Maggie Thatcher death discussion thread - Mod rules in first post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

If it is the right decision, which was taken despite the wrong decision being easier to take, then that is admirable, surely.

Well we can argue about her decisions been right or wrong,but I think enough has been said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

She stood up to the USSR
    She stood up to Galtieri
    She stood up to the IRA
    She stood up to the Unions

(In a nutshell) She was the Iron Lady, Mrs Margaret Thatcher, a great woman of our time, not without flaws and not always reasonable, but everybody knew wher they stood with her, she called a spade a spade, and she dragged Britain out of the shadows and into the modern era by losening the Unions vice like grip on Britain, and introducing Privitisation.

RIP Mrs Thatcher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Fred Cohen wrote: »
    Funny you should mention that but Bob Geldof did have a hop off of her because of her intransigence in releasing butter oil from the butter mountain to Ethophian kids starving to death.

http://www.margaretthatcher.org/document/105977

As to Scotland, they elected roughly equal Lab/Con MPs in the 50's to 66/33% in '79 when Mrs Thatcher was elected to 100/0 in '97

So from the 70s onwards, they were Labour strongholds.

Not sure what your first point is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

LordSutch wrote: »
    She stood up to the USSR
    She stood up to Galtieri
    She stood up to the IRA
    She stood up to the Unions

(............

Sitting down now and again might have been more productive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

true wrote: »
    I never mentioned the "Reagan Gorby talks". I said she was greatly respected from Gorbachev to Reagon. Gorby was on the TV tonight talking about his visits to London before he even was leader in Russia, and her influence on him. .... and Regan was taped talking about his best friend, Mrs T, and the extra-special close relationship between the UK and USA.

Greatly respected?

She was the USA's puppy dog, same as East Germany was the USSR'S.

Britian parrot's the USA line as Romania or East Germany parrot's the USSR line, same as GB loves the USA line. WMD's, who fecking cares about evidence and all that stuff? The US, says, the UK follows like an obedient guide dog.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭wylam

I will not mourn this woman's death nor will i celebrate it.History is written and will be there for all time and for all to see.The sad fact is that the opinions and views of the people of this country seem to be stuck in the past.I fear that our inability to move on and progress as a nation will mean that this war will never end. At least not in our life time.Will it take the death of everyone that has wronged us before we can find some peace?Lets never forget our history , but let us not constantly live in it.Peace, reconciliation and some sort of forgiveness are the only way forward for both side's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

She was homophobic, there's no discussion about. Blame context and all that, but she was a homophobic.

Ironic you should think that - I remember in the 1980's many Irish gay people going to England as it was a much more liberal and tolerant society than Ireland. Do not forget in the 1980's hundreds of thousands of irish people emigrated to England for work too - and got good work there and were treated well. Some of my own relatives were among them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

"Let" Bobby Sands live? He took his own life, self-imposed starvation.

He had the option of choosing his own fate, a luxury that was not extended to victims of the IRA.

That luxury wasn't extended to the victims of Cromwell either.

.... Do not forget in the 1980's hundreds of thousands of irish people emigrated to England for work too - and got good work there and were treated well. Some of my own relatives were among them.

You said that before too. Irish welders often go to Saudi on 6 month to year long contracts (or at least they used to). Is the house of Saud therefore some noble and laudable institution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

wylam wrote: »
    I will not mourn this woman's death nor will i celebrate it.History is written and will be there for all time and for all to see.The sad fact is that the opinions and views of the people of this country seem to be stuck in the past.I fear that our inability to move on and progress as a nation will mean that this war will never end. At least not in our life time.Will it take the death of everyone that has wronged us before we can find some peace?Lets never forget our history , but let us not constantly live in it.Peace, reconciliation and some sort of forgiveness are the only way forward for both side's.

Sure how can that happen when our own taoiseach,constantly stands up in the dail rambling to Gerry Adams about 30 years ago in the north.

What do you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

[-0-] wrote: »
    That luxury wasn't extended to the victims of Cromwell either.

What in the name of blue cheese does Oliver bloody Cromwell have to do with the death of Maggie Thatcher? :confused:

Nodin wrote: »

Not when the USSR, Galtieri, the IRA - with their track record - have their guns point at you. She will be remembered as one of the best peace time prime ministers ever, for saving the UK from the unions and the IMF mess it was in during the seventies.

Well Airey Neave was sitting down in his car and look where that got him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭eoin2nc

Her supporters are conveniently forgetting her calling the ANC and Mandella 'terrorists' during the aparteid regime and her help to cover up Hillsbourgh. Not to mention her total devestation of the north of England and Scotland without remorse. Good riddance

Irish welders often go to Saudi on 6 month to year long contracts (or at least they used to).

so? what has that got to do with the hundreds of thousands people who went to England and got work there and were fairly treated during mrs T. term in power?

Well Airey Neave was sitting down in his car and look where that got him.

....o look, a dodge. There's a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭wylam

@jacksparrow, hence my point about us moving on, i didnt mean the people on this forum i meant everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

K-9 wrote: »
    Greatly respected?

She was the USA's puppy dog, same as East Germany was the USSR'S.

Britian parrot's the USA line as Romania or East Germany parrot's the USSR line, same as GB loves the USA line. WMD's, who fecking cares about evidence and all that stuff? The US, says, the UK follows like an obedient guide dog.

Harold Wilson certainly took a different view on Vietnam and refused to get on board with Uncle Sam.

....o look, a dodge. There's a shock.

Ah no, not a dodge, more like a magnetc bomb attached to underside of his car!

so? what has that got to do with the hundreds of thousands people who went to England and got work there and were fairly treated during mrs T. term in power?

You'll find changing over from vinyl will help
    http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=35157&date_to=&date_from=&query=hundreds+of+thousands&forum=7

You really, really, really, really don't understand what I'm getting at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Margaret Thatcher succeeded in leaving behind an enduring legacy beyond most peace time leaders. What have you done with your life?

Thatcher>You.

If you're going to disregard logic and all that, Hitler left an enduring legacy behind too.

And another. Well done you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I never mentioned the "Reagan Gorby talks". I said she was greatly respected from Gorbachev to Reagon. Gorby was on the TV tonight talking about his visits to London before he even was leader in Russia, and her influence on him. .... and Regan was taped talking about his best friend, Mrs T, and the extra-special close relationship between the UK and USA.

That was nice.

Maggie played a hugely significant part!.

Go away and cop yourselves on.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

And another. Well done you.

Havin a glass of bubbly tonight?

Sitting down standing up, I don't care what your question is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

P_1 wrote: »
    What in the name of blue cheese does Oliver bloody Cromwell have to do with the death of Maggie Thatcher? :confused:

"Let" Bobby Sands live? He took his own life, self-imposed starvation.

He had the option of choosing his own fate, a luxury that was not extended to victims of the IRA.

I was pointing out that this 'luxury' was not extended to the people of Drogheda murdered by Cromwell.

Don't bring blue cheese into it. I love blue cheese. :pac:

Havin a glass of bubbly tonight?

Why would I do that? She's been irrelevant since she left power, and her death is hardly some 'victory' given that the damage is long done. Not to mention the fact that, being mortal, we will all go the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

[-0-] wrote: »
    I was pointing out that this 'luxury' was not extended to the people of Drogheda murdered by Cromwell.

Don't bring blue cheese into it. I love blue cheese. :pac:

Ah but they deserved it for the accent :pac:

Very strange example to be using as a comparison to Sands though.

And Airey Neave was not the only one of her friends killed by the PIRA. No wonder she was security conscious. We should be thankful she stood up the the PIRA and done our dirty work in dealing with them. This thread is full of hippoctrites. It was ok - as sometimes happened in the 1970's and 80's - when our own Gardai and army killed some PIRA, but not ok when our neighbours did it in self defence?

People decry our state bailing out our failed banking system, but wanted the UK to continually bail out the failed UK mining system? Make your mind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Margaret Thatcher, love her or loathe her, was one of the most influential people (forget politician) of the 20th century - a woman playing in a "man's world" who not only reshaped the UK, but was a powerful figure internationally who was instrumental in ending the Cold War

She transformed the UK from a nation that was on its knees and could well have ended up a basket case like Greece (or even "modern" Ireland?) had she not had the determination to stand up to the Unions and demand that people contribute positively to the state - it's ironic the complaining about this on this forum today considering the never-ending stream of whinging about welfare spongers, single mothers and what not.

All this bile is ridiculous given half of you were no doubt toddlers (if even around in those days - I was born in the mid-70s myself so was aware of the fall of the Berlin Wall and other key events of the 80s.. plus I've always been interested in modern history) when she was in power, and you're looking at her actions with the attitudes of a society 30 years older - rife with political correctness and more "enlightened" than the early to late 80s that we're talking about.. a time when homosexuality wasn't accepted - by anyone. A time when military action to solve disputes was deemed acceptable statecraft (the situation in NK at the moment for example would never have gotten as far as it has back then).

As for the Irish question.. ye all seem to conveniently forget that the Irish "soldiers" weren't angels either and again, military action and occupation was still deemed acceptable in those days - although as society "evolved" it's become less so, hence eventual peace talks and now the other extreme where the aforementioned NK despot is threatening the Asian/American seaboard with nuclear weapons while the International Community stands around tut-tutting about it.

She was far from perfect, but I don't think even her most loyal supporters have claimed that (certainly not in anything I've seen today), but she was what the UK - possibly the world if we consider the threat of nuclear Armageddon which was very real in those days) needed in her time and even her critics have acknowledged that .. even if they don't necessarily agree with her methods in the fullness of time.

If we had politicians with even a fraction of her steel we'd be in a much better place than the spineless corrupt servile bunch we are stuck with now.

But by all means, continue the abuse AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You wanna just... leave her out? Think of the smell...

Ah leave it ouuuuuuuuuuu