The Most Expensive Thing You've Done Whilst Under The Influence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

during the boom I was drunk (for most of it)...and made the mistake of bringing Mary Harney for dinner.

It was like a scene from jurassic park. it cost me about €500...

and we were in Mc Donalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Probably just buying a round of shots for everyone (6/7 of us) for no good reason...not sure what my logic was on that....

Or getting a taxi (€30) home when I could easily get a nitelink :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Has to be when I bought a screen used Arnold Schwarzenegger Tshirt from Terminator 2 last year. Came in a massive frame.

I was at home and had drank a few Captain Morgans too many. Saw it and and thought I must have it.

Rang the girlfriend all excited asking if she wanted to go halves.

Unfortunately (or fortunately, I'm not sure which!) she was also three sheets to the wind.

You know when you wake up with a hangover and your memory is really fuzzy, but you know you've done something. You kind of half convince yourself it was a dream. Especially something as outlandish as buying one of Arnold Schwarzenegger's tshirts. Yeah, that was a good example of one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

€xxxxx on horses. I was painfully stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

"Lets do SHOTS!!!"

No drunk pixie, stop buying people shots, it gets really expensive. No wonder im always broke after a night out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

o1s1n wrote: »
    Has to be when I bought a screen used Arnold Schwarzenegger Tshirt from Terminator 2 last year. Came in a massive frame.

I was at home and had drank a few Captain Morgans too many. Saw it and and thought I must have it.

Unfortunately (or fortunately, I'm not sure which!) she was also three sheets to the wind.

You know when you wake up with a hangover and your memory is really fuzzy, but you know you've done something. You kind of half convince yourself it was a dream. Especially something as outlandish as buying one of Arnold Schwarzenegger's tshirts. Yeah, that was a good example of one of them.

Have a similar story about Eamon Dunphy.

He was at a fundraiser for a LOI side and gave his time without charging a fee. Anyway, there was an auction of a Brazil shirt signed by Ronaldinho. He was conducting the auction and had clearly had a few and asked for bids.

First bid was like €100. Second bid came in at €500 and no one else stirs.

Dunphy is giving it the "This is one of the greatest players in football and you're only going to bid €500. Come on out of it."

Still no one stirs.

Eamo gives it a "I'm not letting this go for less than €10,000".

The disbelief is audible but no one stirs.

Eamo then says "Right, if no one else is going to bid, I bid €10,000. Thanks very much."

In typical begrudger fashion someone says "Ah he's ruining the auction now."

From what I know he paid but I wonder if he woke the next morning thinking "What the f**k have I done?".

You may slag Dunphy off, and I often do, but my opinion of him changed that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Gave away my dignity. That's priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Comical how many people are talking about rounds of shots/jagerbombs or getting a taxi home as being the most expensive thing they've done. Maybe i'm showing my age, but good god, surely you've splurged on something bigger than that after a few drinks? Aren't those things just part of a normal night out or do you all drink at home and then spend peanuts in a club? if so, what's the point of that? Drinking for drinking's sake instead of drinking socially?

Even when i was a student i wouldn't have considered any of those things to be a big expense. Live a little!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

o1s1n wrote: »

How much was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

summerskin wrote: »
    Comical how many people are talking about rounds of shots/jagerbombs or getting a taxi home as being the most expensive thing they've done. Maybe i'm showing my age, but good god, surely you've splurged on something bigger than that after a few drinks? Aren't those things just part of a normal night out or do you all drink at home and then spend peanuts in a club? if so, what's the point of that? Drinking for drinking's sake instead of drinking socially?

Even when i was a student i wouldn't have considered any of those things to be a big expense. Live a little!

Depends on how much money you make. €50 on a taxi home after a few scoops could potentially feck someones finances up for the week/month. We aren't all rich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

loads of shots of rare varities of black bush while i was already blind with the drink. €8+ a shot and i was swallowing them like there was no tomorrow

at a boards beers years ago that was on a friday night i decided to go for a late one after having breakfast with the recliner (as he was known then), didnt get home til monday and did 2 shifts in work during the bender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

petes wrote: »
    Depends on how much money you make. €50 on a taxi home after a few scoops could potentially feck someones finances up for the week/month. We aren't all rich.

When i was younger and had less money I'd still be fúcked if i was going to walk home. Much rather spend a good amount of money on one big blow out each month than a load of cheapskate nights where you're watching every penny after downing a naggin of vodka from Aldi and then drinking two beers in a shítty club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

My nights out differ but generally nights out with the girls involve drinking at home then straight to nightclub. We always have much better craic all sitting round the table with a bottle of vodka or two and it saves alot of money. I literally can't afford to go drinking in a pub then onto club and thats the case for the majority of my friends. And when I have the choice they're the nights I prefer.
    Don't think its fair to say that if your drinking at home your not drinking socially.
    And if people are saying that is the most expensive thing they've done they obviously don't have the money to "live a little" as you put it.

On topic - was in Lanzorote a couple of years ago with OH. Stumbled into a cocktail bar when we were already worse for wear. Started ordering cocktails to beat the band couldn't drink them quick enough. Handed a bill at the end of the night for 170e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Online shopping and drinking do not mix.

Luckily, the worst I've done is spend 60EUR on a clip in hair extension thing that made me look like a Jordan wannabe. When I opened the box I had a wtf moment of wondering where on earth it came from. Then I checked my emails :( It could have been so much worse!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

got a couple jambons along with my chicken roll one night.

sickened the next morning, ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Came to my twist in a round as we hit a nightclub in Vegas last year ,3 bottles of bud light and 3 jagerbombs for 94 dollars !!!!!!!!! i made sure the other two lads got the same,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Bought a packet of fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I'm utterly repulsed by how common you all are

+1. I wouldn't allow my butler to associate with the class of people in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Eh, not everyone has the money to blow on that sort of thing on a regular basis- and I'm lucky enough to work full-time.
    A round of shots for a table could be €40-€50 and a taxi for me is €30ish. That's €70-€80 a night that I wouldn't normally spend (or a week's shop and bus fare for a week for me). It's pretty frivolous when you don't have it to spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Las Vegas - 2 months wages gone in little under a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭juicyduckie

I was only wee during the Celtic Tiger so the most expensive thing I've done is bought a bottle of champagne in the Shelbourne on the night of my graduation from college last year - suppose that's it...so far. :pac:

Some of your various shenanigans sound like brilliant craic though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

A lecturer I had said his friend used to end up on eBay sometimes while he was pissed drunk.

Consequently, he has a growing collection of German WW1 helmets, even though he has no interest that history period whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Not expensive but I ordered this lad's autobiography off Amazon after a few too many one night - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simon_Weston - not for the squeamish! "So inspirational!" I thought, well when it arrived it was atrociously written and I had to keep a post-it note over the picture of his face on the cover.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Required:
    1 table
    12 cups
    enough beer or misc drink to fill cups
    1 or 2 ping pong balls

Directions:
    set-up 6 cups on each end in a triangle shape.
    Aim is to throw ball into cup, if you get it in the other player has to drink it all. If you bounce it on the table and get it in they have to drink two.
    Alternate throws
    Can be 1 vs 1, 2 vs 2 etc.
    Must be behind the opposite end of the table and can't extend arm over the table.
    Other player can block a bounce shot but not a normal one.
    Once cup is consumed remove from game
    Cups can be re0arranged into a smaller triangle once the first three are gone.
    Winner is the one who gets the ball in all their opponents cups first
    I just about manage the one where you guess if the next card is red or black

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

Lost a good bit of money gambling

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

“I spent a lot of money of booze, birds, and fast cars. The rest I just squandered. ”

― George Best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

about 8.5 million......writing that is making me cry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

During the boom, I went out for 4 years. As in every night. Every night. Mother of God wept. And I went out fancy. Jasus. Was fun though.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Hit an absolute c**t, was fined €500.

Best money I ever spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭moonbloom

On wine late night Christmas shopping , Merlot and me! Had a right spree!