Kill it, cook it, eat it.

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Ush1 wrote: »
    Erm, no. Veal isn't usually just a baby cow, it's a baby cow strapped down from birth so it can't move.

It's one thing I would not eat because of how it's produced.

The meat is more tender as they aren't using any muscle.

Indeed veal has gained a poor reputation because the calves are reared in such an artificial way.. Lamb on the other hand is reared outdoors on grass and milk and roams free..

Rose Veal on the other hand is a good compromise, young enough to be super tasty but not reared in the same restrictive way..
    The calves are carefully tended in a animal friendly, welfare sensitive environment by farmers who are members of the Bord Bia Farm Assurance Scheme. They are fed on a cereal based diet to produce a light, pink coloured meat. They have pleasant housing with good ventilation and freedom to move around as they wish.

This all comes together in a final product, Slaney Rosé Veal, which offers the chef in the restaurant and in the home the oppurtunity to produce a wide array of flavoursome dishes from tender fillet to tasty dishes like Italian Osso Bucco, (shank of veal).

http://www.buit.ie/irish_veal.html

To the guy who mentioned eating dog... I've had it and its nothing wonderful, its like eating the meat from an older bull/cow. Had it in a stew.

For me young Hereford Beef and bacon from our own pigs is the best meat I've had..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭martinedwards

I'm a firm believer that if you eat meat you should at least be aware of how it gets on your plate.

Not everyone has the opportunity to hunt, kill, cook and eat, but we should all be AWARE.

I grew up on a farm and have hunted rabbit and pigeon, caught fish & shrimp, gathered mussels, oysters etc off the beach, killed and cleaned chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys, and gutted and skinned pigs.

as to emotional attachment?

we'll always remember the bottle reared pet lamb Barney.

darn he tasted good!!

The animals should live the best life possible though.

veal crates and fois gras are just plain evil

I've also collected mushrooms, samphire, blackberries, plums, apples, wild strawberries, blaeberries, wild garlic, and believe it or not, the core of thistle flower.... just like a hazel nut......

if you eat it.... be aware.....

and if you choose not to eat it, that's fine by me, all the more for me to enjoy!!

I'm a firm believer that if you eat meat you should at least be aware of how it gets on your plate.

Not everyone has the opportunity to hunt, kill, cook and eat, but we should all be AWARE.

I grew up on a farm and have hunted rabbit and pigeon, caught fish & shrimp, gathered mussels, oysters etc off the beach, killed and cleaned chickens, ducks, geese and turkeys, and gutted and skinned pigs.

as to emotional attachment?

we'll always remember the bottle reared pet lamb Barney.

darn he tasted good!!

The animals should live the best life possible though.

veal crates and fois gras are just plain evil

I've also collected mushrooms, samphire, blackberries, plums, apples, wild strawberries, blaeberries, wild garlic, and believe it or not, the core of thistle flower.... just like a hazel nut......

if you eat it.... be aware.....

and if you choose not to eat it, that's fine by me, all the more for me to enjoy!!
    I don't understand the whole "emmotional attchment" thing.

We keep a few pigs each year for the table, we name them, feed them, the kids feed them and they really are nice animals..
    Then when they hit 80kg, into the trailer and to slaughter. We'd have them for about 6 months.. I like knowing they are well looked after, get no drugs and get outseide all the time to root round like pigs do... but they have a purpose, a damn tasty one too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

bbam wrote: »
    I don't understand the whole "emmotional attchment" thing.

We keep a few pigs each year for the table, we name them, feed them, the kids feed them and they really are nice animals..
    Then when they hit 80kg, into the trailer and to slaughter. We'd have them for about 6 months.. I like knowing they are well looked after, get no drugs and get outseide all the time to root round like pigs do... but they have a purpose, a damn tasty one too..

I don't know how you avoid emotional attachment. I live on a farm and have a few cows and calves myself and I understand how things work but it still goes awful hard on me if a calf dies or a heifer aborts a calf or gets sick. We don't keep them to fatten them so I don't have to see the trailer heading off to the factory but I do get fierce attached to them. They're like my babies!

Rasheed wrote: »
    I don't know how you avoid emotional attachment. I live on a farm and have a few cows and calves myself and I understand how things work but it still goes awful hard on me if a calf dies or a heifer aborts a calf or gets sick. We don't keep them to fatten them so I don't have to see the trailer heading off to the factory but I do get fierce attached to them. They're like my babies!

Dont get me wrong... I lost a calf last week and it drove me mad, I had battled with him for a week, and loosing him was a real slap in the face.

I lost a 350kg heifer last year and we helped the vet cut her up to take organ samples while she was still warm..

I like looking after them well, we really do try and give them the best of everything.. But when the time comes, what must be done - must be done !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Show on RTE2 now.

I think it should be mandatory viewing for anyone that eats meat. Meat doesn't come from a factory y'know.

Hmm, veal calves.

Is eating baby animals wrong, where should the line be drawn?

Is eating dogs okay?

I absolutely know meat doesn't come from a factory, but then again i don't really give a ****.

Once it arrives on my plate, medium rare, with garnish at 7pm then i couldn't care less about living conditions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭martinedwards

it's been proven again and again that a stress free life makes tastier meat.

you SHOULD care about the living (and kill) conditions if you want a high quality product.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I absolutely know meat doesn't come from a factory, but then again i don't really give a ****.

Once it arrives on my plate, medium rare, with garnish at 7pm then i couldn't care less about living conditions etc.

Thats a shame and it encourages poor farming practices and cheap imports..
    You can cook up a bit of 12 year old cow to "medium rare" and it will be a terrible product.. you really should have higher standards for your food.

When consumers don't care about a product then no effort to deliver a proper product is made.. and only the consumer looses out.

For very little more to the consumer a premium product can be delivered. Young animals (14-18months old), of the correct breeds, reared humanely and slaughtered as stress free as possible will yield a far superior product..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Veal farming is disgusting, at least the non free-raised farming. I got put off lamb when i was younger, we hand reared one of my uncles lambs for a month or so, just seems inhumane to kill a baby animal just because its softer/tastier to eat. Its getting harder to know how the meat your eating was reared, but i'd try to make sure it had at least a few years of decent living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Meat comes from an abattoir where animals are killed for meat, factories process this meat, there's a difference.
    Without humans eating meat, tasty tasty meat, you wouldn't be around to get on your high horse

Suck it up crusty, we're animals and animals eat other animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Jaysus, never seen such a tirade of abuse against vegetarians in the first 2 pages of a thread. I REALLY don't understand it to be honest, the slightest mention of eating animals and people come out with all sorts of crap "feel sorry for veggies", "vegetarians are dumb" etc - who even brought vegetarianism up?

We have a reputation of ramming our opinions down people's throat but it's completely the opposite as is evident here. And just for the record (I haven't seen this programme in question) but I would fully support the idea of raising, killing and eating animals yourself - it's far better than the current system which creates several degrees of separation from the living animal to what ends up on your plate. ( and also would reduce incidents like the horse meat scandal, mad cow disease, swine flu, avian flu, etc)

Serious where does the irrational hatred of vegetarians come from?? Live and let live ffs, there's far far worse people in society to direct your hatred at.

Where does the hate come from? Well maybe if vegetarians would keep it to themselfs and eat their vegetables and feck off from meat eaters. It's like any vegetarian I mett they always put themselfs as "better then you" stance as they don't "kill" animals.

My sister and her husband are vegetarians ( would not even call them real ones, but with all the "high horsiness" of it ) and that is most annoying thing in the world. To make it even worse their newborn baby was put on vegetarian diet. Let the child grow up and decided for himself if he wants to be vegetarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

To clear up a misconception that a few posters seem to be under:

"Lamb" that you buy in the butchers = Sheep that are about 1 year old. They don't kill the little baby lambs, as they're not particularly tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Hoop66 wrote: »
    To clear up a misconception that a few posters seem to be under:

"Lamb" that you buy in the butchers = Sheep that are about 1 year old. They don't kill the little baby lambs, as they're not particularly tasty.

You can buy 'milk-fed' lamb (4-6 weeks) in some places, and 'spring lamb', which is widely available is harvested at around 3-5 months of age. Most of the time it will be yearling lamb, but not always, and it's up to people to know what they're buying; especially if they've a problem with the idea of eating very young or non-weaned animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

CruelCoin wrote: »

People have always lived in ignorant privilege, whether it is master and slaves, energy and the environment, or locals and a concentration camp, thinking you sound cool or macho for failing to understand the bigger picture is utterly juvenile.
    It's like any vegetarian I mett they always put themselfs as "better then you" stance as they don't "kill" animals.

Has it occurred to you that you have met many vegetarians that never even mentioned it? It's like saying that all gay men are screamingly camp, or all Christians are constantly trying to convert people...by definition you won't notice the ones that are quiet about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A farmer will go through a lot with his/her stock. Animals have personalities too which somebody may attach themselves to.