Should every body visit Las Vegas at least once in their lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

annascott wrote: »
    I have always wanted to go just for the hell of it. Yes, it is really tacky but treat it like a fairground attraction. Embrace your tacky side, don't spend more than you can afford to lose and enjoy! I think that five days would be more than enough though.
    Agree, after five days your head would melt!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Yeah!! Gimme Talbot street over Vegas anyday.

Dr Quirkeys forever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Las Vegas is an overpriced dump,I'd go to Niagara quicker if i was considering gambling.

Austin is the only city in the south i would considering revisiting.Possibly memphis also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

Atlantic City is another option if you want an alternative gambling experience.

Like a massive version of Salthill or Tramore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was there once but I was working and fairly broke. I was cleaned out of money pretty quickly despite having no interest in gambling, I got burnt to a cinder so badly it took weeks to recover, there was puss coming out of my head and everything.

I don't regret going there but I wouldn't pay to go back myself, I'm far to tight for a place like that and if you don't gamble everything else there is only a mild distraction to pull you into the casinos. Your never under any illusion that all that matters there is parting people from their money and if your not willing to spend in the region of $100 a night you'll be sitting around twiddling your thumbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Las Vegas is an overpriced dump,I'd go to Niagara quicker if i was considering gambling.

Austin is the only city in the south i would considering revisiting.Possibly memphis also.

ah here Niagra is an absolute sh1thole, its like a two bit version of vegas, tacky as hell beside a stunning natural wonder, looks like a town built by carnies in the 50s and they never changed it.

cson wrote: »
    It's a bit overwhelming if you haven't been there before. Great craic and I'd recommend a visit but tbh about 3 nights and 4 days and you'll have seen everything. Their unique quirks aside, every casino is the same. The Venetian is the one that impressed me the most; it cost $1.5bn and you'd know it. The canal recreation replete with actual gondola's is frankly insane. You've the madness and brilliance of Vegas captured in that for me. To properly blowout there you'd want to be packing $200 a day imo. Yeah you'll get by on half, even a quarter of that, but for the full experience you need a wedge.

Definitely spin out to the Grand Canyon. That was my highlight of my trip to Vegas. It's incredible. Like nothing I've ever seen before

That, the greatest thing I've ever seen in my life, we took a helicopter ride over it and the size of it is just mind blowing, you've seen countless pics of it and on tv and movies and that but until you see it in real life it doesnt do it justice, stunning isnt the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I was there for two nights, I'd go back in a heartbeat if I could. It's what you make of it, I actually found the casinos boring after the novelty wore off but the shopping and nightlife were brilliant.

Freemont Street is brilliant as well, that lightshow is spectacular, costs $250,000 or something every time they do it and its on every night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

krudler wrote: »
    Freemont Street is brilliant as well, that lightshow is spectacular, costs $250,000 or something every time they do it and its on every night

I loved that. And they have a zip line that goes along the street too.

krudler wrote: »

We went during the Queen one, rocking out to Bohemian Rhapsody on Freemont Street is unforgettable :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Been there a couple of times. I loved the place and of course the Grand Canyon and Hoover Damn are worth a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

Brilliant city.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Sounds crap, I'd only want to see/play in the wsop if I was there. That light show sounds interesting... 250000 wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

A friend of mine went and he said he had free drinks brought to him all night when he was in a casino, and he was only playing nickel slots. Gambling + free booze? Throw in a nice hotel and it sounds like my ideal holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,822 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

It's a must didn't expect so many negative comments.

Positives
    Lovely weather
    Free Drinks
    Great shows
    Massive shopping centre's with clothes a fraction of Irish clothes and much more choices.
    Great sights
    The gun range
    The grand canyon
    Cheap food
    Old Vegas
    Hookers
    Gambling

Negatives
    Every second person on the street trying to give you cards about hookers.
    Food portion sizes so big and cheap means your jeans will be a little tighter on the journey home can make a long flight uncomfortable.

phasers wrote: »
    A friend of mine went and he said he had free drinks brought to him all night when he was in a casino, and he was only playing nickel slots. Gambling + free booze? Throw in a nice hotel and it sounds like my ideal holiday.

Yeah they did that with me in Lake Tahoe. Usually you have to buy your first drink and then they come over to you with free drinks after that. Downside is you do get drunk and gamble away the money you would have spent on drinks anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Went there once and would compare the cynical exploitation I saw there to any gas chamber/ scam / ponzi scheme you would care to mention. The gambler must loose and is the fuel that keeps the whole place going.

If you do decide to go be sure to bring a geiger counter. I wish I had. Since 1945 there have been over 1000 nuclear tests just up the road at the Nevada test site. Be sure to test the water. It comes from a vast underground resevoir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Nuts102 wrote: »
    It's a must didn't expect so many negative comments.

Positives
    Lovely weather
    Free Drinks
    Great shows
    Massive shopping centre's with clothes a fraction of Irish clothes and much more choices.
    Great sights
    The gun range
    The grand canyon
    Cheap food
    Old Vegas
    Hookers
    Gambling

Negatives
    Every second person on the street trying to give you cards about hookers.
    Food portion sizes so big and cheap means your jeans will be a little tighter on the journey home can make a long flight uncomfortable.

So therefore no negatives:D

Super place to visit. Only in America and as mentioned the Grand Canyon is absolutely extraordinary. Also check out the Hoover Dam which again is well worth seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

phasers wrote: »
    The casino I was in you had to have at least $10 in the machine or be at a table to get free drink. You'd have to be spending more than $10 at the tables to stay at them. I was getting about an hour and a half at a table for $100 but eventually you always lost. But that's the way I was breaking it down, $100 for an hour and a half worth of entertainment and you had to tip the drink servers well to keep them coming back at regular intervals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

I'd bet on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭furiousox

What's Reno like?
    (Never been, but shot a man there once)

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

furiousox wrote: »
    What's Reno like?
    (Never been, but shot a man there once)

The OAP version of Vegas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Went once for three nights.

Great time had, but wouldn't be bothered going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Nelly 21

I'm surprised at some of the comments here. We went a few years ago and loved it. As with every holiday, its what you make it. Even going through some of the bigger hotels was a great experience. There are lions in the lobby of MGM Grand!

At the same time it can be overwhelming. We were there for 4 nights and that was enough, I was ready to leave. Also, we were there in November and it was soooooo hot!

Def more good points than bad points!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Nah, I've been to the seafront in Bray, I'd imagine it's about the same.
    And if I want to throw money away gambling, I can already do that here, I'm sure it'll feel just as shite losing either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Some interesting replies.

It seems people either loved it or hated it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

eviltwin wrote: »
    Spent a day there, hated it. I thought I would love it but the Vegas you see on tv is only a fraction of it. In reality its a very seedy, quite desperate place.

Know why this happened? You forgot to take your rufilin, didn't you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Going to Las Vegas sober is like doing a 63 year old granny hooker at the end of her shift, you remember everything about it which goes against the golden rule, what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Tackiest kip in the world, hands down.