If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I nominate CM for the chair.:p

And it's pronounced com-a--teee...e..e

Is it an armchair? :D

Already have one unwanted non paying job :pac:

Better be a big whack of cash and a golden handshake at the end of this one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    was in house cooking dinner and on boards when my husband ran in, he over turned the slurry tanker:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: fook sake, lucky no one was killed, he was going in the short cut to a field - which is up a hill- and the tanker started pulling him back... pulling broke on the tanker and tanker ended up on its side in the ditch... we got it back on its wheels.. lucky it didnt go over on side where the side filler is. Pulled it up to yard with digger and loaded it on lowloader, gone now to get pulling welded... just glad no one was killed, to top it off when we arrived in to yard with the tanker there was a salesman there looking for the boss....still shaking, so can only imagine what my oh is like

I'm glad everyone is ok but I'm awful sorry for that poor salesman. Did you actually hand him his head on a plate or was it just going home with his teeth in his hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

I'm glad everyone is ok but I'm awful sorry for that poor salesman. Did you actually hand him his head on a plate or was it just going home with his teeth in his hat.
    oh dealt with him, i was legging it to pick up kids from school- he was lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

was in house cooking dinner and on boards when my husband ran in, he over turned the slurry tanker:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: fook sake, lucky no one was killed, he was going in the short cut to a field - which is up a hill- and the tanker started pulling him back... pulling broke on the tanker and tanker ended up on its side in the ditch... we got it back on its wheels.. lucky it didnt go over on side where the side filler is. Pulled it up to yard with digger and loaded it on lowloader, gone now to get pulling welded... just glad no one was killed, to top it off when we arrived in to yard with the tanker there was a salesman there looking for the boss....still shaking, so can only imagine what my oh is like

Really lucky escape. Great to get away with just the pull for repair.
    You'll have to keep him out on the road earning, safer that way :)

oh dealt with him, i was legging it to pick up kids from school- he was lucky

That's a newish tank to suffer a catastrophic failure like that. I think i'd contact the manufacturers if I were you.

if the pulling hadnt of gone the tractor would have gone with it...will ring the lad we bought it off later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

This is why farms are so dangerous, risks in so many jobs that we do. You got to be always thinking about the risks, if there is any chance at all of something as such happening, just drive around the long way. My dad who isn't the youngest or most agile anymore has had too many moments while up on the tractor lately. I try to leave him just at the stuff that he can't do much harm at, which leaves me with all the slurry/agitating etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Is the pulling the towing eye? Never heard that phrase before.

yes,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

feck what happened the dinner:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Timmaay wrote: »
    This is why farms are so dangerous, risks in so many jobs that we do. You got to be always thinking about the risks..
    But how do you get rid of the risk? I know at work, as part of Health And Safety, we identify risks and then try and engineer them out. Try and come uo with a better way of doing things. We even got instructions on how to use the staircase - 3 pts of contact and all that.

pakalasa wrote: »
    But how do you get rid of the risk? I know at work, as part of Health And Safety, we identify risks and then try and engineer them out. Try and come uo with a better way of doing things. We even got instructions on how to use the staircase - 3 pts of contact and all that.

You'd have to wonder whether a person who can't navigate a staircase (with the ability to do so!) should be out on their own at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Good god the weather down in west cork today is deadly ,wind and cold driving rain it will kill every animal in the country.and not a rib of grass growing.

Different day here, it's windy and cool. But it's dry and in some shelter it even feels a bit warm - compared to lately I suppose.

Just checked Met forecast, cold until Sunday anyway. Warm up to feck so we can grow some grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

If the tank was going to overturn it was going to take the tractor with it or the hitch to break some where, dont think the manufacturers is to blame .

he just relived the moment, he went in the gap, foot to the floor , tractor wouldnt go up hill, he went into reverse and tanker started sliding, nothing he could do to stop it, tractor was up in the air and when tanker hit the ditch the eye of the pulling broke and dropped the tractor down, tanker turned over in slowmotion and he got walloped around the cab by the drop... he's gone to the shop for wine, said his back is killing him... got a new pulling "eye" 150 fitted.... had to get a new pto shaft aswell .... he's going to try it out now to see if its ok... could have been alot worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Massey10 wrote: »
    If the tank was going to overturn it was going to take the tractor with it or the hitch to break some where, dont think the manufacturers is to blame .
    Saw a new massey in a dealers yard that was a right off, he was saying that the swivel hitches are allowing the tankers to turn over bringing the tractor with them.

Nearly every lgp tank round here has been rolled at some stage.
    Neighbours hispec tanks hitch had to be replaced last year and it only spreads his own slurry from 100 cows , tank was 3-4 years old

Massey10 wrote: »
    the hitch on the tractor must be made of serious stuff not to break, tanker is 2600 gallons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

You'd have to wonder whether a person who can't navigate a staircase (with the ability to do so!) should be out on their own at all?
    Well, you know how it goes. Someone trips going down the stairs and gets hurt. The company has provided proper training, so the individual is liable.

leg wax wrote: »
    feck what happened the dinner:P
    twas ok was only a microwave dinner today, arse was boiled out of kettle on aga though

to top the whole day off, he went to collect fertiliser after he dropped tanker at engineering place, i had an order number and everything, they had none... fookers, thats the second time they've done that..rang sales rep, he couldnt believe it why authorise an order if you dont have the stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

The new agri-spread tankers look the job. Very low center of gravity compared to the standard tankers. What they're like in use I couldn't tell you, but they should be well made, considering they're coming from the same family as Major tankers do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

two and a half hours to wash one bay in the shed, its fit for a king to sleep in though.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Well, you know how it goes. Someone trips going down the stairs and gets hurt. The company has provided proper training, so the individual is liable.

I know what you're saying. It's a sad state of affairs that things have got so bad. I'm pro safety, but common sense needs to be given a larger hand in life.

It's like the warning on the pack of peanuts "May contain nuts", I should hope so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

he's gone to the shop for wine, said his back is killing him...

He'll be sore tomorrow. It could have been a lot worse though. Glad to see all is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

finished fencing a paddock, gona go hell for leather with the stake driver tomorrow:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Bit of a long shot lads but were any of ye at the bull sale in ennis today? There was a pirate bull lot no.15 and id like to know what he made if ye were, Just missed him going in by a few minutes :(

td5man wrote: »
    Saw a new massey in a dealers yard that was a right off, he was saying that the swivel hitches are allowing the tankers to turn over bringing the tractor with them.

There's only been one incident like that locally here and it was the lack of a swivel hitch that was blamed for bringing the tractor over. Thinking was that the swivel allows the tanker to go without necesscarily bringing tractor.:confused:

Bizzum wrote: »
    He'll be sore tomorrow. It could have been a lot worse though. Glad to see all is OK.
    yup, he said it probably sorted out his piles:D