If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

God it perishing outside, friggan east wind is back, disappointing after lovely day yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

God it perishing outside, friggan east wind is back, disappointing lovely day yesterday
    yup had to go back for my bodywarmer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

whelan1 wrote: »
    yup had to go back for my bodywarmer
    I found it bitter today too. The sun we've had puts me in great form. But you know the saying, "Don't remove the clout till May is out" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Catphish wrote: »
    . But you know the saying, "Don't remove the clout till May is out" ;)

I've heard it as:
    Don't cast a clout till THE May is out. A reference to the whitethorn flowering.

I wonder which makes most sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

How many metres of a stone and pipe drain will a ton of stone do? The drain will be 3ft deep and filled to 6" from the surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

leg wax wrote: »
    i think there is 4 stq calves , have some maserati and kyr calves,the plan is to leave off the part bull staight away this year and go all part for heifers.

I thought you were all STQ anymore,would he still be your first choice blue sire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

just do it wrote: »
    How many metres of a stone and pipe drain will a ton of stone do? The drain will be 3ft deep and filled to 6" from the surface.

Around 3.5m depends an width of bucket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

caseman wrote: »
    Around 3.5m depends an width of bucket.

Angus are hardy breed, 11 year old Angus went down on slats on Thursday, calcium shot and got her up off slats, induced on Friday, calved on Saturday, was down for another 12 hours after calving, she up and about now like it never happened,
    Anyway she still not cleaned, part still hanging out, how long would ye leave before taking cleaning from her, I know they are slower to clean after inducing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

Inside 24 hours is the best time.The sooner you do it ,it will sort of be all coming in one piece.Longer time and it does incline to be coming in bits.I know some auld lads that would never take it from them "they will shed it themselves inside of nine days".Really hacks the cow i find if not taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Inside 24 hours is the best time.The sooner you do it ,it will sort of be all coming in one piece.Longer time and it does incline to be coming in bits.I know some auld lads that would never take it from them "they will shed it themselves inside of nine days".Really hacks the cow i find if not taken

If you pull it to soon the cleanings is still attached to the uterus via the buttons and you could actually tear it. If you do this cow will get pertanitis. Our vet says six day minimum.

mf240 wrote: »
    If you pull it to soon the cleanings is still attached to the uterus via the buttons and you could actually tear it. If you do this cow will get pertanitis. Our vet says six day minimum.

7 to 9 days. If I recall, antibiotics slow down the process so avoid their use. I'd chance a good wash out when she cleans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

Its amazing how vets differ.Mine has taken two cleanings for me inside 24 hours and no problems afterwards:)

Doctors differ and patients die :^)

Nearly as bad as random posters on t'internet!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Bizzum wrote: »
    Doctors differ and patients die :^)

Nearly as bad as random posters on t'internet!!

My vet said leave 6 days and if still not done he will take, seems to be annoying her

Another cow calved there now, 4 to go , bb are hardy, no sooner out than up looking to suck,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

was out calving a cow (nice red lim heifer) and could see a red glow .. someone set a malicious furze/mountain fire @ 1am, really hope they catch who is doing this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

just do it wrote: »

Rough rule of thumb is 2 tonne of stone per cubic metre.

never take them before they are ready, if not dropped here after 2 days i put in pessaries each day until they do, then they get a washout and a shot of estrumate... if cow is sick will get antibiotics also, only in horses is it really dangerous if they hold on to them longer than a few hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

leg wax wrote: »
    i had a good day in new ross fat stock sale today , first and second in cow class, and second in beef heifer class , blueheifer 495 kg 1350 happy enough with the day,a full mart as well.

Well done leg wax.

Heard they were very nice stock all right.

Was a while before it was over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Bodacious wrote: »
    was out calving a cow (nice red lim heifer) and could see a red glow .. someone set a malicious furze/mountain fire @ 1am, really hope they catch who is doing this..

Does the fact that your post has been ignored mean that there is a silent approval for this practise by our fellow posters here on boards?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

DAS in the door this morning.

As my friend said, sure it's nice to get it before the next round is due :eek:

That word needs banning from the internet.

Just write any ould thing and stick FACT in there, and it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Have a cow in a bad way with ecoli mastitis at the minute. Spend yesterday and today stripping her out every few hours, had the vet out twice now with her, but she is still going downhill. Really frustrating how long you can spend at something as such, was mean to go to college today but had to stay at home as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

Timmaay wrote: »
    Have a cow in a bad way with ecoli mastitis at the minute. Spend yesterday and today stripping her out every few hours, had the vet out twice now with her, but she is still going downhill. Really frustrating how long you can spend at something as such, was mean to go to college today but had to stay at home as a result.

Cobactin and keep her hydrated- if no blood your ok

That word needs banning from the internet.

And the words could, might or may in relation to any item about health research or foods/food research.

Jaysus we'll have to start a com-it-eeeee if many more words get included :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

stanflt wrote: »
    Cobactin and keep her hydrated- if no blood your ok

Was giving her Terrexine, have a box of Cobactin also, they be better? She drank lastnight but wouldn't drink anything today, vet said to dose her with salt, and to call him again if she doesn't drink. He's given her enough drugs to knock out an elephant also! No blood thankfully, but not getting much more than a cupful each time I strip her.

Jaysus we'll have to start a com-it-eeeee if many more words get included :pac:

I nominate CM for the chair.:p

And it's pronounced com-a--teee...e..e

was in house cooking dinner and on boards when my husband ran in, he over turned the slurry tanker:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: fook sake, lucky no one was killed, he was going in the short cut to a field - which is up a hill- and the tanker started pulling him back... pulling broke on the tanker and tanker ended up on its side in the ditch... we got it back on its wheels.. lucky it didnt go over on side where the side filler is. Pulled it up to yard with digger and loaded it on lowloader, gone now to get pulling welded... just glad no one was killed, to top it off when we arrived in to yard with the tanker there was a salesman there looking for the boss....still shaking, so can only imagine what my oh is like