"HSE funding advice on teen threesomes" - Sindo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

RTE are now running it as the main headline story on the website
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0325/378347-spunout-james-reilly-hse/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Send explicit text messages and pictures to each other which get passed around. (usually resulting in a lot of hurt directed at young girls )

You should take a look at some of the archives of letters that were sent around 100 years ago.
    Young lads as young as twelve adicted to porn which they access on thier mobiles (parents completly unaware) and come into school goggle eyed.
    What's "addicted" to porn for someone entering puberty? They've just discovered their bits can give them pleasure nothing else has before so I'm guessing it must be a good few hours of porn rather than a only couple. Also, kids have been staying up late since we stopped them working in coal mines and ploughing fields all day.
    12 years old girls dressing up in nothing getting pissed and practacly abused by older lads at discos.
    That's probably because there's no priests with phone books and a mass conspiracy waiting to keep them away from each other.
    And thats not taking into account the images from TV, music internet that use sex as a commodity to sell **** to these kids.
    Have you listened to music from the 60s? 50s? What about what was going on while bombs fell during the war? How about music from the 30s? It was always all about sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Qs

If it was just outlining the facts i have no problem but suggesting to a 16 year old that a threesum is a good way to spice up your sex life???

That goes a little further.

Do you think any teenager wants to read an article just saying "don't do it!!! Its bad!!!". You have to use a balanced approach if you want them to take your seriously. The article also offered the negatives of a three way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I think the thing to remember here is that no one is saying teenagers should be having threesomes. Despite that, it's happening. Probably not all that often but it is. Is it better to breed ignorance with a lack of information or should we arm teenagers with the facts, the pros and cons of having a threesome?

One of the comments on spunout's article said that they found it useful as they did not consider the fact that they should change condoms when changing partners to prevent the possible spread of infections. I certainly think it's worth arming teenagers with information like that. If they're doing it, at least they'll be more safe and considerate about it (in theory)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭flatbackfour

seamus wrote: »
    You do realise that "ask any teacher" is just another anecdote.I assume you have links to back up the assertion that STDs rates are at an "epidemic" level among teens and that increased rates aren't just due to better reporting?

Fair point on the anecdote,

More reporting? now that an anecdote

The facts speak for themselves and the research is there.

Check it out.

go to spunout.ie

LizT wrote: »
    I think the thing to remember here is that no one is saying teenagers should be having threesomes. Despite that, it's happening. Probably not all that often but it is.)

But supnout was saying its a good thing to spice up your sex life- to teens? Thats a fact.

I never said the information should be denied. It should be given as it was but with the cavaet that at 16 your probably not ready for threesomes. For a lot of emotional and develkopmental reasons.

But supnout was saying its a good thing to spice up your sex life- to teens? Thats a fact.

I never said the information should be denied. It should be given as it was but with the cavaet that at 16 your probably not ready for threesomes. For a lot of emotional and develkopmental reasons.

The article states you shouldn't feel pressured into a threesome and not to do it if you don't feel ready. I'm not really sure what more you want them to do. Ignore it and pretend it's not happening?

Yes, a lot of teenagers won't be ready for threesomes. The ones that feel they are at least have a resource to educate themselves with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

As a 16 year old if I was to click on that link on Spunout's website and the first thing I read was "as a 16 year old you are not ready for a three some, don't do it. However if..."

I would have probably stopped reading before I got to the word 'if'.

Meaning the other information which you seem to agree was good to be given would never have gotten to me.

The problem here seems to be that Spunout seem to know how to speak to teenagers so that they might actually listen and get information they might need but their detractors just can't see that, or why it's vitally important.

Dictating to a teenager that you know better than them what they themselves are 'emotionally and developmentally ready' for is probably the most sure fire way known to lose their interest and scupper any chance you have of getting info to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Qs

No they said it could be. And it could, that is true. It could also cause problems and ruin your relationship, which they also pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Seaneh wrote: »
    How in the name of all that is holy does that woman who shall remain nameless have a job as a journalist with a national Newspaper? Her articles are an affront to rationality and logic and her vapid ramblings are the sort of thing that make a good case for eugenics.
    What an absolute cretin.
    We should set Sinead O'Connor back on her ;).
    A few weeks ago this nameless person (I call her that as I don't consider her to be a journalist) claimed in one of her articles that during the Celtic Tiger all single women were out to try and bag a property developer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You cant see the cons of telling a 16 year old that having a threesome is a good thing for them to do? Telling them that there is an equal balance between the rights and wrongs of them having a threesome? .

It doesn't say its good and it doesn't say its bad. And no, I don't.

Kids as young as 11 where I work knacker drink in fields and give eack other blow jobs in groups.

Send explicit text messages and pictures to each other which get passed around. (usually resulting in a lot of hurt directed at young girls )

Young lads as young as twelve adicted to porn which they access on thier mobiles (parents completly unaware) and come into school goggle eyed.

12 years old girls dressing up in nothing getting pissed and practacly abused by older lads at discos.

And thats not taking into account the images from TV, music internet that use sex as a commodity to sell **** to these kids.

And if you ask a question about that sickening malaise?

your told to Go back into the dark ages..............

You should start a website - 'Sunday Newspaper Scare Stories'

If you think your strangely telling attitude of ignoring this question is going to make it go away, I've some bad, bad news for ye....
    Why not give the positives and negatives of orgies,knacker drinking, sado masacism, all sorts of sexual behaviour?

I've no idea. Why not? Please explain

More daw brained knee jerk cockology.

strobe wrote: »
    As a 16 year old if I was to click on that link on Spunout's website and the
    first thing I read was "as a 16 year old you are not ready for a three some,
    don't do it. However if..."

Ok whatever way you market that info to kids in a "get down with the kids" kind of way to keep it relevent for the kids like then do it.

There is really too much of "if you tell teens no they wont listen. Absolute bull****. Most acutally have great common sense and will listen. I dare say the majority of teens no full well that having a threesome is a stupid thing for them to be doing.
    The problem here seems to be that Spunout seem to know how to speak to
    teenagers so that they might actually listen and get information they might need but their detractors just can't see that, or why it's vitally important.

Yes they do know how to speak to them so they have a great responsibility to get the balance right which in this case I think they have got wrong. Again i am in no way saying they should not give this information.
    Dictating to a teenager that you know better than them what they
    themselves
    are 'emotionally and developmentally ready' for is probably the most sure fire
    way known to lose their interest and scupper any chance you have of getting info
    to them

But its okay to dictate to teens that having a threesum is a good way to spice up thier sex life????

No one is dictating anything- put it how every way you like- a sixteen year old engaging in threesomes is on the whole unhealthy sexual behaviour as they are not developmentally ready emotionally to deal with the consequences. the evidence is there from developmental psychology and common sense.

Why are you and some here so eger to over sexualise teens?

Again its not a religious issue or an issue of repression etc
    it seems thaat some have this immature attitude that its all the churches fault if they say one thing the opposite must be true.

Build a bridge its nto a religion versus secular issue. We have moved way beyond that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

After a threesome you'd be spunout alright...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    RTE are now running it as the main headline story on the website
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0325/378347-spunout-james-reilly-hse/
    Nodin wrote: »
    More daw brained knee jerk cockology.

Well one thing seems certain - the way to get Reilly to pay attention to something is to rabble-rouse

You should start a website - 'Sunday Newspaper Scare Stories'

Ask any guard or teacher and they will tell you the same. You have no idea wht is going on with teens on the net and on mobiles etc. And you think that behaviour is healthy.

Why not get unbiased information as to sending naked photos of youself to boys etc. the pros and cons. Seriously whats wrong with it?

Or unbiased info on knacker drinking etc? The pros and cons

Or Dogging/orgies etc. Im serious. Is is not just an extension of healthy sexual activities. Should kids be armed with the information about these issues in an unbias non judgemental manner? the pros and cons of such behaviour?

Really the level of one sided debate on this issue here is sickening. Im off to politics.ie :) A bit more of a balance on the issue there.

Good luck in getting your teen daughters and sons ready for their next rite of passage:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

flatbackfour, I don't think threesomes are your problem I think getting the ride should be first priority for you.

Seriously, get with the times and stop spouting shíte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Should kids be armed with the information about these issues in an unbias non judgemental manner? the pros and cons of such behaviour?
    Yes so they'll have all the information to make a decision that is deemed right for them. End of.
    Really the level of one sided debate on this issue here is sickening. Im off to politics.ie :) A bit more of a balance on the issue there.

Good luck in getting your teen daughters and sons ready for their next rite of passage:)
    So you run away because nobody is buying into your backward views, and teenagers are the immature ones apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Ask any guard or teacher and they will tell you the same. You have no idea wht is going on with teens on the net and on mobiles etc. And you think that behaviour is healthy.

Why not get unbiased information as to sending naked photos of youself to boys etc. the pros and cons. Seriously whats wrong with it?

Or Dogging/orgies etc. Im serious. Is is not just an extension of healthy sexual activities. Should kids be armed with the information about these issues in an unbias non judgemental manner? the pros and cons of such behaviour?

Most of us seem to be liberal on the issue, you strike me as being rather conservative. I suppose we could all go round in circles here but seeing as our views are somewhat the polar opposites and I can't see either side being turned to the others viewpoint there is probably little point in continuing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Why are you and some here so eager to over sexualise teens?

How else are we supposed to make them to want to have sex with us Mr IHaveAllTheAnswers? Well..?

*yawn*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

This could have been a good discussion but unfortunately it's gone the way of the worst AH threads. Nobody as far as I can see (and I could have missed the odd post) is expressing any extreme views. There are people on two sides of a discussion but that's the point of discussion. No need for all the sly and not so sly digs and insults just because you disagree with someone's view. Just a waste of text at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

Fair point on the anecdote,

More reporting? now that an anecdote

The facts speak for themselves and the research is there.

Check it out.

go to spunout.ie

If STI rates are increasing in young people what do you propose as a solution?

• Moderators Posts: 52,296 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

The unbiased information is simple, it's illegal if they're under 17. Having a threesome isn't illegal.

Is it really so terrifying an idea to have an open and honest conversation with a teenager on any of those subjects? If a teenager is old enough to be looking for information regarding sex (or any other topic), should we not give them unbiased information about the topic?

To not discuss it or provide the information, is to reduce the possible sources for them to inform their opinion. That means leaving up to their peers, movies and quite probably pornography. This is not a good way to go. We end up with teens thinking they can't get pregnant if they follow some nonsense such as "you can't get pregnant if you have sex standing up."

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,490 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

fearcruach wrote: »
    If STI rates are increasing in young people what do you propose as a solution?

koth wrote: »
    The unbiased information is simple, it's illegal if they're under 17. Having a threesome isn't illegal.

Is it really so terrifying an idea to have an open and honest conversation with a teenager on any of those subjects? If a teenager is old enough to be looking for information regarding sex (or any other topic), should we not give them unbiased information about the topic?

To not discuss it or provide the information, is to reduce the possible sources for them to inform their opinion. That means leaving up to their peers, movies and quite probably pornography. This is not a good way to go. We end up with teens thinking they can't get pregnant if they follow some nonsense such as "you can't get pregnant if you have sex standing up."

I NEVER said that you should not talk about these issues. Not at all. Its great to talk about them in any way you want.

Would it be okay to give the pros on one hand and the cons on another of dogging. Say its is a good thing to spice up your sex life? And aim this information at teens? Now i am only relpying to you cause you have written a considered reasonable post.

And who are you to be moralising to teens where they get thier sexual information from, be that from porn or anywhere else. what buisness is it of yours to be moralising to teens about pornography?

That really is it:)

Ask any guard or(.......) for their next rite of passage:)

Balance would require a well argued oppossing view. So far, all we've had is your posts.
    But its okay to dictate to teens that having a threesum is a good way to spice up thier sex life????

Where has anyone done this?

Balance would require a well argued oppossing view. So far, all we've had is your posts.

strobe, nodin, koth, sarky, seamus, elk all heavy posters in atheism and agnosticism. Coincidence???
    Ambush:)
    And ya talk about balance ffs.
    Now. Go prey somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Really the level of one sided debate on this issue here is sickening. Im off to politics.ie :)A bit more of a balance on the issue there.

You mean more people that agree with you.

Do I think 16 year old SHOULD be having threesomes? No, probably not. But IF they want to, it COULD spice up their sex life. You're focusing on the wrong words. Not one person said they HAVE to.

strobe, nodin, koth, sarky, seamus, elk all heavy posters in atheism and agnosticism. Coincidence???
    Ambush:)
    And ya talk about balance ffs.
    Now. Go prey somewhere else.

I think we can do without the conspiracy theories.