Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Why are idiots wishing their Mothers a happy Mother's Day even though they aren't on Facebook?

Attention seeking clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Mr. Wong wrote: »
    Why are idiots wishing their Mothers a happy Mother's Day even though they aren't on Facebook?

Attention seeking clowns.

Accompanied by a picture of them with their mother... no one cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Don't forget the 'anti-mother's day' posts that usually start with people complaining about people doing the above but end up wishing a Happy Mother's Day anyway. Those guys are so anti-establishment that they are the establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

A- "Black babies in Africa break my heart :( I want to adopt them all :("

B- "Calm down Angelina Jolie"

Well I lol'ed hard at the reply anyway

Lol
    So, I have just had the most humerous exchange with someone who was supposed to be serious that I have ever had in my life. It will be noted below.

So while doing a load of laundry today, [girlfriend] had the unfortunate pleasure of flooding part of the basement. She thought it was the washing machine, and tried to clean up the mess as best she could. When I got home, fearing the washer that WASNT CHEAP was broken, I began to examine it.

Washer wasn't the problem.

I did a test load, and everything went fine until it was time for the water to drain. Long story short - the sewer main is backed up, and the water was coming through the drain in the basement.

Not wanting to have to deal with snaking the drain, I called roto-rooter for the first time in my life.

After waiting 2 hours for the guy who was supposed to be here an hour ago, an unmarked white van passed the house, and then returned to park in front of it. The "gentleman" omglol4evah took about five minutes to open the door to the van, and when he did, a collection of **** that was snuggled up to the crevasse between the floorboard and the door plummeted to the street.

"Not a good sign." I thought as it took him another 2 full minutes to traverse the vast wasteland of 22 feet from the curb to my door.

Dingy, ridiculous, idiotic, incompetent, unkempt - were all adjectives that my mind was firing off on autopilot while this dopey knucklehead lumbered up my steps, and into my house.

We get down to the basement, and it becomes quite clear that the real profession of this idiot is scraping 8ft sewage pipes. He doesn't have a clue of what he is talking about, or he is talking himself around in circles in the hopes that it would beguile me enough for what is coming next.

He starts asking me where things are. Clearly, there are 2 visible sewage pipes in the basement. They are cast Iron. Can't miss em'. He asks me where the cleanout is. "Aren't you the ****ing plumber?"

Then he asks where the bathroom on the first floor is, and I point to it.

"Hmmm." he mutters in that ominously obvious "This is going to cost you A LOT of money" tone.

He then states that he needs to pace off the distance from where the sewer main was to the front of the house so he can get an idea of how much cable will have to be used.

First off, he's counting in one foot, as he takes half of the steps toe to toe, and the other half at full stride.

"C'mon mang." I'm thinking as he says "Let's go outside." I happily agree. He says, "Now I have a machine that weighs 165lbs, but I don't really feel like messin wit dat, so I'm gona use the 75 ft one that is lighter."

"Ok." I replied.

"So, the snake for the drain is going to run you about $449."

I started laughing. He wasn't used to it, because he looked like he wanted to give me five dollars worth of nickle knots.

"I'm not paying $450 for someone to snake my main drain boss, that is ridiculous. I may have been born at night, but it wasn't LAST night." I was laughing still.

He wasn't.

"Well that is just for snaking the drain. If I have to take your toilet off, that's another $556 right there."

The volume of my laughter increased. "So what you're telling me is that you're going to charge me $1000 to take out a toilet, and run a cable through my pipe?"

"That's correct." He said.

"Two bolts and a wax ring for $556?" I said with mocking incredulity.

"It's more difficult than it is, Sir."

I handed him his clip board, and told him to drive safe, and make sure he didn't pop a tire on the road. "The labor alone on that sucker should cost about $3000!"

I didn't stop laughing.

75 ft sewer line snake at home depot rents for $29.99 for the day. Take my advice, and never call roto rooter. Unless you want to just laugh uncontrollably.

• One of my Facebook friends changed her profile picture of her husband and newborn baby asleep in bed, one of those photos that's guaranteed to get a billion 'likes'. I have to say, it is very cute. One of her friends commented that posting pics of your baby on Facebook is ridiculous/dangerous/weird (can't remember exactly) and that she's an irresponsible person.

Which one is the idiot? I'm not even sure. I kind of agree with the 'friend' but I also think posting that is rude and arrogant...'tis her baby and her life after all and it seems a bit of a d!ck move to ruin her happy buzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

One of my Facebook friends changed her profile picture of her husband and newborn baby asleep in bed, one of those photos that's guaranteed to get a billion 'likes'. I have to say, it is very cute. One of her friends commented that posting pics of your baby on Facebook is ridiculous/dangerous/weird (can't remember exactly) and that she's an irresponsible person.

Which one is the idiot? I'm not even sure. I kind of agree with the 'friend' but I also think posting that is rude and arrogant...'tis her baby and her life after all and it seems a bit of a d!ck move to ruin her happy buzz.

What's irresponsible about posting a picture of your newborn baby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

What's irresponsible about posting a picture of your newborn baby?

Think because it could be acquired by random nutters on the internet.

But FFS, your mate knows what she's doing and it's her business. Yer wan sounds like a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

All babies look the exact same though?

How is it in any way irresponsible to post a picture of a newborn? No more irresponsible than posting a picture of an indistinct blob tbh.

• A lot of people think parents have no right to post photos of kids online and expose them to the entire world without their permission. Photos can be copied, saved, used for bad things...there are different reasons, I suppose.

• Ahh, it seems the friend is mainly upset about about babies cosleeping with parents - he obviously doesn't agree with it and thinks she's irresponsible to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

A "friend" who is due in a few weeks put up a picture of a mothers day card she was given. It is a coloured in (Using computer) version of the 3d scan picture of her unborn baby.

No less then 500 likes and 100 comments, and strangely all from women, saying "Oh so cute" "He will be a heartbreaker" etc etc. I am sure I am not allowed to post the pic here, but the baby looks like the bastard lovechild of Freddie Krueger and Mr Potato Head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

GAAman wrote: »
    A "friend" who is due in a few weeks put up a picture of a mothers day card she was given. It is a coloured in (Using computer) version of the 3d scan picture of her unborn baby.

No less then 500 likes and 100 comments, and strangely all from women, saying "Oh so cute" "He will be a heartbreaker" etc etc. I am sure I am not allowed to post the pic here, but the baby looks like the bastard lovechild of Freddie Krueger and Mr Potato Head!

Genuine lol from that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

3D scans scare the bejaysus out of me. I'm almost 6 months pregnant and keep getting asked when I'm getting one done by loads of people. There's no way I'm paying over 100EUR to be freaked out that much. I'd like to think of my baby as not evil (for a little while longer anyway!). I'm not a fan of scan photos on facebook either at the best of times, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

A lot of people think parents have no right to post photos of kids online and expose them to the entire world without their permission. Photos can be copied, saved, used for bad things...there are different reasons, I suppose.
    It's that sort of hysteria that lead to parents not being allowed to photograph/video their kid's plays incase it attracted the paedos. All the weirdos need to do is buy a camera and they can take photo's of any kid they want. As creepy as they are, no one can stop then having access to photo's or video of kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

A friend of mine once said on facebook, at about 5 am after a few drinks on a night out which turned out bad for him, ''Worst Night EVER!!! Never goin out again! I'd go and throw myself in the river but I can't swim!''

You just can't beat it when the drunk people come onto facebook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

''does anyone know of a place in Wexford where I can buy shampoo?''

Ok, I know this is a long shot, but have you considered a supermarket or chemist's shop? It's worth a try....

coolhull wrote: »
    ''does anyone know of a place in Wexford where I can buy shampoo?''

Ok, I know this is a long shot, but have you considered a supermarket or chemist's shop? It's worth a try....
    That's gotta be a frape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Not a status, but a SHOCKING ARTICLE in the Guardian about how software and other people might be able to infer personal information from the pages you 'like'.

tl;dr

"Researchers were able to accurately infer a Facebook user's race, IQ, sexuality, substance use, personality or political views using only a record of the subjects and items they had "liked" on Facebook – even if users had chosen not to reveal that information."

"Personality trait and predictive Likes, according to the study

Low IQ

Harley Davidson

I Love Being A Mom

Tyler Perry"

and my favourite:

"Parents separated at 21

I'm Sorry I Love You

Never Apologize For What You Feel

It's Like Saying Sorry For Being Real

When Ur Single, All U See Is Happy Couples N Wen Ur In A Relationship All U See Is Happy Singles

Parents did not separate at 21

Apples To Apples: The Helen Keller Card

Gene Wilder

Making Dirty Innuendos Out Of Perfectly Innocent Things"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭lolli

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/s480x480/644349_488738244519647_969473056_n.jpg

this load of bull has been appearing on my timeline a few times tonight. I have no time for that nonsense. There are so many hardworking foreign people in this country.

A few seem to thing you can walk off a boat and get handed full dole, rent allowance and money towards a car.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭carrick79

59,200 shared!!! :eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

carrick79 wrote: »
    59,200 shared!!! :eek:

I know. This makes me sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭carrick79

I know. This makes me sad :(

It makes us all sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Like for chicken wings, ignore if your father is hitler

She my little cousin but she has to be unfriended now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

#bed #night #coldas**** #hashtag fun haha

And a picture of herself tuckled in bed and hashtags on facebook? jesus ****ing wept..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

the baby looks like the bastard lovechild of Freddie Krueger and Mr Potato Head!

Those 3D scan photos freak me out totally, they are so friggin' creepy

lolli wrote: »
    https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/s480x480/644349_488738244519647_969473056_n.jpg

this load of bull has been appearing on my timeline a few times tonight. I have no time for that nonsense. There are so many hardworking foreign people in this country.

A guy I know (my cousin's boyfriend/fiance/ex-boyfirend/bff/worst enemy depending on the day of the week - yeah, it's "complicated") put up a picture of a guy in a turban with the caption "send the terrorist scum home" (taken from a "ban Islam" or some site like that), I found that totally shocking, just because the guy has a turban doesn't make him a terrorist (doesn't necessarily make him a Muslim either for that matter) - He was promtly "defriended"
    Pushtrak wrote: »

A friend of mine's brother married a girl with the same first name as her, so now they have the same name, they put the same picture of the two of them togeher as their profile pic so every time they had a conversation, it looked like she was talking to herself, it was quite confusing but funny all the same