Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Post a picture! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

My workplace is really creepy.

It's a new enough building but is built over the slaughter house that was behind an old livestock mart that was torn down a good few years ago.

All staff members have experienced at least one thing. The most common is knocking on doors from upstairs when everyone is downstairs, hearing banging around the shop, at closing time bags rustling, products that are on the shelf securely will fall off or will be pushed right back to the back of the shelf - this happens when the shop closed as I will face off a product before the shop is locked up and then during opening the product will be push right back or thrown off the shelf.

When we are closed sometimes a sound similar to a woman wearing heels walking around can be heard and a knocking noise can be heard.

The newest thing is hearing a co worker call a name but that coworker didn't call you or is not even in the same area. This happened to me, there were only 3 of us working my female coworker and my male manager. I heard as clear as day, my coworker saying "Jenny, come here a minute" while she's right behind me, we were both freaked out as the noise came from the back of the shop we were both at the front and the manager was on break. Another coworker was called while she was upstairs by a coworker who wasn't even working that day. It's as clear as day.

We are aloud to bring dogs to work, one of my coworkers dogs won't even go upstairs, my young lab won't go up but if he does he growls and barks and stares into a certain corner of the office and won't enter our storage room. My older lab also won't enter the storage room and will wail and cry if I go in. Both of my dogs also sometimes stare at a corner and will start growling defensively.

My freakiest experience in this shop was while I was on break and the rest were on the shop floor I heard a violent banging from upstairs, I went upstairs to investigate and I could hear footsteps that made a sound similar to if you had something very sticky at the sole of your shoe. There was nothing sticky under my shoes and when I stopped walking upstairs to hear the sound continued, a squelching sound from upstairs like someone with sticky shoes walking around. Needless to say I ran, and wouldn't go anywhere alone in the shop. None of my coworkers were upstairs at the time and cameras confirm it.

I refuse to stay in that shop alone, especially after closing, the feeling of being watched is unreal in that place, it's very unnerving.

Hope this isn't too long ... There's so much to say about this shop!

Seriously freaky - particularly about the dogs. Where is it?

I have a very friendly well adjusted dog & one day out if nowhere he went ape**** at a man who was walking by. No reason for it. Other man passed me & said - keep away from him; he's trouble. Creepy.

Same dog would never go near my allotment neighbour whose allotment is about 250 foot away from mine. he will sniff about everyone else's being nosey & friendly but never will go near his. Turns out I was told much later, he's a convicted child sex molester .

Dogs know.
    Listen to your dog!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 74 ✭✭Dejvice

Patchy~ wrote: »
    Post a picture! :D

Never tempt faith.
    Doesn't bother me if you believe me or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,395 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Dejvice wrote: »
    Never tempt faith.
    Doesn't bother me if you believe me or not.

Could you post one of the pictures you took on the morning before you left? Such an interesting story.

I've never had sleep paralysis before but I think I had it the other night.

I was asleep and woke up but didn't open my eyes. I could hear rustling around my head and then a noise like crows squawking that got louder and louder. Then I felt something like ropes around my body getting tighter and tighter so I couldn't breath or move my arms. I kept my eyes closed because after reading this thread I didn't want to see the Hag! I tried to move my leg to nudge my OH so that he might wake me and while I could feel myself trying to move I couldn't actually move anything.

Very frightening thing to experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Seriously freaky - particularly about the dogs. Where is it?

I have a very friendly well adjusted dog & one day out if nowhere he went ape**** at a man who was walking by. No reason for it. Other man passed me & said - keep away from him; he's trouble. Creepy.

Same dog would never go near my allotment neighbour whose allotment is about 250 foot away from mine. he will sniff about everyone else's being nosey & friendly but never will go near his. Turns out I was told much later, he's a convicted child sex molester .

Dogs know.
    Listen to your dog!!

Maxi Zoo in Maynooth.

Dogs do have this way about them, was out walking my younger lab at around midnight - couldnt sleep, so nothing better than a walk! This dog is a very people orientated dog, he loves people of all shapes, sizes and ages.

As we were walking there was this man walking ahead of us, kept twitching oddly, I was a bit worried but didn't think much, some people are a bit odd :P I started to hear the dog growling quietly, looked down and the he was transfixed on this man, wouldnt let him out of his sight.

This dog is normally a really bad puller, but that night he swapped sides so he was between me and that man and kept his body right beside me.

The man was walking really slow so we overtook him, as we did, dog didnt make a sound, just kept staring, as we went past him the dog walked a bit behind me still between me and the man.

as soon as we had made good distance, the dog started wagging his tail again and went back to pulling and sniffing everywhere happily.

I called my mam to get her to pick us up, didnt want to be out around someone who would cause such a reaction in that dog.

Apparently where I was walking is notorious for young girls to go missing, I'm so thankful I had Ollie (the dog) with me, hes a 40kg black lab, but hes a pet and such a little hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I was in 3rd year in school doing my Junior Cert and I had afterschool study until around 6 one evening. I lived in Glasnevin and the graveyard there was between my school and my house. I was on my own and decided to take the shortcut through the graveyard as I was feeling a bit ballsy that evening and had walked through during the daytime pretty often.

It was dark, kind of foggy and it was hard to see too far ahead of me. I walked swiftly through the graveyard as I obviously wanted to make my journey short. I reached a kind of cross roads in the path I was taking and in my peripheral vision I thought I saw a figure that wasn't a statue but looked like a statue lying down. I didn't want to wait around but I was always a curious kid and I knew that it would only wreck my head if I didn't know what it was. I stopped and looked over, it then dawned on me that it was a human body lying down on a grave. The hairs on my neck went cold and I got this horrible chill.

I had seen enough and decided to walk away but just as I was about to leave the body started moving and shifting over to it's side, we made eye contact and he got up and ran towards me about 50 metres away. I froze for about half a second and then sprinted as fast I could, he was still chasing me and then it hit me that the gate on my end might be closed at this time and it is too high to scale. I had to change my route to a gate I knew was closed but that I could jump over. I made it to the gate, we were like mice in a maze, I got over the gate and on the main road, I could his voice but I had crossed the road and jumped on a bus.

I still don't know who he was or why he chased me. Every since then I have always stayed fit and strong from gym and sports as I never know what type of situations I might be put into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭gossipgirl10

yikes getting quite freaked out reading this thread :)

have a couple of strange / unnerving stories that happened over the years that have come to mind after reading other stories

the house i grew up in our neighbours ran a business from a workshop behind their house so we would regularly get people calling to our door looking for this business and we would say no it's not here it's next door. when i was in secondary school i would be on my own in the house alot during school holidays etc and I remember one day the doorbell rang and I went out and answered it. I was just out of the shower in my dressing gown with towel on my head so in hindsight i don't know why I even went to the door like that but anyway there were two traveller men outside the door kind of looking around them. they seemed a bit surprised when the door opened as the house probably looked like it was empty no cars outside etc and then one of them asked me if i knew where "X" was. Now I live in a pretty small place in the country where "X" was the biggest thing in the area and everyone knew where it was and it had a huge sign in front of it with it's name which you could actually see from where they were standing... I started telling them it was right there pointing at the sign but could tell they weren't really listening they were like ok grand see ya walking away... was very odd i think they were probably sussing the place out to see was anyone there and when someone answered they were surprised and came up with a stupid excuse of looking for directions.

another time myself and my sister were really hungover and were watching tv in bed. we both must have fallen asleep with the curtains open in the room and when I woke up it was dark but there was a little boy looking in the window at us then I could hear other voices outside and I was so freaked out thought there was someone outside trying to break in. turned out my dad's friend was going to be doing some work around the house so he had brought up his colleague to look at what needed to be done and the colleagues little son was with them and being nosy looking in windows :D

when we were in our early teens my sister had a dream that the devil was chasing her and the fire alarm went off in the house that night out of the blue - total coincidence but kind of freaky!

we also had a woman come to our house when we were kids asking had we high walls at the back of our house... turns out she was a psychic or something and she was having visions of someones missing dog being locked up in a place with high walls which she though was behind our house :confused:

and finally...
    when myself and my sister were in primary school we used to be at home alone for about an hour or so before our older siblings got home from secondary school we were probably about 8 and 11 at the time. so anyway the bus drops us off outside our house and we see this crazy looking "bag lady" near our house so we were kinda scared and ran in quickly and locked the door behind us. We were afraid she would see us through the windows so we closed all the doors and huddled in the hallway but she came to the front door and was banging at the door and shouting at us through the letter box we were terrified... no idea what she wanted she eventually went away but it was really scary

sorry for the ridiculously long post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

This only happened 2 hours ago and isn't spooky, but it is creepy and I am inviting speculation as to what was happening.

My partner and I were sat here watching a film. We're not long moved in and we don't yet have blinds for the big bay window so we're pretty exposed and we can see everything that happens outside. We live on a main road, but on a smaller road that runs parallel to the main road, if you know what I mean. A car pulled very slowly onto our street and stopped in front of our house. My partner goes "What the f*ck is THAT?" - the car had a big camera on a pole attached to the roof and it was pointed at and filming (or photographing, but I think filming) our house. It moved off very slowly, stopping on front of each house for a few seconds. I went "Oh, it's just like the cars that make google streetview!" and he went "At midnight?!" I got up and stared back at it and my partner got the licence plate number.

I told him to call the cops, because something like that requires permission. Either they have permission and are doing something legitimate or they don't and we need to know what they were doing recording us.

He called the cops. They were very interested and equally suspicious. They sent a car out within a few minutes, so the other car was unlikely to have left the area by the time they got there. We had a licence plate number anyway.

We'll call tomorrow and ask what the police found out but feel free to speculate in the meantime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

This only happened 2 hours ago and isn't spooky, but it is creepy and I am inviting speculation as to what was happening.

My partner and I were sat here watching a film. We're not long moved in and we don't yet have blinds for the big bay window so we're pretty exposed and we can see everything that happens outside. We live on a main road, but on a smaller road that runs parallel to the main road, if you know what I mean. A car pulled very slowly onto our street and stopped in front of our house. My partner goes "What the f*ck is THAT?" - the car had a big camera on a pole attached to the roof and it was pointed at and filming (or photographing, but I think filming) our house. It moved off very slowly, stopping on front of each house for a few seconds. I went "Oh, it's just like the cars that make google streetview!" and he went "At midnight?!" I got up and stared back at it and my partner got the licence plate number.

I told him to call the cops, because something like that requires permission. Either they have permission and are doing something legitimate or they don't and we need to know what they were doing recording us.

He called the cops. They were very interested and equally suspicious. They sent a car out within a few minutes, so the other car was unlikely to have left the area by the time they got there. We had a licence plate number anyway.

We'll call tomorrow and ask what the police found out but feel free to speculate in the meantime!

If you find out, let us know what it was...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 steffifandler

COYVB wrote: »
    There are certain frequencies that, if heard for a prolonged enough period, will creep the absolute crap out of you and get your imagination running wild. They're often used in cheap scare horror movies. You can do fascinating things with essentially inaudible sound

Thats right - I think in the making of the exorcist they used squealing pigs and the sounds of angry bees....just to add to all the other madness - it mustve worked - coz Im still terrified of that pic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭illicit007

Let me know what happens!!! :D

There's no word yet but in case anyone is freaking out, this happened in the Netherlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭drvr

I had a nightmare and woke up jabbering saying "sorry, sorry", I was dreaming that there was a black monster with fangs leaning down into my face,my wife woke up because of the noise I made. And claims she saw the same "monster" while awake. Very creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,395 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

There's no word yet but in case anyone is freaking out, this happened in the Netherlands.
    I wonder was it a car with an infrared camera on top to detect heat. The cops use them on helicopters frequently in their attempted detection of cannabis factories.

The cops said it was nothing authorised by them, it was an unmarked car and I believe cannabis is grown in greenhouses here. At least, I see a lot of signs in the countryside that say "Field/Greenhouse for rent, NO WEED!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,569 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Nobody has ever died from a Ghost.

Nothing to worry about.:)

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭lovelyjubbly

Great thread! What happened me didn't really creep me out at the time but as I got older it did a bit. I can remember it as clear as if it happened yesterday. When I was about 4, I was wondering around Penneys trying to find my Mam. I was always getting lost as a kid- I'd just get distracted and wonder off.

Anyway this woman comes up to me and starts chatting, tells me that I'm very pretty and I remind her of her daughter and she tells me the daughter had died. She was upset and took my hand. She offered to buy the head band I was playing with and we walked to the tills and she paid. We started walking out as she had offered to help me find my Mam. We were nearly at the exit when Mam appears and asks what's happening.

I explained that the lady's daughter had died and she bought me headband and the lady was helping me, while the lady cried (she was still holding my hand). Mam has a semi freak out but tries not to loose the head (a scary thing to see!) and takes my hand away from the lady and asks her if she is ok, in an uncomfortable way, and then touches her arm and says she's sorry for her loss but I can't keep the headband and we have to go. The lady argues that she wants me to have it and I was pretty feckin pissed that Mam was giving it back. Mam says goodbye, drops what she was going to buy and marches us out of the shop. I got a very long lecture about wondering off. Mam tried to explain it to me but I didn't really understand how fecking weird it was until I was much older. I remember Mam getting particularly upset when Jamie Bulger died and she hugged me for a long time that day.

Mam brings it up every now and again, says it still gives her chills. There is a girl a bit younger than me in my hometown who is the living image of me and I often wonder if the lady had another daughter and if it's her. That or my Dad has some explaining to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

These stories are great, I was reluctant to write mine in case my friend reads it but sure why not. My story is kind of long but sure here goes.

About twelve or thirteen years ago, me and my two friends who were ten and I was twelve years old used to mess around on the grounds of an old hospital. It was fairly small and used mostly to deliver babies. Thinking back now it was crazy because of the information of patients on sheets and in cabinets that was still left there when it was closed up.There was still some beds and stuff you could see through windows to the rooms that were locked.

Anyway we used to dare each other to go further into the building whenever we went up there, when everybody went in together we all acted like big men but when you went in on your own for a dare you would sh1t yourself.
    We got one of the lads to go into the delivery room and bring something back out, he did it and came out with some floor tiles, of all things. The next lad went in and we could see him clearly through the door until when he turned around to come out, the door slammed shut.
    We just ran for the exit until we realized we couldn't just leave him so we turned around and heard him crying and calling us, we pushed the door open, went in and he was black and blue with marks on him. We thought he fell or something and he wouldn't say what happened him. Brought him home and he told his Dad he got in a fight and we just kind of forgot about it until years later.

The lad who got hurt, His mother died after he was born in that hospital, he found out from a cousin. He never knew how she died but he knew it happened around when he was born. Now it gets freaky. It turns out his mother used to get drunk and beat the sh1t out of his older brothers when they where younger before he was born and the other mothers on the street used to hate her as she would hurt the brothers fairly bad and didn't like their kids going near her.

So roll on when we are all about sixteen and seventeen and drinking out in the fields trying to impress our lady friends with our alcohol based antics. We were drinking at the back of the hospital and the guy whose mother died gets fairly steamed up and is shouting abuse to his mother in the hospital. All the girls are laughing at him and egging him on. He said "why did you hit me when I met you", "I was only a child". Now me and my friend start piecing together what happened when the door slammed shut and he had marks all over him. He climbs under the fence and charges into the pitch black inside the hospital so we run after him leaving the girls but he's long gone inside.

We shout out his name but still no response, then we here him sobbing and call his name again. He just bursts into tears and is roaring from down the corridor, in the delivery room. We wade through the dark and reach the room, call his name again before going in and tell him to just cop on and come out because it's getting freaky, then the crying just stops. We have to go in so we open the door, get on the floor, everybody walk the Dinosaur.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 170 ✭✭Oh hai

I keep falling for the piss taking ones! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Oh hai wrote: »
    I keep falling for the piss taking ones! :(

I was reading it thinking best story yet, then huh? Bestard!!!!!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

These stories are great, I was reluctant to write mine in case my friend reads it but sure why not. My story is kind of long but sure here goes.

About twelve or thirteen years ago, me and my two friends who were ten and I was twelve years old used to mess around on the grounds of an old hospital. It was fairly small and used mostly to deliver babies. Thinking back now it was crazy because of the information of patients on sheets and in cabinets that was still left there when it was closed up.There was still some beds and stuff you could see through windows to the rooms that were locked.

Anyway we used to dare each other to go further into the building whenever we went up there, when everybody went in together we all acted like big men but when you went in on your own for a dare you would sh1t yourself.
    We got one of the lads to go into the delivery room and bring something back out, he did it and came out with some floor tiles, of all things. The next lad went in and we could see him clearly through the door until when he turned around to come out, the door slammed shut.
    We just ran for the exit until we realized we couldn't just leave him so we turned around and heard him crying and calling us, we pushed the door open, went in and he was black and blue with marks on him. We thought he fell or something and he wouldn't say what happened him. Brought him home and he told his Dad he got in a fight and we just kind of forgot about it until years later.

The lad who got hurt, His mother died after he was born in that hospital, he found out from a cousin. He never knew how she died but he knew it happened around when he was born. Now it gets freaky. It turns out his mother used to get drunk and beat the sh1t out of his older brothers when they where younger before he was born and the other mothers on the street used to hate her as she would hurt the brothers fairly bad and didn't like their kids going near her.

So roll on when we are all about sixteen and seventeen and drinking out in the fields trying to impress our lady friends with our alcohol based antics. We were drinking at the back of the hospital and the guy whose mother died gets fairly steamed up and is shouting abuse to his mother in the hospital. All the girls are laughing at him and egging him on. He said "why did you hit me when I met you", "I was only a child". Now me and my friend start piecing together what happened when the door slammed shut and he had marks all over him. He climbs under the fence and charges into the pitch black inside the hospital so we run after him leaving the girls but he's long gone inside.

We shout out his name but still no response, then we here him sobbing and call his name again. He just bursts into tears and is roaring from down the corridor, in the delivery room. We wade through the dark and reach the room, call his name again before going in and tell him to just cop on and come out because it's getting freaky, then the crying just stops. We have to go in so we open the door, get on the floor, everybody walk the Dinosaur.

Now that's just bold !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭seb65

A few weird things have happened to me and other members of my family.

My dad had a heart attack right before Christmas one year. He was in the ICU, but was expected the recover and was only 50. I had a dream that the doctors had pushed him to one side and were ignoring him. I was asking them why they weren't treating him and they showed me his grave had already been made, he would die on the third day. I said he was still alive and started screaming at them to help him. They kept repeating, he will die on the third day, there is nothing we can do.

The dream was so real, I anxiously waited for the next three days to pass, afraid he would die. He survived.

A week later he died....on the third of january.

My great-grandmother (GG) apparently had a sixth sense and as she lived out her golden years with my granny, there's lots of family stories. She always knew when her children or grand children were sick or had died, in the days before there was any method of sophisticated communication. One morning, before my GG had moved in with my gran, my gran got a phone call to tell her that my GG's brother had died during the night, around 2 am. My gran was to go down and tell her mother. As my gran was walking around the bend to her house, my GG was siting out on her step. She asked my gran who had died, my gran said, how did she know someone had died? My GG said her father had been trying to wake her up around 2 AM this morning and been pulling the covers off her. Of course, her father had been dead for decades at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Nobody has ever died from a Ghost.

Nothing to worry about.:)

Except for the old "HOLY GHOST" who, along with his infamous accomplices (The Father and The Son), has caused much murderous mayhem these pat 2 millennia :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

drvr wrote: »
    I had a nightmare and woke up jabbering saying "sorry, sorry", I was dreaming that there was a black monster with fangs leaning down into my face,my wife woke up because of the noise I made. And claims she saw the same "monster" while awake. Very creepy.

Have you considered the possibility that your wife is hatching a plot to murder you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭fyfe79

It's amazing the amount of people who came just within a hairs breath of being nabbed by a pedophile, rapist, serial killer. I'd have never thought so many kids out there had these narrow escapes. These are just the near misses. There must be thousands being abducted week.

You could be right actually. Here's my two cents:

Back when I was about 7, I remember walking home from school which at that time was probably a 3 mile walk. Normally I got a lift from my father but for whatever reason that I can't remember, I was walking that day, which was fine as it was quite warm. About halfway into it, on a long straight and dead quiet country road, a car passed me with two men inside and stopped about 30 yards up the road. The passenger, probably in his 20's, leaned out of the car and asked me where do I live and if I wanted a lift. I had stopped walking, sensing something odd and just said "no, I live around the corner" even though I didn't. They then stayed there for a few seconds and drove off. Only when out of sight did I continue walking.
    Of course, it's possible they saw me as a sitting duck and thought 'let's give this kid a lift home before some weirdo grabs him', and were just being good samaritans, but I'll never know.

The other story is from just a couple of years later. I was sent out of class for messing to the principle who was a Christian Brother in his 60's. He brought me inside and closed the door. Instead of the b0ll0cking I was expecting, he was nice as pie to me. Sat down directly opposite me, very close, and held my clasped hands tight in his hands. I don't remember much of what was said but I do remember him remarking on my sweaty hands and saying I shouldn't be so nervous. I got out of there in a flash as I felt very uneasy. I thought no more of it for years but then heard a while back that he had mollested 2 lads in my class around that time. Never found out if he was convicted or not, or what happened exactly, but certainly in hindsight his behaviour could be seen as "grooming".

It's strange, but even as a naive young child without any real outside world exposure, I could sense danger in both those cases and acted accordingly.
    But yeah, I never told my parents of these incidents as I thought what's the point really, so who knows how many kids have had near misses (or, at least, perceived near misses) and never divulged them to anybody? Scary, especially as I now have an 18 month old daughter, and everything in the real world just looks so menacing these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Have you considered the possibility that your wife is hatching a plot to murder you?

Very apt name StewartGriffin. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

A few years back when I still went underage drinking ( cringe ) myself and a friend were walking home, the topic of our conversation at this point was the church, I was going on a huge rant. there was absolutely nobody in sight the place was dead, we sat down to lay against a wall in a failry remote area as we continued our conversation.

Out of nowhere a black car goes absolutely flying past us, I mean at a ridiculous and unnecessary speed. We noticed as it flies past a book is thrown out the window. pages flying everywhere. I then joke to my friend "ah now id love if that was the bible haha".

We went over, and funnily enough "Holy Bible" was written on its black cover.
    This has not made me religious in any way, but to this day we are freaked out about it, my friend kept it. I can't explain it. a bit of a **** story, but a true one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭illicit007

I had two very close calls as a kid with dudes like that.

The parish priest where I was an alter boy at ended up going to jail for being a pedo (while I was still an alter boy there!) because two guys that used to be alter boys who were now in their twenties told on him for touching them up years ago. Looking back he was definitely grooming me, calling me his special one and ****... *shudders* So very close call I reckon.

Loads of sickos out there. I would never ever leave my kids alone with any other adult. Apart from me and my immediate family whom I trust with my life that is. Anyone, even Uncle Bill can be a pedo rapist.

The same exact thing happened to a friends father of mine. I used to sleep over at this house until there was a pretty close call one night and I stopped staying over after that because even at the young age, it gave me the heebie geebies enough. He'd been drinking and was acting kinda pedo'ish. I got the creeps from him that day and stopped staying over at his house. Looking back on it I was never sure if I was right about it or not. If I was just imagining it or if it was just him drunken behaviour or what. Then years later I find out this guys father has been in and out of jail now for several counts of pedo'ness that have come up throughout the years, from kids that have gotten old enough and bold enough to confess these things happened. So that's two close calls in my life!

When I was going to school as a kid too one of the priests who taught there used to hug a couple of the boys on a few occassions. We all joked about it and teased the kids that would get hugged by him. I always swore if he tried to hug me I'd yell at him. I reckon he was probably a pedo too.

Many more things happen to kids that aren't reported. Adults and kids go missing all the time that we don't hear about. Every time I hear about Madeline I think "yea that's sad but what about all the other poor parents and kids that aren't getting any publicity. What about all the countless other kids in the world that have gone missing, gimmie a break.

So Yeah... it happens a lot. I'd believe half these stories and take the other half as that, just stories. Whatever you do, if you have kids, don't let them out of your sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

It seems that this thread is split down the middle between "ghosty" stories and "almost abducted/abused" stories.

I've shared my ghosty one previously on here. It may or may not have happened.....as per the aim of this thread.

However, one thing did happen when I was younger which, in retrospect, is very creepy and I would NOT make-up or bluff about as it is a serious issue - though wasn't too serious for me.

I'll keep ot short.

Away on a cub/scout weekend away to a seaside place. Staying in a big, old hostel type place. I would have been 9-12 I guess. As well as the scout leader there were a few helpers. One old guy was the cook. Served up food for the 50+ boys staying.

Anyway - one of the days (Saturday I guess), the scout leader and a selection (they were selected, strangely) of kids go for a trip away somewhere (by boat I seem to recall).

While they're gone, I remember distinctly that it was "shower time". As you do as a kid, you figure - sure, "shower time" of course. If he says so. Under the cook's instruction and watchful gaze we all strip off and run into the showers for a quick shower (big, sports team style) and out again.

It was only years after I though this was strange....let's face it, our mothers wouldn't have sent us away dirty so there was no need for it!! Nothing else ever came of it and it doesn't bother me but I have little doubt this guy was getting his kicks watching us.:mad:

Ghost stories are one thing but this is the truth as I recall it.