Maggie Thatcher death discussion thread - Mod rules in first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I have never been to South America but do realise that those banging on about civil rights there are the same people who advocate the civil rights of the ten hunger strikers

Three thousand Chileans were abducted, tortured, executed and buried in secret mass graves. Thousands more Indonesians suffered the same fate; all with the political and military support (sale of arms) of Thatcher the democrat.

And your justification for that stems from the premise that they were probably IRA supporters? Do you think some poor f*cker in Jakarta even knew what the IRA was? Are you completely cracked or just looking to wind people up? I'm starting to think it's the latter to be honest.
    If you are a player on the world stage sometimes you make wrong decisions, or decisions which seemed to be for the greater good at the time.

Like supporting murdering tyrants. Sure tis grand like we're only human. You can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs/disappearing a few thousand people etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

karma_ wrote: »
    Wasn't he one of the Yalta 3? Perhaps my history is a little hazy?

Which would indicate power rather than respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

true wrote: »
    I have never been to South America but do realise that those banging on about civil rights there are the same people who advocate the civil rights of the ten hunger strikers, and who would give a very one sided explanation of the troubles in N.I. to a south American audience, which would be very far from the truth. If you are a player on the world stage sometimes you make wrong decisions, or decisions which seemed to be for the greater good at the time. Mrs T was know as a very hard worker ( 4 hours sleep a night - she was still working at 2 or 3 am when the PIRA tried to bomb her in Brighton ). If she had not the distraction of the PIRA trying to kill her and her employees, I am sure she could have diverted time and resources elsewhere.
    As JF Kennedy said, ask not what your country can do for you, but what u can do for your country. Mrs T was of the same mindset.

Fascinating, with JFK using text speak too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Which would indicate power rather than respect.

When it comes to the Nation State one would guarantee the other.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Like supporting murdering tyrants. Sure tis grand like we're only human. You can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs/disappearing a few thousand people etc.

And yet many of those pontificating about Thatcher were quite happy to get in to bed with the bastion of civil liberty that was Colonel Gaddaffi.

I think Stalin was a great man. He took on the Kulaks in Russia who were holding back modernisation of the country and while it wasn't pleasant, and he may have been a bit overzealous, the Kulak class needed to be faced down. While it was a hard period for everyone, it was clear that it worked. Russia went from being backward and agricultural to a nuclear power. He provided jobs, electricity and medical care to millions of Russians who never had that before. He was also fearless and cut through the bullsh*t, we could do with a politician like him today. He took Russia back on to the international stage again and the unfortunate reality is that when you're a major player you sometimes make mistakes. That's the cold hard reality of international relations folks.

He also took on Hitler and won the Second World War because he refused to acquiesce to Nazi demands. It was the Red Army that broke the Wehrmacht at Stalingrad and rolled back the German invasion. It was the biggest turning point of the war and it is fair to say it was the Soviets who did the most to defeat Hitler. Fair play to them. He was also a tireless grafter with his light in the Kremlin being the last to be switched off.

That's why he remains one of Russia's most popular leaders ever.

I think Stalin was a great man. He took on the Kulaks in Russia who were holding back modernisation of the country and while it wasn't pleasant, and he may have been a bit overzealous, the Kulak class needed to be faced down. While it was a hard period for everyone, it was clear that it worked. Russia went from being backward and agricultural to a nuclear power. He provided jobs, electricity and medical care to millions of Russians who never had that before. He was also fearless and cut through the bullsh*t, we could do with a politician like him today. He took Russia back on to the international stage again and the unfortunate reality is that when you're a major player you sometimes make mistakes. That's the cold hard reality of international relations folks.

He also took on Hitler and won the Second World War because he refused to acquiesce to Nazi demands. It was the Red Army that broke the Wehrmacht at Stalingrad and rolled back the German invasion. It was the biggest turning point of the war and it is fair to say it was the Soviets who did the most to defeat Hitler. Fair play to them. He was also a tireless grafter with his light in the Kremlin being the last to be switched off.

That's why he remains one of Russia's most popular leaders ever.

Trolling really doesn't suit you.

And yet many of those pontificating about Thatcher were quite happy to get in to bed with the bastion of civil liberty that was Colonel Gaddaffi.

And what relevance has that regarding the issue Thatcher sold arms to Suharto and supported Pinochet? Are you unable to judge that for what it is without whataboutery?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Accepting for a second this is true, it's a self defeating argument when you defend a woman who did the same, would you not agree?

Trolling really doesn't suit you.

Consider it an example of how language can be manipulated to suit a person's agenda despite many uncomfortable realities staring them in the face.

"Champion of Liberty" supports brutal regime gets dressed up as "she made a few mistakes and hard decisions on the international stage."

Dining with the same dictator years after the Cold War and his actions are well known is phrased as "she had to make a few unsavoury allies in the struggle against Soviet domination."

It's weasal words and it's crap. The reason people are doing it is because her support for Suharto etc shatters the notion she stood for justice and freedom because she clearly didn't.

What harm sure, only a few thousand Chileans. Sure aren't they always killing each other out that direction?

And what relevance has that regarding the issue Thatcher sold arms to Suharto and supported Pinochet? Are you unable to judge that for what it is without whataboutery?

Oh no, I was appalled by her closeness to Pinochet, it was one of those nasty cold war relationships that most country's had.

I just like to point out hypocrisy when I see it.

Accepting for a second this is true, it's a self defeating argument when you defend a woman who did the same, would you not agree?

See above, I'm not defending her.

Consider it an example of how language can be manipulated to suit a person's agenda despite many uncomfortable realities staring them in the face.

"Champion of Liberty" supports brutal regime gets dressed up as "she made a few mistakes and hard decisions on the international stage."

Dining with the same dictator years after the Cold War and his actions are well known is phrased as "she had to make a few unsavoury allies in the struggle against Soviet domination."

It's weasal words and it's crap. The reason people are doing it is because her support for Suharto etc shatters the notion she stood for justice and freedom because she clearly didn't.

What harm sure, only a few thousand Chileans. Sure aren't they always killing each other out that direction?

I wouldn't disagree. She was a woman of her time, but her time in power went on too long. She should have gone earlier, because her last term and that of john Majors will only be remembered as being the death knell of a greedy corrupt power drunk government.

And I blame Neil Kinnock for that.

Oh no, I was appalled by her closeness to Pinochet, it was one of those nasty cold war relationships that most country's had.

I just like to point out hypocrisy when I see it.

So if her relationship with Pinochet was simply real-politik, why did she invite Pinochet over for tea years after the Cold War? Why did she defend his record in power and attempt to legitimise him after he was deposed?

All the points I made about Stalin above were true by the way. However it's clear that my narrative doesn't tell the whole story. We're seeing that kind of thing at the moment amongst all the eulogies being made about Thatcher.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

So if her relationship with Pinochet was simply real-politik, why did she invite Pinochet over for tea years after the Cold War?

Mrs T. was elected by the people of the UK to act in the interests of the people of the UK. She had more than tea with other leaders on the world stage, e.g. USA, Russia and China. I doubt if you know the whole story in all developing / S. American countries ( both sides of the story etc ) , but one thing for sure. While Mrs T was not perfect and I'm sure occassionally made mistakes, I think she was a hell of a lot better than those she took on e.g. Gadaffi, the PIRA, Galteri etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Mrs T. was elected by the people of the UK to act in the interests of the people of the UK. She had more than tea with other leaders on the world stage, e.g. USA, Russia and China. I doubt if you know the whole story in all developing / S. American countries ( both sides of the story etc ) , but one thing for sure. While Mrs T was not perfect and I'm sure occassionally made mistakes, I think she was a hell of a lot better than those she took on e.g. Gadaffi, the PIRA, Galteri etc.

She was chums with Pinochet and described Mandela as a terrorist. I think we all know what her priorities were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

old hippy wrote: »
    She was chums with Pinochet and described Mandela as a terrorist. I think we all know what her priorities were.
    Indeed. And if she hadn't needed a popularity boost after 3 years of plummetting ratings, the people of the Falkland Islands would be speaking Spanish by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Actually when Mandela got out of prison and travelled to Britain he refused to meet her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

How was it in the interest of the UKs electorate for Thatcher to support Pinochet?

Mrs T. was elected by the people of the UK to act in the interests of the people of the UK.

How were those interests threatened to the point a democratically elected government in Chile had to be overthrown by one of the most brutal dictators ever in Latin America? The people of Chile had an election as well, Thatcher chose to support the man who took that away. Likewise I don't think anyone in Indonesia voted for her to sell arms to the man who was oppressing them.
    She had more than tea with other leaders on the world stage, e.g. USA, Russia and China.

Pinochet was a deposed autocrat whose record was know by everyone. She still invited him to tea in a personal capacity. Not out of political duty, but out of friendship. She was friends with a man who disappeared thousands of his own people.
    I doubt if you know the whole story in all developing / S. American countries ( both sides of the story etc ) ,

More sh*t. Look up Pinochet yourself and stop being a gobsh*te while you're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Actually when Mandela got out of prison and travelled to Britain he refused to meet her.
    Well, it was her or the Spice Girls...he's a very busy man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

Hoop66 wrote: »

I'd definitely opt for the Spice Girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Hoop66 wrote: »

Hey choose the most classy option so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

old hippy wrote: »

I think I heard on the radio this morning that she actually described the ANC as a terrorist organisation, not Mandela directly (make whatever associations you will from that but her words were very carefully chosen I would say) and invited Mandela for tea at one stage too I think I remember.

Btw, I think her foreign policies were shocking and wont defend her, but its important that people dont muddy the waters with altered or incorrect 'facts' and chosing to elevate some events over others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

There you have it folks, thread winner. To paraphrase - making the odd mistake over Apartheid, mass murder and supporting dictatorships all down to wrong decision for the greater good, as long as you're a hard worker this can be forgiven.

agree - but I did get a laugh out of it, it was that ridiculous. I think the argument is over for true after writing that. hilarious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

tigger123 wrote: »
    How was it in the interest of the UKs electorate for Thatcher to support Pinochet?
    she claimed that the general gave the UK vital support during the falklands war,most notably intelligance which saved many british lives,then chile also started operation soberania,knowing after the falklands they would be next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I haven't read the last few pages of this thread but will make a few points on some of the more spurious statements of praise about Thatcher.

1) The Right to Buy

This is constantly held up as a positive aspect of her legacy but a cursory look at the housing situation in Britain will tell you it was a disaster for working class people today. Up to a third of the houses which were sold are now being rented out, far from creating a situation of home-ownership all it did was create a new class of landlords. The son of the housing minister at the time, Ian Gow, himself owns ninety former council properties in London alone which are rented out for premium rents. Many of these council properties are owned by rental firms who are registered in places like the Caymans etc and as such pay little or no tax. Meanwhile there are five million people on the housing waiting list and rents are through the roof.

Thatcher's housing scheme transfered a valuable public asset in the form of housing into private hands which has now been concentrated in the hands of the rich. The fact that key Tories have benefited financially is even more nauseating.

2) "Trailblazer for women"

This has to be the most ridiculous reason for praising Thatcher, more often than not made by people who seem to think woman = good without actually having a clue what she stood for. While she may have attained the position of Prime Minister she most certainly pulled the ladder up after her so to speak. She was economically liberal but when it came to social matters she was still an old school conservative Tory. Thatcher cut child benefit, she made absolutely no investment into childcare and those women who managed to pursue a career, she criticised for raising a "creche generation". She promoted ZERO women to cabinet and did nothing to address the issue of wider female representation in politics. She described feminism as "a poison."

Worked wonders for women indeed.

3) "Defender of Democracy"

When the democratic government of Salvador Allende was overthrown by a right wing coup led by Augusto Pinochet, Thatcher was one of his main international backers. So many people were seized by Pinochet's forces in the aftermath they had to contain them to a stadium where activists, politicians, journalists and musicians were systematically tortured and executed. We've had some eejits try and justify her standpoint as real-politik in the face of the Cold War, but that doesn't explain how she'd invite him for afternoon tea in London up until a few years ago.

Her support for the Chilean dictatorship is arguably one of the bigger issues of her toxic legacy, and one that her supporters have yet to address bar a few platitudes along the lines of "errah sure she made a few mistakes like."

1. Nobody will ever argue the right to buy was an unqualified success. Neither was it an unmitigating failure. She allowed council tenants the right to buy. Under all available data, 1 million TENANTS bought their own homes. That's 1 million existing families who bought their own homes under the scheme and 1 million families (much like my own growing up) who would never have had a chance to do such a thing.

That's a positive thing. The fact some rich people got richer as a by-product of the scheme is nothing new. It happens everywhere, even this country. The rich, the developers, the builders, they will always seize opportunities to snaffle up lots of property.

2. Maggie fulfilled a Queen Bee role. She got to the top and did very little to promote other women to positions of power. That's a clear personal negative to her character.

However, in being a woman itself and in reaching the dizzy heights of Prime Minister, she empowered a whole generation of women to show them it COULD be achieved. Previously to this, the idea a woman could be PM of the country was a fairy story. She showed with enough skill and determination people of any gender could reach the top of the tree.

So, again, the act itself of reaching PM is a huge positive in a male dominated era. The Tory party had (i believe) 13 female MPs in 1979. By 2010 they had 50+. It was 13 out of 344 in 1979 and now it's something like 50 out of 270. It's progress.

3. Finally, your attempts to overplay her role in supporting Pinochet are admirable. I highlighted in bold your quote about Thatcher being one of Pinochets main supporters in the overthrow of Allende.

Pinochet overthrew Allende in 1973. At the time Margaret Thatcher was Education Secretary in the Conservative Party. Moreover, she was on thin ice with Heath ready to sack her over the Milk Snatching fallout.

You're trying to tell me from the position of Education Secretary she was one of Pinochets main supporters in overthrowing Allende? LOL.

Here's the reality: from 1971 the CIA was financing and supporting Pinochet, providing him with weapons, intelligence and material support. This was very much intergral to the overthrow of Allende. From 1973-1980 the CIA continued to support Pinochet, to the extent that many of the Generals were informants.

Maggies role in the Pinochet story really has no relevance. It's a distasteful support for the man based almost solely on the help Pinochet offered the UK in the Falklands War.

If anyone should be ashamed of their actions it's the USA and even they refused to apologise for it (President Obama was asked to apologise and he refused saying "we need to learn from the past").

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

A great woman who dragged Britain kicking and screaming into the 21st century and who managed to crush the leftie trade unions along the way. A sad loss for our chums across the water.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

ANTI-Thatcher sentiment has seen Ding Dong the Witch is Dead soar to No.27 in the UK iTunes chart this morning.
    The sales are part of a Facebook campaign to make the Judy Garland song hit No.1 after the death of Margaret Thatcher.
    http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/music/judy-garlands-ding-dong-the-witch-is-dead-races-up-charts-after-margaret-thatchers-death/story-e6frfn09-1226615599379

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

She was a duplicitous authoritarian hypocrite that stoked the conflict in the north by energising physical force Republicanism with her short-sighted policies.

As for neo-liberalism - look at 'us' now in the west. US infrastructure is crumbling and they're up to their necks in debt, war, and blood and this is the burden of the ordinary man and woman not war profiteers and military-industrial corporations.

The UK is heavily in debt too and and the north of the country is replete with inter-generational welfare ghettos. You need two people working to have a good standard of living for a young family these days. Extremes of wealth and poverty haven't been so pronounced since victorian times.

As someone else commented earlier it's too soon to say if Thatcherism and Reaganomics has wrecked the west or benefitted it (it's not looking too good atm) and that's completely ignoring any moral and ethical appraisal.

Didn't realise Thatcher and Reagen were in government between 2000-2008. Must've missed that one.

I would have thought that they helped bring down the Iron Curtain, but that was probably before their time, the actions of Heath and Carter respectively. :pac: