Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who do you think is performing well in government?

• 19-03-2013 6:22pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭

The government takes an awful lot of flak here on boards, so I think there needs to be a thread where people can give their support to elected representatives that they think are doing well.

Personally I think Joan Burton has been one of the stars. She has been able to put aside some of her long held socialist ideals and tackle the behemoth challenge of the social welfare bill. An enormous task, and I think she has embraced her portfolio with gusto. As Bertie would say though, alot done, more to do!

I also think Toaiseach Enda Kenny deserves an honourable mention. I think he did a fantastic job over in the US this week and was quite inspirational.

Who do you think is doing a bang-up job in government?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 48 moon_man

none in particular stand out , gilmore is especially awfull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Enda Kenny
    Michael Noonan
    Simon Covney

They would be the best for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Sure, they all have lovely bottoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Stephen Donnelly TD is the only person sitting in Dáil Éireann who I wouldn't consider kicking in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Op thinks that Kenny is inspirational !!!!!

Christ , close this thread .. Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wolfgang Schäuble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Richard Bruton, Noonan and Joan imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

The cleaners seem to be doing a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

The cleaners seem to be doing a good job.

first time i heard politicians called that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Angela Merkel is doing a super job

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

hawkelady wrote: »
    Op thinks that Kenny is inspirational !!!!!

Christ , close this thread .. Please.

As do many others!

He's articulate, charismatic and a snappy dresser.

I thought he performed especially well when Obama and the Queen visited. Proved a very capable statesman.

I suspect the history books will be kind to Mr. Kenny, and his name will be mentioned in the same breath as greats such as Michael Collins and Sean Lemass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I'm flat out tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I seem to have a shred of respect for Noonan, he seems straight to the point so I have to give him that.

Shatter can suck my neatly trimmed ballbag though!

As do many others!

I thought he performed especially well when Obama and the Queen visited. Proved a very capable statesman.

I suspect the history books will be kind to Mr. Kenny, and his name will be mentioned in the same breath as greats such as Michael Collins and Sean Lemass.

Haha.... Comedy clubs on the horizon for you, me auld bucko...

bgrizzley wrote: »
    first time i heard politicians called that...

They cleaned the lot of us out, top job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

OP don't you know, you're not allowed actually *praise* anyone on the internet. The internet is only for bile and vitriol... silly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Ming is doing ok, getting lots of publicity.

HondaSami wrote: »

Don't even get me started on that chancer....

No monopoly here move on, no monopoly here move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

LOL

we will soon see the back of him.

The rest of the chancers are doing what they are told.
    Nice to see Gilmore refusing to go to a ''men-only''dinner in the US.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 48 moon_man

alan shatter appears able to shrug off negative criticisim from whinging guards , his indifference to popular opinion is a rare and welcome trait among irish politicans

LOL

we will soon see the back of him.

The rest of the chancers are doing what they are told.
    Nice to see Gilmore refusing to go to a ''men-only''dinner in the US.

This is the bit they do not publish, wearing thongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Im sorry but i cannot take a comparison with Michael Collins seriously, Enda Kenny is a disgrace when compare to Collins.

Do you actually think any of our current government could achive what Collins did, or any of Collins colleagues did?

Kenny is not as bad as the likes of Bertie and Co, but I dont see how we can be inspired by Enda and Co, when they have continuously back tracked on election promises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

"Who do you think is performing well in government?" I hear the Dail Bar does pretty well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Róisín Shortall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The government takes an awful lot of flak here on boards, so I think there needs to be a thread where people can give their support to elected representatives that they think are doing well.

Personally I think Joan Burton has been one of the stars. She has been able to put aside some of her long held socialist ideals and tackle the behemoth challenge of the social welfare bill. An enormous task, and I think she has embraced her portfolio with gusto. As Bertie would say though, alot done, more to do!

I also think Toaiseach Enda Kenny deserves an honourable mention. I think he did a fantastic job over in the US this week and was quite inspirational.

Are we strictly talking about government here or can it include opposition TDs?
    The only TDs I have any faith in at all these days are the ULA. They're not without flaws, but they seem to be the only ones with any real aspirations to end the international butt kissing and tell the EU to shove their bank debt up their arse.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Well, James Reilly, Alan Shatter and Phil Hogan are all doing particularly shite jobs, so the rest of the government in comparrison must be performing well.

Are we strictly talking about government here or can it include opposition TDs?
    The only TDs I have any faith in at all these days are the ULA. They're not without flaws, but they seem to be the only ones with any real aspirations to end the international butt kissing and tell the EU to shove their bank debt up their arse.

I was under the impression that the ULA spent their time talking utter bollocks up in their corner of the Dail.

They're fantastic at rhetoric and platitudes like opposing all cuts or taxes, yet never quite explaining how they propose to fund the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

I was under the impression that the ULA spent their time talking utter bollocks up in their corner of the Dail.

They're fantastic at rhetoric and platitudes like opposing all cuts or taxes, yet never quite explaining how they propose to fund the country.

is Mick wallace part of that? he's doing fairly well, whatever about the rest of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

I suspect the history books will be kind to Mr. Kenny

I'm not sure I'd agree that Mr Kenny is articulate, charismatic or a snappy dresser, but if you add statesmanship to his attributes, then surely that is a list of the ideal qualities for a potential President rather than a Taoiseach.

Surely, a good Taoiseach is supposed to possess vision, integrity and leadership. Yet Enda doesn't seem to have a vision for where he wants to lead the country other than to say that he wants to lead us to recovery, the government under his leadership have ditched most of their campaign promises and have largely mirrored the policies of the last government after promising change, so where is the integrity or leadership ?

I suspect the history books will largely ignore Mr Kenny, as following a previous governments' programme and hoping for a better future, are hardly the attributes that mark you out as a giant in the history of the country, but he's been in the Dail since 1975 and he's hardly set the Dail alight for the past 38 years with his great ideas or visionary thinking, so he is just being himself. Showing vision or coming up with new ideas aren't his forte.

is Mick wallace part of that? he's doing fairly well, whatever about the rest of them

He certainly is.

Owes the Irish State 2.1million in tax, but has wrangled his way into a situation where he gets paid by taxpayers to talk tarmac up in the backseats of the Dail. Cute hoor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

The barman in the Dail bar I hear hes very efficient at his job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

fits wrote: »
    OP don't you know, you're not allowed actually *praise* anyone on the internet. The internet is only for bile and vitriol... silly!

Awaits your list of politicians doing well and why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭RealExpert

They are performing well for themselves not for the Irish people.
    I stand to be corrected on the figures but 19 of those wa****s (wallies:-) effed off to different countries around the world to celebrate St Patricks day at the taxpayers expense while a lot of Irish people are living well below the breadline.Obviously the celebrations at home are not good enough for them.
    This country is no different than Iraq, we have a numerous dictators that cannot create one single job they are all a waste of space.
    Shame on them and all that represent them.
    I think you just put this thread here to wind people like me up..............
    O well back to butter and spuds for the week

RealExpert wrote: »
    I stand to be corrected on the figures but 19 of those wa****s (wallies:-) effed off to different countries around the world to celebrate St Patricks day at the taxpayers expense while a lot of Irish people are living well below the breadline.Obviously the celebrations at home are not good enough for them.
    This country is no different than Iraq, we have a numerous dictators that cannot create one single job they are all a waste of space.

Ya, its wall-to-wall marketplace carbombs and female literacy rate of about 60%.

You think Kenny is articulate and a true leader.
    I'll tell you what he is , remember when he told us that it's not our fault and then fecked off and told Europe that it was our fault . Then he got all scruffed up by the French pres like he was a prize poodle!!!

Kenny is two faced and has as much charisma as a wet plank !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Designing a monetary system in which money is actually based on value rather than mathematical theory which looks good on paper but utterly fails when applied to reality would be a good start, and out of all the parties we have, they seem to be the closest to saying we should let the whole thing fall apart so we can rebuild something new and epic from the ruins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Wholeheartedly disagree with the policies of this Govt. but I have to admit that Noonan, Burton and Coveney display a certain degree of capability rare in Irish politics.

Shatters borderline, a little too high-handed but he is pushing through genuine reform and will probably make considerable savings in the areas he's responsible for.

Enda's a show pony that will say whatever he thinks his audience wants to hear ('your not responsible for this' to Irish people vs. 'everyone in Ireland went crazy' to his masters abroad) and his statesmanship is limited to doing party tricks for the troika in exchange for a pat on the head.

No matter how bad this government is remember the state of the last one, every day felt like a crisis where the people at the top didn't have a clue or even cared that much: Cowen giving that interview still apparently jarred, the minister for transport refusing to come back from his holidays in the sun when the big freeze shut down transport across the country. The country felt like it was in freefall.

I think that the parts of the opposition that aren't tainted to a lot of people by previous association with corruption (FF) or murder (SF) have displayed an astonishing lack of political ability in their failure to make polling gains by opposing austerity.
    Donnelly's the only one of the protest vote independents from 2011 that hasn't been a huge disappointment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

efb wrote: »
    Enda Kenny
    Michael Noonan
    Simon Covney

They would be the best for me.

Whereas I would like to punch them square in the face busting all their teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

One man: Michael "wiggy" Noonan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Burton, Kenny, Noonan, Varadkar, Bruton, Coveney.
    donvito99 wrote: »
    Stephen Donnelly TD is the only person sitting in Dáil Éireann who I wouldn't consider kicking in the face.
    Not in Government.
    Pherekydes wrote: »
    Róisín Shortall.
    Not in Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

RealExpert wrote: »

While I'd be no fan of this government but that statement is just ridiculas. How many people do you know in Ireland that were killed today because of car and suicide bombs?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-21840718

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I fail to see how you can class enda kenny as charismatic...in fact his a charismatic as a bag of poo

Comparing endav kenny to mchael collins is like comparing conor sammon or kevin kilbane to messi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Phoebas wrote: »
    Burton, Kenny, Noonan, Varadkar, Bruton, Coveney.

Not in Government.

Kenny, Varadkar

Not in Government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Personally I think Joan Burton has been one of the stars.

Are you for real?!!!!??? Joan Burton has done a whole lot of nothing! All the decisions on welfare were made against her wishes.

Her main job was to means-test childrens benefit. She is nearly 2 years in now and is still faffing around with reports etc.

In my eyes only one minister is doing a worse job than Joan Burton and that is Howlin. Utterly useless. Asked to find 5% savings (€75m) in allowances, went to unions and then faced the public/Dail with only €3m in savings, 1 allowance if I remember correctly. His achievement was 4% of his target and the clueless git somehow kept his job. In the private sector he would have been chewed up. He was more afraid of the unions than he was of coming before the public with his pathetic improvement.

#1 Brendan Howlin
    #2 Joan Burton
    #3 Gilmore
    #4 Enda Kenny

Watch the latter 3 retire on huge pensions in 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭heartseeker

The PR and spin doctors which act on behalf of the politicians and were up until recently doing a great job of convincing the Irish people that raping them is all for the common good and to sit back and take it.Honourable mention for this thread starter.

Please ban this poster for trolling...

Joan Burton!!??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

Enda Kenny is the best Taoiseach we have had in an awfully long time. Unfortunately that's not saying much.

I think Michael Noonan is doing a good job with the hand that he was dealt. All bets are off if they sell off the forests though. (grrr)

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Please ban this poster for trolling...

Joan Burton!!??!!

http://www.thejournal.ie/social-welfare-fraud-824965-Mar2013/
    THE MINISTER FOR Social Protection Joan Burton has said that some €669 million has been saved in her department through a broad range of control measures to address fraudulent claims and errors.

In total, more than one million reviews of individual social welfare claims were carried out, again exceeding target, which had been set at 985,000.

I don't see what you find so ridiculous. Ms. Burton has shown herself to be an exceptional politician. Given how she was snubbed for the finance job, yet she in true patriot fashion just pulled up her socks and got on with the nasty business of sorting out the quagmire this country is in.

Its easy to bleat nonsense on the sidelines like our comrades in the ULA and Sinn Fein. What is much harder to do is get stuck in and take the difficult decisions that you know won't make it easy for you when the fickle short-term thinkers go to the ballots every five years.

http://www.thejournal.ie/social-welfare-fraud-824965-Mar2013/

I don't see what you find so ridiculous. Ms. Burton has shown herself to be an exceptional politician. Given how she was snubbed for the finance job, yet she in true patriot fashion just pulled up her socks and got on with the nasty business of sorting out the quagmire this country is in.

Its easy to bleat nonsense on the sidelines like our comrades in the ULA and Sinn Fein. What is much harder to do is get stuck in and take the difficult decisions that you know won't make it easy for you when the fickle short-term thinkers go to the ballots every five years.

Finding fraud in social welfare is the work of the good folks of the Social Welfare Department. They are basically doing their job! And I would question whether they were so pro-active during the boom. Now they need the money for their own salaries/allowances so they are all over the fraud like a rash.

Did Bruton catch the fraudsters herself? What changes/policies/bills has Burton brought forward?