"HSE funding advice on teen threesomes" - Sindo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Nodin wrote: »
    Well, as soon as you find a cure for puberty, your problem will be solved.

My theory is that if we didn't lie to kids so much about stuff like santy and the tooth fairy and Jesus and **** they'd be a lot less cranky as teenagers and alot more likely to listen to people who they know weren't lying to them for 10 or 12 years ....... :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Three Seasons

I am not stigmatizing anything, I am simply saying that to give advice to a teen that having a threesum could be a good way to spice up your sex life is highly irresponsible. Even with giving the pros and cons of such behavior.

Again at the risk of repeating myself kids i meet are not really developmentally-emotionally ready for sex at 16- physically ready maybe but certainly not emotionally- Spun out is a great site for helping kids mental health but on this i think they have got it wrong.

The fact of the matter is that threesomes could spice up your life, if they lied and ignored reality fewer people would respect their advice and take it seriously.

The 16 year olds you meet may not be ready that doesn't mean all 16 year olds aren't ready.

Where exactly did you read the advice that teens should be having threesomes? All I've seen are basic facts and pros and cons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

My theory is that if we didn't lie to kids so much about stuff like santy and the tooth fairy and Jesus and **** they'd be a lot less cranky as teenagers and alot more likely to listen to people who they know weren't lying to them for 10 or 12 years ....... :pac:

....ye never know. Personally I take the approach that its better to assume they're going to do something and plan around that, rather than just hope that if they do something, they'll be safe/get lucky etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭flatbackfour

There is a difference between sexual active and having sex. 80% of teens are not having sex.

The research, commissioned by Pfizer Healthcare, was conducted with 12 focus groups comprising six female groups and six male groups, in Dublin, Cork and Galway.

hardly a representative sample of the teems in Ireland 144 teens. And by a drugs company, wheres the vested interest there in prematurely sexualsing teens??? Oh the mind boggles at the blind stupidity of some people.

Well, as soon as you find a cure for puberty, your problem will be solved.

There is a difference between begin physically ready and emotionally ready. If you think teens are fair game fair play to ya, I think that's a little disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Really the age of consent is not the issue be it 16 or 17. Are kids at 16 developmentally ready to engage in threesums? If you think they are than its no problem.

I think the site should have been a little bit more balanced in saying that at 16 its probably not the best thing for you to be doing and focused on that point more. Then give the advice- do you understand what I am saying?

IN its quest to give good solid impartial advice I think the site missed one simple piece of advice as a starting point, .i.e. at 16 maybe its better to wait till your older before having threesums. And maybe the reasons why for a sixteen year old that might be good advice to take. Then say-well if your not going to listen to that advice here is the other advice.

They do say
    Only do it if you want to do it. Not ‘cause you want to keep your girl or guy happy or because other people say it would be great craic.

....ye never know. Personally I take the approach that its better to assume they're going to do something and plan around that, rather than just hope that if they do something, they'll be safe/get lucky etc.

WHat about the advice that at 16 it might be healthier for you not to engage in threesums? at least as a starting point?

There is a difference between sexual active and having sex. 80% of teens are not having sex.

So fuck the 20% then. Brilliant notion that.
    There is a difference between begin physically ready and emotionally ready. If you think teens are fair game fair play to ya, I think that's a little disturbing.

O look at you, with your little implications.
    True but whats that got to do with the argument that advocating that teens try threesums to spice up thier sex life is good for thier mental health. Its just not.

"It's just not". Really. Whats that based on?
    Why not give the positives and negatives of orgies,knacker drinking, sado masacism, all sorts of sexual behaviour?.

I've no idea. Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

T H R E E S O ME

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

...are you sure you don't what to rephrase that ?

LizT wrote: »
    They do say

There is where we will have to disagree I really cant see how it is good advice to say to a sixteen year old that having a threesum is a good idea.

Are you ready at 16 to process all the emotions that go into having a threesum, yea teens will do it and its better they are informed if they do. Why not start of that information by saying-listen its probably not the best thing for you to be doing right now in your life, for x and y reason.

You don't want to listen to that advice- well hears the other advice for ya.

what I am trying to say that teens have the impression that everyone is ****ing around them when at their age when in fact everyone is not. This kind of message puts pressure on teens to engage in sex earlier than they might want. Add how alcohol is used in this early sexualisation of teens and you have a nasty little minefield of sexually transmitted diseases and a lot of emotionally hurt teens etc.

O look at you, with your little implications.

Ridicule my friend. I think your a fan.

To be honest the tone of your replies is getting a little aggressive also. Maybe you could keep it civil. Seriously.

mikom wrote: »
    T H R E E S O ME

Er sorry:)

My last reply BTW. Enjoy the threesums, and if ya have a 16 year old daughter or son dont forget to advice them that threesums could be just the thing to spice up their sex life. FFS I really must be getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

stretchdoe wrote: »
    If you buy the Sunday Independent you're an idiot.
    Too true. I shoplift my copy.

what I am trying to say that teens have the impression that everyone is ****ing around them when at their age when in fact everyone is not. This kind of message puts pressure on teens to engage in sex earlier than they might want. Add how alcohol is used in this early sexualisation of teens and you have a nasty little minefield of sexually transmitted diseases and a lot of emotionally hurt teens etc.

Most teenagers are going to engage in some form of sexual activity or other whether you like it or not, whether they should or not. It's thus better to face that and deal with it, rather than whinge about "early sexualisation". Once they hit puberty, its nature - not society - thats driving them.

True but whats that got to do with the argument that advocating that teens try threesums to spice up thier sex life is good for thier mental health. Its just not.

Why not give the positives and negatives of orgies,knacker drinking, sado masacism, all sorts of sexual behaviour?.

I've no idea. Why not? Please explain.

Originally Posted by Nodin viewpost.gif Does it now?
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland...ds-115211.html

Quote:
    The research, commissioned by Pfizer Healthcare, was conducted with 12 focus groups comprising six female groups and six male groups, in Dublin, Cork and Galway.
    Hardly a representative sample of the teens in Ireland 144 teens. And by a drugs company, what interest might they have in prematurely sexualsing teens??? Oh the mind boggles at the blind stupidity of some people.

Now that really is my last post.

Originally (........)of some people.

Now that really is my last post.

Puberty sexualises teens. Not Drug companys, drink or Rhianna.

I see you're running off to avoid questions now. Toodle pip.

Most teenagers are going to engage in some form of sexual activity or other whether you like it or not, whether they should or not. It's thus better to face that and deal with it, rather than whinge about "early sexualisation". Once they hit puberty, its nature - not society - thats driving them.

Yes but do we not say to the same teens that try to wait and give them reasons why its good for them to wait. if we actually think it may be good to wait especially in engaging in threesomes?

Your a firm believe in animal instincts of humans I see. let them at it.

Now really I am finished:

Yes but do we not say to the same teens that try to wait and give them reasons why its good for them to wait. if we actually think it may be good to wait especially in engaging in threesomes?:

But do we think that and if so, why?
    Your a firm believe in animal instincts of humans I see. let them at it. :

There's a reason theres 7 Billion of us or so on the Planet, and I'm fairly sure its nothing to do with Lady Gaga and Heineken adverts.
    Now really I am finished:

....having still avoided two questions.

Puberty sexualises teens. Not Drug companys, drink or Rhianna.

I see you're running off to avoid questions now. Toodle pip.

Puberty sexualises teens- the media supported and paid for by multinationals by and large have a vested interested in brainwashing teens into seeing sex as a commodity and nothing more. And then we have well meaning groups such as spun-out adding to this without question.

Thats the sad thing about it, they are well meaning and so are you. Your just being conned into believing that any questioning of this commodification of sex is in fact right wing reactionary. Your the one being duped.

Puberty sexualises teens- the media supported and paid for by multinationals by and large have a vested interested in brainwashing teens into seeing sex as a commodity and nothing more.....

Yep, the lizard people want us to breed more early for food or something....

You still haven't answered the questions at the end of post 136
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83817212&postcount=136

Around a hundred years of developmental psychology thats all.

You've sources for that?

One question left.....

Question flatbackfour, if it's not too personal.
    Do you teach, and if you do, what subjects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Mulherin's clearly never heard of the Streissand effect..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streisand_effect

How many people even knew there was an article about this on Spunout's website before this ''controversy''? Then again not sure that's fair on her. Chances are someone from the Sindo saw it and decided to make a story out of it. It's more than a month old for feck sake!

Yep, the lizard people want us to breed more early for food or something....

You still haven't answered the questions at the end of post 136
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83817212&postcount=136

You said it yourself from Riahanna to coke a cola to heinikin sex is being used to dupe kids into behaving in ways thats not good for them. But dare anyone question that? Your just a an old fart let the kids do what nature tells them to. Man you are naive.

Im gone, hope I answered your questions.

We will just have to agree to disagree. Although we probably agree on more that we both think.

You said it yourself from Riahanna to coke a cola to heinikin sex is being used to dupe kids into behaving in ways thats not good for them. .

Said the opposite actually.

Are you going to answer the question now?

I heard this new band "The Beatles" actually think they are bigger than god.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

mikom wrote: »
    I heard this new band "The Beatles" actually think they are bigger than god.........

I'm still all shook up after the last guy...

You said it yourself from Riahanna to coke a cola to heinikin sex is being used to dupe kids into behaving in ways thats not good for them. But dare anyone question that? Your just a an old fart let the kids do what nature tells them to. Man you are naive.

Im gone, hope I answered your questions.

We will just have to agree to disagree. Although we probably agree on more that we both think.

You answered one but provided no sources to back it up and dodged the second entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

flatbackfour, the article says "If, could and can", not "You have to, or you're not cool, and probably dead from the waist down."

It gives information to those teens that are thinking about it, some which might even be virgins that think that they have to have a threeSOME to be normal, and provides a list of pro's and con's.

Some mightn't be emotionally capable for threeSOMEs, and the article gives them the information that they need to make a more informed decision not to have one.

But fúck it, let them get the information from Brazzers and Pornhub. That'll be better.