Five held after Real IRA shooting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Interestingly, the ERU had him under surveillance but he still got murdered.

Seems like they weren't too bothered about doing their job.
    When they say under surveillance, it's not like its the Secret Service and the US President. They arent there to act as protection for him, theyre checking out what he's up to. They have to be discreet and keep there distance or they'd blow their cover. I think if they pulled up behind him in the car park he might realise he's being watched.

And as someone else said, if someone else drives up and shoots him and they are a distance away, there would be nothing they could do. I'd actually give then credit for the fact that they caught them so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Apparently he was warned more than once that his life may be in danger. Other than that I don't see what the Gardai could do to stop it. They can only work on the intel they have, and within the confines of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Fancy the provos eh?

I'm totes going to meet them behind the bike shed.

There is an interesting discussion could be had on dissidents and organised criminality but we can never have it here because it always descends into SF bashing or blaming the IRA (the actual IRA, not these clowns) for everything under the sun by the end of the the first page. It's tiresome, repetitive and boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 pinkpetal

When they say under surveillance, it's not like its the Secret Service and the US President. They arent there to act as protection for him, theyre checking out what he's up to. They have to be discreet and keep there distance or they'd blow their cover. I think if they pulled up behind him in the car park he might realise he's being watched.

And as someone else said, if someone else drives up and shoots him and they are a distance away, there would be nothing they could do. I'd actually give then credit for the fact that they caught them so quickly.

The Guards were swarming the area hours before the shooting, on a normal day you'd be lucky to see one at all here. The guys obviously didn't plan their getaway well either as the road the took afterwards has had road works on it the past two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

SB2013 wrote: »
    I'd love to see some shred of proof for that one. Even a sensationalist Daily mail article would be a start
    I should probably clarify, I'm more suggesting here that what Garda/Police consider to be what they charmingly call "scum on scum" killings/assaults are not always as thoroughly investigated or aggressively prosecuted as they might be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I'm disappointed to find that this thread isn't an announcement for a new Enid Blyton novel after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

anncoates wrote: »
    Maybe they have the same idea as the majority of the public on how much a 'loss' him being shot constituted to society..
    like the way garda surveilance stopped 24hrs before the general got hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

It took 30 posts for someone to blame the Brits.

You stay classy, boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

LordSutch wrote: »
    Their we have the excuse again. The excuse for what the Provo's did in the name of the Irish people.

Disgusting.

Do you ever answer questions put to you or do always just ask irrelevant questions in response and making excuses instead?

In fact I always see you condemn what Irish nationalists have done but nobody else. You derail a thread about drug dealers into something about the Troubles. Yourself, Vladimir and a few others make me sick with this constant derailment and whataboutery, ignoring the circumstances and the environment which the unionists and British created to cause otherwise decent Irish folk who were treated like sub-human second class citizens to finally end up committing violence as all their peaceful protests were met with brutality and death.

Seeming as you and some others have no clue about the conflict I suggest you read this and stop your narrowminded pontificating.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1969_Northern_Ireland_riots

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

When are we going to learn the difference between one group of unelected terrorists who use crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland and another one group of unelected terrorists who used crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland?

It's simples people. Why can't anyone differentiate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Hoop66 wrote: »
    I should probably clarify, I'm more suggesting here that what Garda/Police consider to be what they charmingly call "scum on scum" killings/assaults are not always as thoroughly investigated or aggressively prosecuted as they might be.

I have never heard that phrase before.

And can you point out one case that wasn't investigated in any way thoroughly. In actual fact, the only murder i know of in the last while that hasn't resulted in a prosecution is the one of a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

You should be asking yourself that question Vladimir, by the way feel free to spout the usual ráméis and ignore the link I posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

No doubt you are completely correct sir and know the full and exact circumstances of the shooting. SEEMS like you were there? SEEMS like you withness it? SEEMS like you done nothing to save this mans life? You sir SEEM to be worse then Hitler.

The ERU have no doubt got countless dirtbags under suveillance around the country. And Ipso facto those same dirtbags should be safe from all and any harm be-falling them by your logic. Right? Fall and scratch their knee? Not to worry the ERU is there to kiss away their boo-boo and put a plaster on it.

But I digress, Do enlighten the rest of us would you? How many of the lazy sod Gardai were surveilling him at that exact moment? Was there van loads of them sitting in the car park? Probably too busy eating doughnuts and coffee too cos you know thats what they eat all the time. Being the Gardai and not being too bothered about doing their job.

Funnily enough those same lazy sods put their lives on the line to stop the armed killers, all 5 of them, all be it after waiting for them to off the dude first of course. Because they weren't too bothered about doing their job.

Or so it SEEMS...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

OCorcrainn wrote: »
    You should be asking yourself that question Vladimir

Indeed. The answer of course is that the real patriots are the ones I personally favour. Anyone else is a scumbag criminal masquerading as a patriot. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Is Real pronounced like Real Madrid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

In fact I always see you condemn what Irish nationalists have done but nobody else.

Tosh of the highest order^ only recently I turned on the Loyalist low lifes during the Union Flag/Pipe band trouble.
    You derail a thread about drug dealers into something about the Troubles.

No, I only pointed out in post#16 that the Provo's also used IRA in their name!

Bambi then ran with it in post#20 by saying
    Bambi wrote: »
    "The provos will be remembered as the definitive IRA era".

Which then prompted me to post the following in post#23
    "Yes indeed, the definitive killing machine era/ one of the bleakest eras to ever haunt this island".

Then SoulandFarm got into it, and then you arrived on the IRA defensive bandwagon.

It may indeed "make you sick" that people like me condemn the PIRA/RIRA, but I refuse to do otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

It may indeed "make you sick" that people like me condemn the PIRA/RIRA, but I refuse to do otherwise.
    When are we going to learn the difference between one group of unelected terrorists who use crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland and another one group of unelected terrorists who used crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland?

It's simples people. Why can't anyone differentiate?

You're both deliberately linking this band of criminals whose only interest is control of the drugs trade or profiteering from said drugs trade for personal gain in a time of relative peace with a group of terrorists who commited regrettable acts under huge provocation in a time of subjugation and conflict, purely because it suits your Daily Mail fueled point of view.

There is no link in the motivations, ideals or goals of either group, that's a pretty big difference in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Do you ever answer questions put to you or do always just ask irrelevant questions in response and making excuses instead?

In fact I always see you condemn what Irish nationalists have done but nobody else. You derail a thread about drug dealers into something about the Troubles. Yourself, Vladimir and a few others make me sick with this constant derailment and whataboutery, ignoring the circumstances and the environment which the unionists and British created to cause otherwise decent Irish folk who were treated like sub-human second class citizens to finally end up committing violence as all their peaceful protests were met with brutality and death.

Seeming as you and some others have no clue about the conflict I suggest you read this and stop your narrowminded pontificating.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1969_Northern_Ireland_riots

Well said.

This should be cut and pasted into any thread that touches on the troubles.

These people you mention would have been the type of people who stuck their heads in the sand and contributed to sustaining the conflict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Freemason. wrote: »
    One less Republican terrorist to worry about. Ulster will be safe tonight. Enjoy the meal earthworms.

no 6 less to be correct!:D

Fair play to the Gardaí.
    i know they get criticized a bit but they reacted very well on this occasion, showed immense courage and have taken these scummers off the streets hopefully for a considerable length of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Freemason. wrote: »
    One less Republican terrorist to worry about. Ulster will be safe tonight. Enjoy the meal earthworms.

The people of Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan can sleep soundly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Sky King wrote: »
    Is Real pronounced like Real Madrid?

It could be, but Real actually means 'Royal' in Spanish. Not sure we could be having that eh? The Royal IRA. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

Then SoulandFarm got into it, and then you arrived on the IRA defensive bandwagon.

Pointing out that the Troubles and the Provos were far from the darkest page in Irish history is just fact and only jumping on the "IRA defensive bandwagon" in a very distorted view of the world.

Have you ever once condemned the Black and Tans?

In all seriousness is there any proper evidence as opposed to hearsay such as convictions of people in the 32 csm for drug offenses that the RIRA are involved in the drugs trade- I know about the volunteer of theirs who they killed for growing some cannibis plants but besides that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭frfintanstack

Hoop66 wrote: »

Surely investigating and catching the "scum" who shot the other "scum" means two scum off the streets.

A win win situation for the gardai you might say......your point makes little sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Yes indeed, the definitive killing machine era/ one of the bleakest eras to ever haunt this island.

You're clue less, get off the queens todger and open you eyes and maybe a history book.

These people you mention would have been the type of people who stuck their heads in the sand and contributed to sustaining the conflict.

I honestly have the impression that a certain type of fan of British Imperialism was saddened that the Provos went on ceasefire and than decommissioned. Sean O'Callaghan comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I honestly have the impression that a certain type of fan of British Imperialism was saddened that the Provos went on ceasefire and than decommissioned. Sean O'Callaghan comes to mind.

Oh you bet. I'd say there were many who'd much rather have lived with the troubles than had a Taig about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Do the media just make this stuff up or do they tell the truth.

It seems that any time a crime is committed. No matter what.

From the worst like Murder, Fraud, Theft, Rape , Drugs...and so on.

Down to the smallest crime of stealing a snickers bar from the corner shop its the IRA or some division of the IRA or its dissident republicans :rolleyes:

Am i the only one that thinks that there is something wrong here, and when the guards cant do their job they just spout this ****????

For some reason i just don't believe that everything is down to these guys, someones stirring **** somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

I always thought crime prevention was the responsibility of the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭frfintanstack

rednik wrote: »
    I always thought crime prevention was the responsibility of the Gardai.

as is crime detection....your point?

or do you believe it possible to prevent all crime?