Homeowner cautioned after theft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I hope this homeowner pays his property tax for the pleasure of sitting up at night watching scumbags steal his highly taxed home heating oil, then getting a warning for trying to apprehend one
    It's the patriotic thing to do..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

Jarrod wrote: »
    The article reads like it was written by a 6 year old.

'They sped off giving the poor pony a number of belts of a stick as they pulled away.'

That's about the standard level of local journalism in Kilkenny i'm afraid. Just be thankful there wasn't an amusing anecdote about a dog drinking a pint of Guinness thrown in as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

listermint wrote: »
    Sounds like he caught him and there was beating in two directions. Just one came off the better.

Law on the criminals side ?

Which one, seems like they are both criminals according to the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

''He made an official complaint about the householder to the gardai who has never been in any kind of trouble in his life.''

''They sped off giving the poor pony a number of belts of a stick as they pulled away.''

Was this article written by a six-year old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Should have killed the scum-dead man cant tell any tales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

vitani wrote: »
    While I'm on the homeowner's side in this one, the article is horribly written. 8 mentions of 'Traveller' and one of 'Travelling Community' in a short piece, compared to constant 'homeowner' and 'householder'.

dead right, call them what they are, "thief" and one of the "criminal fraternity"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I acually know most of the travellers around me
    I'm 6'2 18 stone and I train more days than I don't
    I'm a biker (old skool ) and I keep cool dogs ( I rescue then when people can't handle them )

Recently a traveler that was new enough to the area told me he bounce my head off that wall , I said no you won't and he said I know you won't let me

After that ( separately I'm a private person ) some older farmers came round to me ( I'm a local business) looking for hi ts and tips on how to fight dirty.

It's makes me sad that strong farmers that have grown old and their sons have emigrated need to go to the local "tough" looking business owner to ask advice

It makes me sadder that the lads that stil have a bit of strength get cautioned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Tigger wrote: »
    I acually know most of the travellers around me
    I'm 6'2 18 stone and I train more days than I don't
    I'm a biker (old skool ) and I keep cool dogs ( I rescue then when people can't handle them )

Recently a traveler that was new enough to the area told me he bounce my head off that wall , I said no you won't and he said I know you won't let me

After that ( separately I'm a private person ) some older farmers came round to me ( I'm a local business) looking for hi ts and tips on how to fight dirty.

It's makes me sad that strong farmers that have grown old and their sons have emigrated need to go to the local "tough" looking business owner to ask advice

It makes me sadder that the lads that stil have a bit of strength get cautioned

I really hope this is a písstake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I really hope this is a písstake.
    which bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Just shows how little the traveller fears the law when he is happy to make a complaint and therefore identify himself as an oil thief. Filth like these two guys are tormenting people robbing them all the time. Why can't they get a decent long sentence for repeat offences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

HondaSami wrote: »
    I don't disagree with you but it's not just travellers who do this tbf. The law backing them up? you cannot just chase after someone and give them a beating or whatever happened.

Maybe he was chasing after them to apprehend them and then an altercation ensued. I think it is perfectly legitimate to try and apprehend someone that has committed a crime against you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

So if someone grabs your stuff and starts running you are to let them and not try to get you stuff back? Moral of the story, block their escape and then unblock for when the guards turn up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

If someone makes a conscious decision to enter a persons home then honestly I think alls fair in terms of self defence.

My political stance would be to the left (before im accused of being a fascist) but if someone takes the decision to enter what is supposed to be your sanctuary then they've changed the rules. I'm not advocating pointles extreme violence, and it's certainly needs to be proportionate (trespassers have weapons would require more force for self defence etc), but the law needs to be changed to reflect common sense and ensure protection for the victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

You would not consider slaps thrown as assault?

I don't understand your aggression tbh.

Maybe when you've been a victim of such crimes you will.

So what happened the traveller's in question? I take it they were prosecuted for burglary....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Call me juvenile, but my op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Using a sulky when you are out robbing and may need to get away quickly

FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Robbing people,sure it's part of their culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

It's a farcical case but Jesus that article is shockingly bad. ****ing hell, it's like some farmer telling you story over a Guinness in the pub; "giving the poor pony a number of belts of a stick". And why does he keep calling him 'the Traveller' or 'the traveller'? ****ing awful writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

So lets see: theft, animal cruelty, resisting arrest, assault on the homeowner and wasting police time; all while out on bail. Anyone want to get what they'll get? More bail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

So lets see: theft, animal cruelty, resisting arrest, assault on the homeowner and wasting police time; all while out on bail. Anyone want to get what they'll get? More bail?

Possibly a two month placement on a 'traditional basket-weaving skills' community initiative, at a cost of €40,000 to the taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

You would not consider slaps thrown as assault?

I don't understand your aggression tbh.

It says altercation. No details of the altercation so how you can call it assault is beyond me.

Its possible the man caught the traveller, was assaulted by the traveller and then defended himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

He did chase after him and assaulted him, he may deserve it but still it's not right either. He had left the garden and the home owner was in no danger.

WTF

How do you know that the Traveller wasn't going to be back 5 minutes later with a Hi-ace full of mates ?

Slightly more pertinently, at 6.20 on a dark morning, defending his property against 2 scumbugs in blavaclavas, how did this man know that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Possibly a two month placement on a 'traditional basket-weaving skills' community initiative, at a cost of €40,000 to the taxpayer.

And what's going to happen when all the baskets and weaving materials have been nicked?