Garda Sgts facing disciplinary hearing after walkout.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭frankie_fisher

I am sure they do care BUT I believe they care about their loved ones first.
    Anyway public sentiment won't pay their bills.
    Why have the Frontline people been hit hardest?

the frontline were overpaid compared to their counterparts in mainland europe up to lately , they are still ahead of them

its irrelevant how many cuts someone experiences , all that matters is how much they get paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

lol. That's like claiming a prisoners freedom is being denied because he broke the law - scandalous!!111!!!

Rubbish there's absolutely no comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Shatter and his puppet commissioner have managed to gel the entire force against them today! Talk about digging a hole for themselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

the frontline were overpaid compared to their counterparts in mainland europe up to lately , they are still ahead of them

its irrelevant how many cuts someone experiences , all that matters is how much they get paid

You better give the figures for Europe then if you're going to compare.
    Cost of houses, cars, food , doctors etc.

Really hate these comparisons with other places.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

you think europeans support the idea of ireland paying its police 25% more than they do

I would not think so. Thats why the troika / IMF / EU are putting pressure on the government to cut Garda and public service pay and pensions here.

Ah would you go away with that :pac:

during the run up to the croke park 2 agreement , for several weeks , we had on the hour reports about every minutia of detail relating to the negotiations , ingrid miley breathlessly reporting from siptu hq , such importance was attached to the whole thing , one would thing WW3 was imminent

what other sector of the economy earns such media focus ?

people are conditioned by rte into believing certain professions - sectors are especially worthy

hence the endless eulogising of the likes of the frontline which was coined by various unions but delivered by RTE

Shatter and his puppet commissioner have managed to gel the entire force against them today! Talk about digging a hole for themselves!

so what would you perfer , santa claus or bertie aherne as he was formally known , the man who endlessly gave out presents which the tax payer couldnt afford

during the run up to the croke park 2 agreement , for several weeks , we had on the hour reports about every minutia of detail relating to the negotiations , ingrid miley breathlessly reporting from siptu hq , such importance was attached to the whole thing , one would thing WW3 was imminent

what other sector of the economy earns such media focus ?

people are conditioned by rte into believing certain professions - sectors are especially worthy

hence the endless eulogising of the likes of the frontline which was coined by various unions but delivered by RTE

You are entitled to your opinion on that but i disagree.
    I can feel the hatred in the voice and tone of people like Pat Kenny and those Morning Ireland reporters who clearly, to me, have their claws sharpened.

You better give the figures for Europe then if you're going to compare.
    Cost of houses, cars, food , doctors etc.

Really hate these comparisons with other places.

the cost of living is a red herring , their is no entitlement to a particular salary based on the cost of living , canada has always been more expensive than the usa yet up until very recently , wages were always less , besides , the cost of living is the same for private sector aswell as public yet the public sector earns at least 30% more on average

like i said , cost of living is a red herring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

you think europeans support the idea of ireland paying its police 25% more than they do , if goverment decides to appease the guards , its only because they need them on side in the event of social unrest due to austerity

How does our politicians pay compare with what their European buddies get ?

You are entitled to your opinion on that but i disagree.
    I can feel the hatred in the voice and tone of people like Pat Kenny and those Morning Ireland reporters who clearly, to me, have their claws sharpened.

i can feel the haughty sense of disaproval in yours

HondaSami wrote: »
    How does our politicians pay compare with what their European buddies get ?

and your point is what

the cost of living is a red herring , their is no entitlement to a particular salary based on the cost of living , canada has always been more expensive than the usa yet up until very recently , wages were always less , besides , the cost of living is the same for private sector aswell as public yet the public sector earns at least 30% more on average

like i said , cost of living is a red herring

"The cost of living has nothing to do with it" :D

Would you buy the same car here or in Newry if you had a choice if that is the case?

i can feel the haughty sense of disaproval in yours

Yes indeed.
    I have always stood up and been counted when I saw a wrong.
    It's just my way.

I should have been a Garda :D

and your point is what

It's ok to compare some wages but not politicians pay ?
    why are our politician paid so well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭JRant

eagle eye wrote: »
    What age are you?

33, why?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Rubbish there's absolutely no comparison.

they walked out of the talks. They gave up their right to have a say so they can't whinge now about it.

so what would you perfer , santa claus or bertie aherne as he was formally known , the man who endlessly gave out presents which the tax payer couldnt afford

Just fair play, respect and a bit of dignity!

they walked out of the talks. They gave up their right to have a say so they can't whinge now about it.

They were not in the talks.
    Rooms in a corridor adjoining the room where the talks were being held and getting feedback is NOT being in the talks.

I actually believed they were in there until a week or two ago.
    Shatter was bullsh1tting all along.
    I had this confirmed by a Union man I know and who was close to the action.

all our public servants are paid above the european average , politicans included , luckily their are a lot less politicans than guards etc , this thread isnt about politicans , if you wish to open one about politicans pay , il contribute

Just fair play, respect and a bit of dignity!

all subjective ideals

i believe guards are paid too well , again of course subjective

all our public servants are paid above the european average , politicans included , luckily their are a lot less politicans than guards etc

Thankfully. FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I've converted the amounts to euro's. They have a 10 point pay scale
    UK 15 January 2013

Starting salaries will be cut by up to £4,259 (€5044) from April, making the starting salary £19,000 (€22,501). This salary will be given to those with the least or no relevant experience - such as those who join at 18. But some recruits will start on £22,000 (€26,054) if they have some experience, such as time spent as a special constable. The change in starting salaries will save an estimated £140m over five years.

But the deal also means that many constables will have the opportunity to move to the top of the pay scale - currently around £36,000 (€42,633) - more quickly

Ireland
    CURRENT PAY GARDA RANK 2013

On attestation -27,100
    After 22 weeks -29,792
    After 1 year -31,442.............................

After 5 years -42,609
    After 10 years -44,744
    After 17 years - 48,695

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Simply put, they set their own pay levels.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Boombastic wrote: »
    UK 15 January 2013

Starting salaries will be cut by up to £4,259 (€5044) from April, making the starting salary £19,000 (€22,501). This salary will be given to those with the least or no relevant experience - such as those who join at 18. But some recruits will start on £22,000 (€26,054) if they have some experience, such as time spent as a special constable. The change in starting salaries will save an estimated £140m over five years.

But the deal also means that many constables will have the opportunity to move to the top of the pay scale - currently around £36,000 (€42,633) - more quickly

Ireland

On attestation -27,100
    After 22 weeks -29,792

After 5 years -42,609
    After 10 years -44,744
    After 17 years - 48,695

Can you find out if the Garda get an allowance for working in Dublin or on the border please. I know that police in London get more than other police.

Boombastic wrote: »
    UK 15 January 2013

Ireland

On attestation -27,100
    After 22 weeks -29,792

After 5 years -42,609
    After 10 years -44,744
    After 17 years - 48,695

This is before any deductions, the pay is not as good as some people make it out to be and the hours are hard to do, I know it's everyone choice and shift work is part of it but not everyone would do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,594 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I'm surprised that anyone here actually think's that the four Garda Sgts who walked out of the Annual Conference of their representative body (in line with the instructions of the members they were nominated to represent) when two invited guest speakers began to speak should face internal disciplinary action within the Garda Disciplinary Code.

To my mind, the conference was a private function held by the AGSI, not an official Garda function convened by the Minister or the Commissioner which the Sgts were ordered or obliged to attend. It might have been rude of them to walk out on the boss and the Govt Rep, but those two people were guests of the AGSI, who were the conveners of the conference.

It seem's to me that a complaint from either or both of the offended persons to the AGSI might be the better way to go about it, even if it included a PR briefing to the media about the complaint letters so the letters would be in the public domain.

aloyisious wrote: »
    I'm surprised that anyone here actually think's that the four Garda Sgts who walked out of the Annual Conference of their representative body (in line with the instructions of the members they were nominated to represent) when two invited guest speakers began to speak should face internal disciplinary action within the Garda Disciplinary Code.

To my mind, the conference was a private function held by the AGSI, not an official Garda function convened by the Minister or the Commissioner which the Sgts were ordered or obliged to attend. It might have been rude of them to walk out on the boss and the Govt Rep, but those two people were guests of the AGSI, who were the conveners of the conference.

It seem's to me that a complaint from either or both of the offended persons to the AGSI might be the better way to go about it, even if it included a PR briefing to the media about the complaint letters so the letters would be in the public domain.

the guards in question made a sharp ended political statement by staging a walkout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

They were not in the talks.
    Rooms in a corridor adjoining the room where the talks were being held and getting feedback is NOT being in the talks.

I actually believed they were in there until a week or two ago.
    Shatter was bullsh1tting all along.
    I had this confirmed by a Union man I know and who was close to the action.

So the AGSI lied? That's disgraceful on their part.

Maybe if the people of this country had the balls to stand up to politicans like the 4 AGSI members we wouldn't have the troika ramming austerity down our throats, guess its easier for some posters to be key board warriors and try and run down those who have the balls to do it, it's no co incidence that its those who face down criminals daily who are now standing up and being counted and calling halt and they will get great support both from gardai and the general public!