for it now. Not something I'd like to do again:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Kwal

i was living in spain a few years ago and had a few creepy experiences while living there. i used to live in an apartment with a few others including one man in his 60s who we wouldnt see from one day to the next as he would leave early in the morning and would return late at night. i was often woken up in the middle of the night to the sound of the tap running in the kitchen, this went on for a number of nights until i finally plucked the courage to go out and see who/what it was. anyway wasnt it the elderly man washing himself in the sink each night!! bearing in mind his room was beside the bathroom! our food would also go missing and so i presume it was this man. i soon moved out of that apartment into a beautiful one on the other side of the city. a couple of days after moving in didnt i spot the old man stumbling out of a pub and across the street to the kids playground outside my building. i would have often seen him either asleep on the benches there or just sitting and watching the kids...all i could think was thank god i was out of that old apartment away from that creep!
    i also had a creepy experience while in my new apartment too. my bedroom window overlooked a tiny courtyard where the lady who lived below kept some flower pots/hung her washing out. and so one day i was just out of the shower and had my towel around me and i walked past the window to my dresser, as i walked past i spotted the ladys husband staring up at me. i jumped out of sight away from the window then. a minute later i looked out to see if he had gone, and he had but then i saw that he was behind the curtain stil peeking up at me! ugh! what is it with creepy spanish men!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭GoldenLight

Dodge wrote: »
    My guess would be film crew

I guessing either a Gemma Hayes video, or an espisode of Supernatural.

I'm loving this thread, most of it I'm taking on face value, I just can't think of anything that has unnerved, me though as such yet, I have a few ideas of becoming unbalanced in life, but I'm not sure how to explain them, it's like someone walks in to town and asks why I do this, and I answer because I always have, and then they look at me as if I'm weird or strange, and I guess I must turn around to them and sort of state, well you are in my town now, so I'm guessing you are mistaken.

Oddly enough I don't see many people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭StevieNicksFan

When I was a young child I used to have the most bizzare dreams. The first one only lasted about 5 seconds but i'll never forget it. I'll try and explain this as best I can. So the dream started out and everything was black and then a man's face appeared out of the darkness. When he smiled he had no teeth, but elastic bands where his rows of teeth should be. He then laughed and the elastic bands vibrated like mad. It was so weird! I was only about 4 at the time.

The next one occurred around the same time. I used to love Bosco, but that suddenly changed after this dream. I dreamt that Bosco came out of the tv and started running around the house after me with a pair of scissors! When I woke up I was absolutely terrified. I didn't tell me mother until years later, as she always wondered why I hid behind the sofa when Bosco came on!

I would also have lucid dreams where I would dream that I had woken up. I would get out of bed in the dream and walk around as if I was getting up. About 5 seconds in, i would realise that I was still dreaming and actually say f sake i'm still asleep. I would then dream again that I was awake and this circle would continue until I woke up for real. Very annnoying!

My mother told me this freaky thing that happened her the other day and I immediately thought of this thread! So she loves walking and we live in the countryside with plenty of narrow country roads. She was out walking the other morning and she saw someone in the distance walking towards her. She didn't pass any remarks as it was a popular walking route.
    As the man came closer, she realised he was walking backwards!! Completely freaked her out and she didn't know whether to keep walking or turn back. As he passed her he said 'hello, lovely day isn't it?' and walked on!! There was obviously some reason behind it, maybe something to do with strengthening the muscles in the back of his legs but I can imagine how freaked I would be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

I've been following this thread since it started and I've been reluctant to share my story just because it sounds really stupid compared to some of the others but it has always unnerved me all the same so here goes....

When I was around 15, I was holding the ladder for my dad one night as he went up into the attic, so, was in the one spot holding it as he climbed it until something fell out of my pocket, the second after I moved, a glass came flying down from the attic and hit the spot where I'd just been standing. My dad had just opened the hatch and told me it looked like there were glasses on top of it and they'd toppled over when he opened it, one of them toppling out to break where I'd been standing.

I'm a very sceptical person and I don't believe in anything paranormal at all, but this is one thing that's always puzzled me. How were glasses placed on top of the hatch before it was closed without them falling over like they did when it was opened? Who would do that anyway?

The only logical explanation is that my dad threw a glass at me, but that's honestly not something he would ever do to anyone, let alone his teenage daughter, so I just can't explain what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Catkins407

Few years ago I woke up early and said to my partner that we were going to be pulled in by police today on a roundabout that we don't normally use. Then I said oh it's ok the pull the person in front of us instead. He looked at me like I had just molested his cat and suggested we get off to work . Which we did. Towards the end of my working day a few of us decided to head out for a drink straight after we finished . I rang my partner and he said he would meet me at the pub. We did and had a few drinks. I warned him he was driving and not to drink especially as we may be encountering police and he had his company car. He still thought I was weird but only had one then moved to water. So we head home by a route different to our usual one as we were at the pub and came to a roundabout and just and we came of it we ran into a police checkpoint. Just as I predicted they pulled in the guy in front if us and waved us on. My partner was even more freaked out than ever lol it's absolutely amazing I could foretell this incident but not that my partner would be a cheating bast@rd or even any lotto numbers or in fact anything useful at all lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

Just reading some of the stuff here reminded me of the other day. I usually leave my bedroom door a little ajar when I sleep, and the other morning I woke up and the door was fully closed and I was wondering to myself who closed it but forgot about it. That evening, I came home from college and my mam happened to ask me if I had closed her bedroom door during the night, which I hadn't. She was convinced she had seen me during the night coming over and closing the door, so of course I remembered my door had been closed when I woke up that morning and asked if it was her which it wasn't. I know it's only something really small but I got such an odd feeling when my mam started asking me about her door being closed (and I don't tend to be too believing of weird things happening).

My dad always has loads of these sorts of stories. One he often tells me was when he was young, him and his friends went up the mountains. They were walking along some road at night that had a huge wall to one side and a sheer drop on the other. She said some man walked towards them and said 'good evening' as he walked past. When they turned around he was gone - but there was no where for him to go with the wall on one side & drop on the other. A couple of years ago, he was in the pub and happened to bump into one of the guys he was friends with all those years ago - and the guy asked my dad if he remembered the night I just talked about - with the only difference being the other guy remembers it being a woman who walked past.

(As I was typing this my mam came home from the shop & when I heard the key in the door I nearly jumped out of my skin 'cause I've been reading all this stuff!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Pudders wrote: »
    About a week later, at 3 in the morning, we were woken the TV on full blare. I had assumed that there had been a power cut and the TV had switched itself on. Went down and again it wasn't plugged in. This time the girlfriend came with me as she was to afraid to stay upstairs on her own.

Something similar kept happening to me, I'd be in the house and all of a sudden the TV would turn itself on, the first few times this happened I was on my own and it kind of freaked me out - turned out our neighbours have a similar TV and when ever they turned theirs on, they would turn ours on at the same time (strangely enough, it doesn't turn off when they turn theirs off, nor can they change our channels or adjust the volume.

It's a pity most of my creepy experiences have a logical explaination.

One thing though did happen and I don't know if it was a coincidence or not, but when I was 13, my grandmother was in hospital, but expected to make a full recovery. I was in bed asleep and woke up all of a sudden with a very uneasy feeling, I couldn't figure out why, I tohought maybe I had had a bad dream that I couldn't remember, shortly afterwards my mother came home from the hospital and told me my grandmother had passed away at the exact same time I woke up.

drvr wrote: »
    And claims she saw the same "monster" while awake. Very creepy.

I thought not many unusual things have happened to me, but the more I read the more I'm remembering certain incidents

This happened about two years ago, it's not really scary or creepy, but I found it interesting

From the age of 1 until I was about 7 we lived in a little cottage in rural Ireland, for some reason I am fascinated with this house (maybe because my first memories are of living there) anyway, I was back home in Ireland for a holiday and dreamt I was back in the house going throgh all the presses because I was looking for a certain piece of jewellry (a necklace), the next morning, I took a spin with my husband past the house to show it to him. Later on that day, my sister arrived up from Roscommon and said she took a wee detour to the house on the way up to show it to her husband - just a coincidence I thought - fair enough, anyway I told her I had done the same thing that day, she told me she felt she had to drive past the house because she had had a dream about being in the house because she was trying to find a necklace!

I have no idea why we would be dreaming the same thing on the same night and if this necklace we were looking for even exisxts, but I found it strange to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

Apanachi wrote: »
    I thought not many unusual things have happened to me, but the more I read the more I'm remembering certain incidents

This happened about two years ago, it's not really scary or creepy, but I found it interesting

From the age of 1 until I was about 7 we lived in a little cottage in rural Ireland, for some reason I am fascinated with this house (maybe because my first memories are of living there) anyway, I was back home in Ireland for a holiday and dreamt I was back in the house going throgh all the presses because I was looking for a certain piece of jewellry (a necklace), the next morning, I took a spin with my husband past the house to show it to him. Later on that day, my sister arrived up from Roscommon and said she took a wee detour to the house on the way up to show it to her husband - just a coincidence I thought - fair enough, anyway I told her I had done the same thing that day, she told me she felt she had to drive past the house because she had had a dream about being in the house because she was trying to find a necklace!

I have no idea why we would be dreaming the same thing on the same night and if this necklace we were looking for even exisxts, but I found it strange to say the least

Woah, that's awesome! Did you find the necklace in the dream or do you have an idea of what it looked like even?

IceFjoem wrote: »
    Woah, that's awesome! Did you find the necklace in the dream or do you have an idea of what it looked like even?

No, I have no idea what the necklace looked like, I just knew I had to find it (unfortunately I never did and neither did my sister, it would have been interesting to know if we were looking for the same one and if it even exists in real life)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

Apanachi wrote: »
    No, I have no idea what the necklace looked like, I just knew I had to find it (unfortunately I never did and neither did my sister, it would have been interesting to know if we were looking for the same one and if it even exists in real life)

If there really is paranormal stuff going on that's definitely right up there, if it was me I'd be breaking into the old house when the family are out, I'd kill for some freaky personalised mystery like that! Based on nothing but prejudice from films and ghost stories, I think it's safe to say the necklace belongs to a deceased relative.

IceFjoem wrote: »
    If there really is paranormal stuff going on that's definitely right up there, if it was me I'd be breaking into the old house when the family are out, I'd kill for some freaky personalised mystery like that! Based on nothing but prejudice from films and ghost stories, I think it's safe to say the necklace belongs to a deceased relative.

Yeah, we came to the conclusion it must have been my mother's necklace, she had quite a few, but as to why we both had the same dream on the same night, it's just weird, the date we had the dream had no signifigant meaning that we know of, and why was it just the two of us that dreamt it?

I would love to get inside that house once again, but I don't know the family living there now, so I can hardly pop in for tea :(