If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Idiot of a jackdaw fell down the chimney and got stuck in a cavity behind the mantle. thought I was going to have to knock a hole to get him out but he found a way out, flew around the gaff, knocked down
    a few trophies in the kitchen and out the door:rolleyes:

I remember hearing they used to drop chickens and other birds down the chimneys to clean them :D Poor ole buggers.

Pulled out the sprayer today, need to try and get some new pipes and a black valve yoke for the top. Anyone know where I might come across these? Tis an old small sprayer (44Gallon). Appears to be a Hardi but theres no name on it. Similar to the one below.

1361787430.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Nice soft rain here this last hour or so. Not too cold either. Lets not tempt fate though.
    Fertilizer may go out now I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Damo810 wrote: »
    Anyone know where I might come across these? Tis an old small sprayer (44Gallon). Appears to be a Hardi but theres no name on it. Similar to the one below.

1361787430.JPG

Yes that is a hardi. old type with the pump just mounted straight onto the pto, no shaft.

Where you based? Bound to be a dealer near you. Hope you have a deep wallet. Parts are mad dear for what they are. Had to replace the plastic water bars in mine ... 3 @ €55 a pop:o They are a tidy little sprayer though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

I remember hearing they used to drop chickens and other birds down the chimneys to clean them :D Poor ole buggers.

Pulled out the sprayer today, need to try and get some new pipes and a black valve yoke for the top. Anyone know where I might come across these? Tis an old small sprayer (44Gallon). Appears to be a Hardi but theres no name on it. Similar to the one below.

There is a crowd in offaly westmeath do all sprayer spares on Done deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Muckit wrote: »
    Yes that is a hardi. old type with the pump just mounted straight onto the pto, no shaft.

Where you based? Bound to be a dealer near you. Hope you have a deep wallet. Parts are mad dear for what they are. Had to replace the plastic water bars in mine ... 3 @ €55 a pop:o They are a tidy little sprayer though

we have one but it's more square:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

hate paperwork:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

trying to rain here, not much success so far, never thought i would say this but need a little rain

walked some fields last night, scary, slurry still caked on top,
    old fella reckons should get a bush and run it over top of slurry to break it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

hugo29 wrote: »
    trying to rain here, not much success so far, never thought i would say this but need a little rain

walked some fields last night, scary, slurry still caked on top,
    old fella reckons should get a bush and run it over top of slurry to break it up

Old fellas place absolutely no value on anyones time:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Old fellas place absolutely no value on anyones time:mad:

thats what i thought, my reply was along the lines of "well i will cut you a bush if ya want to go for it", didnt wait for retort
    thing is he might have a point, dont know if rain will wash it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Would a chain harrow not be a better job for breaking it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

One thing for certain in Ireland - The rains will come.:D
    Let the rain break it up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

http://www.iam.ie/hardi%20product%20pages/hardi%20s_ireland%20dealers.htm

Try some of these, maybe they'll post it to you.

1361787430.JPG

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Made two efforts at rain here last two nights, midnight the first night, and when we got out of the hotel last night about 1.40am. Didn't make much either time, I'm wary of wishing for rain in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Made two efforts at rain here last two nights, midnight the first night, and when we got out of the hotel last night about 1.40am. Didn't make much either time, I'm wary of wishing for rain in Ireland.

Indeed.
    It's the old "be careful what you wish for".
    Still, a little is needed and fingers crossed it will be little, and warmer too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

bbam wrote: »
    Indeed.
    It's the old "be careful what you wish for".
    Still, a little is needed and fingers crossed it will be little, and warmer too.

It feels noticeably warmer today, to me anyway, might be how that awful East wind has died down a little. I ditched the jacket at the troughs when I went looking for a freshly lambed ewe earlier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Insp. Harry Callahan

Bit warmer in Donegal aswell, no cold wind thankfully, need a good splash of rain though, when we were out sowing and rolling barley, dust clouds all around the tractor, hasn't been like that in a few years!. In the autumn sown crops, the ground is all cracking up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Lovely soft rain here now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Oh, tis a grand soft day. Thank God !

cold and foggy here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    cold and foggy here
    Same.
    4c there a while ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Lads wishing for rain ha! :eek: :confused:

We're after getting a lot rain the past few days...

Sunday was pretty much raining all day long here...

Its raining now, heavy showers on and off all day. And horrible, cold wintery showers at that...

Wont see any grass down here for a long while... :(

Lads wishing for rain ha! :eek: :confused:

We're after getting a lot rain the past few days...

Sunday was pretty much raining all day long here...

Its raining now, heavy showers on and off all day. And horrible, cold wintery showers at that...

Wont see any grass down here for a long while... :(

Havent seen any rain worth talking about here in a long time john. Have been walking cows in the winterage to water daily for the last 2 weeks and I have the sh1ts of doing it and to be honest nothing is going to grow around here even if temps rise without a bit of moisture. Would love a thundery sort of a week to come, would spur on a bit of growth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Havent seen any rain worth talking about here in a long time john. Have been walking cows in the winterage to water daily for the last 2 weeks and I have the sh1ts of doing it and to be honest nothing is going to grow around here even if temps rise without a bit of moisture. Would love a thundery sort of a week to come, would spur on a bit of growth.

Hi Redzer,

Tis gas isn't it... how things can be so different in a short distance...

But I know come June, if we get any good temp, and any few fine days, we'll be crying out for rain, and other lads will be saying you're mad to be wishing for rain...

Regardless of rain tho, if temp don't rise, we wont have anything...

I walked a few fields yesterday, that have been closed up a few months. I wasn't expected much to be fair, but I thought there might be something... I was disappointed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

Lovely soft rain here now :D

Thats enough rain for me, six more weeks of dry weather now please! Twas 13.5 degrees at one stage in ennis today, thermals were killing me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

ABlur wrote: »
    Thats enough rain for me, six more weeks of dry weather now please! Twas 13.5 degrees at one stage in ennis today, thermals were killing me!

Heat + friction + sweaty arse= badly scalded arse

ABlur wrote: »
    Funny that it was the first kind of mild day/night in a while and I had a calf with pneumonia this morning. Didnt have one with a couple of years :( To be honest half our summer land is very dry land and the other half is fairly wet land so im a bit conflicted about what I want.
    Hi Redzer,

Tis gas isn't it... how things can be so different in a short distance...

But I know come June, if we get any good temp, and any few fine days, we'll be crying out for rain, and other lads will be saying you're mad to be wishing for rain...

Regardless of rain tho, if temp don't rise, we wont have anything...

I walked a few fields yesterday, that have been closed up a few months. I wasn't expected much to be fair, but I thought there might be something... I was disappointed :(

Well temp and moisture are both going to be needed for a good burst of growth, hopefully not as much rain as last year but time will tell I suppose. Its been a very long winter is all I can say and I wont be sorry to see the back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭naughto

red raw ring sting its what we used to call it

u get it after a feed of cider as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

would I be better off waiting till after the first cut to throw out slurry as field wont be ready to close for about another month need it for sheep first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

delaval wrote: »
    Tim you've passed the point of no return,but, I think you know what needs to be done.
    It's a killer when they go down hill so fast

Ugh didn't even have to put her down, she died herself in the afternoon. Frustrating, as we've certainly being better on top of things like cubicle hygiene etc this year with more frequent liming/disinfecting, so how she picked it up I don't know. I caught the swelled quarter early enough, and the vet really did hit her with all the drugs she could possibly take. But sure that's farming I suppose. 3rd cow lost this year, other two were 12yr olds who probably shouldn't have still been around, but this one we couldn't have done anything about.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Ugh didn't even have to put her down, she died herself in the afternoon. Frustrating, as we've certainly being better on top of things like cubicle hygiene etc this year with more frequent liming/disinfecting, so how she picked it up I don't know. I caught the swelled quarter early enough, and the vet really did hit her with all the drugs she could possibly take. But sure that's farming I suppose. 3rd cow lost this year, other two were 12yr olds who probably shouldn't have still been around, but this one we couldn't have done anything about.
    ah no, sorry to hear that