Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Gav seen as you have so much spare time on your hands aswell, could you please do a similar 'analysis' :D for the respective Man utd and Liverpool threads - I can't really think of an equivilant rival for Chelsea, it seems everyone hates that club equally ;)

But he is right I know five or six Rangers fans who either won't post on here or have stopped and the rest of us are posting less and less. It has been implied in posts we are all faciest's,Orangemen,bigots etc that along with certain other things becaes very very boring

I should add the constant misnaming of our club is very poor form no need for it at all it is only done to have a chep dig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Your statistics might be a little bit misleading. You probably should add in the seperate threads for Celtic's Champions League games if you want to be more accurate with your analysis (games tend to attract more posts from fans on here), I don't remember any seperate thread for Rangers' equivalent in their Ramsdens Cup run so their big game posts would have gone into this thread.

They could and are welcome to discuss whatever match the please, if they so wish.

Hell if ye want to talk about ye can set up a Match thread for Rangers matches, it isnt limited to the fans that support the club.
    You could say the exact same thing about every single thread on here - or do Chelsea fans for example live under a rock??

What has happened to Rangers is the biggest scandal to hit Scottish football in its entire history and you expect people to not discuss it because it bores you? And then we have the ongoing fiasco of Charles Green who only opens he's mouth to change feet, we should ignore this also?

I'm confused as to what you think the idea or purpose of a discussion board is exactly?

I ddint say it bored me, what bores me is the constant sniping, bitching and nit picking of everything Rangers do, this thread is dominated by Celtic fans because of what happened with Rangers finances and dodgy dealings, again no problem with that, its all up for discussion but have you not noticed that some of the Rangers fans have stopped psoting because their just not interested in trying to defend the club?

From what I've seen nobody is defending the club, how could they after whats happened, but why come in and constantly bring up recurring problems that everyone is aware of?

IMO, its only acting the dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Can't see why the mod is so surprised (feigned or not:rolleyes:)- Celtic fans will always gloat when their ex-rivals are in a bit of trouble! I'm sure the same thing would happen if the boot was on the other foot.

Madam wrote: »
    Can't see why the mod is so surprised (feigned or not:rolleyes:)- Celtic fans will always gloat when their ex-rivals are in a bit of trouble! I'm sure the same thing would happen if the boot was on the other foot.

Gloating is one thing madam I can understand that but the sheer bitterness is another and the stupid name changing is pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

But he is right I know five or six Rangers fans who either won't post on here or have stopped and the rest of us are posting less and less. It has been implied in posts we are all faciest's,Orangemen,bigots etc that along with certain other things becaes very very boring

Well BBE I personally have never implied any such things nor has the vast majority of Celtic Fans, obviously there are always a small few - I could name a few similar Rangers fans FWIW - of course we are going to disagree from time to time, we are after all fans of two of the biggest rivals in world football, personally I think the very fact there is a Rngers thread here that isnt constantly littered with bannings and cautions is progression, I dont think it would have happened 20 years ago.

Gloating is one thing madam I can understand that but the sheer bitterness is another and the stupid name changing is pathetic

Childish and boring perhaps - pathetic?

Well BBE I personally have never implied any such things nor has the vast majority of Celtic Fans, obviously there are always a small few - I could name a few similar Rangers fans FWIW - of course we are going to disagree from time to time, we are after all fans of two of the biggest rivals in world football, personally I think the very fact there is a Rngers thread here that isnt constantly littered with bannings and cautions is progression, I dont think it would have happened 20 years ago.

There are far more Celtic fans at that nonsense than there are Gets fans why because there are mainly three Gets fans who post in here now as I say I have had pm,s off more than a few who won't post because of the abuse. As for this twenty years ago stuff I disagree I see far more hatred now in real life towards Rangers fans than I ever experienced

PauloMN wrote: »
    Considering all that has happened to Rangers/The Rangers in the past year, are you actually surprised at those stats though?

No not at all by the stats, its to be expected really, as been said its been a huge for Scottich football between the Celtic success and Rangers failure.

The stats I used was to pinpoint that less Rangers fans are posting, are they sick of posting, maybe, I dont know I cant speak for them as a group.
    Gav seen as you have so much spare time on your hands aswell, could you please do a similar 'analysis' :D for the respective Man utd and Liverpool threads - I can't really think of an equivilant rival for Chelsea, it seems everyone hates that club equally ;)

I could it would only take a few mins actually and its easy to do, any of ye can do it.

Everyone does hate Cheslea, its a by product of success, had we not won all thsoe trophies in the last decade nobody woul de bothered with us, does it bother me, not in the slighest.
    Deedsie wrote: »
    Nonsense, the entire soccer forum is littered with rival fans sticking the boot in other clubs in times of poor form, relegation, derby games, cup exists, financial woes... I rarely see mods coming in defending the club who are after taking a bit of a slagging.

The Celtic Rangers rivalry is far more complex and bitter than the English league rivalries. And if I was a Rangers fan I wouldn't want some mealy mouthed defence by a mod, "ah leave the rangers lads alone, it's bad enough for them" That's just condescending. They are sports fans, not school kids crying in the playground. If anything they have shown their love for their club by defending it to the hilt through all this mess.

You are basically giving out to soccer fans for taking interest in a soccer subject and discussing it on a thread created to disscuss such topics...

I'm not defending them or anyone really, the stats are really just a pointer of the less and less Rangers fans actually post here. I know of 1 fan who just got sick of it and rarely posts, doesnt want the hassle.

The interest yuou speak of for SOME fans is just to gloat and as you said put the boot in which to point is ok but just from the charter :
    Respect the thread subject, respect the supporters - You are posting on a thread where the majority of people who read the thread support the team or follow the league. If you post something inflammatory, you will be held accountable

Some posts have gone beyond this and some of you have been carded and banned ona few occasions for such incidents.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

I should add the constant misnaming of our club is very poor form no need for it at all it is only done to have a chep dig

In fairness BBE, if fans of your own club can't be arsed posting, that's their problem. So long as people are not breaking the rules, I don't see why people should have to refrain from posting in here, just because some of your fellow fans won't post in here.

I don't think I've ever seen a post in here that implies that you are all OO, bigots or whatever, and ironically that's a sweeping generalisation right there - the very thing you are giving out about. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong though.

There has been a lot of Mod actions in this thread, we normally try keep it as clean as possible so it doesnt effect everyone.

Sometimes one user can post a comment and a few will get dragged into it,from both sides.

It's something we'd rather avoid and we'd rather do clean ups then hand out cards, sometimes though its unavoidable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

If I'm honest I rarely post on here anymore, I've had a handful of posts in the last couple of months due to the ridiculous comments that come from the majority of Celtic fans.

If it was actually a discussion going on about things rather than the usual few suspects running their mouths about things they really know very little about but want to take the moral high ground with then more of the Rangers fans on here might take part.

Instead of a discussion we have a couple of posters basically insinuating we're all bigots, cheats etc etc. The final straw for me on this was the apparent blatant match fixing a involving Jimmy Calderwood being recommended for the Dunfermline job by David Murray in 1999, which led to the one of the greatest four year plans ever as it allowed Rangers to win the league in 2003! What a lot of pish and it's nonsense like that, that has stopped Rangers fans caring what goes on in here. When I first joined debate was quite good with the likes of Rory, Paulo but it's went downhill since then.

We all read the 'new club' posts, the posts saying we weren't anything to Celtic now, the posts saying you have no interest in Rangers now, well the last 8 months of posts suggest otherwise. It's that old word obsessed, your own team are on the verge of winning the league and you still can't stop talking about us, singing about us. I guess we should be flattered in a way, but really it's just boring and unnecessary.

I suppose I can see where BBE is coming from - it can get annoying and tedious when so many people jump on your team with such negativity all the time.

I'm surprised none of you have asked if I'm a Rangers fans given the links between Rangers and Chelsea. :pac:

Oh no !!!!! Save us from the OBSESSED:)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

GavRedKing wrote: »
    I'm surprised none of you have asked if I'm a Rangers fans given the links between Rangers and Chelsea. :pac:

We're just assuming you are. :p And a Linfield fan at that. ;)

In fairness BBE, if fans of your own club can't be arsed posting, that's their problem. So long as people are not breaking the rules, I don't see why people should have to refrain from posting in here, just because some of your fellow fans won't post in here.

Oh you are wrong Paul we have had more than one poster start that sort of stuff. As for Rangers fans not posting Paul its not that they can't be bothered its the fact that the same crap is recycled over and over. We all know what happened last year I have no wish to keep going over the same ground

Lol really ludicrous I and no offence Gav have no time for Chelsea mainly to do with your owner though. As for Linfield I wouldn't cross the street to watch them. Only one team I am interested in to be fair and that's Rangers. Really never got this love in clubs and there fans have with other clubs

But I look good in Blue. :mad: :pac: :p

No
    Everyone does hate Cheslea, its a by product of buying success, had we not bought won all thsoe trophies in the last decade nobody woul de bothered with us, does it bother me, not in the slighest.

FYP Gav ;)
    TheBuilder wrote: »
    It's that old word obsessed, your own team are on the verge of winning the league and you still can't stop talking about us, singing about us. I guess we should be flattered in a way, but really it's just boring and unnecessary.

You give out about Celtic fans rehashing the same old cliches and mocking The Rangers and then you come out with this pearler lol couldnt make it up tbh, is that you Mr Green??

Well I for one have kept a pretty low profile on this thread recently, I do read it more than I post in it, but I do take the points that are being made by the Rangers fans. There's been so much negative stuff happening with Rangers that it's hard to avoid this thread going the way it does from time to time I suppose. The thing is that different people have different lines when it comes to the distinction between banter and goading. I personally would like to think that any time I engage in ripping the pee on here that it is taken as banter, although I probably have stepped over the goading line from time to time also. Others are just out and out goading, I've seen it here, and I can understand how the Rangers fans would get pissed off at it.

To be honest, I don't think much will change on that front until Rangers are back in the SPL, that's the fact of the matter. While Celtic and Rangers are not playing each other, there's little other than the stuff coming out in the media to talk about wrt Rangers for Celtic fans. It's unfortunate (and I mean this in all seriousness) that the last couple of owners in particular of Rangers seem to be very egotistical and come out with stuff that is literally fodder for the posters on here to get stuck into. I've often bit my lip and decided against posting on here when I read some stuff in the newspapers, others don't - I'm not making a judgement call on that, just trying to state the facts of the matter.

As for idiots, there's plenty of them around here, not just on these threads, but everywhere, and the Celtic thread is no exception to that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

The statistics adjusted for all the seperate Celtic threads this season.

Jelle - 182 in the Celtic thread & 417 in the Rangers thread
    Broxi Bear Eire - 180 in the Celtic thread & 313 in the Rangers thread
    Eirebear - 140 in the Celtic thread & 221 in the Rangers thread
    The Builder - 73 in the Celtic thread & 116 in the Rangers thread

BhoscaCapall - 217 in the Rangers thread & 420 in the Celtic thread
    lubo_moravcik - 214 in the Rangers thread & 133 in the Celtic thread
    Dempsey - 154 in the Rangers thread & 429 in the Celtic thread
    Coillte_Bhoy - 124 in the Rangers thread & 153 in the Celtic thread

Seems relatively similar to me.

(Interesting fact: The top two posters in the Juve-Celtic thread when Celtic were knocked out of Europe were Rangers fans.)
    Looking at the stats, both Celtic and Rangers threads were started the same day last August and the Celtic thread has about 80 more posts.

This number increases to over 2,550 more posts relating to Celtic.

Lol really ludicrous I and no offence Gav have no time for Chelsea mainly to do with your owner though. As for Linfield I wouldn't cross the street to watch them. Only one team I am interested in to be fair and that's Rangers. Really never got this love in clubs and there fans have with other clubs

I presume you do know I was taking the pee there BBE! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

not discounting the fact that there are idiots on this forum (shock horror!!) i think its a bit obtuse to blame some rangers fans leaving here on celtic fans, especially considering what happened in the last 12 months

FYP Gav ;)

You have to buy to win, we're just in the lucky position to have an owner with more buying power then most.

Unfortunately football is a business now a days and the more moeny you have the better chance you have to win, goes for all the top teams really, they get more TV money, better sponsors, attract better players.

Is it good, no but its brillaint when one of the clubs is yours. :pac:

lubo_moravcik - 214 in the Rangers thread & 133 in the Celtic thread

...and that's only because Lubo asks his questions twice when the lads don't answer him lol. Half of Lubo's posts in here are "C'mon bears, what's the story?" :p

I presume you do know I was taking the pee there BBE! :)

Yeah mate I did. The "really ludicrous" wasn't aimed at you but at this whole blues brothers nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

You have to buy to win, we're just in the lucky position to have an owner with more buying power then most.

Unfortunately football is a business now a days and the more moeny you have the better chance you have to win, goes for all the top teams really, they get more TV money, better sponsors, attract better players.

not sure if it suits this thread or not but i dislike the fact that a billionaire can come in and in a year time a team can have a title and be playing champions league football. i'd prefer a team with several home grown players etc. not trying to belittle your success or anything just an opinion

We qualifed for the UCL the summer before Romans money and finished 2nd in his first season as owner and we didnt win a blip.

Just saying. :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

If Rangers didnt exist, where would the Celtic fans post?

Looking at the stats, both Celtic and Rangers threads were started the same day last August and the Celtic thread has about 80 more posts.

Dig a little deeper, the prominent Ranagers fans who've posted in the Celtic Thread :

Jelle - 87 in the Celtic thread & 417 in the Rangers thread
    Broxi Bear Eire - 140 in the Celtic thread & 313 in the Rangers thread
    Eirebear - 78 in the Celtic thread & 221 in the Rangers thread
    The Builder - 51 in the Celtic thread & 116 in the Rangers thread

Now, look at the Celtic fans who've posted in the Rangers thread :

BhoscaCapall - 217 in the Rangers thread & 313 in the Celtic thread
    lubo_moravcik - 214 in the Rangers thread & 123 in the Celtic thread
    Dempsey - 154 in the Rangers thread & 316 in the Celtic thread
    Coillte_Bhoy - 124 in the Rangers thread & 89 in the Celtic thread

Not using any Mod trickery, ye can all see who posted and in what amount if ye click on the number of total posts next to any thread.

Rangers must be the most talked about Division 3 team on the planet, well from a rival fan perspective. :pac:
    Just like to remind them and their ongoing comedy show of their place in the world

I appreciate that Gav, and as a Gooner aswell ( I know shock horror two football teams :eek: Im like Robbie Keane) its probably just jealousy, but I do believe the money invested by Roman is a major factor in rival fans dislike for Chelsea, I actually feel sorry for genuine Chelsea fans who were there pre Abrahimovic as they all get tarred with the one brush.