"HSE funding advice on teen threesomes" - Sindo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭flatbackfour

Nodin wrote: »
    You keep missing the "could".

You've still given no evidence of the "cons".......

You cant see the cons of telling a 16 year old that having a threesome is a good thing for them to do? Telling them that there is an equal balance between the rights and wrongs of them having a threesome?

I just dont believe that its an equal balance in terms of argument. It is far more wrong for a 16 year old to be having a threesome that it is right. They are just not ready emotionally/developmentally. Whats wrong with telling them that. It does not mean you do not provide all the information. You simply put in the caviet more explicitally.
    When have we stopped telling our kids "this might not be right for you now" Wait. Or at least advising them.

More of this "over sexualisation" guff

Kids as young as 11 where I work knacker drink in fields and give eack other blow jobs in groups.

Send explicit text messages and pictures to each other which get passed around. (usually resulting in a lot of hurt directed at young girls )

Young lads as young as twelve adicted to porn which they access on thier mobiles (parents completly unaware) and come into school goggle eyed.

12 years old girls dressing up in nothing getting pissed and practacly abused by older lads at discos.

And thats not taking into account the images from TV, music internet that use sex as a commodity to sell **** to these kids.

And if you ask a question about that sickening malaise?

your told to Go back into the dark ages..............

Ironically enough Spunout does great work highlighting these issues in a way that actually kids will listen to.

I just think they got this one a little bit unbalanced.

Lets have an honest open debate where no voice gets shuts down be that a right wing TD or anyone else. Lets listen to the content of what people are saying and discuss that rather than engage in witch hunts.

Morag wrote: »
    Because STI are not comprehensively covered as part of sex in schools.

IM sorry but their is a lot of information within the SPHE/RSE curriculum about these exact topics.

Schools are awash with info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

1ZRed wrote: »
    I think it's just the minority that are feeling threatened so they're shouting the loudest to get attention for their cause while the rest of us who wouldn't have a problem with the gradual, and welcome, change in attitude are more laid back and don't make a fuss because there isn't anything wrong with it.

Honestly, the golden rule is if it's consensual and it's not hurting anyone, there's most likely nothing wrong with it. These lads seem to think otherwise for some reason.

Its been a minority for a long time. Unfortunately a minority with resources and influence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Old people annoyed that young people are having more and better sex tbh.

Sarky wrote: »
    Old people annoyed that young people are having more and better sex tbh.

Useful contribution.

Witty retort, followed by scathing insult.

We could do this all day, but young people are going to have sex whether you like it or not, and they're probably going to enjoy it more than we did. So I'm damn glad there are resources like Spunout to provide information on the risks, benefits and whatever else of all the things we're all jealous WE didn't get to do when we were discovering that sex is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Kids as young as 11 where I work knacker drink in fields and give eack other blow jobs in groups.

Send explicit text messages and pictures to each other which get passed around. (usually resulting in a lot of hurt directed at young girls )

Young lads as young as twelve adicted to porn which they access on thier mobiles (parents completly unaware) and come into school goggle eyed.

12 years old girls dressing up in nothing getting pissed and practacly abused by older lads at discos.

And thats not taking into account the images from TV, music internet that use sex as a commodity to sell **** to these kids.

Anecdotal evidence is not evidence. Shock articles in the media about some kid who sent naked pictures to another kid, are not evidence. Discussions on Joe Duffffeeeeee about what some woman's sister's neighbour's son heard about a classmate doing in a disco, is not evidence.

Can you provide any facts or figures to indicate that there's some form of social "malaise" being perpetrated?

You can't rely on your gut feeling - every generation believes that the next generation are over-sexed, over-exposed, over-drinking idiots on the fast track to collapsing society. So far every generation has been proven wrong.

Teenage pregnancy rates are at their lowest levels since 1966. If that's not an indication that we're doing the right thing in relation to sex education, I don't know what is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

your told to Go back into the dark ages..............

Ironically enough Spunout does great work highlighting these issues in a way that actually kids will listen to.

I just think they got this one a little bit unbalanced.

Lets have an honest open debate where no voice gets shuts down be that a right wing TD or anyone else. Lets listen to the content of what people are saying and discuss that rather than engage in witch hunts.
    Ironically, I think you've just proven why teenagers need access to more open and unbiased information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

I think its kinda messed up that james o Reilly is giving out about the HSE funding for Spunout when wasnt there some irregularities on the opening of HSE centers in his constituency...

Some people need to practice what they preach

Ironically, I think you've just proven why teenagers need access to more open and unbiased information.

Which is what I said SPunout provide usually.

Again rather than look for cheap point scoring tactics, deal with the substance of the issues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Three Seasons

Useful contribution.

I actually think there's some truth to his statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Again rather than look for cheap point scoring tactics, deal with the substance of the issues.

To me it seems that the issue is that some folk have equated that Spunout by outlining the facts of an activity seem to be promoting said activity.

seamus wrote: »
    Anecdotal evidence is not evidence. Shock articles in the media about some kid who sent naked pictures to another kid, are not evidence. Discussions on Joe Duffffeeeeee about what some woman's sister's neighbour's son heard about a classmate doing in a disco, is not evidence.

Can you provide any facts or figures to indicate that there's some form of social "malaise" being perpetrated?

You can't rely on your gut feeling - every generation believes that the next generation are over-sexed, over-exposed, over-drinking idiots on the fast track to collapsing society. So far every generation has been proven wrong.

Teenage pregnancy rates are at their lowest levels since 1966. If that's not an indication that we're doing the right thing in relation to sex education, I don't know what is.

Not ancedotal at all ask any teacher and they will tell you same and worse.

See again how you resort to cheap characterisations as a form of putdown. Its exactly what I am talking about.

STD rates are at epidemic levels amont teens today-oh wait every generation is the same. Ask the folks at Spunout.ie.

Not 'cheap point scoring tactics' at all. We know that teenagers are sexually active, we know that sexually active people experiment, we know that the incidence of some STIs is increasing (in all age groups). Is it not better to educate teenagers from a young age as to the possible health and emotional risks involved, and more importantly to tell them it's OK to simply say no to anything they do not feel comfortable with?

Getting defensive and accusing others of trying to score cheap points when expressing an opinion is unlikey to help your argument.

P_1 wrote: »
    To me it seems that the issue is that some folk have equated that Spunout by outlining the facts of an activity seem to be promoting said activity.

If it was just outlining the facts i have no problem but suggesting to a 16 year old that a threesum is a good way to spice up your sex life???

That goes a little further.

If it was just outlining the facts i have no problem but suggesting to a 16 year old that a threesum is a good way to spice up your sex life???

Should they just stick to a little BDSM and cosplay then?

For a lot of people it is. It also outlines the risks, it is not telling all 16 year old that they simply haven't lived until they've had a threesome.

?

Getting defensive and accusing others of trying to score cheap points when expressing an opinion is unlikey to help your argument.

Of course its cheap points scoring-anyone who disagrees with your view is called the joe duffeeeee bragade or a right wing 1950s reactionary or a member of the iona institute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Of course its cheap points scoring-anyone who disagrees with your view is called the joe duffeeeee bragade or a right wing 1950s reactionary or a member of the iona institute.
    Did I? That post was refering to your reply where you specifically accused me of cheap point scoring. I don't recall making any of those points.

Should they just stick to a little BDSM and cosplay then?

Already discussed go back a few pages.

Sure why not?

Your some man trying to stir it up.

Your cool you are.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Well it does have the potential to do so to be fair. It also has the potential to mess things up. Two points that the article in question raised.

My cool I am indeed. I'm jealous I never had a threesome as a young teenager just as much as you are, but I'm not going to try to stop them finding out about them, or having their information restricted to the kind of classroom rumor that gave us such gems as "You can't get pregnant if you have sex standing up".

Threesomes ARE a good way of spicing things up. You may have noticed that there were risks outlined as well? I mean, you did read the article before telling us what's wrong with it, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Threesomes ARE a good way of spicing things up.

Strangely spice isn't generally a good way to spice things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Had the unfortunate incident of watching a Jeremy Kyle program and it seems threesomes are quite common for the guests with the paternity tests...maybe not the kind of threesome spunOut were on about.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Strangely spice isn't generally a good way to spice things up.

You have to take things slowly with spice. Jumping straight into the chillis without building up a tolerance or knowing where you should never put them under any circumstances will more than likely lead to unpleasantness.

From my own experiences cooking dinner with just the right blend and strength of spices has don't wonders for my sex life. But I'm not about to shove a jalapeno up someone's jap's eye, because I have information on what objects like that do to soft tissues.

My cool I am indeed. I'm jealous I never had a threesome as a young teenager just as much as you are?

Speak for yourself sarky

Oh, you have had a threesome as a teenager, I apologise. And was it this scurrilous article from Spunout that tempted you into such dangerous and reckless behaviour? Did you make sure to do it standing up so nobody got preggers?

Did I? That post was refering to your reply where you specifically accused me of cheap point scoring. I don't recall making any of those points.
    I'm quoting myself here, flatbackfour. Any chance you could answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Not ancedotal at all ask any teacher and they will tell you same and worse.
    You do realise that "ask any teacher" is just another anecdote.
    STD rates are at epidemic levels amont teens today-oh wait every generation is the same. Ask the folks at Spunout.ie.
    I assume you have links to back up the assertion that STDs rates are at an "epidemic" level among teens and that increased rates aren't just due to better reporting?