Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenage Discos

• 18-03-2013 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭

I've had this conversation with two or three of my family/friends over the past few weeks and I would like to your opinions.

What age do you think is appropriate for teenagers to start going to pioneer discos?
    Would you drop them there and collect them afterwards or would you let them get the bus that all their friends are going on?
    Do you ever feel ready to let them start going out?

As I've said,this topic of conversation keeps coming up as my friends have kids who are now looking to start going to discos and also my nieces and nephews.

I really don't know how I feel about them or what age I'd feel comfortable to let my kids go!(I don't have to worry for another 13/14years :))

So I'm just curious as to AH's opinion on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Teenage disco's are sh1te

Salt & Vinegar Disco's are feckin' deadly!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Stinky finger central.I love them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

YYYYYYOOOOOKES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Id send them on their way with a 6 pack of dutch and a naggin. None of this dropping and collecting business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

considering the stuff that goes on in them id say not until they are married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

13 and 14 is fine.

Ask them what they want to do, if they say they want to get the bus with their friends, make sure they have it all planned out.. times, which friends are going, what time they have to leave.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Ah those were the days. Always guaranteed at least a **** every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Spunge wrote: »
    considering the stuff that goes on in them id say not until they are married
    That is exactly my thoughts for my own kids ha ha. No outings until then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭amacca

Depends on the child and their maturity level imo

if they can be trusted (to a certain extent) its a learning experience for them...dont want to shelter them forever and hinder their development...dont want them going wild neglecting academic stuff and regretting not developing there either

ah the joys of parenthood

1st/2nd yr in secondary school would be early enough imo so about 13/14...maybe properly supervised ones before that as opposed to money making exercises in a place with questionable supervision where anything can go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

If only there was a forum where Parents could give advice to other Parents on Parenting....oh wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

There was one in the school down the road from where our estate is recently, sweet jesus it was like a hooker convention, 15 year olds wearing stuff a stripper would find too revealing. I mean we used to go to "non alcoholic" discos as teenagers but the stuff they get up to now is way more than we did.

MadsL wrote: »
    If only there was a forum where Parents could give advice to other Parents on Parenting....oh wait..
    General opinions I'm looking for, not just from parents! But thanks :)

(Mods feel free to move :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

krudler wrote: »
    There was one in the school down the road from where our estate is recently, sweet jesus it was like a hooker convention, 15 year olds wearing stuff a stripper would find too revealing. I mean we used to go to "non alcoholic" discos as teenagers but the stuff they get up to now is way more than we did.

Orgies is all they are, Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

krudler wrote: »
    I mean we used to go to "non alcoholic" discos as teenagers but the stuff they get up to now is way more than we did.

It's exactly the same, but time has encrusted your memories with a patina of nostalgia and unwarranted innocence.

I'd hate to be a parent leaving their daughter (s) at one of those... it'd be like pushing a hemophiliac into a shark tank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

Gee_G wrote: »
    What age do you think is appropriate for teenagers to start going to pioneer discos?

What the hell is a 'pioneer' disco?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

anhedonia wrote: »

Alcohol free.....not free alcohol

Really??
    Its a disco without alcohol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I was walking to the pub one night when one of those teenage discos were on. They all looked like prostitutes, tiny shorts and skirts stuck up their hole, plastered in makeup and fake tan, belly tops and extremely sheer blouses. You could clearly see their bras. They were 14 years old at the most?

I feel so old saying this :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

I was 12/13 with my friends. We looked after each other, a bit of " getting off " or kissing went on. This was Wesley Disco and the bouncers were sharpe enough when anything else was going on.

Involves straw bales, covered wagons, cowboy hats and six shooters in this part of the world! :D

Yeee Haw!

I think it is the same in Clare, no?

Ava_e wrote: »
    I was 12/13 with my friends. We looked after each other, a bit of " getting off " or kissing went on. This was Wesley Disco and the bouncers were sharpe enough when anything else was going on.

What now? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

Gee_G wrote: »
    Really??
    Its a disco without alcohol!

Yes, Really !!
    obviously teenage discos are non-alcoholic, but Ive never heard of a disco called a 'pioneer' disco.
    Are they organised by the pioneers or something?

Heard that Wesley has moved on a bit since then, plenty of 'kissing' just not so much mouth to mouth. Never allowed my teenage daughter to attend Wes - anyhow she has better taste and has never asked.

Wesley. Don't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

I was walking to the pub one night when one of those teenage discos were on. They all looked like prostitutes, tiny shorts and skirts stuck up their hole, plastered in makeup and fake tan, belly tops and extremely sheer blouses. You could clearly see their bras.

Link?

Yeah, sounds similar to when we used to go. Maybe a bottle of something(whatever one of us could sneak out of our houses) between about 10 of us, we were hammered :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

At that age I'd hope my child would have the cop on to know how to have a laugh with their friends while at the same time being able to respect themselves and those they might meet at these discos.

There would be no set age I'd say "OK it's your birthday, now you can do so and so", it really is a question of a person using their judgement to judge the child's maturity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

If I had a son... off you go lad.

A daughter? I'd be more reluctant to let her go.

Did the bar at one a few years ago... It was shocking what they were at tbh, far too young for that carry on you wouldnt see that type of stuff in a club for adults.

Tugboats wrote: »
    Link?

Pete Townsend? That you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Confab wrote: »
    It's exactly the same, but time has encrusted your memories with a patina of nostalgia and unwarranted innocence.

I'd hate to be a parent leaving their daughter (s) at one of those... it'd be like pushing a hemophiliac into a shark tank.

Especially since people seem to be more drunk at "non alchoholic" nights than actual nights out for grown ups. every time theres on one here you'd see kids hanging around the centra up the road asking people to buy them naggins of vodka. I'm no prude or anything but getting sh1tfaced at 13-14 isnt on.

If I ever had kids I never want a daughter, I'd be one of those you can leave the house when you're 18 parents :pac:

GRMA wrote: »
    If I had a son... off you go lad.

Teenage pregnancy doesn't just affect the girl.

Tuck a few condoms into his shirt pocket be grand.

Yes, Really !!
    obviously teenage discos are non-alcoholic, but Ive never heard of a disco called a 'pioneer' disco.
    Are they organised by the pioneers or something?
    ha, maybe it's just me calling them that! :)
    I'll stick to teenage disco from here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I was walking to the pub one night when one of those teenage discos were on. They all looked like prostitutes, tiny shorts and skirts stuck up their hole, plastered in makeup and fake tan, belly tops and extremely sheer blouses. You could clearly see their bras. They were 14 years old at the most?

I feel so old saying this :(

Pervert! You should be ashamed of yourself for looking at teenage girl and their bra's.

:P

Tuck a few condoms into his shirt pocket be grand.

And a whisper in his ear about the law and the sex offender register ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I worked in a nightclub in Leixlip, mid 90's I'd guess.. In summer and mid-term break they had a teenage disco, and for the love of sweet baby Jesus I've never seen so many fights or random sex acts anywhere else in my life.

Everywhere, and I mean EVERYWHERE, dance floor, bars, walls, toilets, fire escapes there were blow jobs, **** off, sticky finger banging and even ques to get head or a **** off some young one.

All joking aside it was disgusting.

Soooooo, who here will admit to going to Rockafella's nightclub for the teenage disco on Wednesday evenings ~ come on, do the walk of shame!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I worked in a nightclub in Leixlip, mid 90's I'd guess.. In summer and mid-term break they had a teenage disco, and for the love of sweet baby Jesus I've never seen so many fights or random sex acts anywhere else in my life.

Everywhere, and I mean EVERYWHERE, dance floor, bars, walls, toilets, fire escapes there were blow jobs, **** off, sticky finger banging and even ques to get head or a **** off some young one.

Soooooo, who here will admit to going to Rockafella's nightclub for the teenage disco on Wednesday evenings ~ come on, do the walk of shame!.

Ah Rockafellas, those were the days.

What I saw at Wesley was way worse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

This - if I had teenagers they'd be seeing the inside of their first disco at the age of 46.

Thankfully I've never even heard of Rockafella's :)

Yeah you see this frightens the ****e out of me! Its horrible to think of kids at that :( but I know it's going on everywhere unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Ah the Wesley and the games of beat the slapper those were the days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I have to drop my lads off to these, ones 15 the others 13. My usual thoughts when dropping them off are "ye jammy little gits, we didn't get these when we were young". My eldest once turned round and said "sucks to be you, old man" as he sauntered off into the queue of girls wearing only belts and bras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Never allowed my teenage daughter to attend Wes - anyhow she has better taste and has never asked.

Smart young one. ;)

Gullible father. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Considering what most teens my age done at "pioneer" disco's I would never let my kids near them. Divert them to Youth Clubs, run by responsible adults and you cant go wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Wouldn't let any child of mine near a teenage disco. Sleazeville

I grew up in London and went to plenty of teenage discos. Yes there was drink but SEX in the venue? Never, ever did that happen. Possibly happened elsewhere but not in full view as described here. Is it an Irish thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,584 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Make sure to have them spayed and chipped first. Hose them down before they're allowed back in the house too, once it gets onto the carpet it never comes out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I grew up in London and went to plenty of teenage discos. Yes there was drink but SEX in the venue? Never, ever did that happen. Possibly happened elsewhere but not in full view as described here. Is it an Irish thing?

Yes. Only happens in Ireland. Nowhere else.

I wasn't trying to be smart Gummy Panda. I never encountered sex acts at teenage discos and never heard about this happening elsewhere when I was a teen. Tbh, I find it hard to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

Yes. Only happens in Ireland. Nowhere else.
    well that's a relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Jaysus it was great to go to back in the day! Womens underwear wasn't anywhere to be found, handjobs, blowjobs,sex shifting 20-30 a night, getting pissed and then pretending you were grand and had an ok night when the parents asked. Good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

B'Jaysus - KEEP YOUR CHILDREN AWAY!!! I went to plenty of teenage discos as a child, and I started off as an innocent! One everlasting memory is guys who would try to shove their fingers right up you - despite that you were fact wearing tights!!! :eek:

The aim for a lot of these kids is to have sex - and, by God, they succeed.

Coppers is tame by comparison.