If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

hugo29 wrote: »
    have ya two seats on tractor, ya could have the date and the slurry at the same time:D

would be romantic alright:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

ya i think thats what happened to the last one, me rushing to meet her with meal bags in the back of the jeep! Its easy to get them harder to keep them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

kevthegaff wrote: »
    feckin have to go to a farm walk today for dairy yoke, a few loads of slurry to put out, then meeting a bird tonight if i have time:rolleyes:

Good man Kev

Being the ladies man that i am i have only 1 piece of advice, have a good shower after the slurry:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

td5man wrote: »
    Been there done that,some of them never came back again :confused:

Some of them:confused: Is it some sort of rite of passage for birds in your neck of the woods or something? Mrs freedom hasn't been on a tractor since f**k knows when. Probably some time in the nineties and she's a farmers daughter and would've been driving herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Some of them:confused: Is it some sort of rite of passage for birds in your neck of the woods or something? Mrs freedom hasn't been on a tractor since f**k knows when. Probably some time in the nineties and she's a farmers daughter and would've been driving herself.

dead right, Keep her in the house freedom:D, chained to the sink;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

kevthegaff wrote: »
    me rushing to meet her with meal bags in the back of the jeep!

All that was wrong with her was that she knew that the seat couldn't be let back with them there!!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Fingers and legs crossed here, put a cheviot ewe in the shed last night with twins. All were sound, walked down the farm, lambs sucked, ewe was eating. This morning she'd her head pushed into the corner of the pen, panting like she was after running a marathon, not looking very clever at all. Gave her twin lamb remedy and calciject right away. Rang my vet then and gave her some engemycin to which she had a very bad reaction. Went down, grinding teeth, panting worsened. Feck this I'm thinking she's a goner. Couldn't do any more at that point so went home for a bite to eat. I almost had the lambs up on Donedeal and the knackery called. Went to the shed again to give the lambs some colostrum and she was up! Well I couldn't have been happier had I won the lotto! She's not out of the woods yet mind. Where there's life there's hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

reilig wrote: »

But the one that stays is a keeper. At least she'll know what to expect for the rest of her life!! :)
    Neighbour was wondering if he married the right sister as the other had "a better track of the Wellington on her leg" :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

hugo29 wrote: »
    dead right, Keep her in the house freedom:D, chained to the sink;)

There's not a house nor chain strong enough for that. In fairness she's always worked. She'd give a hand moving stock or get parts on her way to or from work but that's as far as it goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Can a woman butt in here and say that I give as much, if not more, to our farm. Time is a major benefactor for any sort of shenanigans. Sooooo...any takers? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Can a woman butt in here and say that I give as much, if not more, to our farm. Time is a major benefactor for any sort of shenanigans. Sooooo...any takers? :D
    I'm more of a giver :p

Snowing and sticking here now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

snowing on and off, was grand between the showers the sun actually came out for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Snowed most of the day here but doesnt seem to be sticking. we have a lot of calves developing a dirty cough so i done the last ones for pneumonia and ibr and resflor to anything with a cough. hope it works.

1chippy wrote: »
    Snowed most of the day here but doesnt seem to be sticking. we have a lot of calves developing a dirty cough so i done the last ones for pneumonia and ibr and resflor to anything with a cough. hope it works.

We have one atm. What did you give to all others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

pump went on slurry tanker today after only starting so go a lone of my neighbours 2000 gal abbey , wow is this how the other half live at slurry some job,my little landini blizzard was well able for it, now thinking of up grading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

leg wax wrote: »
    pump went on slurry tanker today after only starting so go a lone of my neighbours 2000 gal abbey , wow is this how the other half live at slurry some job,my little landini blizzard was well able for it, now thinking of up grading

What size is your own one, we had an abbey 750 gallon here for many years :eek: now that was slow going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    We have one atm. What did you give to all others?
    Rispoval intra nasal to cover for most of the pneumonias. givin at 5 days usually or when we have a batch of 5.
    The other one is for ibr and pi3 cant think of name of injection but usually give it at 3 weeks old.

Resflor works out dear at e71 a bottle and 2ml per 15kg weight. you dont be long going through it. The way i'm hoping though is that at least they wont be knocked back as calves.

1chippy wrote: »
    Rispoval intra nasal to cover for most of the pneumonias. givin at 5 days usually or when we have a batch of 5.
    The other one is for ibr and pi3 cant think of name of injection but usually give it at 3 weeks old.

Resflor works out dear at e71 a bottle and 2ml per 15kg weight. you dont be long going through it. The way i'm hoping though is that at least they wont be knocked back as calves.

Micotil & Veterinary advice.

What size is your own one, we had an abbey 750 gallon here for many years :eek: now that was slow going
    Used to hire a 2600 when we had a 1100 some difference between the two and the 2600 wasnt much harder to pull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

leg wax wrote: »

Ugh have a nice 1100gls tanker now, was thinking of trading it in for a 1600gls tanker a while back, found a very nice 2nd hand one in the local dealer, he offered me about a grand for myown tanker and wanted I think 5grand for the 1600. No way of justifying that spend, I use myown when I'm in trouble or emptying the smaller tanks, then get in a contractor to empty the main tank twice a year.

td5man wrote: »
    Used to hire a 2600 when we had a 1100 some difference between the two and the 2600 was much harder to pull.
    we havea 2600 gallon tankerbought it new about 4 years ago, its a great job, if only the ground was dry and we could actually get out it would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

my tank is better than yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Jayus but we are getting lucky with this weather, hard nights frost and now clear blue sky and sun shining,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Some god news at last, from MT Cranium:
    Therefore I will hazard the guess that the first half of April will see fairly steady warming with perhaps one slight reverse, then the second half could become quite warm with above normal temperatures at times.

just do it wrote: »
    What about the bit a couple of lines up from that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Last 2 cows calved yesterday, great to be finished only a small herd but great to have them all out and alive. Now if there was only some grass outside for them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

1350 gallons

just do it wrote: »
    so should see better weather when kids go back to school, cracking up here, one of them feels that i should be bringing her somewhere everyday as its her holidays, am slowly getting that idea out of her head...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

whelan1 wrote: »
    so should see better weather when kids go back to school, cracking up here, one of them feels that i should be bringing her somewhere everyday as its her holidays, am slowly getting that idea out of her head...:cool:

Nothing like an adventure trip around the milking parlour :D