Who do you think is performing well in government?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I think he has one of the most difficult jobs in the entire country.

I think he is an excellent example of someone who believes in public service. He is a multi-millionaire. He's not in the job for the money, he is doing it, because he wants to see right by the country. I admire that and wish him well.

Im sorry but can you answer the question i asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I think he is an excellent example of someone who believes in public service. He is a multi-millionaire. He's not in the job for the money, he is doing it, because he wants to see right by the country. I admire that and wish him well.

Especially if it's his little patch of the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Nobody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

sfwcork wrote: »

Like a true politician :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

For many of those reasons I had high hopes for him initially.

But he has been awful. No vision, no backbone and an inclination towards cronyism. I like you Rabin though, your good at what you do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

sfwcork wrote: »

I believe his portfolio is incredibly difficult, if not impossible to solve in the 2 years he has had so far. I believe he has good intentions and is highly qualified for the job, given his background in medicine and his intelligence/competence. I think he is one of the more capable individuals you could have in that job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I believe his portfolio is incredibly difficult, if not impossible to solve in the 2 years he has had so far. I believe he has good intentions and is highly qualified for the job, given his background in medicine and his intelligence/competence. I think he is one of the more capable individuals you could have in that job.

So is he doing a good job. A yes or no would suffice

She'd certainly be getting the blame if things were going badly.

James Reilly gets a load of bile posted about him, despite being an excellent public servant, because he is the head of a dysfunctional department.

You have dropped the ball here. You cannot credit Burton as head of her department 'for performing well' and absolve Reilly because he is just the head of his already 'dysfunctional' department.

dirtyden wrote: »
    You have dropped the ball here. You cannot credit Burton as head of her department 'for performing well' and absolve Reilly because he is just the head of his already 'dysfunctional' department.

Of course I can!

Its a similar situation to a brilliant football manager like Sir Alex Ferguson (James Reilly) being handed Scunthorpe United, and criticising him for only getting them promoted rather than winning the Champions League within the first 2 years. I can still comment on what a good manager he is, and that he managed to get his team promoted.

Then I can also say that Arsene Wenger (Joan Burton) did well in winning the FA cup with Arsenal.

Its all about context. You have to judge Reilly on the context of the task he has taken on.

But here's an example of some of the good work he has done

http://www.merrionstreet.ie/index.php/2012/06/minister-of-health-dr-james-reilly-announces-drug-price-cuts/
    The Minister for Health, James Reilly TD today, 18th June 2012, announced that agreement has been reached with the Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association (IPHA) on interim drug price reductions. The price of certain off patent medicines are to be reduced which will deliver full year savings to the HSE of €20m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Noonan

and to lesser effect Varadkar, Coveney and Kenny

I can't see how James Reilly could be considered to be doing well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

As do many others!

He's articulate, charismatic and a snappy dresser.

I thought he performed especially well when Obama and the Queen visited. Proved a very capable statesman.

I suspect the history books will be kind to Mr. Kenny, and his name will be mentioned in the same breath as greats such as Michael Collins and Sean Lemass.

Surely you jest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Big Bottom

O'Reilly does have an incredibly difficult job and he gets no credit for his efforts whatsoever.
    id like to see some of the begrudgers on here try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

As do many others!

He's articulate, charismatic and a snappy dresser.

I thought he performed especially well when Obama and the Queen visited. Proved a very capable statesman.

I suspect the history books will be kind to Mr. Kenny, and his name will be mentioned in the same breath as greats such as Michael Collins and Sean Lemass.

He's none of those things. Enda Kenny has to be one of the most uninspired and uninspiring leaders out there. He has absolutely no vision and has showed zero innovation in leadership. He just does what he's told from Europe without coming up with any ideas of his own. He just takes orders.

As for the rest of them, they're all pretty ****e, to be honest. Richard Bruton's all right, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I think broadly speaking the Government have done a fairly good job of things. I don't think it can be underestimated the absolute mammoth task in front of then when they took office. In a situation such as that in which this country finds itself, the great masses will never fully appreciate the difficult task being done. The fact that we see a surge in support for fianna fail just two yrs later says a lot about the general populace.

When entering an election campaign every party puts forward its manifesto but unless you get a single party majority it should be painfully obvious to people that a programme for government requires compromise. Its the nature of power sharing, particularly when power sharing is between two parties with wildly different ideologies. Considering the issues that have faced this government so far and considering they are only coming up On two years in power. Have they done everything right? Of course not. Have they made mistakes? Absolutely. Have they done everything as I would have liked to see. No.

But if i was to walk to a polling station tomorrow to vote in a general election, i honestly couldn't see myself voting for anyone other than FG. In my view there is no credible alternative at this point and as I've said I don't think either government party has done a particularly bad job. I have no party allegiance either.

Having said that, certain Ministers have been very disappointing for me.

At the top of that list is Phil Hogan (who seems to have disappeared completely lately). He hasn't been strong on issues relating to his Department particularly local government issues and was poor in his handling of the household charges and septic tank issue.

I also had high hopes for James Reilly and I think his progress on the programme for government objectives have been very slow. Needs to pull the socks up, despite how difficult a portfolio that is.

Jimmy Deenihan is doing fine but comes across as relatively weak on some issues.

Eamonn Gilmore is also in my view having a relatively quiet time in power. I don't see a lot of leadership there. Foreign affairs (and trade) is a difficult portfolio to get a read on in terms of visible successes.

I am actually quite impressed with Enda Kenny. I think his way of governing and media presence is something quite different to what I am used to for the Taoiseach. In many respects he seems to take a rather understated approach to governing which may not be a baD thing for the times we are in. I get the impression that he is much more of a grafter in the background and I think we need that. Ultimately although two years in, I think it is too early to determine the success or otherwise of Kenny's reign. But so far on the balance i think he's doing grand

Of course I can!

Its a similar situation to a brilliant football manager like Sir Alex Ferguson (James Reilly) being handed Scunthorpe United, and criticising him for only getting them promoted rather than winning the Champions League within the first 2 years. I can still comment on what a good manager he is, and that he managed to get his team promoted.

Then I can also say that Arsene Wenger (Joan Burton) did well in winning the FA cup with Arsenal.

Its all about context. You have to judge Reilly on the context of the task he has taken on.

But here's an example of some of the good work he has done

http://www.merrionstreet.ie/index.php/2012/06/minister-of-health-dr-james-reilly-announces-drug-price-cuts/

If you knew how the pharmaceutical industry and the sales of pharmaceuticals works you would not describe that as a success. But I dont believe you are being serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It has been a solid, if unspectacular, performance from the Government to date. They came to power in extraordinary circumstances, with the country on the very edge of an economic precipice. They have managed to restore some confidence in this regard, and inward investment is far above the European average. The local economy remains sluggish, and they failed to make the type of substantial changes needed to the Croke Park agreement to tackle our extraordinary public service wage and pension bill. But money doesn't grow on trees - which may come as a surprise to various socialists and keynesians.

Other highlights for me are:

Kenny's wonderful speech to the Dáil criticising the various cover-ups by the Catholic Church. It was emotive, passionate and very much overdue.
    The visit by the Queen of the UK&NI.
    The apology issued to the victims of the Magdalene laundries. Yet another emotive speech from a man who has bags on integrity, if not exactly a formidable intellect.
    A change to the conditions of the promissory note issued against the former Anglo.

I'd give them a solid 7.5 of out ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

The government takes an awful lot of flak here on boards, so I think there needs to be a thread where people can give their support to elected representatives that they think are doing well.

Personally I think Joan Burton has been one of the stars. She has been able to put aside some of her long held socialist ideals and tackle the behemoth challenge of the social welfare bill. An enormous task, and I think she has embraced her portfolio with gusto. As Bertie would say though, alot done, more to do!

I also think Toaiseach Enda Kenny deserves an honourable mention. I think he did a fantastic job over in the US this week and was quite inspirational.

Who do you think is doing a bang-up job in government?

For me its no one is even worthy of a mention of doing a good job, maybe an iffy meh job of things, but the parts bolded above, sweet lord jesus. With comments like the last its no wonder this country is fooooked

. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .``~.,
    . . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
    . . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
    . . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
    . . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
    . . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
    . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
    . . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
    . . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
    . . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
    . . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
    . . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
    . . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
    . . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
    . . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
    . . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./.....\,__
    ,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
    . .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>--==``
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _\. . . . . ._,-%. . . ..`

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

Here is my selection, listed in alphabetical order:

That is all.

The Blueshirt's have done nothing about jobs. Nothing. They just cut more and more out of peoples pockets with taxes and more and more spending cuts. Fair enough, the country was in bits when they took power. And it still is.

FF getting popularity again only goes to show the total lack of choice today in Irish politics. And the irony is FF are pretty much the same as FG, except FG are a much more centre-right and ballsy about it.

Alan Shatter is a git.
    Leo Varadkar is a git.

Also Labour to be destroyed at next general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Check out the pic just after Kenny left the White House !!!!!!

Augmerson wrote: »
    The Blueshirt's have done nothing about jobs. Nothing. They just cut more and more out of peoples pockets with taxes and more and more spending cuts. Fair enough, the country was in bits when they took power. And it still is.

FF getting popularity again only goes to show the total lack of choice today in Irish politics. And the irony is FF are pretty much the same as FG, except FG are a much more centre-right and ballsy about it.

Alan Shatter is a git.
    Leo Varadkar is a git.

I'd agree; they have increased taxes substantially. It's not good for getting things moving in the local economy. But the country has no money. We spend about 11 billion more per year than we take in. That's a lot. Yet if they decide to close down some deathtrap of a hospital down in Roscommon there is howls of righteous indignation.

And absolutely no one in the opposition has come up with a workable alternative solution. Instead we get the type of vague rhetoric so beloved of those in the ULA and SF. "Burn the bondholders", "Not another red cent", "Action Plan on Jobs". All meaningless bullshít.

You gotta be able to either balance the books or borrow. Kinda limited in the old borrowing regard.

Alan Shatter is a git.
    Leo Varadkar is a git.

Also Labour to be destroyed at next general election.

You are talking out your hat there now my friend!

http://www.djei.ie/press/2012/20120503.htm
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny announces the creation of 250 new jobs by SAP with a €110M investment at its Dublin and Galway facilities

http://www.siliconrepublic.com/video/v/846-taoiseach-enda-kenny/
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny announces 1,000 new jobs at PayPal in Dundalk

http://www.voxpro.ie/blog/100jobs/Default.aspx
    TAOISEACH ANNOUNCES 100 NEW JOBS AT VOXPRO

http://www.thejournal.ie/enda-kenny-announces-145-new-jobs-in-green-energy-177750-Jul2011/
    TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY this morning announced 145 new jobs at a firm producing wind turbines.
    The positions will be created over the next three years at C&F Green Energy in Athenry, Co Galway as it produces a new range of small wind-powered generators.

Do you work for Kenny's PR team or do you just have a hard on for FG in general? While I would never scoff at 2,000 jobs being created in the current climate, 2,000 jobs is a drop in the ocean with the numbers of unemployed. I guess the Gov't hopes the rest of them will just emigrate?

What we need is a real jobs initiative, and not some Jobsbridge crap either. What we need is something along the lines of a New Deal program like the US had in the 30s. I expected something like that with all the talk of jobs when Kenny and Co. wanted our vote, but no. Just rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,970 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Unbelievable pro-FG/LAB statement

Seriously.. you HAVE to be having a laugh right??

- James Reilly: an arrogant, overpaid millionaire who has (to my knowledge) never satisfactorily answered ANYTHING regarding his alleged stroke politics

- Joan Burton: Gets praise for cutting essential services to carers and those who need the pittance they get most? (Note: I'm not talking about career welfare types - those DO deserve to be stripped of anything they get if they won't work, or reskill)

- Leo Vardadkar: Spends more time waffling about everyone ELSE'S department than looking after his own

- Alan Shatter: The guy who has caused people in rural areas to be victims of increased levels of crime as a result of penny-pinching (I bet the Gardai are still sitting outside his own house tonight though) and cutbacks to AGS (and I'm no fan of AGS but I feel sorry for them in this instance)

- Enda Kenny: A man who jets off to the US on the day (Saturday) that Ulster Bank announce they are planning to start repossessing houses.
    A guy who has been in politics since 1975 and who was nearly overthrown before the last election.
    A guy who is more concerned with being the "European of the year" than representing the citizens who put him in his current job - the same citizens he's happy to sell into economic servitude for the next 2 generations.
    A guy who is a cardboard cutout - sent out to waffle and spin but SAYS nothing. Great Statesman?? He's an overpaid teacher who is dangerously out of his depth, PLAYING Statesman and Russian Roulette with this country's future.

About the only decent TD's in the House at the moment are Donnelly, Doherty and Mary Lou. While I may not agree with their politics, at least they're objecting to the status quo that Kenny and Gilmore on one side, and Martin on the other, are so determined to maintain at the expense of the rest of us.

So come on.. tell us which minister's office you're working in then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Few independents like Stephen Donnelly and Shane Ross have been ok and the like of Mary Lou McDonald and Pearse Doherty in SF. Think Richard Boyd Barrett and Clare Daly have done a good job for those who voted for them too. But in FG or Labour Peter Mathews is the only one I'd have time for.

Do you work for Kenny's PR team or do you just have a hard on for FG in general? While I would never scoff at 2,000 jobs being created in the current climate, 2,000 jobs is a drop in the ocean with the numbers of unemployed. I guess the Gov't hopes the rest of them will just emigrate?

What we need is a real jobs initiative, and not some Jobsbridge crap either. What we need is something along the lines of a New Deal program like the US had in the 30s. I expected something like that with all the talk of jobs when Kenny and Co. wanted our vote, but no. Just rhetoric.

A New Deal program? How the hell would we pay for a scheme that would even approach that in scale? We cannot just fire up the printers to solve this.

Sergeant wrote: »

And absolutely no one in the opposition has come up with a workable alternative solution. Instead we get the type of vague rhetoric so beloved of those in the ULA and SF. "Burn the bondholders", "Not another red cent", "Action Plan on Jobs". All meaningless bullshít.

You gotta be able to either balance the books or borrow. Kinda limited in the old borrowing regard.

Where have I heard that before? Ah yes. When FG said they wouldn't put another cent into Anglo..

A New Deal program? How the hell would we pay for a scheme that would even approach that in scale? We cannot just fire up the printers to solve this.

Yet we had billions to pump into the banks to keep them going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Seasonally adjusted umemployment figures. From CSO website

2011 average: 14.6%
    2012 average: 14.8%
    Jan 2013 (most recent available): 14.6%

Add emigration into the mix and its hard to see any net increase in jobs since Kenny came into power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

And yet, eventually, that's exactly what will be done to "solve" it.
    Who has performed well in Government? Michael Noonan. I nominate him for the Oscar in the category "Ruthless Gombeen playing Concerned Statesman". Feckin great performance IMO.