Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists on a Backroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

Passing the driving test doesn't make you an expert driver, in the 45 minutes or so the tester doesn't see absolutely everything you do when driving and hence things you're doing may still be wrong. Like not checking your blind spot when making manouvres, its called your blind spot because its the spot your mirrors don't pick up and there can be anyone there at anytime so always check it. If its a manouvre that requires looking in your mirrors it requires checking your blind spot.

As for your point on people you know being hit by cyclists, I have a friend who had a lad run into him while he was cycling and send him over the handlebars and then run away, there's idiots everywhere, not just cyclists

Also on the whole horses being registered by passports it doesn't help you identify them at all like you want to achieve with bike regs.

But if I hadn't checked my blind spot when appropriate I would have failed.
    I went to two driving instructors and I do things the way they both told me. I'm not an expert obviously but I do know what I'm doing. Just because you're a cyclist doesn't mean you're an expert either.

The most irritating thing about cyclists is that they will never admit that they or another cyclist is in the wrong. Whatever happens it's ALWAYS the drivers fault. :eek:

When horses come into towns and start hitting pedestrians, breaking red lights and generally not following the rules of the road then by all means a reg system should be developed for them too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,931 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Bad news everyone i failed to find even 1 cyclist to argue with on my way home and to work again this morning.
    Also LOL at how seriously some people on here took that remark yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

LOL, I bet they were all the picture of road craft excellence, even the 7 year old you shadowed for 5 minutes just waiting to bunny hop onto the footpad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Ms. Pingui wrote: »

The most irritating thing about cyclists is that they will never admit that they or another cyclist is in the wrong. Whatever happens it's ALWAYS the drivers fault. :eek:
    Go back and read the thread to prove this point wrong.

To imagine yourself as a great driver after having your licence such a short time is hysterical.

There are idiots on the road not uniquely cyclists or motorists. The main problem is many motorists aren't aware of issues cyclists have. A windy day means very little to a motorist but is a big deal on a bike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Joe10000 wrote: »
    A lot of things annoy me about cyclists but the most recent one is the greenway (cycle lane/walkway) that runs from Westport to Achill (parallel to the road) which large groups of cyclists won't use because pedestrians get in their way.

So a group of cyclists who wish to travel at speed make the sensible decision to use a bigger road and stay away from a narrow greenway shared with walkers and family groups on bikes.

They make a decision to find a better place for their type of cycling.

Could there possibly be a lesson in this for motorists who want to drive at speed? Would there be something in this that might also indicate where a motorist might or might not expect to be able to drive at speed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭UnawareCaesar

But if I hadn't checked my blind spot when appropriate I would have failed.
    I went to two driving instructors and I do things the way they both told me. I'm not an expert obviously but I do know what I'm doing. Just because you're a cyclist doesn't mean you're an expert either.

When horses come into towns and start hitting pedestrians, breaking red lights and generally not following the rules of the road then by all means a reg system should be developed for them too. :)

All depends on the situation of the test, testers like everyone aren't perfect so may not fail you on the blind spots if they didn't spot it. Just because you didn't fail on it doesn't make it OK. Didn't mean to come across condescending with the expert comment but there's an attitude out there that once you pass the test you're a perfect driver and its nowhere near true.

I also wasn't saying that as a cyclist, I passed my test over 5 years ago so I've a good bit of experience driving on the roads and I've almost been caught out when I was younger when not checking a blind spot. It's just a good habit to get into when you're driving because there can be absolutely anything there. I also used to be one of the anti cyclist brigade but when you get out cycling and have a few cars nearly catch you, you'll be more tolerant of being stuck behind them for a bit.

I'll happily admit cyclists can be in the wrong, just because an idiot gets on a bike it doesn't make them less of an idiot.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    LOL, I bet they were all the picture of road craft excellence, even the 7 year old you shadowed for 5 minutes just waiting to bunny hop onto the footpad.

I know right? Im certain someone on here sent out a warning through that secret underground network of theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

opti0nal wrote: »
    Like parking on a cycle track.
    Deedsie wrote: »
    Surely that is illegal? Obviously not enforced, but it must be illegal. Dublin road cycle lane in Portlaoise. Every day you have motorists parking in the cycle lane forcing me out of the cycle lane and into the main flow of traffic ...
    I saw a guy run out of a shop this morning to plead with a DCC employee who was towing his car, which was parked in a cycle path. I felt like going up and shaking the hand of the council worker. It's the first time I've ever seen a motorist parked in a bike path penalised, and it was good to see.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Go back and read the thread to prove this point wrong.

To imagine yourself as a great driver after having your licence such a short time is hysterical.

There are idiots on the road not uniquely cyclists or motorists. The main problem is many motorists aren't aware of issues cyclists have. A windy day means very little to a motorist but is a big deal on a bike.

I have read the thread, thanks for the advice though.

Where did I say I was a great driver? I said I'm not an expert but I know what I'm doing.

I don't know what you're finding so "hysterical" tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

While I don't agree with everything you've said, I think there is a touch of this going on. I know that the consequences of a driver breaking the rules in the same way cyclist might do are generally far more serious, which is why it usually is down to driver error if an accident occurs, but I hate when cyclists (and I know lots of them) give out about drivers then break the law themselves. Plus the moral high ground is a much better vantage point for complaining! :P;)

The one thing I do notice is that cyclists on bikes worth several thousand quid who race and train and are usually decent bike-handlers are grouped in with the people who wobble along with helmets halfway back their head on the footpath, and use pedestrian crossings to get across junctions. Not to mention children or teenagers on BMXs, etc. There is a massive difference in "cyclists" and bike use on roads and registration would never work for this disparate group.

All depends on the situation of the test, testers like everyone aren't perfect so may not fail you on the blind spots if they didn't spot it. Just because you didn't fail on it doesn't make it OK. Didn't mean to come across condescending with the expert comment but there's an attitude out there that once you pass the test you're a perfect driver and its nowhere near true.

I also wasn't saying that as a cyclist, I passed my test over 5 years ago so I've a good bit of experience driving on the roads and I've almost been caught out when I was younger when not checking a blind spot. It's just a good habit to get into when you're driving because there can be absolutely anything there. I also used to be one of the anti cyclist brigade but when you get out cycling and have a few cars nearly catch you, you'll be more tolerant of being stuck behind them for a bit.

I'll happily admit cyclists can be in the wrong, just because an idiot gets on a bike it doesn't make them less of an idiot.

Maybe you don't mean to come accross as condesending but you are.
    I learned from two instuctors when I should check my blind spots and I do it when I'm meant to.
    You say you can admit when cyclists are in the wrong but you are still trying to argue the point that the driving tester must have missed something or that I'm somehow doing something wrong. :rolleyes:

Maybe you don't mean to come accross as condesending but you are.
    I learned from two instuctors when I should check my blind spots and I do it when I'm meant to.
    You say you can admit when cyclists are in the wrong but you are still trying to argue the point that the driving tester must have missed something or that I'm somehow doing something wrong. :rolleyes:

Wow :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You're fully licenced for 2 months and just because you've never been pulled up on something potentially dangerous it must be OK. I've a friend who had his licence a year and used to enter roundabouts dangerously. He never went near a roundabout on his test but he didn't fail so it must have been OK, right?

How does me being a cyclist have anything to do with telling you as a driver I think its important you understand the importance of checking your blind spot. You'll get a scare some day from not checking your blind spot and I hope its just a scare and not a cyclist or child that comes out the worst end of you being right.

I'd hope you're trolling but I'm starting to think you really are that stubborn.

Wow :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You're fully licenced for 2 months and just because you've never been pulled up on something potentially dangerous it must be OK. I've a friend who had his licence a year and used to enter roundabouts dangerously. He never went near a roundabout on his test but he didn't fail so it must have been OK, right?

How does me being a cyclist have anything to do with telling you as a driver I think its important you understand the importance of checking your blind spot. You'll get a scare some day from not checking your blind spot and I hope its just a scare and not a cyclist or child that comes out the worst end of you being right.

I'd hope you're trolling but I'm starting to think you really are that stubborn.

I DO CHECK MY BLINDSPOT!!!

Your friend must not be the brightest spark if he was using roundabouts wrong for an entire year.

Also how could I not have been in a position where I needed to check my blindspots for the entire test? Sure the tester probably needed a trip to specsavers, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

"the more you drive the less intelligent you are"

repo man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭Deedsie

kylith wrote: »
    I saw a guy run out of a shop this morning to plead with a DCC employee who was towing his car, which was parked in a cycle path. I felt like going up and shaking the hand of the council worker. It's the first time I've ever seen a motorist parked in a bike path penalised, and it was good to see.

You literally just made my morning with that bit of news. Fair play to DCC worker. They need to penalize people or they will not even know they are doing wrong. The lack of eduction is shocking at times.

I think they should up the cycling ad campaigns, educate all road users together. Explain to motorists they are just an equal road user not the road owner. Horse and traps, livestock movement, road work machinery, farm machinery, cyclists, motorbikes, trucks and cars... All equal shareholders... We all have to share the roads.

Before people go mental, I am a motorist for ten years... A cyclist for three. There are stupid cyclists and stupid motorists. Loads of thick people out there. But very happy one such thicko's car got impounded this morning!

I DO CHECK MY BLINDSPOT!!!

Your friend must not be the brightest spark if he was using roundabouts wrong for an entire year.

Also how could I not have been in a position where I needed to check my blindspots for the entire test? Sure the tester probably needed a trip to specsavers, right?

I've really annoyed you to get you editing three times there. And you've gone back to have a go at someone you don't know for not knowing something they should when driving, the irony :rolleyes:

I've come here to give you advice, because you admitted you don't check your blind spot in certain situation where you should, you can argue all you want with your two months of being the perfect driver(condescending eh?) but you'll be caught out at some stage because of it, but don't worry, I'm sure you'll convince yourself you're still in the right :)

Also try not to have a go at my friends or family in your reply to this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I have read the thread, thanks for the advice though.

Where did I say I was a great driver? I said I'm not an expert but I know what I'm doing.

I don't know what you're finding so "hysterical" tbh.

Your basis for claiming you know what your doing is hysterical. Passing a test doesn't make you a great driver nor means you know what you are doing. Two instructors doesn't mean it either. These are your claims and hysterical.

You have made an outlandish claim that cyclist defend all cyclist and obviously not true in this thread alone. As many cyclists drive too they may actually know both sides. Try cycling for a bit and you will see will see drivers dangerous behaviour and disregard for others safety as opposed to the annoyance cyclists cause drivers. Most of the annoyance is non dangerous and even within the law.

I guarantee if you actually took note of breaking rules of the road on a journey far more cars break the rules. Cycling down my road to the main road there are at least 20 cars all parked illegally before I hit a main road. Then I watch cars amber gamble and break the red light, then the yellow boxes are blocked, later on there are usually 20-30 cars in the cycle lane. All perfectly acceptable to most drivers. Yet if they see one cyclist break a light we are all to blame and a danger on the road. Cyclist break rules of the road no more than motorists and pretty much for the same reasons of convenience. I break red lights if I deem it safe mostly when going into a bus lane that has no traffic going into it. Any driver whom says they don't speed is lying IMHO.

I've really annoyed you to get you editing three times there. And you've gone back to have a go at someone you don't know for not knowing something they should when driving, the irony :rolleyes:

I've come here to give you advice, because you admitted you don't check your blind spot in certain situation where you should, you can argue all you want with your two months of being the perfect driver(condescending eh?) but you'll be caught out at some stage because of it, but don't worry, I'm sure you'll convince yourself you're still in the right :)

Also try not to have a go at my friends or family in your reply to this post.

Adding extra info. isn't having a go.

I don't need your advice, thanks. Two driving instuctors and a tester were happy with my driving. I'm not going to go take the bus because some person on the internet thinks he knows best.

Well it's pretty stupid that you are giving out to a stranger on the net about their driving when your own friend can't use a roundabout. Look a bit closer to home eh?

Anyway I'm replying to you anymore, it's acomplete waste of time. G'luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I break red lights if I deem it safe mostly when going into a bus lane that has no traffic going into it.

That comment right there is exactly why the majortiy of cyclists get zero respect from me on here. The cycling forum is littered with this crap. And you wonder why the general population dislike you so much :confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Swanner wrote: »
    The cycling forum is littered with this crap.
    No it's not. You'll find similar comments about breaking lights get abuse in there too.

I don't think you actually read the cycling forum, you appear to just make assumptions about what's discussed in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

Swanner wrote: »
    That comment right there is exactly why the majortiy of cyclists get zero respect from me on here. The cycling forum is littered with this crap. And you wonder why the general population dislike you so much :confused::rolleyes:
    So one person says they regularly break lights and you call that the majority?

Your basis for claiming you know what your doing is hysterical. Passing a test doesn't make you a great driver nor means you know what you are doing. Two instructors doesn't mean it either. These are your claims and hysterical.

You have made an outlandish claim that cyclist defend all cyclist and obviously not true in this thread alone. As many cyclists drive too they may actually know both sides. Try cycling for a bit and you will see will see drivers dangerous behaviour and disregard for others safety as opposed to the annoyance cyclists cause drivers. Most of the annoyance is non dangerous and even within the law.

I guarantee if you actually took note of breaking rules of the road on a journey far more cars break the rules. Cycling down my road to the main road there are at least 20 cars all parked illegally before I hit a main road. Then I watch cars amber gamble and break the red light, then the yellow boxes are blocked, later on there are usually 20-30 cars in the cycle lane. All perfectly acceptable to most drivers. Yet if they see one cyclist break a light we are all to blame and a danger on the road. Cyclist break rules of the road no more than motorists and pretty much for the same reasons of convenience. I break red lights if I deem it safe mostly when going into a bus lane that has no traffic going into it. Any driver whom says they don't speed is lying IMHO.

So the opinions of two qualified, approved driving instuctors and a tester don't count? May I ask whos opinion does count? A bunch of strangers on the internet? Now thats hysterical!

Adding extra info. isn't having a go.

I don't need your advice, thanks. Two driving instuctors and a tester were happy with my driving. I'm not going to go take the bus because some person on the internet thinks he knows best.

Well it's pretty stupid that you are giving out to a stranger on the net about their driving when your own friend can't use a roundabout. Look a bit closer to home eh?

Anyway I'm replying to you anymore, it's acomplete waste of time. G'luck.

"Your friend must not be the brightest spark if he was using roundabouts wrong for an entire year."

That's really relevant extra info to add.

You keep mentioning these two instructors and tester and yet you've admitted to not checking your blind spot in a situation where you need to but because they didn't spot you doing it during your test or lessons its grand.

Is it really that stupid that I feel its important to try and make someone aware of something potentially dangerous when I might have the misfortune of running into you on the roads at some stage.

I did ask you left my friends out of it but seen as you've decided to bring it up, you'll find I said "used to", as in the past tense, as in no longer does. But I'll lay off the grammar lessons.

I wouldn't bother replying either, you've just been repeating the same stuff over and over and looking more stupid.

So the opinions of two qualified, approved driving instuctors and a tester don't count? May I ask whos opinion does count? A bunch of strangers on the internet? Now thats hysterical!

Can I just weigh in here as a motorist, you really should check your blind spot before moving off, changing lanes on a motorway etc. don't just rely on your mirrors. I'm not having a go, just from a road safety point of view it is very important. I think most people on the thread will agree with me here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

if this thread has done anything, its to make me even more aware on the roads, some drivers on here have left comments about how they fantasize about hitting cyclists, have a complete lack of understanding of the speeds a bike can travel at, and utter contempt for people on 2 wheels

i cant understand it myself, give me a list of the amount of people killed by or because of cyclists this year in ireland? if the worst their doing to you is to hold you up for a minute cop on and get some patience FFS

Deedsie wrote: »
    Can I just weigh in here as a motorist, you really should check your blind spot before moving off, changing lanes on a motorway etc. don't just rely on your mirrors. I'm not having a go, just from a road safety point of view it is very important. I think most people on the thread will agree with me here.

I've already said I do check my blind spot before moving off. The cyclist came around a bend so I woudn't have seen him when I checked and then swooped aound me from the right.
    People seem to love attacking me about it though, even though I've stated a million times that I DO check my blind spots.

if this thread has done anything, its to make me even more aware on the roads, some drivers on here have left comments about how they fantasize about hitting cyclists, have a complete lack of understanding of the speeds a bike can travel at, and utter contempt for people on 2 wheels

i cant understand it myself, give me a list of the amount of people killed by or because of cyclists this year in ireland? if the worst their doing to you is to hold you up for a minute cop on and get some patience FFS

Who said they fantasize about hitting cyclists?

I've already said I do check my blind spot before moving off. The cyclist came around a bend so I woudn't have seen him when I checked and then swooped aound me from the right.
    People seem to love attacking me about it though, even though I've stated a million times that I DO check my blind spots.

I wasn't attacking you over it, until you became extremely ignorant about being given advice.

Nobody said you never check your blind spots but, you mentioned a situation where you didn't check your blind spot, it was pointed out to you that you should have checked it in that situation, irregardless of whether the cyclist was in the wrong in that situation or not because its good practice for the safety of yourself and others on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

But you have said that you do not believe that you need to check your blind spot when making a left turn, only when pulling out from the kerb.

That is what people are taking you up on, you should check your blind spot when making any maneuver, be it changing lanes, turning a corner or even pulling off.
    the fact that it may or may not have helped in your particular example is not what people are taking exception to, more the fact that you believe that you did not have to check your blind spot as you were not pulling off

Edit: Beaten to it

You need to learn to identify the difference between an attack and a genuine attempt to highlight the importance of one aspect of road safety. 31 drivers have already died so far this year... 3 cyclists...

That's 34 more fatalities than there should be. People need to learn patience and consideration for all other road users. This thread highlights the major faults our road users have. Lack of education, the NRA need to up their education campaigns... Penalty points/on the spot fines for road users who endanger anyone else on the roads.

I think cyclists who break the rules of the road should be penalised by on the spot fines. It won't worry me though as I am a competent, patient road user with no driving penalty points and no fear of an on the spot fine when I cycle.