If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Started off wet here but then sun came out so went and cut a few lawns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I think we're in for a bit of a soaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

whelan1 wrote: »
    just a few things the inspector wanted today,could help a few of ye out...
    labels on drugs
    make sure you have prescriptions to match these
    disenfection points
    rat bait points
    make sure you have the right withdrawal period in you drugs remedies
    sick bay
    knackery records

So, if you use no drugs, have cats, point out a field as a sick bay and print off your death record from Agfood, you tick all the boxes. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

So, if you use no drugs, have cats, point out a field as a sick bay and print off your death record from Agfood and tick all the boxes. :D
    he was saying another thing they are seeing is where farmers have no vet visits but just get animals put down rather than treating them, that is definitely not right i their book....reason for my inspection was calf deaths 2 years ago, when i showed him all i do with my calves , he told me he learnt alot:) asked me loads and said his brother has similar problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

going to a birthday party in the big shmoke and just got shat on by a scoury calf. It'll be out with the brillo pads in the shower!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

God you'd want to be makin shapes or it won't be worth your while headin out!!

going to a birthday party in the big shmoke and just got shat on by a scoury calf. It'll be out with the brillo pads in the shower!:o

use toothpaste to get rid of the smell. I was out for posh dinner on Wednesday night and earlier in the day got a douse of cattle slurry from the waist down and I had to work away in it for a few hours. good scrub and a shot of toothpaste and smell and dirt gone

he was saying another thing they are seeing is where farmers have no vet visits but just get animals put down rather than treating them

Cant see a problem with this, personally I prefer not to see an animal suffer especially if experience tells you, you on a road to nowhere. Allot of the time it makes economic sense, typical jobsworth not living in the real world

it makes sense in some cases, but from their point of view you should be treating the animal if it is sick....he said he went to a farm where apart from the tb test there had been no vet visits, yet there where a good few mortalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

use toothpaste to get rid of the smell. I was out for posh dinner on Wednesday night and earlier in the day got a douse of cattle slurry from the waist down and I had to work away in it for a few hours. good scrub and a shot of toothpaste and smell and dirt gone

were you not wearing trousers Bob:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

TUBBY wrote: »
    were you not wearing trousers Bob:-)

He rarely does :D

he said he went to a farm where apart from the tb test there had been no vet visits, yet there where a good few mortalities

That would be like here, last vet visit was when I was away and left a guy looking after the place. We treat enough animals to know what combinations of antibiotics are used while also heavily investing in vaccination programmes while liaising with our vets. Its a complete load of twaddle that a Dept rep should be taking issue with such practice, I couldnt financially cover the cost of bring the vet here every time an animal is sick

he's not saying everytime, sure most of us treat animals ourselves, i only get the vet in when i know its beyond me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Great day to go injecting and tailing lambs, soaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

s$$te day id say there is feck all growth again!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

kevthegaff wrote: »
    s$$te day id say there is feck all growth again!:mad:

Hey Kev check out the going out with a farmer thread :D

went to kids football, sun shining cows out, fecking baltic at pitch , just home now and have to go and let cows in before heading off with kids again... feck it back to baltic weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We spent day Picking stones. Some of the young lads with me wanted to stop after dinner as it was chucking down. I said to them that a KK team would never give up like that me not being originally from KK and my answer back was that they only need t play in the good weather of Sept. Cocky or what!!!!!

Was like a drowned rat coming home earlier on. Certainly a day to be looking out at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

delaval wrote: »
    We spent day Picking stones. Some of the young lads with me wanted to stop after dinner as it was chucking down. I said to them that a KK team would never give up like that me not being originally from KK and my answer back was that they only need t play in the good weather of Sept. Cocky or what!!!!!

Id say were in for a good hurling championship this year if the league is anything to go by, the difference between kk and the rest seems to be closing. Would love to see Galway winning it because I think the Clare lads need a few more years to get to their best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Id say were in for a good hurling championship this year if the league is anything to go by, the difference between kk and the rest seems to be closing. Would love to see Galway winning it because I think the Clare lads need a few more years to get to their best.

As an Outsider here nothing would give me greater pleasure Dublin being the exception!!

Was like a drowned rat coming home earlier on. Certainly a day to be looking out at it.
    think they where only teasing us with good weather for a day or two and then back to the same ****e

had a brilliant game today with my daughters team, they where in the qf of the cup, went down 1-0 in first 5 minutes, got a penalty for hand ball in last minute, scored... extra time and then penalties, won 3-2 on penalties ... brilliant, they are a great little team

think they where only teasing us with good weather for a day or two and then back to the same ****e

Yeah! Yesterday evening was lovely, a nice Westerly wind with no cold in it, was out in my jumper. All change today though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Last of fertiliser out on grazing ground.....rain started 20 mins later:).....all we need now is a 10 degree hike in temps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Bare minimum done here today. spent most of the afternoon feeling sorry for myself.
    I think its time to do what the old boys do and go home after 3 or 4 pints.

1chippy wrote: »
    Bare minimum done here today. spent most of the afternoon feeling sorry for myself.
    I think its time to do what the old boys do and go home after 3 or 4 pints.
    isnt it just crap, crap weather last year, even worse spring, you think things cant get any worse and they do.... cheers! you can only live in hope that things will get beeter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

isnt it just crap, crap weather last year, even worse spring, you think things cant get any worse and they do.... cheers! you can only live in hope that things will get beeter...
    aah its not that bad, weathers ****e but sure a change is coming. its the fact i''m getting older and cant find balancing act with how much im fit to drink without getting sick the following day.

ah you live and learn!!! was in bed at half 8 last night wrecked!!!!! no drink, will make up for it tonight, you know you are old when you go to bed before your kids:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Drink bottles. Better quality and less quantity.