Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much is your gas bill every two mths in winter?

• 26-03-2013 3:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭

Our gas is 250-300 euros every two mths. (in winter) Seems excessive.
    Gas heats the water and rads but we dont cook with it, we use Elec.
    Is this average usage?

What size house have you? (ours is 3 bed semi)
    Do you cook with gas as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭beazee

same here, 3 bed semi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭collie0708

Ah that's a little bit better than mine....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,019 ✭✭✭uch

Much the same here

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

€220 for a 2 bed house with 2 people. The heating is the only gas appliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Realtine

Yea seems about right €240.00 every 2 months - 3 bed terrace - insulated - heating and water and stove top cooking.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

in before 3 fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

was just over 300 got the last one a few days ago, that woulda been early jan to early march, but hey, those are 2003 prices right Enda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

uberalles wrote: »
    Our gas is 250-300 euros every two mths. (in winter) Seems excessive.
    Gas heats the water and rads but we dont cook with it, we use Elec.
    Is this average usage?

What size house have you? (ours is 3 bed semi)
    Do you cook with gas as well?

Ours is around €200 every 2 months.
    We've a 4-bed detached and yes, we cook with gas (oven is electric, though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Bill out during the week of 240. Last major bill before that was November I think. Gas used for heating and hot water, not cooking. Living in an apartment and heat rises from the floor below, so the heat might be on for 90 minutes a day in the coldest of winters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,796 ✭✭✭sweetie

FatherLen wrote: »
    in before 3 fiddy

my last one was 346 - had a reading the other day and I reckon it will be at least 320, similar amount of units. My house is quite old and big rooms so it goes with the territory.
    Going to look into some extra insulation this summer.

Mine was €355 :(
    Semi D 1,400 square foot bungalow.
    Gas hob.
    Electric shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

€0

Culchies don't need gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have storage heating only, don't recall price now but it's fecking expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

€460
    4 bed detached bungalow 1900 sq ft
    Gas cooker, heating and water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Mine is normally less than €100 (the most recent was €37). Two-bedroom mid-terrace.

I'm quite miserly with the heating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

€170 Estimate (actual €140) for the previous two months. 4 Bed detached. No subsequent upgrades in insulation just additional jumpers LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

5,200 roughly.

Gas-powered sex jacuzzis don't come cheap I can tells ya.

Our last one (which took in christmas) was 365, 4 bed semi-D. Bill is always massive over christmas which is a sickner as I head home for the full two weeks as do two other house mates so its only one of the 4 of us racking up a lot of that bill.

Our latest bill is down under 200 again thankfully and in the summer we get bills as low as 40 euro for two months.

Gas heating only cooker and water are electric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

€380 or something was my biggest this year. But I'm all electric, no gas or oil.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Around the 300 quid mark in winter. Gas (condensing)boiler, one gas fire and cooker. House is still cold enough mind you. That's after over double the thickness of attic insulation(it's like an effin bouncy castle up there), double glazing and a few other insulation additions. It's in a cold spot. Never sees much of the sun between october and april which really doesn't help.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

No gas bill, have storage heaters here but I'm really reluctant to put them on because they are so expensive to run. Electricity bill is around €85 every 2 months for my 2nd floor 1 bedroom apartment, just me living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

All electric, €148 for the last 2 months. That's the highest it's been.

3 bed detached bungalow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Sounds about right. 3 bed terrace, cooker is electric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

about 60 euro for a 2 bed apartment

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

This isn't market research now is it OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

€150 was my last gas bill. 3bd semi d, 1 person. Also spent €100 on coal in Jan/Feb :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Mine was €355 :(
    Semi D 1,400 square foot bungalow.
    Gas hob.
    Electric shower.

Not a gas shower then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Florintina

I am with artricity all electric. last bill few days ago was 150 euro and i have a boiler in apartment and electric rads to . This is the highest its ever been and i am guessing from using the rads to much as its freezing these days. its a student apartment me and my partner staying in as we are students 2 bedrooms. Is this good anyone know or should i switch to different company?

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    This isn't market research now is it OP?

No. Im just wondering how bad our bill is compared to other people.

We have double glazing - but wait for it ..... single glazed door.
    The walls are made of paper as well. So the heat just disappears through everywhere.

To top it of the house isnt even that warm.

Thankfully we are renting and wont be here for ever.

Just a BS built house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Our last 2 gas bills have been €150 (2months) 3 bedroom semi D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Our "winter" has been going on for seven months now. Think we should have drilled our own gas field to keep this house warm.

I'm bottling my farts in future. Sick of paying those little b@stards in Norway all of my going out money just to survive the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Just under 300 quid (3 bedrooms, 2 adults, 1 kid, two cats)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Florintina wrote: »
    I am with artricity all electric. last bill few days ago was 150 euro and i have a boiler in apartment and electric rads to . This is the highest its ever been and i am guessing from using the rads to much as its freezing these days. its a student apartment me and my partner staying in as we are students 2 bedrooms. Is this good anyone know or should i switch to different company?

You should invest in heatlamps at that rate. Grow your own marjewlama plants. They're great for what ails ye. Might make a few bobs on the side too. Them students can't get enough of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

and I thought my oil was dear, holy gackamole batman, ye are getting ripped off

Not a gas shower then.

No, but my apartment has a pump shower run off a combination gas boiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭ABlur

€40 tops, mid terrace house let the neighbours heat us! We use a stove if its really cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

It's currently running about 200 every two months and that's on LOW!!! An hour in the morning & 4/5 hours in the evening, 4 bed semi and extra insulated a couple of years ago, heating + water only although don't really use the hot water

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭angeline

My last one was €380, semi detached house. Gas heating but gas fire too which I would think is eating the gas....

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

The odd 11.34kg cylinder of butane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Sounds about right - for a 2 bed apartment our last 2 bills were 270EUR and 206EUR - both bills for 2 months and meter readings. The heating and hot water runs off the gas.

It's not cheap but just one of those things! We're already on the cheapest plan we can be so I just try and limit how much the heating is on (I'm home all day). After rent, it's easily our biggest expense. I bet given the fact the winter is just dragging on the gas man is laughing all the way to the bank!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

semi

*snigger*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

€240-260 were the highest bills. 2100sq foot detached 4 bed. Timber frame though so supposed to be super warm. bloody draughty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

our last bill was 415 but I think there may have been arrears on it.

We got one this morning for..... wait for it.... 580 euro :eek:

3 bed semi, fairly old house, sitting room has one small radiator at one end of room , room is constantly cold.
    Don't use gas for cooking etc.
    5 of us in house, 2 adults and 3 young children.
    Missus is at home all week so the heat would be on a fair bit.
    I think it is timed to come on around 5am till 7
    Then 10 till 12
    Maybe boosted for an hour in the afternoon
    and then its on from 5.30pm till around 9.30
    I think also we have had a fair few estimated bills as no one seems to be at home when meter needs reading.
    I think its time for a pay as you go meter...

I just stumbled across this thread, and now I'm convinced something is not right at the house I've just shifted in to a month ago.

At our old semi detached 3 bedroom, a bad bill would be over €300. This is with 2 kids under 2 in the house, so heating would be off and on during the day. We also had gas cooking at this house.

I just received our first bill at our new house (slightly bigger 4 bed semi-detached, only approx 10 years old). €150 for 2 weeks, yes 2 weeks. That would go well over €600 for 2 months. I know it has been cold, but I wouldn't say we're using the heating any more than we were at the old house. Both readings were accurate readings as well, one when we shifted in and another meter reading taken when someone came to the house.

To say I'm freaking out about my first full bill is an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

wow you guys spend alot on gas!!

2 bed appartment and we spend about £20 a month MAX. this is a big enough appt., one wall is just glass windows aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭cscook

€188 for the Nov/Dec bill, which I thought was high
    €135 for the Jan/Feb one.
    Not looking forward to the next one - we've had the heat on more than normal in the last two weeks.
    3 bedroom, 2 living room bungalow.
    Gas for heat only - but we normally only have it on twice a day and supplement with an oil-filled radiator as necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

could i ask what peoples habits are with regard to setting timers etc.
    Do most of you put the heat on for an hour at a time etc or a few hours?
    Just curious to see if I can get my bills down.
    Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭cscook

sham69 wrote: »
    Cheers.

Comes on about an hour before we get up, on for 1 1/2 hours.
    About the same in the afternoon - on from about 4 - 5.30.
    Happy to override it and turn it off early if the temperature gets above 20.
    As in my previous post, we tend to supplement it with an oil-filled rad - but this last week we've had the gas on 3 times a day.
    I'd love a more modern timer that could be set for more than twice a day!! Then I'd be more inclined to go for several half-hour bursts keeping a more constant temp. We did this years back when we were looking after a friend's house. I think it's probably more efficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭tteknulp

€160-€170 2months ,gas cook / elec oven , 4 bed detached U.F.H

sham69 wrote: »
    Cheers.

In the winter it would be on a lot, 4 or 5 hours in the evening and then in the morning for a while. Also with people in the house working different hours it can be on for a hour when other people are getting up too. I also turn it on sometimes during the day to dry clothes on the radiators.

Cut down a bit in spring and then barely on at all in the summer, maybe go a week without ever turning it on.