Maggie Thatcher death discussion thread - Mod rules in first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Rascasse wrote: »
    London is well used to these types of events. Only last week there was a G8 Foreign Ministers meeting. As it's not a state funeral most of the representatives will be ambassadors and the like. Short of Hilary Clinton and Tony Blair most of the attendees won't be well known names.

I just looked up the costs for the Queens visit. RTE quote €20m and CNN $35m. Those are combined figures for Obama and the Queen. Thats a lot of cash but in the grand scheme of things I think it's acceptable. Normalising relations between UK and Ireland and showing the country off to two huge tourism markets is a good thing.
    Just for clarity are you saying the bill for the Queens visit was "value" but the
    British bill for next weeks funeral is excorbitant.
    Is this 2006 or something?
    Has the IMF not arrived here in recent years?
    Incidentally the Queens visit did nothing to normalise relations.
    If anything it polarised opinions and caused more division.
    But we're heading way off-topic here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Who cares what it costs. The Brits are paying. In Dubai they just spent 300k sterling on a Lamborghini police car. WHO CARES.

How much did we spend on Mary Harney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

brokenarms wrote: »
    Who cares what it costs.

Those suffering Neo-Thatcherism prehaps. It's an obscenity, no matter how you look at it. The Conservatives have to elevate this woman to sainthood somehow, even ordering Mrs Windsor to attend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Those suffering Neo-Thatcherism prehaps. It's an obscenity, no matter how you look at it. The Conservatives have to elevate this woman to sainthood somehow, even ordering Mrs Windsor to attend.

I must admit, your obsession is surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

And those suffering Neo-Thatcherism would have every right to express concern if they were so aggrieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

If it's costing the Brits 10 million to guard the Queen plus 2000 VIP's, can someone explain why it cost Irish taxpayers 35 million to guard just the Queen (on her own) in Dublin??
    For the Popes 3 day visit in 2011 it also cost the UK taxpayer £10 million which had many asking the question ,why didn't the richest organisation in the world pay for it at it's own expense ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

i have to admit i'm so sick of this woman, and all the attendant controversy.
    please just bury the old hag and let's move on.

i'm outta here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I must admit, your obsession is surprising.

I'd like to say your 'one dimensional ever present blanket defence of all the doings of the British government' was equally suprising. But it ain't, so I won't say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭starskey77

meet the olde girl once in in a hotel strangely attractive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Cameron may be shooting himself in the foot here with this Tory state funeral.

So true... I think there would be far less controversy if she had a quiet dignified burial attended by her family and friends, just like all the other deceased PMs (except Churchill)

Instead we have Cameron's attempt to re-write history and an expensive Tory dog and pony show.

I'd like to say your 'one dimensional ever present blanket defence of all the doings of the British government' was equally suprising. But it ain't, so I won't say it.

Lol, "if you aren't with me,you're against me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

So true... I think there would be far less controversy if she had a quiet dignified burial attended by her family and friends, just like all the other deceased PMs (except Churchill)

Instead we have Cameron's attempt to re-write history and an expensive Tory dog and pony show.

Agreed, although it's fun for us as the great unwashed to see the squirming over who and isn't invited, Buck Palace giving out about her getting military honours (the preserve of monarchy), peers who disliked her intensely claiming "other commitments", Rupert Murdoch not attending due to a "board meeting" rather than the risk of being egged and paint bombed etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Agreed, although it's fun for us as the great unwashed to see the squirming over who and isn't invited, Buck Palace giving out about her getting military honours (the preserve of monarchy), peers who disliked her intensely claiming "other commitments", Rupert Murdoch not attending due to a "board meeting" rather than the risk of being egged and paint bombed etc.

Sadly the whole event has the potential to descend into a farce. Hardly the way to lay the dead to rest. Certainly the organisers have made a dog's dinner of the funeral arrangements. Can't blame Mrs. T for that !:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Sadly the whole event has the potential to descend into a farce. Hardly the way to lay the dead to rest. Certainly the organisers have made a dog's dinner of the funeral arrangements. Can't blame Mrs. T for that !:)

No. A sordid triumvirate consisting of Blair, Brown and Cameron, presumably.

Indeed, poor decisions all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

I think I'm in the minority with regards to MT's death...

She did a lot of bad things in her time, but also some of what she did help Britain to recover economically and thus Ireland recover...

I also think its very sad the amount of people celebrating her death, especially people who weren't a live during her rein...The amount of Irish people celebrating without knowing what she did is even just more depressing...

Also her not getting a state funeral would have been a disgrace, she served her country as PM and its not like she was Hitler...

People need to get over themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is that the checklist for a state funeral now?

A) Former Prime Minister

B) Not Hitler (or equivalent)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

She did a lot of bad things in her time, but also some of what she did help Britain to recover economically and thus Ireland recover...

I also think its very sad the amount of people celebrating her death, especially people who weren't a live during her rein...The amount of Irish people celebrating without knowing what she did is even just more depressing...

Also her not getting a state funeral would have been a disgrace, she served her country as PM and its not like she was Hitler...

Here! Here! :)Totally agree with you Sir !:)

She's not getting a state funeral. It's a notch or two below, apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Nodin wrote: »
    She's not getting a state funeral. It's a notch or two below, apparently.

It's a semi-state which is really inefficient…

...somebody should take the axe to it and outsource the job.

I also think its very sad the amount of people celebrating her death, especially people who weren't a live during her rein...

Not that I'm personally celebrating her death, but I was alive and indeed suffering under her rule in the UK during her reign so I don't begrudge those that are. Were you?

You do know that UK PMs aren't automatically entitled to state funerals? No? Ah, ok then.

Not being Hitler is nothing to be proud of. I'm not Hitler, but I don't like to brag about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Whats the story with all the radio stations being attacked by Thatcher Lovers for daring to play the song "Ding Dong".

The song is in the charts and I thought radio stations are allowed to play chart music.

I mean I didnt see all the radio stations being blasted for playing "Lets get ready to Rumble" by Ant and Dec a few weeks back.

Isnt the Uk a democratic country that allows free speech,or is it now suddenly a dictatorship???

Bambi wrote: »
    Is that the checklist for a state funeral now?

A) Former Prime Minister

B) Not Hitler (or equivalent)

It's not actually a state funeral, it's one down from that, but I am a bit puzzled by it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Baroness Thatcher was an elderly lady, daughter, wife, mother & grandmother.

The tone of Pro IRA , Anti British feeling in this thread is disgusting.

It is completely disrespectful to dance on anyone's grave.

A little respect ,please.

Definitive No -!!!

Did she think of the lives she ruined with her meglomanical policies - I think not:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

Not that I'm personally celebrating her death, but I was alive and indeed suffering under her rule in the UK during her reign so I don't begrudge those that are. Were you?

Did you move from ireland to the UK? If so, if you were suffering did you stay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Yep,this song is in the music charts at the moment.

Glees "non political" Version...:D

And the original...:)

Hello again Gallag. I'm still waiting on your proof that the British army was called into Northern Ireland in 1968/9 in response to an IRA killing spree. Odd that you keep ducking that, was it perhaps untrue and if so could you please have the balls to admit you made it up?
    gallag wrote: »
    Did you move from ireland to the UK?

Yes.
    If so, if you were suffering did you stay?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

You do know that UK PMs aren't automatically entitled to state funerals? No? Ah, ok then.

Not being Hitler is nothing to be proud of. I'm not Hitler, but I don't like to brag about it.

I'm only 25 so my answer to your question is no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

paddy147 wrote: »
    Whats the story with all the radio stations being attacked by Thatcher Lovers for daring to play the song "Ding Dong".

The song is in the charts and I thought radio stations are allowed to play chart music.

Because it is in bad taste. Some will play it, some won't, and BBC will play a clip after a news item explaining the situation. Last year radio stations decided not to play some Kesha song with a lyric about dying young after the Sandy Hook shooting. Even though it wasn't directly connected it too was considered in bad taste and insensitive, so it's not a first.