Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HTC One [Megathread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭cargo

beno619 wrote: »
    Do you have the temperature readings?
    Most likely it's just because aluminium conducts heat better than plastic, so it's going to feel warmer, but that heat is being dissipated and taken away from the internals of the phone.
    DarkBlonde wrote: »
    Yeah you're probably right thanks. I just checked the temps and it peaked at 35c.

Yeah I noticed the same straight away also. (upgraded from a DHD).

Unlike the others in a few previous threads I have managed to run the battery out in a working day. Took it off charge at 7am and was on it's knees by 9pm. However I was using it heavily all day as i was on the road and I purposely chose not to use my charger. It's a great improvement on the old DHD as it's battery was fairly shot.

Today however is another working day. Phone off charge at 8am and is on about and I'm on 69% now. Didn't do nearly as much browsing / streaming etc but probably did talk as much on the phone. Also used it as a sat nav on Saturday when I collected it and did the usual messing about with it and it kept up for about 3/4 of the day (wasn't fully charged when I collected it) so very happy with it on the battery front so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seamey beag84

My HTC HD2 is finally on the way out.. Its making a crazy humming noise when I answer a call. To be fair, I pushed the limits of the phone way beyond what it was built for. Love the phone! so now I'm interested in the One. My only question is - what could the Google X phone have that this doesn't have? And will the extras really make much if a difference..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭beno619

My HTC HD2 is finally on the way out.. Its making a crazy humming noise when I answer a call. To be fair, I pushed the limits of the phone way beyond what it was built for. Love the phone! so now I'm interested in the One. My only question is - what could the Google X phone have that this doesn't have? And will the extras really make much if a difference..

The rumoured specs are pretty crazy tho only definite IMHO is that they'll still a crazy big battery in it and possibly stock android depending on if this is a Google or Motorola device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seamey beag84

The battery life I think is the best selling point of a smartphone at this stage. All this Sense and Touchwiz craic is nonsense to me. Is it possible for HTC to make a better capacity battery later, has any previous phone done this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭DarkBlonde

antodeco wrote: »
    How can I check the hottest battery temp it reached?
    I have gsam battery monitor and read the temp from the graph.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,692 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Currently on 14% battery since 7am. Heavier usage including streaming music and around 60 texts with vibrate on. I wanted to push the phone as much as I could! My iPhone would have died already by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

jones wrote: »
    whats everyones thoughts on blinkfeed? i think it looks good but i just use a different home screen with the good auld clock as my homepage ha.

Don't know what to make of this. I like the idea and it looks good, but I use Flipboard anyway, which does pretty much the same thing, except it's more customisable. It's annoying that you are so limited in your sources to customise the feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Lads, does anyone know when the next stock of HTC One phones on prepay will be available on Meteor? I was in one of the stores and they estimated a couple of weeks.

Finally rooted yesterday, had a bit of trouble with the drivers for my new laptop. Even though HTC Sync Manager was working, my phone wasn't recognised when in bootloader.

In any case, it's great to have all my Titanium backups on my phone, along with Extended Quick Settings and Advanced Power Menu. Also, good being able to long press back button for menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Basil3 wrote: »
    Finally rooted yesterday, had a bit of trouble with the drivers for my new laptop. Even though HTC Sync Manager was working, my phone wasn't recognised when in bootloader.

In any case, it's great to have all my Titanium backups on my phone, along with Extended Quick Settings and Advanced Power Menu. Also, good being able to long press back button for menu.

Going to do this this evening I reckon. Got the phone yesterday and was going to hold out, but have decided I want to get it root it. More nervous over rooting this one for some reason. It never cost me a thought on my previous Desire, Sensation and One X.

Was it relatively straight forward, (apart from the drivers etc) and did you just follow the XDA guidelines?

Going to do this this evening I reckon. Got the phone yesterday and was going to hold out, but have decided I want to get it root it. More nervous over rooting this one for some reason. It never cost me a thought on my previous Desire, Sensation and One X.

Was it relatively straight forward, (apart from the drivers etc) and did you just follow the XDA guidelines?

I followed the same process as with the One X, using htcdev.com. Only had problems because I have a new laptop and there were issues with Windows 8, being 64 bit and/or USB 3.0. Got it sorted in the end though....let me know if you have any probs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Anyone buy this phone from o2 and not receive a phone charger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭allen175

I read up on that before, doing a quick google search shows up that HTC and o2 have agreed not to supply chargers, more here http://www.phonearena.com/news/O2s-HTC-One-X-owners-no-charger-no-problem_id38886/comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭calabi yau

For those looking for toggle settings, was notified of a lovely little app on my blinkfeed no less

http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-57577775-285/get-android-4.2-quick-settings-on-any-device/

Smashy smashy :(

htcpo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Smashy smashy :(

htcpo.jpg

Ah jaysus, how did you manage that ???? :(

Not mine thankfully! It was on XDA developers. Straight drop down on its face (nowhere near the edges).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

Ouch. That's sickening. It got a 1 star repairability score from iFixit too.

I've been minding my N4 like a newborn baby since i got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Not mine thankfully! It was on XDA developers. Straight drop down on its face (nowhere near the edges).

Ouch! I'm nearly scared to leave the house until I get a cover and leaving it down on soft surfaces only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭DarkBlonde

Thats scary looking. I'm still waiting on a case for mine. Until it arrives I leave it in the box when im not using it. A bit extreme but better to be safe than sorry. Nothing worse than the feeling you get when your screen cracks. Sickner.

The biggest issue im finding with reagrds to the design, is that its not very grippy. The alluminium is very slippy in your hand. Nearly dropped it when trying to hit the power button when using one hand. I ordered my case on Monday, so hopefully it will be at home today! :D

Where did you order from? I got one on eBay, coming from England. From experience, it takes a week. Ridiculous, considering I get stuff from NZ just as fast.

eBay too. Clear case I got. I just checked there and even though I bought it on Sunday it wasnt posted until Tuesday afternoon. God knows when Ill get it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

I generally get a skin for it, or get an invisishield and that generally solves the grip problem . Adds grip and protects the aluminium without adding bulk.

This is the one that I got for it

Hopefully its not too bulky.

I also changed my insurance over on to it. I have a ufirst account with Ulster Bank, so you get free phone insurance off them. Stuck in the IMEI and it recognised it straight away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭jones

i like the look of that case!! there's nothing worse than getting a lovely looking phone then covering it in some gaudy case - kinda the defeats the purpose of said phone to begin with ha! might get one of those cases though.

Just wondering when are we supposed to be getting the 4.2.2 update? i've read its anywhere from a month to 2? only a small update but i'd love if they brought back hold back key for options. the onscreen key seems like a step backwards to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Blinked_Missed It

Just to make One owners cringe and maybe a warning to get a case or insurance, a HTC One v iPhone 5 Drop test.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwE9PGDnlvs

Wondering though how they can call it a unibody when the front aluminium grills are shown in the video to be separate pieces as the lower flies off in a fall.

Anyone got a preference for phone insurance in Ireland as I reckon this phone may need it and a lot of the insurers I hear are rip-off merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Just to make One owners cringe and maybe a warning to get a case or insurance, a HTC One v iPhone 5 Drop test.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwE9PGDnlvs

Wondering though how they can call it a unibody when the front aluminium grills are shown in the video to be separate pieces as the lower flies off in a fall.

Anyone got a preference for phone insurance in Ireland as I reckon this phone may need it and a lot of the insurers I hear are rip-off merchants.

I also questioned it being called uni body. All this phone is is an aluminium back with plastic glued to it to form the sides fake grills (the speaker isn't nearly as big as the grills would suggest) made from aluminium stuck to the front with the screen stuck to the plastic in between the fake grills.

Notice also how the plastic rim cracked too.

All this I want a premium aluminium phone with a large screen, phone is as slippery as a bar of soap and the large screen makes it unwieldy to use with one hand makes people affraid to drop it, so they cover it in plastic anyway. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

Did you use parcel motel for it?

I've my One left in the drawer beside the bed for the week while I'm at work in case anything happens it. The biggest thing I need a cover for is to keep it clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Jesus Christ

Those drop tests are nonsense, if you're not using a rig to drop them then you simply can't compare.