Ireland described as Member of the Home Nations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Really now? They haven't existed as independent nations for any great length of time in recent history - semi-autonomous regions at best.

Union has always been biased in favour of the larger party (England) and not a joining of "equals".

The union is more biased towards Scotland than England, especially since The Scottish government was formed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

gallag wrote: »
    I always call these islands as the home nations, nations means more than one nation, I could understand if someone said the home nation teams but I think saying home nations is reasonable and considering how important our wee islands are to each other and how intertwined our families are it shouldn't be a problem to refer to our separate nations under the warm heading of "home"

I might be miles off the mark here, but I wouldn't have thought this was a very general sweeping opinion across Ireland? Like I do get something said to me years ago, "why wouldn't ya support england sure, they're our nearest neighbours". That's grand. But to still be referred to as a Home Nation, really to me suggests that you're happy to be considered under an umbrella term for nations of Britain within the British isles... two terms which I simply cannot stand ROI being considered as.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

El Spearo wrote: »

I might be miles off the mark here, but I wouldn't have thought this was a very general sweeping opinion across Ireland? Like I do get something said to me years ago, "why wouldn't ya support england sure, they're our nearest neighbours". That's grand. But to still be referred to as a Home Nation, really to me suggests that you're happy to be considered under an umbrella term for nations of Britain within the British isles... two terms which I simply cannot stand ROI being considered as.
    I am from N.I and consider the Republic of ireland as a home nation, not as part of the UK or British but if ireland rugby or football are playing and there are no British teams involved I fully support Ireland. Simple.

Nodin wrote: »

...jaysus. Thats me shocked now.
    Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Why?

Sorry, I forgot the [/sarcasm] tags.

Nodin wrote: »

Sorry, I forgot the [/sarcasm] tags.
    Sorry bud, you have lost me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Sorry bud, you have lost me.

You're a unionist. Its about as shocking as rain raining. It was a sarcastic remark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I might be miles off the mark here, but I wouldn't have thought this was a very general sweeping opinion across Ireland?

Gallag is Irish British (in the same way as someone can be Welsh British) so you can see why it would be okay from his perspective.

I wouldn't be overly annoyed by it tbh. I don't really think of my fellow Atlantic Archipeligans as foreign foreign but that's probably because our cultures cross over quite a bit.

I am from N.I and consider the Republic of ireland as a home nation, not as part of the UK or British but if ireland rugby or football are playing and there are no British teams involved I fully support Ireland. Simple.

That is genuinely interesting to hear, as I would have assumed that very few consider Rep. of Ireland a Home Nation - simply because I associate the Home Nations as being explicitly under the British flag.

Also apologies if I type Ireland instead of ROI. Its just an error on my behalf...disambiguation is important here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Really now? They haven't existed as independent nations for any great length of time in recent history - semi-autonomous regions at best.

Union has always been biased in favour of the larger party (England) and not a joining of "equals".

I said nothing about being independent of Britain. Or equal partnership. I claim, as does everybody else with any knowledge of history or geography that Scotland and Wales are not in England, or part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭gouche

I always assumed a Home Nation was a nation of the British Isles - something which Ireland is apart of.

The British Isles is after all made up of the islands of Great Britain and Ireland.

I wouldn't consider myself British but the island of Ireland is part of the British Isles - from a geographic point of view at least.

That is genuinely interesting to hear, as I would have assumed that very few consider Rep. of Ireland a Home Nation - simply because I associate the Home Nations as being explicitly under the British flag.

[SIZE="1"]Also apologies if I type Ireland instead of ROI. Its just an error on my behalf...disambiguation is important here.[/SIZE]
    I see it simply as a term of endearment, our nations, though totally separate politically are very close and for hundred's of years our bloodlines have mixed and we as a people have used both islands as home for a long time, ireland is not British or part of the UK but it is a home nation to me.

[SIZE="1"]Also apologies if I type Ireland instead of ROI. Its just an error on my behalf...disambiguation is important here.[/SIZE]

Again why does anybody think that the term "home nations" makes any part of that group "owner" or superior to any other. I can see that with "British Isles" or people who refer to Britain as the mainland.

Home countries is fine. It's used in rugby every weekend if the 6N. It's to do with rugby history.

Would you not shout for the Irish rugby team against the other teams?

gouche wrote: »
    I always assumed a Home Nation was a nation of the British Isles - something which Ireland is apart of.

The British Isles is after all made up of the islands of Great Britain and Ireland.

I wouldn't consider myself British but the island of Ireland is part of the British Isles - from a geographic point of view at least.

This is something I am actually quite unclear about. Is ROI still a member of the British Isles? I know we are within the region which used to be known as the British Isles, but are we still? The name certainly suggests Islands belonging to Britain....which would be incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I dont really care, what bothers me is 93rd minute sickeners

actually.. I do care, and my proposal is a more regional 'British Isles' Group with maybe Faroe islands too where we can more consistently land 2nd spot because this European stuff is not working out for us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12020/8600809/National-fail

Now I'm not usually a stickler for these kind of things, but if someone calls me British I'm quick to correct them. It's not a matter of hating Britain, but instead a matter of being correct.

Would this bother many others? Or is it just me?
    ach, theres worse (i.e. "mainland" when used in certain contexts) and if anything it its a nice demonstration of the affinity that the brits have with Ireland.
    Theres just under 1 million folks living in Britain born on the island of Ireland and millions more 2nd or 3rd generation Anglo (/scot/ welsh) Irish.
    Theres so many Irish in Britain and we are so good as assimilating that officially in the UK we arent considered as an ethnic minority or immigrants in the same way as Indians or Pakistanis. Sure feck it, Irish can vote in Britain yet no other nationality can, and vice versa.

And thats leaving aside the fact that we (IRL/UK) are the little corner of europe which is, like it or not, distinguised from the rest of europe in speaking english (and eating a fried breakfast).
    The rest of europe revels in cured raw meats yet thats not an Irish/ British thing.
    Ireland and Britain drink tea with milk, on the continent they not only drink tea without milk but they drink tea that isnt even tea but rather some class of dried fruit or grass or bark or that.

The term home nations is sortof unfortunate as it comes from the imperial past but there really isnt another term for the combination of Ireland + UK which are so close population and culturaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭gouche

This is something I am actually quite unclear about. Is ROI still a member of the British Isles? I know we are within the region which used to be known as the British Isles, but are we still? The name certainly suggests Islands belonging to Britain....which would be incorrect.

But isn't Great Britain just the name of the island?
    The country is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Either way, whatever political events occurred in the past, the British Isles is just a geographic term for a group of islands in the North Sea, of which the island of Ireland is one.

Well for me the term Home Nations is a tough one to give the green light...

Imo its just wrong to consider ROI as a home nation, as it still has strong connotations to Britain. I think I've gone to far to turn back and accept it tbh. Very hard to word what i mean on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Actually Irish inclusion in the British Isles is another thing I hold grievances with!

British Isles is an archipelago situated in the North Atlantic Ocean.
    The largest Island is Great Britain. The second largest island is Ireland.

The 2 states in the British Isles are the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Ireland being included in the United Kingdom would be something to have a grievance with, not being included in the British Isles as the British Isles as simply put - Ireland is a part of the British Isles archipelago.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/6/67/British_Isles_Euler_Diagram_7.png/699px-British_Isles_Euler_Diagram_7.png

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    The 2 states in the British Isles are the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Never liked 'The British Isles' way of describing these islands myself.

It subsumes Ireland/Irish separateness far too much into Britain imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

johnmcdnl wrote: »

Wrong on the latter part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Would everyone be happier if we were referred to as:
    The Home Nations and the Away Nation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Only if we can replace Trappattoni with Alf Stewart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

Funny seeing this after I thanked sky sports on twitter for saying the Home Nations and the Republic of Ireland just yesterday

Or how about 'The Away in a Home Nations'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

gurramok wrote: »
    Wrong on the latter part.

What's he wrong about? That's the definition of the British Isles.

A north Atlantic archipelago consisting of two sovereign states, Ireland and The United Kingdom of GB and Northern Ireland.

Ireland, you say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Very wrong, the term which was invented by a Briton is not even recognised by our own state.