Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2 (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Dammnit Laviski, got me excited then realised it was last weeks one. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Laviski

well no one posted anything so thought i drop the info

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Has there been any word on when the standalone version is to be released? Would love to get back into it whenever it's out, but i've to get myself a new pc first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Dead_Shot wrote: »
    ill take it and try arma 3 out before i buy it :) :P i did have another account called hawkeye just incase you tink am a spammer lol

PM me your steam e-mail and I'll send it on

There is a Dayz panel tomorrow at pax east with and supposedly lots of new gameplay will be revealed.

There was a new interview with rocket that again had a lot of new info, I'm on my phone so I'm too lazy to link to our, but it's on the front page of the Dayz subreddit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

I was kind of expecting this after he couldnt give an answer in the last devblog, I thought by now theyd be able to give a more precise time of when its expected to come out :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭synesthesia

they are making a risky move delaying it ... the mod my be live on arms 3 before then...

Not risky imo.
    Even if it does get ported over it will still be buggy, lack features, have no anti hacking, and be restricted by no engine access.

I don't think people realise the work needed to re-build the mod from the ground up, especially with a small team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

What's with all the people on dayz that want to hug it out and be friends?was playing last night in one of the mercenary servers and nearly everyone I met wanted to be friends.The whole point of mercenary is that its more for PvP than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭eurofoxy

Squaredude wrote: »
    What's with all the people on dayz that want to hug it out and be friends?was playing last night in one of the mercenary servers and nearly everyone I met wanted to be friends.The whole point of mercenary is that its more for PvP than anything else.

i find it gas, i will be friends with anyone till you have something i want then i am going to shoot you in the face, i would expect other people to do the same to me too..
    I will admit i get a sick thrill out of finding these groups of idiots giving away their position on side chat saying they have all this gear, then they get ambushed by me, and they get all bitchy with me for doing it.. i was banned from one server for doing it, even though i sniped them all from the hills over looking cherno and they were having a camp fire on the tall factory... i was well proud as it was 1k plus in distance and i killed 8 of them...

cant wait to hear them scream in the new game gonna be a gas laugh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭[Rasta]

eurofoxy wrote: »
    i find it gas, i will be friends with anyone till you have something i want then i am going to shoot you in the face, i would expect other people to do the same to me too..
    I will admit i get a sick thrill out of finding these groups of idiots giving away their position on side chat saying they have all this gear, then they get ambushed by me, and they get all bitchy with me for doing it.. i was banned from one server for doing it, even though i sniped them all from the hills over looking cherno and they were having a camp fire on the tall factory... i was well proud as it was 1k plus in distance and i killed 8 of them...

cant wait to hear them scream in the new game gonna be a gas laugh..

I really wonder what servers some of you guys join. All servers I've come across are pretty much shoot on sight. And there's definitely no people giving away their positions, or having fancy dinner parties over side chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

BMRF servers are all PVP thats what I love about them! Been playing on the f1es.de servers and full of HackeronPC fanboys asking if that d-bag is here and being all lovey dovey and saying the word "Bambi" that bleedin' goes through my head! How some people ruin servers is beyond me!

the problem with the german servers is they attract lots of russians, and in my experience with them they just want to cheat and teleport everywhere... that just annoys the crap out of me.. i really dont mind being killed but being killed by a hacker is something i just dont not like..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

I think it has to do with hackeronpc, these kids see him being friendly to other players & are trying to be like him maybe? I dont understand it, I get quite a bit of abuse in most of my DayZ videos cause I shoot people on sight. I dont see any other way to play the game tbh. Don't even get me started about the DayZ Reddit, bunch of care bear's over there that despise 'admins' & 'bandits'.

@Simon yes thank you! That word 'bambi' drives me mad too.

It's been a while since i've played, but i think the game definitely lost something when everyone went kill on sight. At first, people were terrified of each other, and you'd have some great stand offs with random people, which didn't always lead to someone getting killed.

I still remember the first time i killed someone, as i wasn't sure what his intentions were. I saw him, and backed away into a shop in Berenzino, and asked if he was friendly 3 times. He kept walking in without answering or typing, so i had to put him down. I almost felt bad doing it though, and was so freaked i legged it out of town as soon as i could :P

Still great getting into groups and roaming the map, but i liked when it was less...i dunno, harsh? Can't wait to try out the standalone though.

I agree with Kiith. I understand both sides though, once you run out of things to do, the only thing left to do is kill people.

I remember when we all started playing the game we were all friendly players who barely killed anyone. One of my favourite memories of playing DayZ is the first time we all went to the NW airfield. There was about 8 of us, and we all met at Balota, then some guy comes along and he saw us all and ran into one of the shacks. I followed him and told him we were friendly, as soon as he came out, I shot him in the head. That was one of my first kills, I felt bad afterwards, and everyone was telling me I was a cruel bastard.
    It took us about two hours to get to the NW airfield, we lost about half the people on the way, and when we finally got there we were all taken out before we even got to look inside one of the hangers.

I think once you learn everything there is to learn in DayZ it starts to get boring, I found the game to be most fun at the start when it really simulated a zombie survival game where we were all clueless, had no idea where to go, and just stayed in Cherno the whole time running back and forth between the hospital, the hotel, and the church tower.

I get some people just want to play alone, but others like to group up and they shouldn't be ridiculed for wanting that.

Rocket himself doesn't like the kill on sight mentality, and will be doing as many things do stop it as he can without forcing a certain play style.

Still remember my first day playing when I met you in Cherno flying. We then met up with all of the other lads & drove to Stary to loot. Then the "anti-boards" lads brilliantly ambushed us there killing everyone. Hopefully with the new additions to the map it will bring back that freshness.

ktulu123 wrote: »
    Still remember my first day playing when I met you in Cherno flying. We then met up with all of the other lads & drove to Stary to loot. Then the "anti-boards" lads brilliantly ambushed us there killing everyone. Hopefully with the new additions to the map it will bring back that freshness.

That was probably my second favourite memory. Didn't know that was your first day, I thought you were playing earlier than that.
    I like that sort of PvP though, where there is two clear groups who are enemies, sort of like The Walking Dead, we're the prison and the anti-boards lads were Woodbury people.

What I don't like is shooting defenceless players from 500m away with a sniper and them dying instantly without knowing what happened.

Yeah was my first day, I had played before that by myself though. Spawned in three valleys I think & a guy killed me with a hatchet after I though he was nice :P NEVER AGAIN!!!! haha

Yeah hopefully with the standalone we can get some sort of rivalry going no our server!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

What I don't like is shooting defenceless players from 500m away with a sniper and them dying instantly without knowing what happened.
    This!! I was playing mercenary yesterday, had only spawned in cherno, and I was running around and I got to the church and came across two guys and they started shouting "Friendly bro friendly bro" so I was crouched about to type something and there yapping away saying how they wont shoot me, next of all one of them shoots me and ya know what he says? "Sorry dude I wanted a bandit skin" Now imagine thats someones first time playing the game, he wants to team up with 1 or 2 people, maybe let them teach him a thing or two about where to get good loot etc, and then that d-head shoots him for no apparant reason, automatically the new person is going to be like what the hell im not playing this anymore or whatever, fair enough you should give it another try but chances are hes going to be like that now as well, its people like that who ruin it for others, im all for PVP aswell but nothing annoys me more than shooting fresh spawns.

Has there been any good idea's on how to stop, or at least limit, the amount of kill on sight that goes on? I mean without punishing 'bandits' in some way (which i'm not even sure is a good idea), there's not a lot they can do, is there?

It's probably the only rule I have in the game for myself. I like battling squads & intense fire fights. I don't see the point in cheap kills

I think they are trying to add a bit more end game, like base building & diseases etc.. Just make it harder to survive I think. Make a guy question if its better to shoot on sight or get help from them

You have to hold down a button to raise your gun, not sure how much this will help.
    There will be certain roles that people will fill such as doctors, mechanics, mercenaries, etc. Just so that people will need to group up to get some stuff done or to get help.
    I like it really, Fawkon actually spent like an hour talking about that exact thing a few months ago so he'll be happy with that.

He also wants to add more ways for people to steal from others. Rather than killing them, you could knock them out with a bat, or the butt of your gun and steal from them while they're knocked out.

I don't think people should be punished for banditry, I just think people should be rewarded for playing in groups, that they can accomplish more.

A suggestion I made on reddit was for them to remove the player count on servers, stop people from joining empty servers to gear up, stop them from spawning in on the cherno tower in full servers looking for some easy snipes, and just generally immerse people in the game more by not knowing if they should be worried about other players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

Possibly my best memory of the boards lads was when me and my mates only started playing Lingor and we finally made our way up to the huge airfield up north east. We had M4's, M14's and that derpy M136 launcher that never worked so we went into the terminal building and i found camo clothing, only to be short lived by "Rinzler" and a few others storming in and lighting the place up.... I was sad although I killed one of you :(

i think the best craic i had was the first time on lingor on the boards server, i think it was hawkeye myself and someone else, we found a car were collecting everything for it, finally got it running then boom, ambush by flying irish who unknown to us had been stalking us the entire time.. i think there is even a youtube video of it somewhere, laughted my ass off that night,

That Lingor server was good fun actually. Must get Rinzler out on this f1es.de server & shoot some annoying people! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

Nothing like the days when we use to all just sit around the camp fire in the rain in the middle of no where and discuss what our next moves were.

Oh and chern clocktower, countless hours just sitting up there with the lads waiting for survivors to come along so we could nick there stuff.

Game kind of lost something when we knew every bit of the map like the back of ours hands just doesn't have the same kind of "im f**ked I hope I can survive another hour" type of atmosphere. Hopefully the standalone can bring a bit of that back.