Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should every body visit Las Vegas at least once in their lives?

• 26-03-2013 5:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭

I have never been, but i would really like to go.

Most people i know are planning on going or have been already.

Do you want to go to Las Vegas?

If you have been, is it a magical place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    is it a magical place?

Like Disneyworld with hookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Curry Addict

no its a ****hole tbh. a very antisocial place. its very annoying to get around. the dealers are grumpy bastards in general, your better off going anywhere else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Good god no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No, boring and overhyped. Go to Monte Carlo, at least the restaurants are worth visiting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

Ive no desire to ever visit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Never been there before Going to wedding there in september,and no its not my own :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I only spent a day there and have no wish ever to return. Seemed like a complete shithole to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Shocked by this thread. had great expectations of the place.
    im all shook up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I loved it. I didn't think I would but I really loved it. I have no idea why. I didn't gamble, didn't drink much, didn't stay up all night, but I had a great time. I don't necessarily think everyone should visit it though. I know loads of people who would hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

No interest, sounds like a wretched place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

It is what you make it, there's tons of stuff to do, the nightclubs are class (one has a swimming pool in it) ,there's free drink everywhere, food is crazy cheap, tons of shows and events, I was there for 3 nights and loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

No, boring and overhyped. Go to Monte Carlo, at least the restaurants are worth visiting there.

Are you serious? I live in Monaco and if anyone was to be advised on a place to go once in their life it would be Las Vegas and not Monaco. You can drink for free in Vegas with the odd tip to the dolly, you can drink for €20 a beer in Monaco.

Go to Las Vegas OP, you won't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Spent a day there, hated it. I thought I would love it but the Vegas you see on tv is only a fraction of it. In reality its a very seedy, quite desperate place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I would rather boil my head in urine tbh. A monument to capitalist greed and excess. Comrades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I like poker but the place doesn't call me at all.

It's like, toadally artificial and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

Agricola wrote: »
    I would rather boil my head in urine tbh. A monument to capitalist greed and excess. Comrades.

You wouldn't really though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

The town will never be the same. After the Tangiers, the big corporations took it all over. Today it looks like Disneyland. And while the kids play cardboard pirates, Mommy and Daddy drop the house payments and Junior's college money on the poker slots. In the old days, dealers knew your name, what you drank, what you played. Today, it's like checkin' into an airport. And if you order room service, you're lucky if you get it by Thursday. Today, it's all gone. You get a whale show up with four million in a suitcase, and some twenty-five-year-old hotel school kid is gonna want his Social Security Number. After the Teamsters got knocked out of the box, the corporations tore down practically every one of the old casinos. And where did the money come from to rebuild the pyramids? Junk bonds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

You can beat the system by going and just taking the cheap rooms, free drink and food, and not gamble. take that capitalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Yeah, I'd love to get married there by Elvis. Honeymoon in the Bellagio or MGM Grand, catch a show and eat buffet until it hurts.

Kitsch bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

no its a ****hole tbh. a very antisocial place. its very annoying to get around. the dealers are grumpy bastards in general, your better off going anywhere else!

The dealers??
    Oh right...the dealers.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭MarkyMark22

It depends what you're in to, I guess.

I've been lucky enough to been their twice and I really liked it.

If you're into an energetic atmosphere then it's brilliant, the lights from the hotels are fantastic. And of course there are numerous music and theatre productions on the strip, they can be pricey though.

Basically everything is on the one road, the strip. Each hotel usually has its own attractions, E.G the ballagio with the famous water fountain.

Then there's old vegas, where you can visit historic places. The desert is interesting in itself.

I would recommend at least one visit, even for a few days. The shopping is also quite good. With every hotel practically having a shopping centre and then a few outlets out in the desert which are pretty good.

I probably won't visit again for a while, but only due the fact I want to see more of the world rather than consistently visiting the same place. It can be quite expensive to go, the flights are the most expensive part of the trip. The hotels are ridiculously cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Vegas is an amazing place, anyone who says differently probably never ventured outside of their hotel (or away from the strip).

There is far more to Vegas than just gambling !! I'd love to go back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Went there for a PBF Fight. Apart from the fight, and Tom Jones- nyeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Went last year for 4 nights and loved it !!

You have to take it for what it is, as someone said earlier Disneyworld with hookers :-)

However it's a great place to visit and you'd be hard pushed to get bored. The sheer scale of the hotels and casinos as well as the over the top decor is impressive in it's own right.

Are you serious? I live in Monaco and if anyone was to be advised on a place to go once in their life it would be Las Vegas and not Monaco. You can drink for free in Vegas with the odd tip to the dolly, you can drink for €20 a beer in Monaco.

Go to Las Vegas OP, you won't regret it.

One of the clubs we went to were charging 12 dollars a drink for some stuff, so we just went down to the casino , stuck a few cents into a slot machine and got free drinks off the waitress, I figured they'd be watered down crap but they weren't, free booze is best booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭MarkyMark22

there*

Note to self: proof read.

I've been told its an amazing place, by both men and women. I know people who have been twice and cant wait to go back again so I'm surprised about the complaints. I reckon I will love the place, over the top and full of gambling and free drink whats not to like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

There are some great historic features to see and it is steeped in old town history, there is no other place in the world I could think of that would draw me more, somewhere else worth visiting on the way there is the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I have always wanted to go just for the hell of it. Yes, it is really tacky but treat it like a fairground attraction. Embrace your tacky side, don't spend more than you can afford to lose and enjoy! I think that five days would be more than enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

It's a bit overwhelming if you haven't been there before. Great craic and I'd recommend a visit but tbh about 3 nights and 4 days and you'll have seen everything. Their unique quirks aside, every casino is the same. The Venetian is the one that impressed me the most; it cost $1.5bn and you'd know it. The canal recreation replete with actual gondola's is frankly insane. You've the madness and brilliance of Vegas captured in that for me. To properly blowout there you'd want to be packing $200 a day imo. Yeah you'll get by on half, even a quarter of that, but for the full experience you need a wedge.

Definitely spin out to the Grand Canyon. That was my highlight of my trip to Vegas. It's incredible. Like nothing I've ever seen before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

annascott wrote: »
    I have always wanted to go just for the hell of it. Yes, it is really tacky but treat it like a fairground attraction. Embrace your tacky side, don't spend more than you can afford to lose and enjoy! I think that five days would be more than enough though.
    Agree, after five days your head would melt!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Yeah!! Gimme Talbot street over Vegas anyday.

Dr Quirkeys forever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Las Vegas is an overpriced dump,I'd go to Niagara quicker if i was considering gambling.

Austin is the only city in the south i would considering revisiting.Possibly memphis also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Atlantic City is another option if you want an alternative gambling experience.

Like a massive version of Salthill or Tramore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was there once but I was working and fairly broke. I was cleaned out of money pretty quickly despite having no interest in gambling, I got burnt to a cinder so badly it took weeks to recover, there was puss coming out of my head and everything.

I don't regret going there but I wouldn't pay to go back myself, I'm far to tight for a place like that and if you don't gamble everything else there is only a mild distraction to pull you into the casinos. Your never under any illusion that all that matters there is parting people from their money and if your not willing to spend in the region of $100 a night you'll be sitting around twiddling your thumbs.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Las Vegas is an overpriced dump,I'd go to Niagara quicker if i was considering gambling.

Austin is the only city in the south i would considering revisiting.Possibly memphis also.

ah here Niagra is an absolute sh1thole, its like a two bit version of vegas, tacky as hell beside a stunning natural wonder, looks like a town built by carnies in the 50s and they never changed it.

cson wrote: »
    It's a bit overwhelming if you haven't been there before. Great craic and I'd recommend a visit but tbh about 3 nights and 4 days and you'll have seen everything. Their unique quirks aside, every casino is the same. The Venetian is the one that impressed me the most; it cost $1.5bn and you'd know it. The canal recreation replete with actual gondola's is frankly insane. You've the madness and brilliance of Vegas captured in that for me. To properly blowout there you'd want to be packing $200 a day imo. Yeah you'll get by on half, even a quarter of that, but for the full experience you need a wedge.

Definitely spin out to the Grand Canyon. That was my highlight of my trip to Vegas. It's incredible. Like nothing I've ever seen before

That, the greatest thing I've ever seen in my life, we took a helicopter ride over it and the size of it is just mind blowing, you've seen countless pics of it and on tv and movies and that but until you see it in real life it doesnt do it justice, stunning isnt the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I was there for two nights, I'd go back in a heartbeat if I could. It's what you make of it, I actually found the casinos boring after the novelty wore off but the shopping and nightlife were brilliant.

Freemont Street is brilliant as well, that lightshow is spectacular, costs $250,000 or something every time they do it and its on every night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

krudler wrote: »
    Freemont Street is brilliant as well, that lightshow is spectacular, costs $250,000 or something every time they do it and its on every night

I loved that. And they have a zip line that goes along the street too.

krudler wrote: »

We went during the Queen one, rocking out to Bohemian Rhapsody on Freemont Street is unforgettable :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Been there a couple of times. I loved the place and of course the Grand Canyon and Hoover Damn are worth a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

Brilliant city.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Sounds crap, I'd only want to see/play in the wsop if I was there. That light show sounds interesting... 250000 wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

A friend of mine went and he said he had free drinks brought to him all night when he was in a casino, and he was only playing nickel slots. Gambling + free booze? Throw in a nice hotel and it sounds like my ideal holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

It's a must didn't expect so many negative comments.

Positives
    Lovely weather
    Free Drinks
    Great shows
    Massive shopping centre's with clothes a fraction of Irish clothes and much more choices.
    Great sights
    The gun range
    The grand canyon
    Cheap food
    Old Vegas
    Hookers
    Gambling

Negatives
    Every second person on the street trying to give you cards about hookers.
    Food portion sizes so big and cheap means your jeans will be a little tighter on the journey home can make a long flight uncomfortable.

phasers wrote: »
    A friend of mine went and he said he had free drinks brought to him all night when he was in a casino, and he was only playing nickel slots. Gambling + free booze? Throw in a nice hotel and it sounds like my ideal holiday.

Yeah they did that with me in Lake Tahoe. Usually you have to buy your first drink and then they come over to you with free drinks after that. Downside is you do get drunk and gamble away the money you would have spent on drinks anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Went there once and would compare the cynical exploitation I saw there to any gas chamber/ scam / ponzi scheme you would care to mention. The gambler must loose and is the fuel that keeps the whole place going.

If you do decide to go be sure to bring a geiger counter. I wish I had. Since 1945 there have been over 1000 nuclear tests just up the road at the Nevada test site. Be sure to test the water. It comes from a vast underground resevoir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Nuts102 wrote: »
    It's a must didn't expect so many negative comments.

Positives
    Lovely weather
    Free Drinks
    Great shows
    Massive shopping centre's with clothes a fraction of Irish clothes and much more choices.
    Great sights
    The gun range
    The grand canyon
    Cheap food
    Old Vegas
    Hookers
    Gambling

Negatives
    Every second person on the street trying to give you cards about hookers.
    Food portion sizes so big and cheap means your jeans will be a little tighter on the journey home can make a long flight uncomfortable.

So therefore no negatives:D

Super place to visit. Only in America and as mentioned the Grand Canyon is absolutely extraordinary. Also check out the Hoover Dam which again is well worth seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

phasers wrote: »
    The casino I was in you had to have at least $10 in the machine or be at a table to get free drink. You'd have to be spending more than $10 at the tables to stay at them. I was getting about an hour and a half at a table for $100 but eventually you always lost. But that's the way I was breaking it down, $100 for an hour and a half worth of entertainment and you had to tip the drink servers well to keep them coming back at regular intervals.