Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclists on a Backroad

• 07-04-2013 11:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭

I can't be the only person whose head is absolutely melted by the sheer quantity of people in clothes which are far too tight, with tortoises on their head taking up the roads of Ireland on their bikes...

I have nothing against cycling. Its a fantastic form of transport, but these people are taking up room, and are an accident waiting to happen. When cycling for fitness instead of practicality can you not please bring your bikes to a main road where there is space?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

You have to get to the main road first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Got stuck behind a groups of about 50 of them yesterday, crawled the guts of 10km in a huge traffic line going around 30kmph because the road was too narrow and windy to pass them out

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Wind down the window & give them some cheer using a super soaker filled with [content redacted] for their delectation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Its painful enough in fairness. Lots of them go two abreast as well. That limits overtaking opportunities.

Got stuck behind a groups of about 50 of them yesterday, crawled the guts of 10km in a huge traffic line going around 30kmph because the road was too narrow and windy to pass them out

I heard you were checkin' out all that ass.

What direction was the wind coming from? Surely it couldn't have been so strong as to limit your speed??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

El Spearo wrote: »
    I can't be the only person whose head is absolutely melted by the sheer quantity of people in clothes which are far too tight, with tortoises on their head taking up the roads of Ireland on their bikes...

I have nothing against cycling. Its a fantastic form of transport, but these people are taking up room, and are an accident waiting to happen. When cycling for fitness instead of practicality can you not please bring your bikes to a main road where there is space?

It takes 30-60 seconds for you to overtake a bunch of cyclists appropriately and safely.

30-60 seconds.
    Chill out like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

shedweller wrote: »
    You have to get to the main road first.

hence the invention of the bike rack...

this is why i differentiated between sports cyclists and those who cycle for practical reasons..

the feckers who bother me are the pro-looking lads who think the tour de france is on the back roads that wouldn't fit two donkeys past each other on a good day.

The people who have cars, and could easily bring themselves to somewhere safer and more practical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

shedweller wrote: »
    Its painful enough in fairness. Lots of them go two abreast as well. That limits overtaking opportunities.

Thats a deliberate move to ensure that car drivers overtake properly, as you would a car.

Otherwise, you get drivers trying to overtake in situations where there isnt enough space for a car and a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

It's very annoying when they decide to form a mini-peloton and refuse to pull in or go single file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Sauve wrote: »
    It takes 30-60 seconds for you to overtake a bunch of cyclists appropriately and safely.

30-60 seconds.

Impatient and inattentive drivers are the cause of the majority of crashes I've heard of lately, not the cyclist.
    In fairness Jenny could have been held up by ~10 minutes. Probably upset her schedule for the whole day.

Sauve wrote: »

30-60 seconds.

Impatient and inattentive drivers are the cause of the majority of crashes I've heard of lately, not the cyclist.

the roads were developed for motorists...and there is no such thing as a bike tax..so cyclists are free loaders in the roads in my view.

also cyclists who dont use the cycle lanes grind my gears too...

its all fun and games lads, but at the end of the day no matter what happens, you clip a stupid cyclist and no matter whose fault it is its the driver. its nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭TheBza

Who gives a rats, you don't own the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I understand what you're saying OP. If there's a large group of them it's dangerous. Sometimes there's 12+ cyclists in a group so it's like you're trying to overtake 3/4 cars at the one time. If they were in smaller groups of twos and threes, it would be safer.

They have every rite to be on the road though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

The people who have cars, and could easily bring themselves to somewhere safer and more practical

What about cyclists who don't have cars?

Maybe you should get the bus so you don't get angry or inconvienienced...... It's more practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭re.mark.able

if you're cycling often, you want a change of scenery, not be sucking in car fumes all the time and a bit a of a challenge with the hills and turns on the back roads. They don't exactly go dead slow either - there's a limit to how quickly a car can get from A to B, it's never going to be fast as you want it to be.
    And it would be WAY more dangerous and clogged if they went on the main roads; unfortunately too many cyclists don't treat themselves as the roads users they are - cycling with earphones in, not obeying traffic lights, etc. and they're called main roads for a reasons - that's where the majority of cars drive and then feed off into the back roads so it would require a lot more overtaking and cause more traffic and danger.
    I could go on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

the roads were developed for motorists...and there is no such thing as a bike tax..so cyclists are free loaders in the roads in my view.

its all fun and games lads, but at the end of the day no matter what happens, you clip a stupid cyclist and no matter whose fault it is its the driver. its nonsense.

There's a severe lack of quality lanes in Ireland. Many people park their cars in cycle lanes. Bikes have no emissions, cause no damage to the roads so is there any particularly reason that they should be taxed besides your irritation. The most likely situation in which you would clip a cyclist is by overtaking when you shouldn't.

What about cyclists who don't have cars?

Maybe you should get the bus so you don't get angry or inconvienienced...... It's more practical.

There's no buses on the back roads...

townie! :P

Well I do not object to cyclists using the road. By cyclists I mean people who do no drive, and this is their form of transport to get from a to b. But there are hundreds if not thousands of enthusiasts who are taking over the roads and making them notably more dangerous.

Automobiles have far more right to the road as we are the ones who pay the taxes for the upkeep (however crap it is) of said roads. All I'm saying is, it wouldn't kill the sports cyclists to move to a ring road or road with large shoulders, while keeping on the back roads unfortunately could kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When can cars can fly, will it just be bicyles on the road and the like, or will there be flying bicycles too? Boy I sure hope so, I'd miss the war

All I'm saying is, it wouldn't kill the sports cyclists to move to a ring road or road with large shoulders, while keeping on the back roads unfortunately could kill them.

Back roads are nicer to cycle on though. Less cars, less smelly fumes to breathe in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Larianne wrote: »
    There's no buses on the back roads...

townie! :P

He could walk to the bus stop..... Or get a crossbar from a pesky cyclist.

Automobiles have far more right to the road as we are the ones who pay the taxes for the upkeep (however crap it is) of said roads. All I'm saying is, it wouldn't kill the sports cyclists to move to a ring road or road with large shoulders, while keeping on the back roads unfortunately could kill them.

You know cycling is massive across the world? Try going to Holland. :pac: Do you think cyclists in other countries don't use back roads? The main reason that they could die on a back road in this country is because of many motorists assuming that they own the roads and that it's fine to overtake when it is entirely unsafe to do so... There are many stupid cyclists but percentage wise, you'll find there are a rather large proportion of stupid drivers too.

Back roads are nicer to cycle on though. Less cars, less smelly fumes to breathe in.

Well in that case cyclists should have a lot more respect for cars. I've seen on several occasions cyclists going two or three in a row on the road not allowing people to pass.

A close friend told me of a situation such as this where they would not allow anyone to overtake. They were greeting by the blowing of horns to which they gave the middle finger.

Now I'm sure there are arguments in favour of cyclists taking over the entire lane, but its dangerous. Bikes are slower than cars and so should expected to be overtaken. Just because they want to chat doesn't mean they can block up the whole place.

The reason I'm bringing this up is simply because its gone crazy in recent months. You can't go anywhere without these lads somewhere slowing your journey.

Couple of years ago it would have been an unusualy inconvinience to see a cycling uniform thing, but now its like driving on a stage of the tour de france behind bradley wiggins every single time you go to the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I have nothing against cycling. ...
    did you mean " I am not a cyclist but......"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I think I speak for the majority when I say:

"Just fucking deal with it."

Tour de France style pack of Cyclists in day-glo up against pack of Hell's Angels would make a few quid even as a straight to DVD.

Corkfeen wrote: »
    You know cycling is massive across the world? Try going to Holland. :pac: Do you think cyclists in other countries don't use back roads? The main reason that they could die on a back road in this country is because of many motorists assuming that they own the roads and that it's fine to overtake when it is entirely unsafe to do so... There are many stupid cyclists but percentage wise, you'll find there are a rather large proportion of stupid drivers too.

Lived there for a year, and a regular visitor. Cycling there is a primary mode of transport and there are lanes everywhere.

This is not what I am talking about. Once again highlighting I'm on about the sports cyclists who can choose where they do their sport. I like soccer but I don't play on the M50...i play where it is safe and makes sense.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

humbert wrote: »
    In fairness Jenny could have been held up by ~10 minutes. Probably upset her schedule for the whole day.

If being help up by around 10 minutes upsets your whole day you need to leave earlier in the first place.

If people weren't already sure you were trolling you confirmed it with that comment.
    I understand what you're saying OP. If there's a large group of them it's dangerous. Sometimes there's 12+ cyclists in a group so it's like you're trying to overtake 3/4 cars at the one time. If they were in smaller groups of twos and threes, it would be safer.

They have every rite to be on the road though.

But bigger groups are safer, especially in windy conditions :) means only the front two are really battling the wind ( unless it's a cross wind)
    Well I do not object to cyclists using the road. By cyclists I mean people who do no drive, and this is their form of transport to get from a to b. But there are hundreds if not thousands of enthusiasts who are taking over the roads and making them notably more dangerous.

You should get a bike. I find I'm much more susceptible to impatience when driving, when I commute on the bike I don't feel anywhere near as impatient.

Sadly, I still have to pay taxes that go towards maintaining roads and what not even though I cycle. I wish being a cyclist meant I didn't incur as many taxes though. That'd be cool. I could afford more bikes then and spend more time out cycling as I wouldn't have to spend as much time working.

If only. :(

I've seen many asshole cyclists, going through red-lights, not hand signalling, swerving out in front of cars...

I've also seen asshole drivers not indicating, going through pedestrian crossings, parking on paths.

You get assholes.. in general.

Lived there for a year, and a regular visitor. Cycling there is a primary mode of transport and there are lanes everywhere.

This is not what I am talking about. Once again highlighting I'm on about the sports cyclists who can choose where they do their sport. I like soccer but I don't play on the M50...i play where it is safe and makes sense.

It's only illegal to cycle on motorways.(There's a good reason for that one) In most countries, you will find competitive(and those doing so for leisure) cyclists that cycle on back roads and taking hilly routes for example. It's a fairly awful experience to spend your time cycling on the hard shoulder of a dual carriageway for example. There's no reason that it shouldn't be safe for a person to cycle on back roads.

Asshole pedestrians are the worst. No F.U.C.K.I.N.G hand signals! Ever! The older ones are the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Jaysus op, dont even try to question cyclists. They're a force not to be reasoned with :eek:

poolboy wrote: »
    Football on m50 = stupid, cycling on m50 =stupid equating the two = stupid. El spearo =????

right ill adjust that for ya,

playing soccer on a backroad is stupid
    cycling on a backroad is stupid

my point was, sports belong somehwere safe. unless cycling is your primary transport please take your bike somwhere safe.

i do take the general asshole point though.....bad drivers annoy the hell out of me just as much as cyclists. i just feel cyclists might be more receptive as it would also benefit the cyclists safety

Jaysus op, dont even try to question cyclists. They're a force not to be reasoned with :eek:

gosh darn it i will win them over :P

they just dont realise im in it for them...because next week im going straight through the first cyclist who annoys me :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Pests

I've seen many asshole cyclists, going through red-lights, not hand signalling, swerving out in front of cars...

I've also seen asshole drivers not indicating, going through pedestrian crossings, parking on paths.

You get assholes.. in general.
    And swerving out in front of other cars. Is that an Irish thing.
    Do cars no longer come equipped with brakes.?
    Many drivers here seem so incapable of anticipating traffic they swerve inside or outside any car that slows down or turns, into the cycle lanes or into oncoming traffic.
    ANYTHING rather than pay attention and slow down if there is a gap to scrape through.
    Driving instructers, what are ye doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

this is why i differentiated between sports cyclists and those who cycle for practical reasons..

the feckers who bother me are the pro-looking lads who think the tour de france is on the back roads that wouldn't fit two donkeys past each other on a good day.

What the fcuk are you doing driving on a road that two donkeys couldn't pass each other on? ...at least two cyclists are thinner and able to pass each other. Its people like you in their big wide cars blocking narrow back roads that's the problem, not cyclists!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

actually they were made for horse&carts, and pedestrians. motorways were made for motors. thats why country roads are so narrow

wil wrote: »
    And swerving out in front of other cars. Is that an Irish thing.
    Do cars no longer come equipped with brakes.?
    Many drivers here seem so incapable of anticipating traffic they swerve inside or outside any car that slows down or turns, into the cycle lanes or into oncoming traffic.
    ANYTHING rather than pay attention and slow down if there is a gap to scrape through.
    Driving instructers, what are ye doing?

driving instructors...where people learn to drive....

what training to cyclists have to use the road?

CJC999 wrote: »
    What the fcuk are you doing driving on a road that two donkeys couldn't pass each other on? ...at least two cyclists are thinner and able to pass each other. Its people like you in their big wide cars blocking narrow back roads that's the problem, not cyclists!!

note to self: do not exaggerate for humour/effect ever online.

cycling on a backroad is stupid
    how so? Surely that means driving on those roads is also stupid.
    my point was, sports belong somehwere safe. unless cycling is your primary
    transport please take your bike somwhere safe.
    get over yourself, a cyclist is fully entitled to be on any road they want bar motorways. They are entitled (and safer) to be two wide and don't have to be in the ditch struggling to stay out of your way. Back roads are safe to cycle, it's just the odd prick of a driver that makes them unsafe.

how so? Surely that means driving on those roads is also stupid.

get over yourself, a cyclist is fully entitled to be on any road they want bar motorways. They are entitled (and safer) to be two wide and don't have to be in the ditch struggling to stay out of your way. Back roads are safe to cycle, it's just the odd prick of a driver that makes them unsafe.

So cyclists should have their bikes taxed then.

I assure you I am a safe driver, hence why im complaining. Because I get stuck behind these lads with nowhere safe to overtake to miles.

driving instructors...where people learn to drive....

The ROTR and common sense and a good parent to teach them (one would presume).
    A cyclist is not in control of 2 tonnes of steel that can operate at 120kph+ and so does not require the same level of testing and oversight to ensure the safety of other as any consequences and risks are far less drastic and dramatic.

why?

You pay MOTOR tax for the privilege of pumping our pollution, not any form of ROAD tax. Bikes don't produce said pollution and hence have no need to be taxed for it.
    Road are funded centrally from the tax pot and motor tax bears no relation to road maintenance costs.

And for the record bikes have 23% VAT on them, even the safety gear is taxed!

gosh darn it i will win them over :P

they just dont realise im in it for them...because next week im going straight through the first cyclist who annoys me :P
    Yes there are plenty of crap cyclists out there, many can no longer afford cars, others will get a car.

Its the bad drivers I tend to worry about when I'm behind the wheel.
    They kill far more road users.

Up until recently, pretty much the same as drivers - drive around until you dont get killed. License optional.
    Shocks me some of the bad driving by instructers I've seen.

As the car is the killing machine, the onus is a little more on the driver.

The ROTR and common sense and a good parent to teach them (one would presume).
    A cyclist is not in control of 2 tonnes of steel that can operate at 120kph+ and so does not require the same level of testing and oversight to ensure the safety of other as any consequences and risks are far less drastic and dramatic.

I could argue that the actions of cyclists allow them 'control' over anything that is near them on the road.

They are a moving obstacle, which has to be negotiated. A little more cooporation would make the roads safer for everyone involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

There's no such thing as road tax. You pay motor tax, a completely different thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

you want to know why cyclists cycle 2 abreast? because idiots in trucks and cars are downright dangerous in this country, even more so on busy roads tbh.

ive had so many idiots pull in in front of me on a hard shoulder while im going at 40-50 km per hour for a chat on the mobile phone, ive had tractors pulling slurry tanks go past me with the tanks open spewing ****e all over me on busy roads, ive had idiots being "big men" swerving into the hard shoulder trying to intimidate/frighten me (which it does when i know i could be killed in the blink of an eye) oh and all the exhaust fumes and ****e ive to inhale on bust roads isnt too nice either :(

By comparison cycling nice quite backroads has been a much nicer experience in general, probably due to the lack of traffic, also in favor of backroads is the fact that they are a much nicer route to cycle, these are the roads that go up mountains, around lakes etc. as opposed to main roads which are for the most part flat straight and boring, but even on nice quite roads ive had incidents where ive nearly been killed

people who actually race/compete at cycling need a challenge to get fitter and faster, main roads dont offer this for the most part.

if everyone just chilled out a little bit and wasnt in such a rush everywhere this country would be a much nicer place

i think every person going for a full license should have to cycle on the roads for a period of time in order for them to realize how vulnerable cyclists actually are

and il put this up here for good measure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

I assure you I am a safe driver, hence why im complaining. Because I get stuck behind these lads with nowhere safe to overtake to miles.

its called motor tax for a reason you know