Teenage Discos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

\o back atcha!
    Teen discos in the 90s though? Good 10 years before my time!
    Unless you were one of them creepy bouncers hanging round :pac:

Mebeh! :pac:

I used to hang around and pretend I had a daughter in there and I was there to collect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I would be of the drop them and wait for them to come out variety, harsh and embarressing I know but I've seen girls who look 11 or 12 wearing bras and a strip of material that is meant to be a skirt, not a hope, if I left them off on the bus they could do the sneaky change a friends house thing. Also fights, there seems to be some amount of fighting going on between girls and boys at these yokes. Seriosuly a buddy of mine was walking down the street in town and this little kid at a teenage disco tried to start on her. Also I am 22 by the way so it's not that long since I was a teen myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Mid teens be about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Ava_e wrote: »
    I was 12/13 with my friends. We looked after each other, a bit of " getting off " or kissing went on. This was Wesley Disco and the bouncers were sharpe enough when anything else was going on.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

I worked in a nightclub in Leixlip, mid 90's I'd guess.. In summer and mid-term break they had a teenage disco, and for the love of sweet baby Jesus I've never seen so many fights or random sex acts anywhere else in my life.

Everywhere, and I mean EVERYWHERE, dance floor, bars, walls, toilets, fire escapes there were blow jobs, **** off, sticky finger banging and even ques to get head or a **** off some young one.

not for want of trying by the sounds of it

I must been very lucky then, never went to a teenage disco until my debs and I was 18 then!! Showed no interest in going out then very innocent, late developer on that front. But didn't drink wanted to enjoy the night but wonder now....I had a cold so felt not to bother having a drink even though I would have liked to but I just wanted to enjoy the night....i've had better nights out than that!

Do regret not going to discos a bit younger though but don't think i'd have enjoyed them as much as nights out since 18/19. I really only started going out until the smoking ban came in place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

I was 12/13 with my friends. We looked after each other, a bit of " getting off " or kissing went on. This was Wesley Disco and the bouncers were sharpe enough when anything else was going on.

to be fair i remember once one of the lads was getting a hand shandy off a russian girl & they were dragged outside by a female member of security, who said to another bouncer "she was masterbating that young man!" then said "Look!" and pointed at the bulge in his trousers.
    He was soon back inside though telling this story to the lads and getting everyone to smell his fingers which smelled foul like 4 week stale fish sitting in the sweltering heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

doovdela wrote: »
    I must been very lucky then, never went to a teenage disco until my debs and I was 18 then!! Showed no interest in going out then very innocent, late developer on that front. But didn't drink wanted to enjoy the night but wonder now....I had a cold so felt not to bother having a drink even though I would have liked to but I just wanted to enjoy the night....i've had better nights out than that!

Do regret not going to discos a bit younger though but don't think i'd have enjoyed them as much as nights out since 18/19. I really only started going out until the smoking ban came in place!

dear diary moment ???

huh lol!? No not exactly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Now I want a bag of Discos. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Started going to an "over 16s" one when I was 14. Absolute ****hole(Harriers in Tullamore for any midlanders). If I were to have children there's no chance I'd let them do the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

baz2009 wrote: »
    Started going to an "over 16s" one when I was 14. Absolute ****hole(Harriers in Tullamore for any midlanders). If I were to have children there's no chance I'd let them do the same!

The Harriers was some spot, I feel sorry for the people who never got to experience it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

doovdela wrote: »
    Do regret not going to discos a bit younger though but don't think i'd have enjoyed them as much as nights out since 18/19.

You missed out, underage drinking was better craic, there was just more of a thrill to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

irish son wrote: »
    The Harriers was some spot, I feel sorry for the people who never got to experience it.

At the time it was the best thing ever. Looking back on it now they were still some of the best nights out I've had, but fúcking hell it was dodgy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Man, those were the days. I remember going to my 1st in Tigers when I was like 15. It actually wasn't too bad, just a lot of people getting the shift. I do remember 2 young wans in the corner, and ya heard a few stories. But nowhere near as bad as everyone is making it out to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Smart young one. ;)

Gullible father. :pac:

Don't ask, Don't tell policy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Not the dancing at the crossroads that dev was looking for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    Man, those were the days. I remember going to my 1st in Tigers when I was like 15. It actually wasn't too bad, just a lot of people getting the shift. I do remember 2 young wans in the corner, and ya heard a few stories. But nowhere near as bad as everyone is making it out to be!

Same, I never saw anything that shocked me, and I was a pretty naive teenager.

I also looked a lot younger than I was. Does anyone else remember the queuing up part, the bouncers asking your age and being put into a separate queue while they let your friends in. When they eventually let you in, it felt like you were being granted entry to Valhalla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Ive gone/go to teenage discos and I havnt seen any sex going , definitely not in the venue...or anythin much like that really. Mostly just people getting off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I wasn't trying to be smart Gummy Panda. I never encountered sex acts at teenage discos and never heard about this happening elsewhere when I was a teen. Tbh, I find it hard to believe.

Because it doesnt happen a lot. Maybe in some places more than others but i think some posters are really over exaggerating the stuff that happens at these discos:P theyre not that bad seriously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

The bouncers didn't give a fcuk when I used to go there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Gee_G wrote: »
    What age do you think is appropriate for teenagers to start going to pioneer discos?

When they're teenagers. Isn't there age rescritions at these things anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

GRMA wrote: »
    It was shocking what they were at tbh, far too young for that carry on you wouldnt see that type of stuff in a club for adults.
    Ever been to coppers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Daveysil15 wrote: »

When they're teenagers. Isn't there age rescritions at these things anyway?
    I'm not sure to be honest, when I used to go there wasn't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

GRMA wrote: »
    If I had a son... off you go lad.

A daughter? I'd be more reluctant to let her go.
    Lol. Why would a teenage boy be less worthy of "protecting" than a teenage girl?
    Arawn wrote: »
    Womens underwear wasn't anywhere to be found, handjobs, blowjobs,sex shifting 20-30 a night
    Mingingly skanky and diseasey - and no doubt seriously exaggerated.

I went to teen discos in the early to mid 90s and there was nothing like the manky stuff talked about here - tiny bit maybe, but people who say "It was always like that" are wrong. Maybe it was always like that in some places - and by that I don't just mean places with a bad rep, but really posh places and rural places too.

The biggest problem in the ones I went to was fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Madam_X wrote: »
    Lol. Why would a teenage boy be less worthy of "protecting" than a teenage girl?

Mingingly skanky and diseasey - and no doubt seriously exaggerated.

I went to teen discos in the early to mid 90s and there was nothing like the manky stuff talked about here - tiny bit maybe, but people who say "It was always like that" are wrong. Maybe it was always like that in some places - and by that I don't just mean places with a bad rep, but really posh places and rural places too.

The biggest problem in the ones I went to was fights.

freshford in kk back in the 00's. really not exaggerating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I remember there being rows of chairs against the wall with couples roiding each other.

Jasus... I'd get stage fright :pac: Although I do remember there was a lot of fingering going on at the place I went to. Fingering just seemed to be the thing to do. One lad who was a so called expert, used to give the rest of us advice; like how many fingers to use and such. Crazy!

So manky. As if it's enjoyable for either person anyway - just something to tell mates about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Madam_X wrote: »
    So manky. As if it's enjoyable for either person anyway - just something to tell mates about.

oh aye what young buck likes going off with women

Arawn wrote: »
    oh aye what young buck likes going off with women
    I don't mean sex, I mean fingering - it was only done by impressionable kids in discos because it was "the thing to do".