Maggie Thatcher death discussion thread - Mod rules in first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

getzls wrote: »
    Hardly a supporter of terrorism, she fought the IRA.

This bit about "everybody" knew about collusion?

Apart from the odd case there is no proof.

Tell a lie often often enough does not make it true.

She supported Pinochet, called Nelion Mandela a terrorist and criticised the IRA. She was a messed up old sod to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

Grayson wrote: »
    No stooping involved. I'd like to think I could aim a stream. Unless I was drunk. Then peig may have her revenge.

:D But in all seriousness, let the past go, its not going to make the past any better :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Steve O wrote: »
    Who cares if she ruined people's lives, supported a racist, fascist, organisation and was anti-Irish in every way?

Shure she did loads for wimminz rights, even though her party was pro-conservative. So much so, that I'm gonna whack on some beyonce and howl independent woman in tribute.

What are you talking about? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

She did treat the working class with contempt though she didn't dare put into place some of the policies of to-days Tory goverment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

The extreme left have always wanted their classless society and they have it today with some of the things said about Lady Thatcher.

In a week where we learned the true dealings of the Mick Philpott, Thatcher was the one that wanted people to rise above being a member of the welfare state and leeching off the system, the underclasses. She wanted to crush the Philpotts of this world into joining society. Comply or die.

She wanted to improve society, she wanted to push people into improving themselves, upskilling and upskilling the nation, to improve the nation.

She ended the senseless cries to keep the coal mining industry alive. They wanted to extract every ounce of coal out of those mines until there was none left, and then what? Who will the miners blame then? They were sucking resources out of the land and out of the public exchequer. It needed to end at sometime and Thatcher was the only one who had the courage to stand up to them and to smash the unions holding the country to ransom.

She stood up to terrorists. She would not give in to their emotional black mail. Remember these people were in prison for a reason. What if she did give into the suicide strikers? They would want MORE, MORE, MORE! Black mailing Thatchers country into submission. She never surrendered, she didnt even blink.

She said NO, NO, NO to Europe. She Said NO, NO, NO to the European currency and look how that ended up. Look how Europe has ended up? and look who will be leaving Europe soon enough? The UK and by referendum, the will of the people.

She aligned herself with ropey world wide characters. Why? Because it was in the best interests of the British nation. It didnt matter if it was morally right or not, A British life was worth 1 million of theirs under Thatcher. We would like to think our governments would do the same.

She may have passed but her legacy will live forever and no little gatherings will ever change that. No hipsters copying and pasting things on social network sites will ever change that. She lived, she changed the world, she was right, SHE WON! and will her legacy die? NO NO NO :)

PS I disagree with her over Gay rights etc

I wouldn't really like to live in a state whereby the government equates 1 life in the state as equal to a million outside it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Don't care who was the one before her but the one after her was John Major ( let's not forget he narrowly escaped a direct attack just like his predecessor )who finaly grabbed hold of a few nettles in relation to Northern Ireland but ran out of steam towards the end of his tenure and it took Tony Blair's comfortable majority to get matters moving again from a UK point of view.

Unfortunately blair threw money at everything (oh you're an unemployed black lesbian - best to set up some sort of quango to discuss this and see what sort of financial aid you need) and the current government there will be an age trying to bring it back again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I find it funny people bashing Maggie for a culture of 'greed'.

How many of us would switch jobs for an increase of 3k a year? I'd certainly prefer 31k to 28k. Greedy? Yeah, i'd prefer more.

How many of us would take 2 jobs if we had time and double our money?

We all want more, that's just the way it is. Sure, things like job satisfaction and job location matter, but very few of us would turn down an extra few quid a year.

The common perception of greed seems to be the rich bankers and stuff but we're all in the same boat. If we can get a few quid more we'd take it. Whether that's a 3k increase or a 500k increase, whatever we are paid few of us would turn down more. And why should we? It's a short life and the more money we have for ourselves and our families makes life easier.

If that's Maggies "fault" then i forgive her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

Guys! Guys!, Where's the love?

Oh, here it is......

Although as someone who grew up during the Thatcher years, the ironing is strong in this one.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 CelticDragon7

In my opinion history will remember that she ruled with a lack of compassion and an unwillingness to compromise. But a 'true' opponent would show her that compassion. RIP Iron Lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

getzls wrote: »
    She did treat the working class with contempt though she didn't dare put into place some of the policies of to-days Tory goverment.

Never mind their policies! For all her talk regarding privilege and the ingrained sense of entitlement which was supposedly strangling Britain, she didn't exactly do very much to set a top-down example for those guilty of it.

Everyone around her was privileged... most 'entitled' themselves to vast expense and retirement packages while shunting the working classes who actually needed assistance at the time. Her legacy in that regard is still alive and kicking in the UK. Not that it's any more uncommon here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I love this post, such a right wing caricature that you almost wonder if it's a wind up merchant.
    The extreme left have always wanted their classless society and they have it today with some of the things said about Lady Thatcher.

:D Apparently we've 7 classes now.
    In a week where we learned the true dealings of the Mick Philpott, Thatcher was the one that wanted people to rise above being a member of the welfare state and leeching off the system, the underclasses. She wanted to crush the Philpotts of this world into joining society. Comply or die.

Typical using an extreme example and combine with a bit of social Darwinism. People like the Philpott's existed before the welfare state and they will in the future, it's totally irrelevant to any points about welfare.

You see this with many hard line right wingers, they aren't really opposed to the cost of the welfare state as most of it is spent on pensioners, but the very idea and existence of it. £53 a week is hardly contributing to the existence of the Philpott's of this world.
    She wanted to improve society, she wanted to push people into improving themselves, upskilling and upskilling the nation, to improve the nation.

She ended the senseless cries to keep the coal mining industry alive. They wanted to extract every ounce of coal out of those mines until there was none left, and then what? Who will the miners blame then? They were sucking resources out of the land and out of the public exchequer. It needed to end at sometime and Thatcher was the only one who had the courage to stand up to them and to smash the unions holding the country to ransom.

Nothing wrong with upskilling and all that speak. It's ironic that while she broke the Unions stranglehold, British industry continued to decline under her policies, but some don't see that, all they see is well the Unions lost.
    She stood up to terrorists. She would not give in to their emotional black mail. Remember these people were in prison for a reason. What if she did give into the suicide strikers? They would want MORE, MORE, MORE! Black mailing Thatchers country into submission. She never surrendered, she didnt even blink.

Typical attitude, calling the hunger strikers suicide strikers, no understanding of Irish issues whatsoever.
    She said NO, NO, NO to Europe. She Said NO, NO, NO to the European currency and look how that ended up. Look how Europe has ended up? and look who will be leaving Europe soon enough? The UK and by referendum, the will of the people.

Another caricature. She supported the Single European Act, what so many British Euroskeptics now hate, supported continued membership in 75, she just hated Britain subsidising it.
    She aligned herself with ropey world wide characters. Why? Because it was in the best interests of the British nation. It didnt matter if it was morally right or not, A British life was worth 1 million of theirs under Thatcher. We would like to think our governments would do the same.

Yeah, damn those moral dilemma thingeys, self interest is the be all and end all, full stop. I mean Pol Pot, best interests of old blighty and all that, sorry about the millions who died, couldn't be helped old chap.
    She may have passed but her legacy will live forever and no little gatherings will ever change that. No hipsters copying and pasting things on social network sites will ever change that. She lived, she changed the world, she was right, SHE WON! and will her legacy die? NO NO NO

And winning is everything and feck the consequences. Looking at the world today and the consequences of Thatcher and Reaganomics, it looks a pyrrhic victory.
    PS I disagree with her over Gay rights etc

That's nice.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

I am glad she is gone.

She can never be forgiven for deregulating the banks and financial markets(The so called financial 'Big Bang' of the 27 October 1986) which is a direct cause of the present global recession. Our children's children will be paying for her extreme right wing doctrinaire stupidity.

And she hated the Irish....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

As much as the Irish hated the English?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I am glad she is gone.

She can never be forgiven for deregulating the banks and financial markets(The so called financial 'Big Bang' of the 27 October 1986) which is a direct cause of the present global recession. Our children's children will be paying for her extreme right wing doctrinaire stupidity.

Tony Blair's love affair with the financial institutions played a bigger part. When the US was bringing in things like Sarbanes Oxley, the UK under Blair was reducing regulation. The number of american bankers swanning around Hampstead will testify to that.

and why did she hate the Irish, or is another one of the many "If we say it enough times it must be true" claims on these threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Thatcher's Free Market Epically failed a few years ago - why are people celebrating it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

Just catching up on this thread and I have a question that someone could kindly answer.

How is boards.ie full of threads abusing the Irish government for using public funds to bail out a failed banking industry, and yet this thread is full of people slagging Maggie for doing exactly the opposite and refusing to use public funds to prop up a failed mining industry.

Make your mind up, like!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Other than most of the English speaking country's like America , Australia and Canada , she wasn't fond of Europe or Europeans in general and made it be known when she had to visit on EEC issues so any contempt she had for the Irish would be on equal par and same for other European country's ...she was the epitome of what might be called a '' true blue Brit ''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Just catching up on this thread and I have a question that someone could kindly answer.

How is boards.ie full of threads abusing the Irish government for using public funds to bail out a failed banking industry, and yet this thread is full of people slagging Maggie for doing exactly the opposite and refusing to use public funds to prop up a failed mining industry.

Make your mind up, like!!

Because everyone on boards is a hypocrite,every single person is.

Is that the answer you needed?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

BNP fred supports Thatcher, theres a surprise. Not surprising seeing the FG followers on boards.ie defending her either typical of that "party" and their ilk.

mod:
    banned.

this old chestnut! On what do you base that comment? The fact that she hated the IRA?

Because everyone on boards is a hypocrite,every single person is.

Is that the answer you needed?

It'll do, I guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭ZeRoY

this old chestnut! On what do you base that comment? The fact that she hated the IRA?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11598877

Enough?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Well shes dead now......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Tony Blair's love affair with the financial institutions played a bigger part. When the US was bringing in things like Sarbanes Oxley, the UK under Blair was reducing regulation. The number of american bankers swanning around Hampstead will testify to that.

and why did she hate the Irish, or is another one of the many "If we say it enough times it must be true" claims on these threads?

Blair in recent interviews has become more or less a disciple of Thatcher. He adapted Thatcher values to new Labour and despite the evidence that it played a big part in the worldwide crash, he believes more and blames others, rather than take a bit of the blame himself.

Worrying similarities between both, it's always "them's" fault, far from revisiting my beliefs I'll just keep on blaming.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

ZeRoY wrote: »

Where does it say in there that she hated the Irish? By 'the Irish', I assumed you meant the Irish people.

DB10 wrote: »
    BNP fred supports Thatcher, theres a surprise. Not surprising seeing the FG followers on boards.ie defending her either typical of that "party" and their ilk.

stupid post is stupid to be honest. Calling me BNP Fred is not only insulting, it makes you look stupid, because anyone that is familiar with my posts will know that is very much not the case.

The problem with threads like this, is that so many people spout utter bull****, that to try and get some sort of balance, you end up unwillingly sticking up for someone you have no love for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

what i cant understand is if she was so hated by the british people, how did she get three terms in office and basically ran britain for 21 years.

now im no fan of thatcher and wont lose any sleep with her being dead, but can anyone answer this for me because i wouldnt be too educated in her policies but there must of been something that kept her in power for that long.

Her largest vote was just after the falklands where she got 42%.
    The whole Pinochet thing is overplayed too. She had tea with him on a couple of occasions and Pinochet lent them intelligence and radar assistance in the Falklands War

She lifted the arms embargo on Chile.

getzis wrote:
    This bit about "everybody" knew about collusion?

Apart from the odd case there is no proof

Classic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

stupid post is stupid to be honest. Calling me BNP Fred is not only insulting, it makes you look stupid, because anyone that is familiar with my posts will know that is very much not the case.

The problem with threads like this, is that so many people spout utter bull****, that to try and get some sort of balance, you end up unwillingly sticking up for someone you have no love for.

I'm not one to usually fight your corner there Fred, but I agree, no call for that. I do perceive you as British and proud and that's a position you are perfectly entitled to hold.

As for this Thatcher business, I think this is an issue that a lot of British and Irish can stand united on.

K-9 wrote: »
    Blair in recent interviews has become more or less a disciple of Thatcher. He adapted Thatcher values to new Labour and despite the evidence that it played a big part in the worldwide crash, he believes more and blames others, rather than take a bit of the blame himself.

Worrying similarities between both, it's always "them's" fault, far from revisiting my beliefs I'll just keep on blaming.

Blair was so keen to be seen as "New" Labour he turned into more of a capitalist than the Tories.

There is a great book called City Boy by Geraint Anderson that goes in to life in the city under Labour". well worth a read.

The big bang had to happen and whilst I don't don't it helped shape the finance world today, to say it directly caused the recession today is like Ireland during the EU caused the housing boom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

K-9 wrote: »

'thatchers cuckoo' as I always think of him.